DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Amendment” filed on 06/10/2026 has been considered.
Claims 21, 24-26, 33, 36, and 37 are amended. Claims 21-40 remain pending in this application and an action on the merits follow.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims has not overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 101.
Applicant’s response by virtue of amendment to claims has overcome the Examiner’s rejection under 35 USC § 112.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 USC 101. The claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because claims 21 and 33 are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 22-32 and 34-40 fail to remedy these deficiencies.
The claims 21 and 33 recite receiving vehicle telematics data based upon real-time sensor data, processing the vehicle telematics data which including component data and environmental data to determine a first/second driver of the first/second trip and a first/second amount of wear attributable to the first/second driver, and update trip model, dynamically adjusting a replacement cycle based upon the first/second amount of wear, querying an industry data, determining a first/second maintenance contribution associated with a first/second driver to be allocated to a maintenance account, comparing the first and second maintenance contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold, and causing an amount corresponding to the first and second maintenance contributions to be transferred to the maintenance account, wherein the maintenance account is partitioned to hold funds.
The claims 21 and 33 recite processing to determine drivers and update trip model data, determining the amount of wear, dynamical adjusting, determining a first and second maintenance contributions, comparing, and transferring steps as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind, managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “the computer system comprising at least one processor and a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium in communication with the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations”, “one or more sensors associated with the vehicle”, “one or more vehicle computing devices“, “at least one vehicle component”, “an account computing device”, and “an interface of software present on a mobile communications device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind and by organizing human activity. For example, but for “the computer system, the processor, the at least one vehicle component, the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium, the one or more vehicle computing devices, the account computing device, the interface of the mobile communications device, and the one or more sensors” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually determines a first/second driver based on the collected sensor data, determines a first/second amount wear, updates trip model data based on the received vehicle telematics data, dynamically generates the adjusted replacement cycle based on the first/second amount wear, determines a first and a second maintenance contributions, compares the first and the second maintenance contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold, and transfers the first and the second maintenance contributions to the maintenance account based on a comparison result. Although a trip model is used, such use is both generic and conventional. The ability of a graphical user interface to receive selections and output data is generic. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind and by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas and the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because receiving vehicle telematics data and querying steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of receiving telematics data and querying industry data) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving, processing, determining, updating, adjusting, querying, comparing, and transferring in a computer environment. The claimed computer components such as the computer system, the processor, the at least one vehicle component, the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium, the one or more vehicle computing devices, the account computing device, the mobile communications device, and the one or more sensors are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform receiving, processing, determining, updating, adjusting, querying, comparing, and transferring steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 21 and 33 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 21 and 33 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the computer system, the processor, the at least one vehicle component, the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium, the one or more vehicle computing devices, the account computing device, the mobile communications device, and the one or more sensors to perform receiving, processing, determining, updating, adjusting, querying, comparing, and transferring steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 21 and 33 are not patent eligible.
Claims 22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39, disclose insignificant helpful content to further describe content, such as the rate of wear determination details, a replacement cycle and the replacement cost calculation, a updated replacement cycle determination, an updated plurality of periodic maintenance contribution recalculation, the plurality of periodic maintenance contribution is associated with a plurality of trip cost, storing record in a plurality of blocks of blockchains, depositing/transferring on a periodic basis, and a software type to display information, which are merely descriptive content to further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39 are directed to an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because descriptive content in claims 22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39 further limit the abstract idea but not make it less abstract. Thus, the claims 22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39 are directed to an abstract idea.
There are no additional claim element limitations recited in the claims 22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims22-24, 27-29, 31-32, 34-36, and 38-39 are not patent eligible.
The claims 25-26, 30, 37, and 40 recite the steps of displaying an estimated replacement data, an estimated replacement cost, a total amount allocated, and a difference, receiving selections to allocate maintenances contributions, identifying a first user and a second user, allocating a first plurality of maintenance contribution to the first user, and allocating a second plurality of maintenance contribution to the second user steps.
