DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 6, claims 1 and 5-16 in the reply filed on June 15, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 2-4 and 17-27 have been withdrawn by the Applicant. Action on the merits is as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6 and 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaakkola (US 2020/0304093 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses a MEMS resonator (Fig. 6) comprising: a support structure (item 60); a distributed cross-sectional resonator element (item 61) with a particular eigenmode (resonance mode, Abstract claim 1), wherein the particular eigenmode is defined by a propagating series of modes, wherein each respective mode of the propagating series of modes is associated with a respective sub-element of a plurality of sub-elements (items 11A-11C, 21A-21C, 31A-31C, 41A-41C, 51A-51E), wherein a combination of the plurality of sub-elements (items 11A-11C, 21A-21C, 31A-31C, 41A-41C, 51A-51E) comprises a cross-section of the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element, paragraph 86); at least one anchor (item 69) coupling the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element, paragraph 86) to the support structure (item 60); at least one drive electrode for actuating the particular eigenmode (Abstract, claim 1, actuator for exciting the resonator element to a resonance mode); and at least one sense electrode for sensing the particular eigenmode (paragraph 75, a piezoelectric transducer layer).
In regards to claim 5, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element, paragraph 86) comprises a base material (silicon body) and a secondary material (dopant).
In regards to claim 6, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the base material (silicon body) of the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element, paragraph 35) is homogeneously doped with one of N-type or P-type dopants (paragraph 75).
In regards to claim 9, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein one or more respective modes from the propagating series of modes comprise a Lamé resonance mode (paragraph 125).
In regards to claim 10, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the propagating series of modes comprises a plurality of Lamé resonance modes (paragraph 125).
In regards to claim 11, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the at least one anchor (item 69) acoustically couples propagating waves in the resonator element (resonator element) to decaying evanescent waves in the at least one anchor (item 69).
In regards to claim 12, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6, 11, 13 and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the at least one anchor (item 69, 119) comprises a first waveguide portion and a second waveguide portion, wherein the first waveguide portion couples the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element) to the second waveguide portion, and wherein the second waveguide portion couples the first waveguide portion to the support structure (item 60).
In regards to claim 13, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6, 11, 13, 15C-19D and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the first waveguide portion has a first width at a first interface between the first waveguide portion and the distributed cross-sectional resonator element, wherein the first waveguide portion has a second width at a second interface between the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion, and wherein the second width is larger than the first width.
In regards to claim 14, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6, 11, 13, 15C-19D and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the second waveguide portion has the second width at the second interface between the first waveguide portion and the second waveguide portion, wherein the second waveguide portion has a third width at a third interface between the second waveguide portion and the support structure, and wherein the third width is smaller than the first width.
In regards to claim 15, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6, 11, 13, 15C-19D and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element) is configured to resonate at a frequency in a very high frequency (VHF) range or ultra high frequency (UHF) range. Applicant needs to claim how the resonator is structurally configured in order to resonate at a frequency in a very high frequency (VHF) range or ultra high frequency (UHF) range
In regards to claim 16, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6, 11, 13, 15C-19D and associated text and similar items) discloses wherein the at least one drive electrode for actuating the particular eigenmode (Abstract, claim 1, actuator for exciting the resonator element to a resonance mode) comprises at least one piezoelectric drive electrode, and wherein the at least one sense electrode for sensing the particular eigenmode (paragraph 75, a piezoelectric transducer layer) comprises at least one piezoelectric sense electrode.
Claim(s) 1 and 5-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Daruwalla et al. (Daruwalla) (US 2023/0131902 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 5-16, Daruwalla (See entire document) discloses the Applicant’s claimed invention.
The applied reference has a common inventor(s) and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaakkola (US 2020/0304093 A1) in view of Jaakkola et al. (Jaakkola’704) (US 2016/0099704 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) does not specifically disclose wherein a doping concentration of the one of N-type or P-type dopants causes an absolute value of a second order temperature coefficient of frequency of a reference distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element, paragraph 75) comprising only the base material (silicon body) to be about zero, and wherein the doping concentration is applied to the base material (silicon body) of the distributed cross-sectional resonator element (resonator element) comprising the base material (silicon body) and a secondary material (dopant).
Jaakkola’704 discloses a MEMS resonator wherein having a certain doping concentration level would causes an absolute value of a first order and a second order temperature coefficients of frequency of the resonator element to be about zero (paragraphs 0020, and 0021, "Such plates have been found to be able to carry a width-extensional resonance mode having zero TCP, and zero TCF2 at an n-doping concentration above the concentration threshold of 1.2* 1020 cm³ according to the invention", and Figures 2B and 2E).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Jaakkola’704.
In regards to claim 8, Jaakkola (Abstract, claim1, Figs. 1-6 and associated text and similar items) as modified by Jaakkola’704 discloses wherein a ratio of the volume of the secondary material to the total volume of the distributed cross-sectional resonator element in combination with the type of dopant, the doping concentration, and the particular eigenmode causes an absolute value of a first order temperature coefficient of frequency of the distributed cross-sectional resonator element to be about zero. What’s the ratio?
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see all references list in 892 and prior art mentioned in the both written search reports.
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 30, 2026