DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2019/0305099 A1) in view of Chen et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2023/0008494 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches a semiconductor device (figs. 1-7 & 15-27 among others) comprising:
a first active pattern (¶ 0024: 110) extending in a first direction on a substrate (fig. 1: 110 extends in X direction);
a second active pattern (¶ 0024: 310) extending in the first direction on the substrate (fig. 1: 310 extends in X direction), the second active pattern spaced apart from the first active pattern in a second direction (fig. 1: 110 spaced apart from 310);
a field insulating film (¶ 0029: 105) between the first active pattern and the second active pattern on the substrate (figs. 5, 26: 105 disposed between 110 and 310);
a first gate electrode (¶ 0032: 130) intersecting the first active pattern on the substrate (figs. 1, 5, 26: 130 intersects 110 and 310);
a second gate electrode (¶ 0032: 230) intersecting the second active pattern on the substrate (figs. 1, 5, 26: 230 intersects 110 and 310); and
a gate separation structure (¶ 0046: 170, including portions 160 and 180) on the field insulating film (figs. 5, 26: portion 160 disposed on 105), the gate separation structure separating the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode from each other (fig. 5, 26: portion 160 separates 130 and 230), the gate separation structure including a plurality of insulating films (fig. 5, 26: 161, 162).
Jo fails to teach the plurality of insulating films comprising first sub-insulating films and at least one second sub-insulating film, and the at least one second sub-insulating film between the first sub-insulating films,
wherein in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and to the second direction, at least one first sub-insulating film of the plurality of first sub-insulating films overlaps with the at least one second sub-insulating film,
wherein the at least one first sub-insulating film and the at least one second sub-insulating film have a surface facing the field insulating film, and wherein the surface has a convex shape towards the field insulating film.
Chen teaches a semiconductor device (¶ 0067 & figs. 25A-25B: 250) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0045: 130) on a field insulating film (¶ 0014 & fig. 25A: 130 formed on isolation feature 56, similar to 105 of Jo), the gate separation structure including a plurality of first sub-insulating films (¶ 0052: 124, 126) and at least one second sub- insulating film (¶ 0067: 134), the at least one second sub-insulating film between the first sub-insulating films (figs. 25A-25B: 134 arranged between 124 and 126),
wherein in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and to the second direction, at least one first sub-insulating film of the plurality of first sub-insulating films overlaps with the at least one second sub-insulating film (figs. 25A-25B: in a vertical direction, at least one of 124 and 126 overlaps 134),
wherein the at least one first sub-insulating film and the at least one second sub-insulating film have a surface facing the field insulating film, and wherein the surface has a convex shape towards the field insulating film (fig. 25A: 124, 126 and/or 134 each comprise a convex outer surface facing 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the plurality of insulating films of Jo with a convex overlap, as a means to improve a deposition window of dielectric fill material, minimizing manufacturing errors, such as reduced seams/voids (Chen, ¶ 0013) and reducing electrical defects (e.g., shorting) (Chen, ¶ 0071).
Regarding claim 3, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the first active pattern is included in a first channel region of a transistor (Jo, ¶ 0043),
the second active pattern is included in a second channel region of the transistor (Jo, ¶ 0043),
the first channel region and the second channel region have a same conductive type (Jo, ¶ 0028: in at least one embodiment, 110 and 310 comprise same materials and dopants),
the gate separation structure includes a first sidewall facing the first active pattern and a second sidewall facing the second active pattern (Jo, fig. 5 among others: 160 includes sidewalls facing 110 and second sidewall facing 310), and
a distance of an uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from a central axis to the first sidewall, is same as a distance of the uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from the central axis to the second sidewall (Jo, fig. 5: distance of center of upper surface of 160 equidistant to each sidewall).
Regarding claim 5, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a gate insulating film (Jo, ¶ 0032: 135) between the first gate electrode and the first active pattern (Jo, fig. 5 among others: 135 disposed between 130 and 110),
wherein the gate insulating film is between the second gate electrode and the second active pattern (Jo, fig. 5 among others: 135 disposed between 230 and 310), and
the gate insulating film does not extend along a sidewall of the gate separation structure (Jo, fig. 5: 135 does not extend along sidewall of 160).
Regarding claim 6, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first sub-insulating films includes a silicon nitride film (Chen, ¶ 0050, 0052: in at least one embodiment, 124 and 126 include silicon nitride), and
the second sub-insulating film includes an oxide (Chen, ¶ 0067: 134 includes an oxide of silicon-containing material, meeting the broadest reasonable interpretation of ‘silicon oxide’).