The claims 25-26, 30, 37, and 40 recite displaying, selecting to allocate, and allocating different maintenance contribution to the identified different users as drafted, are processes that under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of managing commercial interactions and fundamental economic practices. That is, other than reciting “a client device”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by organizing human activity. For example, but for the “a client device” in the context of these claims encompasses a person manually collects information associated with a plurality of vehicle components, an estimated replacement data, an estimated replacement cost, a total amount allocated, and a difference to be displayed on a paper/board/screen, allocates contributions to the selected components, and allocates different contributions based on the identified different users. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation by managing personal behavior but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas.. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because collecting information to display step is recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of collecting telematics data) and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims as a whole merely describe how to generally “apply” the concept of displaying, selecting, and allocating in a computer environment. The claimed computer component such as the client device is recited at a high level of generality and is merely invoked as a tool to perform displaying, selecting, and allocating steps. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims 25-26, 30, 37, and 40 are directed to an abstract idea.
The claims 25-26, 30, 37, and 40 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using the client device to perform displaying, selecting, and allocating steps amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, the claim does not amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea (Step 2B: NO). The claims 25-26, 30, 37, and 40 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-24, 26-30, and 32-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379310 to Madigan et al.
With regard to claims 21 and 33, Liu discloses computer system for determining usage of vehicle components of a vehicle by each of a plurality of drivers of the vehicle and automatically determining maintenance contributions by each driver corresponding to the usage of the vehicle by that driver, the computer system comprising at least one processor and a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable storage medium in communication with the at least one processor and having instructions stored thereon that, in response to execution by the at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising (Fig. 2-3, abstract. A system and method for vehicle sharing include a vehicle having sensors, a vehicle computing system (VCS) including a processor and a memory communicating with the sensor and programmed to store sensor data associated with a vehicle sharing trip, and a human-machine interface (HMI) communicating with the VCS and displaying a vehicle sharing trip cost using the sensor data associated with vehicle and/or vehicle component wear and tear incurred during the trip, trip cost savings based on the pricing method):
receiving, from one or more vehicle computing devices associated with the vehicle, vehicle telematics data generated by the one or more vehicle computing devices based upon real-time sensor data associated with the vehicle and collected by one or more sensors of the vehicle during a first vehicle trip and a second vehicle trip, the vehicle telematics data including (i) component data associated with at least one vehicle component of the vehicle and (ii) environmental data including environmental factors impacting the at least one vehicle component during the first vehicle trip and the second vehicle trip (paragraphs 3, 23, 35, 38, 44, and 64, In various embodiments, a vehicle sharing method or system includes sensors and a processor programmed to receive sensor data associated with operation of a vehicle by a vehicle sharing user during a trip and calculate a vehicle sharing cost associated with anticipated maintenance of a vehicle component based on the sensor data from the trip, historical information and customer characteristics (e.g. repeated ride-sharing customers, or the years of owning a vehicle). The processor may be further programmed to communicate the vehicle sharing cost for display on a vehicle HMI. processor 106 may transmit sensor data associated with a particular vehicle use, route, weather, road condition, etc. The vehicle computing system (VCS) of one or more vehicles 210-A, 210-B may record information from various vehicle sensors for use in determining maintenance and wear and tear on the vehicles. Vehicles already collect sensor data such as location, velocity, acceleration, sound, temperature, road gradient, brake torque, propulsive torque suspension travel engine coolant and oil temperature, parking location, etc. );
