Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 8th, 2023 was filed before the mailing date of the first office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of Claims 8 and 10 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. The terminal lugs (16) are not shown to be connected to the drive circuit board (20). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In this instance, Claim 8 recites “the semiconductor power module is connected in electrically conductive manner by the terminal lugs for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module to the drive circuit board”. The applicant’s specification only states that “electrical contacts 14 for connection to a drive circuit board 20” (Page 4, Line 12) and “the power module 10 is connected in electrically conducting manner across the circuit board 12 and the electrical terminal contacts 14 to the drive circuit board 20” (Page 4, Lines 21-23). Therefore, applicant’s specification does not support the limitations of Claim 8.
Similarly, Claim 10 recites “the terminal lugs for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module are secured in corresponding openings of the drive circuit board by press-fit”. The applicant’s specification only states that “electrical contacts 14 for connection to a drive circuit board 20” (Page 4, Line 12) and “the power module 10 is connected in electrically conducting manner across the circuit board 12 and the electrical terminal contacts 14 to the drive circuit board 20” (Page 4, Lines 21-23). Therefore, applicant’s specification does not support the limitations of Claim 10.
Claims 4, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the top side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation will be interpreted as “a top side”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the top side" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation will be interpreted as “a top side”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the terminal lugs" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation will be interpreted as “terminal lugs”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mao et al. (CN 113295913 A; hereinafter Mao).
Regarding Claim 1, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches a system comprising:
a semiconductor power module ([0038]/[n0019], see fig. 4) encased in a plastic compound ([0038]/[n0019], 2) for a pulse inverter of an electric vehicle ([0009]/[n0005], power modules are used in inverters in vehicles), wherein
a busbar ([0038]/[n0019], 4),
an integrated circuit for current metering ([0038]/[n0019], 5) arranged on a circuit board ([0038]/[n0019], 10), and
a U-shaped shield plate ([0038]/[n0019], 9) surrounding the busbar (4) and the circuit board (10) are embedded in the plastic compound (2) of the semiconductor power module and surrounded by it, while
one end of the busbar (4) and electrical terminal contacts ([0039]/[n0020], 11) of the circuit board (10) protrude from the plastic compound (2).
Regarding Claim 2, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches terminal lugs ([0039]/[n0020], 12) for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module protrude from the plastic compound (2).
Regarding Claim 3, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches the end of the busbar (4) protrudes from a front face (bottom of fig. 5) of the semiconductor power module.
Regarding Claim 4, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches the electrical terminal contacts (11) protrude from the top side (top of fig. 6) of the semiconductor power module.
Regarding Claim 7, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches a drive circuit board ([0039]/[n0020], 3) for the semiconductor power module, wherein the integrated circuit for current metering (5) is connected in electrically conductive manner by the electrical terminal contacts (11) to the drive circuit board (3).
Regarding Claim 8, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches the semiconductor power module is connected in electrically conductive manner by the terminal lugs (12) for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module to the drive circuit board (3).
Regarding Claim 9, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches a method for manufacturing a system comprising:
a semiconductor power module ([0038]/[n0019], see fig. 4) encased in a plastic compound ([0038]/[n0019], 2) for a pulse inverter of an electric vehicle ([0009]/[n0005], power modules are used in inverters in vehicles), wherein
a busbar ([0038]/[n0019], 4),
an integrated circuit for current metering ([0038]/[n0019], 5) arranged on a circuit board ([0038]/[n0019], 10), and
a U-shaped shield plate ([0038]/[n0019], 9) surrounding the busbar (4) and the circuit board (10) are embedded in the plastic compound (2) of the semiconductor power module and surrounded by it, while
one end of the busbar (4) and electrical terminal contacts ([0039]/[n0020], 11) of the circuit board (10) protrude from the plastic compound (2), and
a drive circuit board ([0039]/[n0020], 3) for the semiconductor power module, wherein the integrated circuit for current metering (5) is connected in electrically conductive manner by the electrical terminal contacts (11) to the drive circuit board (3), the method comprising:
mounting the semiconductor power module ([0039]/[n0020], see fig. 8) on the drive circuit board (3); and
securing the electrical terminal contacts (11) in corresponding openings of the drive circuit board (3) by press-fit ([0040]/[n0021]).
Regarding Claim 10, Mao (figs. 4-8) teaches the terminal lugs ([0038]/[n0019], 12) for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module are secured in corresponding openings (see fig. 8) of the drive circuit board (3) by press-fit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao as applied to Claim 2 above, and further in view of Cottet et al. (2019/0304946 A1; hereinafter Cottet).
Regarding Claim 5, Mao doesn’t explicitly teach that the terminal lugs for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module protrude from a front face of the semiconductor power module.
However, Cottet (fig. 2) teaches the terminal lugs ([0062], 46) for the electrical contacting of the semiconductor power module ([0055], 10) protrude from a front face (right side of fig. 2) of the semiconductor power module (10) while still maintaining the function of providing external electrical contacts. One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted the terminal lugs of Cottet for the terminal lugs of Mao and yielded the predictable results of providing external electrical contact.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the terminal lugs of Cottet for the terminal lugs of Mao, since simple substitution of terminal lugs for another is an appropriate rationale to support a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding Claim 6, Cottet (fig. 2) teaches the terminal lugs (46) are bent upward (see fig. 2) and their ends point in the direction of the top side (top of fig. 2) of the semiconductor power module (10).
Conclusion
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 June 4, 2025