DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As of the amendment filed 12/29/25, claims 21-23 have been added, claims 5, 6, and 9 have been canceled, and claims 1, 7, 10, and 14 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-4, 7, 8, and 10-23 remain pending, with claims 1, 7, and 14 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 12/29/25, with respect to claims 1, 7, and their dependent claims, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous rejection of those claims has been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More (US 2022/0216102) in view of Liao (US 2021/0327945).
As to claim 14, More teaches a method for manufacturing a semiconductor structure (figs. 2D-2G), comprising:
forming an aluminum-containing layer (216, [0068], fig. 2D);
forming an etch stop layer (218/220) over the aluminum-containing layer (216, [0068], fig. 2D);
forming a carbon-containing dielectric layer (222) over the etch stop layer (218/220, [0069], fig. 2D, low-k dielectric layer. Although carbon-containing not explicitly taught, adding carbon to a dielectric layer such as silicon oxide is known in the art to reduce the dielectric constant (see [0030] of Liao). Its use is obvious so as to use an industrially tested and accepted method of fabricating a low-k dielectric);
forming a via opening (224A) and a line trench (224B) in the carbon-containing dielectric layer (222, [0070] – [0071], fig. 2E), wherein the via opening (224A) passes through the etch stop layer (218/220) and partially extends into of the aluminum-containing layer (216), so that a bottom surface of the via opening (224A) is lower than a top surface of the aluminum-containing layer (216) while is higher than a bottom surface of the aluminum-containing layer (fig. 2E, [0071]);
etching through the aluminum-containing layer (216) so that the via opening (224A) extends through the aluminum-containing layer (fig. 2F, [0073]); and
forming a conductive structure (226/227/228) in the via opening (224A) and the line trench (224B, fig. 2G, [0074]).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over More in view of Liao, as applied to claim 14, and in further view of Lee (US 2021/0257293) and Lavoie (US 2008/0241575).
As to claim 15, More further teaches forming the conductive structure in the via opening and the line trench (Fig. 2G) comprises:
forming a first barrier layer (226) over sidewalls of the via opening (224A) and the line trench (224B, [0074]);
forming a second barrier layer (227) over the first barrier layer (226, [0074]);
forming a conductive layer (228) over the second barrier layer (226, [0074]); and
polishing the first barrier layer, the second barrier layer, and the conductive layer to form the conductive structure ([0074], the three layers are all flush, and using a polishing method to make them flush is very well-known in the art).
More does not teach the exact method of forming the barrier layers. However, Lee teaches forming a first barrier layer (234a) over sidewalls of the via opening and the line trench (22) by performing an atomic layer deposition process ([0025]); forming a second barrier layer (234b) over the first barrier layer (234a) by performing a physical vapor deposition process ([0025]); forming a conductive layer (236) over the second barrier layer ([0025]) and polishing the first barrier layer, the second barrier layer, and the conductive layer to form the conductive structure (fig. 2C).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to form barrier layers using well-known methods, as taught by Lee, so as to protect against copper diffusion.
Neither More or Lee teach the conductive layer is doped with dopants. However, Lavoie teaches doping copper interconnects with aluminum for the purposes of reducing electromigration and improving circuit reliability ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to dope the line, via, and barrier layer with aluminum for the reasons stated above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-13, and 17-23 are allowed and claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: see Applicant’s arguments dated 12/29/25 for reasons for allowance.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
1/28/26