processing the vehicle telematics data, including the component data and the environmental data, to (i) determine a first vehicle trip and a first amount of wear of the at least one vehicle component resulting from the first vehicle trip and attributable to ta first driver, (ii) determine a second vehicle trip and a second amount of wear of the at least one vehicle component resulting from the second vehicle trip and attributable to a second driver (Fig. 5, paragraphs 54, 56, and 64, Operation of a system or method as represented by flowchart 500 may include linking or pairing of a mobile or nomadic device to the vehicle at vehicle key-on as represented at 510. During operation of the vehicle, data is collected from vehicle sensors and associated with corresponding service events for the vehicle as represented at 540. Data may be aggregated across many vehicles and uses to analyze service events and associate costs for a particular type of vehicle use, driver behavior, route, weather, etc. Users may use multiple vehicles over time with different uses, routes, etc. with the historical data used in determining the cost for future vehicle sharing transactions. Travel patterns for drivers are then mapped using data such as phone numbers as represented at 560. Mobility maps and wear and tear maps for individual drivers are correlated to determine cost associated with a particular driver based on location, route, driving behavior, etc. as represented at 570.), and (iii) update trip model data associated with the at least one vehicle component, wherein the updating includes dynamically adjusting a replacement cycle of the at least one vehicle component based upon the first amount of wear and the second amount of wear (paragraphs 64 and 67-68, Components or systems may be selected for monitoring and modeling based on types and costs of maintenance and repairs. The wear and tear models used to determine vehicle sharing cost may be adjusted accordingly based on the type of component and types of wear associated with particular vehicle operation. Road map databases containing information about road construction or condition relevant to tire wear, as well as weather information sensors and weather reports from the internet may be used to provide information about ambient conditions. These inputs are provided to a tire wear model that may estimate tread life and project the total wear for a particular trip and/or use of the vehicle. These inputs can be used to estimate timing belt wear and associated maintenance/repair cost attributed to a particular vehicle use or trip.);
querying an industry data source associated with a manufacturer of the at least one vehicle component, the query performed to retrieve industry data associated with at least one of replacement or maintenance of the at least one vehicle component (abstract and paragraph 45, Storage and large scale processing of damage models may be performed in the cloud by the CDN on clusters of commodity computing hardware using sensor data in addition to cost information for replacement parts, repairs, and labor, for example, as represented at 416. A cloud-based distributed database management system aggregates large amounts of data across many commodity servers of the CDN as represented at 418.);
determining, based upon the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle and the retrieved industry data, a first maintenance contribution associated with the first driver and a second maintenance contribution associated with the second driver (paragraphs 45, 47, 58, 61, and 68, Braking system 810 includes a fluid reservoir 842 with a fluid level sensor or switch. Low brake fluid level, which may be detected by the fluid level sensor or switch may accelerate brake wear and contribute to additional maintenance/repair costs that may be accounted for by the cloud-based or VCS-based models based on the sensor data. These inputs can be used to estimate timing belt wear and associated maintenance/repair cost attributed to a particular vehicle use or trip. Using sensor data in addition to cost information for replacement parts. After the estimation of the wear and tear associated with a particular use, route, driver, etc. the user may be charged accordingly for the trip taken. Mobility data may be collected and stored on each device and relayed to cloud 740 to calculate the real-time payments and inform the owners or operators.).
However, Liu does not disclose processing the vehicle telematics data, including the component data and the environmental data, to (i) determine a second/first driver; the first and second maintenance contributions to be allocated to a maintenance account associated with the vehicle, the first and second maintenance contributions corresponding to at least a portion of a replacement cost to replace the at least one vehicle component; comparing the first and second maintenance contribution contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold; and based upon a determination that the first and second maintenance contributions satisfy the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold, automatically causing an account computing device to transfer an amount corresponding to the first and second maintenance contributions from a source account of at least one of the first driver or the second driver to the maintenance account, wherein the maintenance account is partitioned on a component-by-component basis and configured to hold funds associated with the replacement cost until the end of the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle.
