DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 12 and 16 in the Applicant’s response dated 18 June 2026. The claim amendments have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 2, 13 and 17 in the Applicant’s response dated 18 June 2026 in lieu of the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection presented in the previous office action. The 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejection has therefore been withdrawn.
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 2, 13 and 17 in the Applicant’s response dated 18 June 2026 in lieu of the drawing objection presented in the previous office action. The drawing objection has therefore been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-13, 16-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christopher C. Jones et al. (US 2008/0142961 A1; hereinafter “Jones”) in view of Yong Joon Kim et al. (US 2021/0185815 A1; hereinafter “Kim”) and in further view of Glenn G. Daves et al. (US 2006/0060636 A1; hereinafter “Daves”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jones teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (108, Fig. 2, para [0022] described a PCB 108);
a semiconductor package (104, Fig. 2, para [0022] describes a package substrate 104) disposed on a top surface of the PCB (Fig. 2 depicts wherein package substrate 104 is disposed on a top surface of the PCB 108) that includes a substrate (302 and 304, Fig. 5, para [0026] describes layers 302 and 304 of package substrate 104 that may include vias and traces) and a stiffener (306, Fig. 5, para [0028] describes wherein multiple layers 306 may be formed on substrate layers 302 and 304 with a hole in the center wherein layers 306 support package substrate 104),
wherein a top surface of the stiffener is disposed on a bottom surface of the substrate (306 and 304, Fig. 5 depicts wherein a top surface of the stiffener layers 306 are disposed on a bottom surface of the substrate layer 304),
wherein a bottom surface of the stiffener is disposed on a top surface of the PCB (104 and 306, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a bottom surface of the stiffener layers 306 comprised in package substrate 104 on either side of cavity 150 are disposed on a top surface of the PCB 108),
wherein the stiffener has an opening extending through the top surface of the stiffener and the bottom surface of the stiffener (150 and 308, Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, para [0027] describes wherein stiffener layers 306 have a hole 308 which may form recess 150 extending from a top surface of the stiffener layers 306 to a bottom surface), and
at least one connection component that is configured to connect the PCB and the semiconductor package (Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein at least one connection component, such as solder balls, is used to connect the PCB 108 to the semiconductor package 104);
another component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0018] describes an electrical device 106 disposed in the opening 150 of the stiffener layers 306),
wherein the other component spans within inner walls of the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0021] describes wherein the device 106 is located in the opening 150 spanning within the inner walls of the opening as shown in Fig. 2), and
wherein the stiffener surrounds the other component on all sides (306 and 106, Fig. 4 depicts wherein stiffener layers 306 surround the hole 308 on all sides wherein component 106 is disposed in said hole 308).
Jones fails to explicitly describe wherein the component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener is a PCB.
However, Kim teaches a similar apparatus, comprising another PCB that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (200, 410 and 410H, Fig. 3, para [0040] describes wherein a second printed circuit board 200 is disposed in an opening 410H between first structures 410 which may be stiffener components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones with Kim to further disclose an apparatus comprising a second PCB disposed within the opening of the stiffener in order to provide the advantage of providing a structure with high degrees of layering and a large size through the use of a first and second printed circuit board, reducing the difficulty of the technology, increasing yield and reducing manufacturing costs (Kim, para [0041]).
Jones and Kim fail to explicitly disclose wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides.
However, Daves teaches a similar apparatus, wherein the PCB (180, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0052] describes a printed circuit board 180) extends beyond the stiffener on all sides (180 and 300, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0073] describes support brackets or frames 300 acting as stiffeners between PCB 180 and substrate 130 wherein the PCB 180 can be seen surrounding the stiffener 300 on all sides as shown by Fig. 12A which may be a top down view of Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones and Kim with Daves to further disclose an apparatus wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a surface of a PCB large enough for stiffeners to be mounted on in order to ensure the stiffeners have been mounted securely therefore increasing their effectiveness as mechanical supports (Daves, para [0073]) and to further provide the well-known advantage of providing a PCB which is large enough to accommodate multiple chips and substrates being mounted onto a surface thereof increasing a device density on a PCB and further increasing its potential functionality.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Jones, Kim and Daves teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a bottom surface of the other PCB is disposed on the top surface of the PCB (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a bottom surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the top surface of the PCB 108), and
wherein a top surface of the other PCB is disposed on a bottom surface of the substrate (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a top surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the bottom surface of the package substrate 104 comprised in the hole 308 as shown in Fig. 5 wherein the bottom surface in the hole 308 is a bottom surface of the substrate layer 304).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Jones, Kim and Daves teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the bottom surface of the other PCB is connected to the top surface of the PCB via a first ball grid array (BGA) (Jones, Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein solder balls which can be seen disposed in the shape of an array in Fig. 2, may be used to connect the bottom surface of the connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, to a top surface of the PCB 108), and
the top surface of the other PCB is connected to the bottom surface of the substrate via a second BGA (Jones, Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein solder balls which can be seen disposed in the shape of an array in Fig. 2, may be used to connect the top surface of the connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, to a bottom surface of the package substrate 104 comprised in the hole 308 as shown in Fig. 5 wherein the bottom surface in the hole 308 is a bottom surface of the substrate layer 304).