Regarding claim 9, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a lowest portion of the gate separation structure is at a center between the first active pattern and the second active pattern (Jo, fig. 5: lowest portion of 160 centered between 110 and 310).
Regarding claim 11, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising a gate insulating film (Jo, ¶ 0032: 135) between the first gate electrode and the first active pattern (Jo, fig. 5 among others: 135 disposed between 130 and 110), wherein the gate insulating film is between the second gate electrode and the second active pattern (Jo, fig. 5 among others: 135 disposed between 230 and 310), and the gate insulating film extends along a sidewall of the gate separation structure (Jo, fig. 26: 135 extends at least indirectly along sidewall of 160).
Regarding claim 26, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a width of the gate separation structure increases as a distance from the field insulating film increases (Chen, figs. 25A-25B: width of at 130 increases away from bottom surface of 56), and
after the width of the gate separation structure increases, the width of the gate separation structure then decreases as the distance from the field insulating film continues to increase (Chen, figs. 25A-25B: width of 130 decreases proximal to upper surface of 58, which is further from 56).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Liaw (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0126989 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, comprising a thickness of the plurality of first sub-insulating films and a thickness of the second sub-insulating film the third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Jo, fig. 5 among others: vertical thickness of 161 and 162).
Jo in view of Chen does not teach wherein the thickness of the plurality of first sub-insulating films is greater than the thickness of the second sub-insulating film.
Liaw teaches a semiconductor device (¶ 0028: 100) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0031: 114b), the gate separation structure including a first sub-insulating film (¶ 0031: 136b) and a second sub-insulating film (¶ 0031: 134b), wherein in a third direction perpendicular (Z axis direction) to a first direction and a second direction (X axis direction and Y axis direction of fig. 15), a thickness of the plurality of first sub-insulating films is greater than a thickness of the second sub-insulating film (fig. 30 among others: vertical thickness of 136b greater than vertical thickness of 134b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the gate separation structure of Jo in view of Chen with the sub-insulating film thicknesses of Liaw, as a means to maintain a height of the gate separation structure and reduce gate coupling capacitance (Liaw, ¶ 0040).
Claims 8 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Paul et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0020644 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first active pattern includes a first lower pattern extending in the first direction (Jo, figs. 1, 5: 110 includes a lower pattern extending in the X direction), and
the second active pattern includes a second lower pattern extending in the first direction (Jo, figs. 1, 5: 310 includes a lower pattern extending in the X direction).
Jo in view of Chen further teaches non-illustrated embodiments including nano-wire and/or nano-sheet transistors (Jo, ¶ 0021).
Jo in view of Chen does not teach wherein the first active pattern further includes a first sheet pattern spaced apart from the first lower pattern, and
the second active pattern further includes a second sheet pattern spaced apart from the second lower pattern.
Paul teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 11 among others) including a first active pattern (¶ 0030: 120N) comprising a first sheet pattern (¶ 0052: nanosheets 320N) spaced apart from a first lower pattern (fig. 9: 320N arranged over a fin-shaped portion of substrate 112), and
a second active pattern (¶ 0030: 220P) comprising a second sheet pattern (¶ 0052: nanosheets 420P) spaced apart from the second lower pattern (fig. 9: 420P arranged over a fin-shaped portion of substrate 112).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the active patterns of Jo in view of Chen with the sheet patterns of Paul, as a means to provide a gate all around configuration, creating more surface area and better control (Paul, ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 12, Jo in view of Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the gate separation structure has an asymmetric structure with respect to a central axis of an uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction (Jo, fig. 27: 170 includes an asymmetric structure with respect to a central axis an uppermost surface of portion 160).
Jo in view of Chen does not teach the first active pattern is in a PMOS region, the second active pattern is in an NMOS region.
Paul teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 11 among others) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0031: gate cut isolation 130) separating first and second regions (¶ 0030: 90, 92), the first region comprising an active region (¶ 0042: 122N) of an NMOS (120N) and the second region comprising an active region (¶ 0047: 222P) a PMOS (220P).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the active patterns of Jo in view of Chen in respective PMOS and NMOS regions, as a means to provide an integrated circuit (IC), comprising a static random access memory (Paul, ¶ 0008), increasing functionality of the device.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Pan et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2022/0320088 A1) and Chen.