However, Garner teaches determining, the first and second maintenance contributions to be allocated to a maintenance account associated with the vehicle, the first and second maintenance contributions corresponding to at least a portion of a replacement cost to replace the at least one vehicle component (Each of the one or more accounts 122 of the respective users may be linked to one or more accounts 122 linked to one or more network enabled properties 102 respectively. Rules are administered setting timing of withdrawals as well as withdrawal amounts from one or more user accounts 122 to one or more accounts 122 linked to a network enabled property 102 at 206. The amounts withdrawn are deposited into accounts 122 linked to one or more network enabled properties 102. lines In one example of administering rules, the withdrawal amounts from accounts 122 linked to one or more users 106 and deposited in an account linked to a network enabled property 102 are equal to the replacement cost of the network enabled property 102 over the amount of time equal to the expected life of the network enabled property 102. In a specific example, a home treadmill machine has an expected life of ten years and the accounts 122 linked to two users 106 respectively both have a set monthly withdrawal amount equal to the expected cost of a replacement treadmill machine divided by one-hundred and twenty months, col. 8, lines 52-57, col. 10, lines 51- col. 11, lines 33); comparing the first and second maintenance contribution contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold (In some arrangements, a threshold can be set where the amount needed for repair exceeds the threshold and triggers a change in withdrawal amounts to account for an anticipated replacement. Examiner notes that a threshold can be set where the amount needed for repair exceeds the threshold and triggers a change in withdrawal amounts to account for an anticipated replacement, which is considered as “comparing the first and second maintenance contribution contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold”, Col. 7, lines 19-53 and col. 13, lines 5-8, lines 30- 52); and based upon a determination that the first and second maintenance contributions satisfy the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold, automatically causing an account computing device to transfer an amount corresponding to the first and second maintenance contributions from a source account of at least one of the first driver or the second driver to the maintenance account (Examiner notes that a fund transferring message including details and purpose of the fund is a well-known technique. In one example of administering rules, the withdrawal amounts from accounts 122 linked to one or more users 106 and deposited in an account linked to a network enabled property 102 are equal to the replacement cost of the network enabled property 102 over the amount of time equal to the expected life of the network enabled property 102. Usage information from multiple users 106 can be used to dynamically rebalance the withdrawn amount from each of their respective accounts 122 for the amounts to correspond to a percentage of usage of the network enabled property 102. In some arrangements, a threshold can be set where the amount needed for repair exceeds the threshold and triggers a change in withdrawal amounts to account for an anticipated replacement., Col. 6, lines 46-63, Col. 7, lines 19-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include, determining, a maintenance contribution…; comparing the maintenance contributions to a system-defined maintenance contribution threshold; and…causing an amount corresponding to the maintenance contributions to be transferred from a source account of the user to the maintenance account, as taught in Garner, in order to withdrawn amounts by taking into account the percentage of use of each individual user (Garner, col. 10, lines 26-30).
However, Munir teaches wherein the maintenance account is partitioned on a component-by-component basis and configured to hold funds associated with the replacement cost until the end of the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle (a financial account may be associated with one or more connected devices to offset or pay for maintenance, repairs and/or replacement of the connected devices. For example, when a consumer (or “user”) purchases a new connected device, the connected device is linked to a device maintenance, repair, and/or replacement account for the consumer at a financial services provider. In some examples, the financial account may include a plurality of sub-accounts, with each respective sub-account assigned to each linked connected device. In some examples, device financing unit 14 may establish the financial account upon identifying the connected device. The financial account may be a sub-account of a pre-existing financial account provided by the financial services provider (e.g., a pre-existing checking or savings account). According to aspects of this disclosure, device financing unit 14 may generate a sub-account by transmitting an electronic offer to generate the sub-account to an electronic device associated with the user. Device financing unit 14 may automatically transfer funds to the financial account associated with the connect device 18 at the rate of contribution from another account of the user and maintained by computing device 12. Examiner notes that a plurality of sub-accounts of the financial account is associated with one or more connected devices to offset or pay for maintenance, repairs and/or replacement of the connected devices, which can be considered as “the maintenance account is partitioned on a component-by-component basis and configured to hold funds associated with the replacement cost until the end of the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle”, Fig. 2, paragraphs 13-14, 23, and 70).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Liu to include, wherein the maintenance account is partitioned on a component-by-component basis and configured to hold funds associated with the replacement cost until the end of the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle, as taught in Munir, in order to provide efficient savings techniques for repairing or replacing a connected device (Munir, paragraph 3).
However, Madigan teaches processing the vehicle telematics data, including the component data and the environmental data, to (i) determine a second/first driver (Sensor 311 also may be configured to collect data identifying a current driver from among a number of different possible drivers. In step 408, data associated with the driving behaviors of the user and/or environmental conditions in which the vehicle is operating are received, paragraphs 71 and 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic usage of Liu and Garner to include, processing the vehicle telematics data, including the component data and the environmental data, to (i) determine a second/first driver, as taught in Madigan, in order to provide one or more recommendations for improving (e.g., reducing) consumption rate (Madigan, paragraph 6).