Regarding Claim 12, Jones teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a substrate (302 and 304, Fig. 5, para [0026] describes layers 302 and 304 of a package substrate 104 that may include vias and traces);
a stiffener with an opening disposed on a bottom surface of the substrate (306, Fig. 5, para [0028] describes wherein multiple layers 306 may be formed on substrate layers 302 and 304 with a hole in the center wherein layers 306 support package substrate 104),
wherein the opening of the stiffener extends through a top surface of the stiffener and the bottom surface of the stiffener (150 and 308, Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, para [0027] describes wherein stiffener layers 306 have a hole 308 which may form recess 150 extending from a top surface of the stiffener layers 306 to a bottom surface);
a printed circuit board (PCB) disposed on a bottom surface of the stiffener (108, Fig. 2, para [0022] described a PCB 108 which can be seen disposed on a bottom surface of the stiffener layers 306 of the package substrate 104 in Fig. 2),
at least one connection component that is configured to connect the PCB to at least one of the stiffener or the substrate (Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein at least one connection component, such as solder balls, is used to connect the PCB 108 to the semiconductor package 104 comprising substrate layers 302 and 304 and stiffener layers 306); and
another component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0018] describes an electrical device 106 disposed in the opening 150 of the stiffener layers 306),
wherein the other component spans within inner walls of the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0021] describes wherein the device 106 is located in the opening 150 spanning within the inner walls of the opening as shown in Fig. 2), and
wherein the stiffener surrounds the other component (306 and 106, Fig. 4 depicts wherein stiffener layers 306 surround the hole 308 on all sides wherein component 106 is disposed in said hole 308).
Jones fails to explicitly describe wherein the component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener is a PCB.
However, Kim teaches a similar apparatus, comprising another PCB that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (200, 410 and 410H, Fig. 3, para [0040] describes wherein a second printed circuit board 200 is disposed in an opening 410H between first structures 410 which may be stiffener components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones with Kim to further disclose an apparatus comprising a second PCB disposed within the opening of the stiffener in order to provide the advantage of providing a structure with high degrees of layering and a large size through the use of a first and second printed circuit board, reducing the difficulty of the technology, increasing yield and reducing manufacturing costs (Kim, para [0041]).
Jones and Kim fail to explicitly disclose wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides.
However, Daves teaches a similar apparatus, wherein the PCB (180, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0052] describes a printed circuit board 180) extends beyond the stiffener on all sides (180 and 300, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0073] describes support brackets or frames 300 acting as stiffeners between PCB 180 and substrate 130 wherein the PCB 180 can be seen surrounding the stiffener 300 on all sides as shown by Fig. 12A which may be a top down view of Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones and Kim with Daves to further disclose an apparatus wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a surface of a PCB large enough for stiffeners to be mounted on in order to ensure the stiffeners have been mounted securely therefore increasing their effectiveness as mechanical supports (Daves, para [0073]) and to further provide the well-known advantage of providing a PCB which is large enough to accommodate multiple chips and substrates being mounted onto a surface thereof increasing a device density on a PCB and further increasing its potential functionality.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Jones, Kim and Daves teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein a top surface of the other PCB is disposed on a portion of the bottom surface of the substrate that is associated with the opening of the stiffener (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a top surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the bottom surface of the package substrate 104 comprised in the hole 308 associated with the opening 150 of the stiffener layers 306 as shown in Fig. 5 wherein the bottom surface in the hole 308 is a bottom surface of the substrate layer 304), and
wherein a bottom surface of the other PCB is disposed on the top surface of the PCB (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a bottom surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the top surface of the PCB 108).