Regarding claim 14, Jo teaches a semiconductor device (figs. 1-7 & 15-27 among others) comprising:
a first active pattern (¶ 0024: 110) extending in a first direction on a substrate (fig. 1: 110 extends in X direction);
a second active pattern (¶ 0024: 310) extending in the first direction on the substrate (fig. 1: 310 extends in X direction), the second active pattern spaced apart from the first active pattern in a second direction (fig. 1: 110 spaced apart from 310);
a field insulating film (¶ 0029: 105) between the first active pattern and the second active pattern on the substrate (figs. 8, 26: 105 disposed between 110 and 310);
a first gate electrode (¶ 0032: 130) intersecting the first active pattern on the substrate (figs. 1, 8, 26: 130 intersects 110 and 310);
a second gate electrode (¶ 0032: 230) intersecting the second active pattern on the substrate (figs. 1, 8, 26: 230 intersects 110 and 310);
a gate insulating film (¶ 0032: 135 and/or 235) between the field insulating film and the first gate electrode (fig. 8: 135/235 disposed between 105 and 130), the gate insulating film between the field insulating film and the second gate electrode (fig. 8: 135/235 disposed between 105 and 230), the gate insulating film between the first gate electrode and the first active pattern (fig. 8: 135/235 disposed between 130 and 110), and the gate insulating film between the second gate electrode and the second active pattern (fig. 8: 135/235 disposed between 230 and 310); and
a first gate separation (¶ 0046: 170, including portions 160 and 180) on the field insulating film (figs. 8, 26: portion 160 disposed on 105), the first gate separation structure separating the first gate electrode and the second gate electrode from each other (fig. 8: portion 160 separates 130 and 230),
wherein the gate insulating film does not extend along a sidewall of the first gate separation structure (fig. 8 135/235 does not extend along sidewall of portion 160), the first gate separation structure includes a plurality of insulating films including silicon nitride (¶¶ 0050, 0067: plurality of silicon nitride films 161), the first gate separation structure includes an oxide film (¶¶ 0050, 0068: 162) between the plurality of insulating films (fig. 8: 162 disposed between 161), and the plurality of insulating films and the plurality of oxide films are alternately stacked (fig. 8: 161/162 laterally stacked).
Jo does not teach a plurality of oxide films between the plurality of insulating films, the plurality of insulating films and the plurality of oxide films are alternately stacked in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, at least one insulating film of the plurality of insulating films and at least one oxide film of the plurality of oxide films comprise a surface facing the field insulating film, and the surface has a convex shape toward the field insulating film.
Pan teaches a semiconductor device (figs. 28-29 among others) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0031: 260 and 280B, similar to 170 of Jo), the gate separation structure including a plurality of oxide films (¶¶ 0026, 0030: 264, 274) between a plurality of insulating films (¶¶ 0026-0032 & figs. 28-29: 264/274 disposed between insulating films 262, 272 and/or 276), the plurality of insulating films and the plurality of oxide films are alternately stacked in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (figs. 28-29: 262/264/272/274/276 alternately stacked in a vertical direction), at least one insulating film of the plurality of insulating films and at least one oxide film of the plurality of oxide films comprise a surface facing the field insulating film (¶¶ 0027, 0029, 0064: 262/264/272/274/276 include surfaces facing isolation feature 255).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the plurality of insulating films of Jo with a vertical overlap, as a means to provide isolation structures with different heights (Pan, 280A and 260/280B), increasing functionality by allowing for gate interconnection structures (Pan, 374A/374B) as well as gate isolation structures.
Jo in view of Pan does not teach at least one insulating film of the plurality of insulating films and at least one oxide film of the plurality of oxide films comprise a surface facing the field insulating film, and the surface has a convex shape toward the field insulating film.
Chen teaches a semiconductor device (¶ 0067 & figs. 25A-25B: 250) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0045: 130) on a field insulating film (¶ 0014 & fig. 25A: 130 formed on isolation feature 56, similar to 105 of Jo), the gate separation structure including a plurality of first sub-insulating films (¶ 0052: 124, 126) and at least one second sub- insulating film (¶ 0067: 134), the at least one second sub-insulating film between the first sub-insulating films (figs. 25A-25B: 134 arranged between 124 and 126), wherein the at least one first sub-insulating film and the at least one second sub-insulating film have a surface facing the field insulating film, and wherein the surface has a convex shape towards the field insulating film (fig. 25A: 124, 126 and/or 134 each comprise a convex outer surface facing 56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the plurality of insulating films of Jo in view of Pan with convex surfaces, as a means to improve a deposition window of dielectric fill material, minimizing manufacturing errors, such as reduced seams/voids (Chen, ¶ 0013) and reducing electrical defects (e.g., shorting) (Chen, ¶ 0071).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Pan and Chen as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Paul et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2021/0020644 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Jo in view of Pan and Chen teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, wherein the first gate separation structure has an asymmetric structure with respect to a central axis of an uppermost surface of the first gate separation structure in the second direction (Jo, fig. 27: 170 includes an asymmetric structure with respect to a central axis an uppermost surface of portion 160).