With regard to claims 22 and 34, Liu discloses analyzing the vehicle telematics data associated with the at least one vehicle component to determine a rate of wear of the at least one vehicle component (abstract and paragraph 85, Data received from vehicle sensors and/or service tools and external vehicle-related sensors may be compared to expected relationships between various operating parameters to detect wear and tear and related anticipated maintenance/repair costs.); and determining, based upon the rate of wear, a time remaining until replacement of the at least one vehicle component (paragraph 78, determine the state of health of the battery and the remaining life of the battery under different use conditions).
With regard to claims 23 and 35, the combination of references discloses calculating, in connection with the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle and the replacement cost, a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions to the maintenance account corresponding to a vehicle trip and prior vehicle trips of the first and second drivers using the vehicle, including: dividing the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle into a plurality of replacement intervals, each of the plurality of replacement intervals associated with one of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions; and dividing the replacement cost by a total number of replacement intervals to obtain an amount associated with each of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions (Garner, col. 8, lines 52-57, col. 10, lines 51- col. 11, lines 33, a set monthly withdrawal amount equal to the expected cost of a replacement treadmill machine divided by one-hundred and twenty months).
With regard to claims 24 and 36, Liu discloses the instructions further cause the processor to perform operations comprising causing, prior to a start of a vehicle trip, display of information relating to at least one of the at least one vehicle component and the source account via an interface of software present on a mobile communications device associated with at least one of the first or second driver, and wherein the software is at least one of (i) a web browser, for viewing and interacting with a webpage or (ii) an app (Fig. 8-9, paragraphs 81-83, Data collected by an external sensor or service tool 910 may be wirelessly transferred as indicated at 930 to a vehicle embedded modem 932 or other computer or processor of the VCS. Various types of wireless communication may be used, such as Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), for example. The vehicle embedded modem 932 may act as a hub to transfer sensor data 940 to a linked or connected mobile device 928. The vehicle embedded modem 932 may also transfer data directly or indirectly (through mobile device 928) to the CDN for analysis and processing to detect and price wear and tear for the vehicle sharing trip or rental period as previously described).
With regard to claims 26 and 37, the combination of references discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising receiving, from a mobile communications device associated with at least one of the first or second driver, vehicle component data representative of one or more of a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle to which a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions should be allocated (Garner, Fig. 1, col. 12, lines 52-col. 13, lines 8, transferring periodic transfers of financial instruments to an account 122 linked to one or more vehicles based at least on expected lifetime and/or amount of use by one or more users is shown according to an example embodiment. Examiner notes that the network enabled properties includes vehicles components).
With regard to claims 27 and 38, the combination of references discloses the instructions further cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising dynamically adjusting the replacement cycle by determining, based upon updated vehicle telematics data corresponding to the updated trip model data, an updated replacement cycle associated with the at least one vehicle component (Garner, col. 5, lines 63-67, and col. 7, lines 19-53).
With regard to claim 28, the combination of references discloses recalculating, based upon the updated replacement cycle and the replacement cost, an updated plurality of periodic maintenance contributions (Garner, col. 2, lines 7-26 and col. 7, lines 19-53, the usage of the product affects one of a service life, maintenance schedule, replacement schedule, or replacement of consumables within the product or device).
With regard to claim 32, the combination of references discloses each periodic maintenance contribution of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions is transferred to the maintenance account on a periodic basis over a period of time based upon the dynamically adjusted replacement cycle (Garner, col. 6, lines 63-67, In another example of administering rules, the withdrawal amounts are equal to an amount or estimated amount of the cost of maintenance of the network enabled property 102 over the amount of time matching a maintenance schedule of the network enabled property 102.).
With regard to claims 29 and 39, the combination of references discloses the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose determining, based upon the vehicle telematics data, a plurality of trip costs associated with a plurality of vehicle trips of the first and second drivers and the at least one vehicle component; aggregating the plurality of trip costs; determining that a total associated with the aggregated plurality of trip costs exceeds the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold; and in response to the determination, automatically transferring, a maintenance contribution corresponding to the total, wherein the maintenance contribution is a most recent maintenance contribution of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions to the maintenance account.
