DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 12/23/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wang et al..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NOH et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0295616) in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0025196).
Referring to figures 1-15, NOH et al. teaches a method of measuring magnetic properties, the method comprising:
loading a sample (10) on a stage;
fixing the sample on the stage (20);
moving a measurement target region of the sample to a light irradiation region (20, see paragraph# 24, figure 1);
irradiating incident light (30) to the measurement target region of the sample (10, see paragraph# 24); and
detecting polarization of reflected light that is reflected from the measurement target region of the s fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum ample (see paragraphs# 28+).
However, the reference does not clearly teach fixing the sample on the stage by using a
vacuum.
WANG et al. teaches fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum (see paragraph#
36, figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at
the time of the invention was filed would fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum in
NOH et al. as taught by WANG et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to keep the
sample flat, stable, precisely aligned and thermally controlled.
Regarding to claim 2, the moving the measurement target region of the sample to the light irradiation region includes moving the stage in a first direction and in a second direction (see paragraph# 26, figure 1).
Regarding to claim 3, wherein each of the first direction and the second direction is substantially parallel to a top surface of the sample, and the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (see figure 1, paragraphs# 26-27).
Regarding to claim 4, applying a magnetic field substantially perpendicularly to a top surface of the sample (see figure 1, paragraphs# 26-27).
Regarding to claim 5, polarizing the incident light that is emitted from a light source; and
polarizing the reflected light (see figure 1, paragraphs# 26-30).
Regarding to claim 6, the fixing the sample (10) on the stage by using the vacuum includes drawing or sucking air through a plurality of holes (20, chamber).
Regarding to claim 7, a method for manufacturing a magnetic memory device, the method comprising:
forming a magnetic tunnel junction layer (ML)on a substrate (100);
patterning the magnetic tunnel junction layer to form magnetic tunnel junction patterns; measuring magnetic properties of the magnetic tunnel junction patterns (ML1, Ml2, see paragraphs# 36+); and
determining whether the measured magnetic properties of the magnetic tunnel junction patterns are within an allowable range, wherein the measuring the magnetic properties of the magnetic tunnel junction patterns comprises:
loading the substrate (100) on a stage in a magnetic property measuring system (see paragraphs# 39+, figure 1);
fixing the substrate (100 (10)) on the stage (see figure 1-2, 5);
moving a measurement target region of the substrate to a light irradiation region (10/100, see figures 1, 2, paragraph# 24, 41);
irradiating incident light (30) to the measurement target region of the substrate (10/100, see figure 1, 2, paragraph# 24, 41); and
detecting polarization of light that is reflected from the measurement target region of the substrate (see paragraphs# 42+).
However, the reference does not clearly teach fixing the sample on the stage by using a
vacuum.
WANG et al. teaches fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum (see paragraph#
36, figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at
the time of the invention was filed would fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum in
NOH et al. as taught by WANG et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to keep the
sample flat, stable, precisely aligned and thermally controlled.
Regarding to claim 8, the moving the measurement target region of the substrate to the light irradiation region includes moving the stage in a first direction and in a second direction (see paragraph# 26+, figures 1, 2).
Regarding to claim 9, wherein each of the first direction and the second direction is substantially parallel to a top surface of the substrate (see figures 1, 2, paragraphs# 26, 56).
Regarding to claim 10, the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (see figures 1-2, paragraphs# 37+).
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pressesky et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,348,000) in view of WANG et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0025196).
Referring to figures 1-5, Pressesky et al. teaches a method of measuring magnetic properties, the method comprising:
loading a sample (362) on a stage (see figure 3);
fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum (100/300, system);
moving a measurement target region of the sample to a light irradiation region (308, see figure 3);
irradiating incident light (308) to the measurement target region of the sample (362, see figure 3); and
detecting (350) polarization of reflected light that is reflected from the measurement target region of the sample (see col. 6, lines 8-37, figure 3).
However, the reference does not clearly teach fixing the sample on the stage by using a
vacuum.
WANG et al. teaches fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum (see paragraph#
36, figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the requisite art at
the time of the invention was filed would fixing the sample on the stage by using a vacuum in
Pressesky et al. as taught by WANG et al. because it is known in the semiconductor art to keep
the sample flat, stable, precisely aligned and thermally controlled.
Regarding to claim 2, the moving the measurement target region of the sample to the light irradiation region (308) includes moving the stage in a first direction and in a second direction (see figure 3).
Regarding to claim 3, wherein each of the first direction and the second direction is substantially parallel to a top surface of the sample, and the first direction is substantially perpendicular to the second direction (see figure 3).
Regarding to claim 4, applying a magnetic field substantially perpendicularly to a top surface of the sample (see figure 3, col. 6, lines 25-30).
Regarding to claim 5, polarizing the incident light that is emitted from a light source (108/308, see figures 1, 3); and polarizing the reflected light (see figure 3, col. 6, lines 8-37).
Regarding to claim 6, the fixing the sample (112) on the stage by using the vacuum includes drawing or sucking air through a plurality of holes (100/300).
Conclusion
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893