DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-12, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 2021/0257942in view of Baumeister et al. (US 2022/0089032)
Re Claims 1, 12 and 18; Sakai discloses
“a control board configured to control an electrical appliance for a vehicle”
→ Sakai teaches a control unit 103 that manages the operation of a motor M and brake B via motor drive circuit 101 and brake drive circuit 102 [¶[0024]–[0026], FIG. 8]. → The control unit receives commands from controller 111 and governs the actuator’s behavior, consistent with controlling an electrical appliance in a vehicular or robotic system [¶[0025], ¶[0034]].
“a carrier board having an electrically conductive interface” → Sakai’s controller 111, as shown in FIG. 8, includes integrated components such as the discharge instruction generation circuit 110, NOT/OR logic circuits, and signal routing to the discharge changeover switch 109 and discharge resistor 108. → This controller functions as a carrier board: it physically hosts and electrically interconnects these components, forming a conductive interface for signal and power flow [FIG. 8; ¶[0025], ¶[0026], ¶[0037]].
“an electrically conductive connecting device configured to electrically connect the electrically conductive interface to the control board”
→ Sakai shows electrical connections between controller 111 (carrier board) and control unit 103 (control board) via signal lines and logic circuits [FIG. 8]. → These connections inherently include electrically conductive paths (e.g., traces, wires, or connectors) that link the interface on controller 111 to the control board.
“a discharge resistor (108) arranged in or on the carrier board and that is configured to be electrically connected to the electrically conductive interface and to discharge the energy when the interface is electrically connected to the control board” → Sakai teaches a discharge resistor 108 mounted within the controller 111 block (FIG. 8), electrically connected to the discharge changeover switch 109 and the brake drive circuit capacitor 106. → The resistor is activated by logic from the discharge instruction generation circuit 110 and discharges stored energy when triggered [¶[0026], ¶[0035], ¶[0037]].
Sakai does not disclose wherein the discharge resistor comprises at least one of:
a conductor track structure in or on the carrier board; or
at least one SMD component part in or on the carrier board.
However, Baumeister discloses a discharge resistor comprises at least one SMD component part in or on the carrier board. (Par 0012,19)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled int art before the effective filing of the invention to have a resistor comprising at least one SMD component part in or on the carrier board in order to improved reliability since they are highly stable and reliable, often with better resistance to mechanical vibrations than through-hole components.
Re Claim 4; Sakai disclosure have been discussed above.
Lee does not disclose wherein the carrier board comprises an FR4 printed circuit board or an IMS printed circuit board.
However, FR4 and IMS are standard PCB materials in automotive and power electronics and It would have been obvious to use them for thermal and electrical performance in Lee’s discharge circuit.
Re Claims 6 and 20; Sakai discloses further comprising a control component part arranged in or on the carrier board. Logic circuits (NOT, OR), discharge instruction generation circuit 110, and signal routing within controller 111 [FIG. 8; ¶[0037]].
Re Claim 7 Sakai discloses further comprising the control board for controlling a switch for controlling the discharge resistor. Control unit 103 sends signals to discharge instruction generation circuit 110, which controls discharge changeover switch 109 [¶[0034], ¶[0037]].
Re Claims 8 and 15; Sakai discloses further comprising: a control monitoring device (802) electrically connected to the discharge resistor (108) and arranged in or on the carrier board and/or the control board, wherein the control monitoring device is configured to monitor control of the discharge resistor. (Fig. 8, Par 0096).
Re Claim 9 and 16; Sakai disclosure has been discussed above.
Sakai fails to teach:
comprising: a temperature sensor arranged in or on the carrier board and/or the control board, wherein the temperature sensor is configured to sense a temperature.
However, it would have been obvious to include a temperature sensor to monitor thermal conditions near the discharge resistor, especially in high-current applications. This enables thermal protection and feedback control—standard in safety-critical electronics.
Re Claim 10 and 17; Sakai disclosure has been discussed above.
Sakai fails to teach: further comprising: a current sensor arranged in or on the carrier board and/or the control board, wherein the current sensor is configured to sense a current intensity.
However, including a current sensor to monitor discharge current would have been obvious to ensure safe operation, detect faults, and enable feedback control. This is a routine enhancement in discharge and protection circuits.
Re Claim 11; Sakai discloses
A motor M and inverter 104 used in an actuator, which may be part of a robotic or vehicular system [¶[0024], ¶[0025], FIG. 8].
Sakai fails to explicitly state that the appliance is a “drive device for moving a vehicle” or “inverter for a vehicle.”
However, it would have been obvious to apply Sakai’s discharge apparatus to vehicle drive systems or inverters, given the shared need for braking, emergency stop, and energy discharge. The actuator structure and inverter are directly applicable to vehicular motion control.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 13, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai in view of Baumeister and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20130063893.)
Re Claims 2, 3, 13, 14 and 19; Sakai disclosure has been discussed above but does not mention any cooling device and further comprising a cooling device configured to dissipate or cool heat from the discharge resistor and wherein the cooling device comprises a passive cooling device and/or an active cooling device.
Lee discloses a cooling device configured to dissipate or cool heat from the discharge device and Passive (e.g., heat sink) and active (e.g., fan) cooling are well-known techniques (Par 0022, Fig. 2)
Therefore, given the high-temperature environment described, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing of the invention to include a passive or active cooling device to manage heat from the discharge resistor and improve safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's request to cite a reference for the feature formerly in claim 5, now incorporated into the independent claims, the Examiner has cited a reference and provided a motivation to modify to support the obviousness rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
03/30/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836