Regarding Claim 16, Jones teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a printed circuit board (PCB) (108, Fig. 2, para [0022] described a PCB 108);
a semiconductor package (104, Fig. 2, para [0022] describes a package substrate 104) that includes a substrate (302 and 304, Fig. 5, para [0026] describes layers 302 and 304 of package substrate 104 that may include vias and traces) and a stiffener (306, Fig. 5, para [0028] describes wherein multiple layers 306 may be formed on substrate layers 302 and 304 with a hole in the center wherein layers 306 support package substrate 104),
wherein the stiffener is disposed on a top surface of the PCB (104 and 306, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a bottom surface of the stiffener layers 306 comprised in package substrate 104 on either side of cavity 150 are disposed on a top surface of the PCB 108),
wherein the stiffener has an opening extending through the top surface of the stiffener and a bottom surface of the stiffener (150 and 308, Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, para [0027] describes wherein stiffener layers 306 have a hole 308 which may form recess 150 extending from a top surface of the stiffener layers 306 to a bottom surface), and
at least one connection component that is configured to connect the PCB to at least one of the substrate or the stiffener of the semiconductor package (Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein at least one connection component, such as solder balls, is used to connect the PCB 108 to the semiconductor package 104 comprising the substrate layers 302 and 304 and stiffener layers 306); and
another component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0018] describes an electrical device 106 disposed in the opening 150 of the stiffener layers 306),
wherein the other component spans within inner walls of the opening of the stiffener (106, Fig. 2, para [0021] describes wherein the device 106 is located in the opening 150 spanning within the inner walls of the opening as shown in Fig. 2), and
wherein the stiffener surrounds the other component on all sides (306 and 106, Fig. 4 depicts wherein stiffener layers 306 surround the hole 308 on all sides wherein component 106 is disposed in said hole 308).
Jones fails to explicitly describe wherein the component that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener is a PCB.
However, Kim teaches a similar apparatus, comprising another PCB that is disposed within the opening of the stiffener (200, 410 and 410H, Fig. 3, para [0040] describes wherein a second printed circuit board 200 is disposed in an opening 410H between first structures 410 which may be stiffener components).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones with Kim to further disclose an apparatus comprising a second PCB disposed within the opening of the stiffener in order to provide the advantage of providing a structure with high degrees of layering and a large size through the use of a first and second printed circuit board, reducing the difficulty of the technology, increasing yield and reducing manufacturing costs (Kim, para [0041]).
Jones and Kim fail to explicitly disclose wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides.
However, Daves teaches a similar apparatus, wherein the PCB (180, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0052] describes a printed circuit board 180) extends beyond the stiffener on all sides (180 and 300, Fig. 10 and Fig. 12A, para [0073] describes support brackets or frames 300 acting as stiffeners between PCB 180 and substrate 130 wherein the PCB 180 can be seen surrounding the stiffener 300 on all sides as shown by Fig. 12A which may be a top down view of Fig. 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Jones and Kim with Daves to further disclose an apparatus wherein the PCB extends beyond the stiffener on all sides in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a surface of a PCB large enough for stiffeners to be mounted on in order to ensure the stiffeners have been mounted securely therefore increasing their effectiveness as mechanical supports (Daves, para [0073]) and to further provide the well-known advantage of providing a PCB which is large enough to accommodate multiple chips and substrates being mounted onto a surface thereof increasing a device density on a PCB and further increasing its potential functionality.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Jones, Kim and Daves teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein a top surface of the other PCB is disposed on a portion of a bottom surface of the substrate that is associated with the opening of the stiffener (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a top surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the bottom surface of the package substrate 104 comprised in the hole 308 associated with the opening 150 of the stiffener layers 306 as shown in Fig. 5 wherein the bottom surface in the hole 308 is a bottom surface of the substrate layer 304), and
wherein a bottom surface of the other PCB is disposed on the top surface of the PCB (Jones, 106, Fig. 2 depicts wherein a bottom surface of the at least one connection component 106, which may be another PCB after combining the connection component 106 of Jones with the PCB 180 of Kim, is disposed on the top surface of the PCB 108).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Jones, Kim and Daves teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the bottom surface of the other PCB is connected to the top surface of the PCB via a first ball grid array (BGA) (Jones, Fig. 2, para [0022] describes wherein solder balls which can be seen disposed in the shape of an array in Fig. 2, may be used to connect the bottom surface of the connection component 106 including another PCB to a top surface of the PCB 108), and
wherein the first BGA spans across the bottom surface of the other PCB without another component between BGA components of the first BGA (Jones, Fig. 2 depicts wherein the first BGA of solder balls spanning across the bottom surface of the connection component 106 including another PCB has no other component between solder ball components of the first BGA of solder balls).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 12-13, 16-17 and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898