Jo in view of Pan and Chen does not teach the first active pattern is in a PMOS region, the second active pattern is in an NMOS region.
Paul teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 11 among others) including a gate separation structure (¶ 0031: gate cut isolation 130) separating first and second regions (¶ 0030: 90, 92), the first region comprising an active region (¶ 0042: 122N) of an NMOS (120N) and the second region comprising an active region (¶ 0047: 222P) a PMOS (220P).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the active patterns of Jo in view of Pan and Chen in respective PMOS and NMOS regions, as a means to provide an integrated circuit (IC), comprising a static random access memory (Paul, ¶ 0008), increasing functionality of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Jo in view of Pan, Chen and Paul teaches the semiconductor device of claim 15, wherein the first gate separation structure includes a first sidewall facing the first active pattern and a second sidewall facing the second active pattern (Jo, figs. 8, 27 among others: portion 160 includes first sidewall facing at least one active pattern 110 and second sidewall facing second active pattern 310), and
at a same height in the third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a first distance between the first sidewall and the first active pattern is smaller than a second distance between the second sidewall and the second active pattern (Jo, fig. 1: distance between first sidewall of 160 and 130 smaller than distance between second sidewall of 160 and distal active pattern 110).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations stating:
“a distance of an uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from a central axis to the first sidewall is greater than a distance of the uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from the central axis to the second sidewall, and
the central axis is a straight line that vertically intersects the center of an upper surface of the gate separation structure” as recited in claim 4, and
“at a same height in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, the second width is smaller than the first width and the second width is greater than the third width” as recited in claim 17.
Claims 18-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance: The prior art fails to teach or clearly suggest the limitations stating:
“at a same height in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a first distance between the first sidewall and the first active pattern, nearest to the first sidewall,is smaller than a second distance between the second sidewall and the second active pattern nearest to the second sidewall” as recited in claim 18.
Jo teaches the semiconductor device of claim 14, comprising a second gate electrode (230), and first and second active patterns (110, 310), wherein the first gate separation structure has a first width in the second direction (fig. 8: portion 160 has width in Y direction).
Liaw teaches a semiconductor device (fig. 10 among others: 100) including
a third active pattern (¶ 0030: 112 in region 104N) extending in a first direction on a substrate (fig. 7: Y direction), the third active pattern spaced apart from a second active pattern in the second direction (fig. 10: 112 spaced apart from fin 110);
a fourth active pattern (¶ 0030: second 112) extending in the first direction on the substrate (fig. 7: Y direction), the fourth active pattern spaced apart from the third active pattern in the second direction (fig. 10: second 112 spaced apart from first 112 in X direction);
a third gate electrode (¶ 0042: 132) intersecting the third active pattern on the substrate (fig. 10: portion of 132 intersects 112);
a fourth gate electrode (¶ 0042: 132) intersecting the fourth active pattern on the substrate (fig. 10: second portion of 132 intersects second 112);
a second gate separation structure (¶ 0031: 114a) separating a second gate electrode and the third gate electrode from each other (fig. 10: 114a at least partially separates portion of 132 from additional portion of 132), the second gate separation structure having a second width in the second direction (figs. 7, 10: 114a has width in X direction); and
a third gate separation structure (¶ 0031: 114b) separating the third gate electrode and the fourth gate electrode from each other (fig. 10), the third gate separation structure having a third width in the second direction (figs. 7, 10: 114b has width in X direction),
wherein a first active pattern and the second active pattern are in a PMOS region (¶ 0030 & fig. 10: 110 disposed in PMOS region), the third active pattern and the fourth active pattern are in an NMOS region (¶ 0030 & fig. 10: 112 disposed in NMOS region).
However, neither Jo nor Liaw, either alone or in combination with cited prior art, teaches a distance of an uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from the center of an upper surface of the gate separation structure to the first sidewall is greater than a distance of the uppermost surface of the gate separation structure in the second direction from the center of the upper surface of the gate separation structure to the second sidewall (required by claim 4),
at a same height in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, the second width is smaller than the first width and the second width is greater than the third width (required by claim 17), or
a first distance between the first sidewall and the first active pattern nearest to the first sidewall, is smaller than a second distance between the second sidewall and the second active pattern nearest to the second sidewall (required by claim 18).
In light of these limitations in the claims (see applicant’s fig. 13 & ¶ 0126), the previously applied references do not anticipate or obviate the claimed method as in the context of the claims.
Claims 19-20 depend on claim 18, are allowed for implicitly including the allowable subject matter above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103 rejections of claims 1, 3, 5-9 and 11-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818