However, Madigan teaches determining, based upon the vehicle telematics data, a plurality of trip costs associated with a plurality of vehicle trips of the first and second drivers and the at least one vehicle component; aggregating the plurality of trip costs; determining that a total associated with the aggregated plurality of trip costs exceeds the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold; and in response to the determination, automatically transferring, a maintenance contribution corresponding to the total, wherein the maintenance contribution is a most recent maintenance contribution of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions to the maintenance account (Fig. 6 and Fig.7D, paragraphs 26, 40-42, 65, 96-97, 99, 104, and 152. examiner notes that multiple trips cost in a day can be considered as “aggregating the trip cost”. Once the balance of risk units reaches a predetermined threshold, the number of risk units may be replenished. Examiner notes that total consumed risk unit cost can be considered as “a total cost of trips”. Examiner notes that the remaining risk units cost is below a predetermined threshold, which is considered as “a total associated with the aggregated plurality of trip costs exceeds the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold”. Examiner notes that risk units consumed during trips can be considered as the total cost of trips. Therefore, the message instructs to purchase and deposit risk units (i.e., the total cost of trips) into an account, which can be considered as “the message including the total cost of trips, the message instructing … transfer a maintenance contribution payment representing the total cost of trips”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic usage of Liu and Garner to include, determining, based upon the vehicle telematics data, a plurality of trip costs associated with a plurality of vehicle trips of the first and second drivers and the at least one vehicle component; aggregating the plurality of trip costs; determining that a total associated with the aggregated plurality of trip costs exceeds the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold; and in response to the determination, automatically transferring, a maintenance contribution corresponding to the total, wherein the maintenance contribution is a most recent maintenance contribution of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions to the maintenance account., as taught in Madigan, in order to provide one or more recommendations for improving (e.g., reducing) consumption rate (Madigan, paragraph 6).
With regard to claims 30 and 40, the combination of references discloses the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose automatically allocating a first plurality of maintenance contributions to the first driver based upon the vehicle telematics data; and automatically allocating a second plurality of maintenance contributions to the second driver based upon the vehicle telematics data.
However, Madigan teaches a automatically allocating a first plurality of maintenance contributions to the first driver based upon the vehicle telematics data (paragraphs 79 and 85); and automatically allocating a second plurality of maintenance contributions to the second driver based upon the vehicle telematics data ((paragraphs 79 and 85, for example, after driver, vehicle, and/or driving trip is determined by a vehicle-based device and/or mobile device, corresponding information may be transmitted to the insurance server 350 to perform insurance offer and cost determinations, determine consumption rate of risk units. Examiner notes that driving date can be used to identify different drivers and after a driver is determined, cost determination is offered to the identified driver).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic usage of Liu and Garner to include, automatically allocating a first plurality of maintenance contributions to the first driver based upon the vehicle telematics data; and automatically allocating a second plurality of maintenance contributions to the second driver based upon the vehicle telematics data, as taught in Madigan, in order to provide one or more recommendations for improving (e.g., reducing) consumption rate (Madigan, paragraph 6).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379310 to Madigan et al., and further in view of Japan Patent Application Publication No. JP 2018/010379 to Tanaka.
With regard to claim 25, the combination of references substantially disclose the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose an option to select one or more of a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle to which one or more of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions should be allocated; an estimated replacement date of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; an estimated replacement cost associated with the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; a total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components based upon the one or more of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions applied to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; and a difference between the total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components and a component replacement cost associated with each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components.
However, Tanaka teaches an option to select one or more of a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle to which one or more of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions should be allocated; an estimated replacement date of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; an estimated replacement cost associated with the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; a total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components based upon the one or more of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions applied to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; and a difference between the total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components and a component replacement cost associated with each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components (On the other hand, when the object 20 is an automobile tire, the switch ON / OF in the electrical appliance. Examiner notes that on/off switch to monitor the tire of the automobile is considered as “an option to select one or more of a plurality of vehicle components to which one or more of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions should be allocated”. notifying the replacement timing and replacement price of the target object owned by the user at an appropriate timing. Examiner notes that fig. 3 shows the replacement timing and replacement price of the target object, which is considered as “an estimated replacement cost associated with the one or more of plurality of vehicle components”, page 2, lines 19-20, page 8, line 29, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic savings based on actual use for network enabled properties of Garner to include, an option to select one or more of a plurality of vehicle components of the vehicle to which one or more of a plurality of periodic maintenance contributions should be allocated; an estimated replacement date of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; an estimated replacement cost associated with the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; a total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components based upon the one or more of the plurality of periodic maintenance contributions applied to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components; and a difference between the total amount allocated to each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components and a component replacement cost associated with each of the one or more of the plurality of vehicle components, as taught in Tanaka, in order to effective for preparation of funds for replacement of an object (Tanaka, technical-field).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0215491 to Liu et al., U.S. Patent No. 10,692,056 to Garner et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0286187 to Munir et al., and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0379310 to Madigan et al., and further in view of in view of U.S. Patent No. 2017/0054611 to Tiell.
With regard to claim 31, the combination of references substantially discloses the claimed invention, however, the combination of references does not disclose storing a plurality of groups of vehicle telematics data obtained over a period of time in a plurality of blocks of a blockchain.
However, Tiell teaches storing a plurality of groups of vehicle telematics data obtained over a period of time in a plurality of blocks of a blockchain (Claim 2 teaches using a blockchain with the data. Figure 1 teaches receiving data from a vehicle. Paragraph [0022] teaches collecting telematics data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a system for dynamic usage of Liu and Garner to include, storing a plurality of groups of vehicle telematics data obtained over a period of time in a plurality of blocks of a blockchain, as taught in Tiell, in order to utilize the blockchain protocol for providing a secure and reliable method of updating copies (Tiell, paragraph 57).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' arguments filed on 06/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive especially in light of the previously references applied in the rejections.
Applicants remark that “Applicant respectfully submits that no combination of references describes or suggests at least "… processing the vehicle telematics data, including the component data and the environmental data, to determine a first driver of the first vehicle trip and a first amount of wear of the at least one vehicle component resulting from the first vehicle trip and attribute to the first driver… querying an industry data source associated with a manufacturer of the at least one vehicle component, the query performed to retrieve industry data associated with at least one of replacement or maintenance of the at least one vehicle component… based upon a determination that the first and second maintenance contributions satisfy the system-defined maintenance contribution threshold, automatically causing an account computing device to transfer an amount corresponding to the first and second maintenance contributions from a source account of at least one of the first driver or the second driver to the maintenance account”.
Examiner directs Applicants' attention to the office action above.
Applicants remark that “Applicant's claims recite a technical solution to the technical problem of conventional vehicle maintenance technology. In particular, the claimed system improves real-time vehicle maintenance forecasting by utilizing real-time vehicle telematics data, driver identification techniques, environmental-condition data, and manufacturer maintenance information to dynamically update component-specific wear models and replacement cycles. Notably, the present claims include a combination of limitations that operate in a non- conventional and non-generic way to improve real-time vehicle maintenance forecasting. For at least the reasons set forth above, the present claims are eligible under the second prong of Step 2A. Accordingly, Claims 21 and 33, and their respective dependent claims, are not directed to an abstract idea, and Applicant respectfully requests that the Section 101 rejection be withdrawn.”.
Examiner does not agree. The claim limitation does not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor does it effects an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Training a trip model data utilizing collected sensor data is generic data process. Identifying a user/driver by analyzing the collected vehicle telematics data is generic data process which can be performed by a person. They do not describe any particular improvement in the manner a computer functions. Instead, the claim amounts to nothing significantly more than using collected vehicle components data on a computer to determine replacement cycles and apply those determinations to efficiently transfer/save/deposit maintenance contributions. Under our precedents, that is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
As we determine herein, the claims 21-40 are directed to achieving the result of managing maintenance contributions by utilizing the replacement cycle generated from the machine learning model, as distinguished from a technological improvement for achieving or applying that result. Although a trip model involving identifying and/or prediction is used, such use is both generic and conventional. The object of the claims is to manage maintenance contributions for components, not to produce technology enabling a machine learning model to operate. The claims call for generic use of such a model in the manner such models conventionally operate. Simply reciting a particular technological module or piece of equipment in a claim does not confer eligibility.
Conclusion
Please refer to form 892 for cited references.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARIEL J YU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627