Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claims 10 , 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 10 is indefinite because II-1 to II-16, and III-1 to III-5 , lack positive antecedent basis in claim 5 and are not defined in claim 10. Claim 18 is indefinite because II-1 to II-16, and III-1 to III-5 , lack positive antecedent basis in claim 15 and are not defined in claim 18. Claim 20 is indefinite because II-1 to II-16 , and III-1 to III-5 , lack positive antecedent basis in claim 19 and are not defined in claim 20. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § § 102 and 103 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kothavale et al, “Triphenylamine-Based Bis- and Tris-ESIPT Compounds and Their Boron Complexes: Synthesis, Photophysical Properties and DFT Study of ICT and ESIPT Emission,” ChemistrySelect, 2017, vol. 2, pp. 5013-5025 (hereinafter “Kothavale”). Kothavale teaches the following compound T-THTBHT which reads on the amine compound in each of instant claims 11-20 (see Fig. 1 of Kothavale) : . In particular, T-THTBHT is the same as compound number 232 in claim 18, i.e., the claimed compound where the instant II is II-3, and each of instant Ar 1 , Ar 2 and Ar 3 is an instant III-2: . Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/03955 49 to Kase et al (hereinafter “Kase”) in view of Kothavale . With respect to claims 1-8 and 10, Kase teaches a n organic electroluminescent element comprising at least an anode, a hole transport layer, a luminous layer, an electron transport layer, a cathode and a capping layer in this order (see ¶ 0028). The capping layer comprises an amine compound having a benzazole ring structure represented by general formula A-1 (see ¶ 0029): . The Ar, A, Z and X groups in general formula A-1 are defined in Kase’s ¶¶ 0030-0031, reproduced below: Kase does not teach that its compound of formula A-1 can be the instant amine compound. However, compounds within the scope of Kase’s formula A-1 , and within the scope of the instant compound, were known in the art. In particular, Kothavale teaches the following compound T-THTBHT which reads on the amine compound in the light emitting element of instant claims 1-10 (see Fig. 1 of Kothavale): . In particular, T-THTBHT is the same as compound number 232 in claim 1 0 , i.e., where the instant II is II-3, and each of instant Ar 1 , Ar 2 and Ar 3 is an instant III-2: . T-THTBHT is also within the scope of Kothavale’s formula A-1 wherein -Ar-A, -Ar-Z and -Ar-X are each a respective . Kothavale studied the photophysical properties of T-THTBHT and other trimethylamine compounds (see the entire document). Kothavale teaches that “[a] ll tri-substituted derivatives due to their symmetrical structures show single absorption peak ” (see p. 5015, right col.) As seen in Kothavale’s Table 1 (p. 5015), T-THTBHT’s maximum absorption peak is 410 nm. This is consistent with Kase, which teaches that the compound represented by formula A-1 and A-2 do not have absorption in each wavelength region of blue, green and red, an d thus, an organic EL element having a capping layer using the compound is particularly suitable for displaying a clear and bright image with good color purity (see ¶ 0358). In fact, similar to T-THTBHT , each peak absorption wavelength of Kase’s compounds represented by formula (10), (12), (16), (17), (60), (76), (77), (78), (79), (80), and (8 5 ) was close to 400 nm (see ¶ 0317; and pp. 12, 14, 27, 32-34). For example, Kase’s compound of formula (27) has the formula (see p. 17): . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to used Kothavale’s T-THTBHT as the amine compound for the capping layer in Kase’s organic electroluminescent element because not only is T-THTBHT within the scope of Kase’s amine compound of general formula A-1, T-THTBHT has a single peak absorption of 410 nm (as shown by Kothavale), and thus, an organic EL element having a capping layer using the compound is particularly suitable for displaying a clear and bright image with good color purity , as taught by Kase. With respect to claim 9, Kase teaches that the emission layer can comprise a compound having the formula 3-3 (see ¶ 0333 and p. 43): . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US patent application publication 2023 / 0365495 is hereby made of record. See the compounds in Figs. 9 and 10. Correspondence Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALAN D DIAMOND whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1338 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday through Thursday 5:30 am to 3:00 pm, and Fridays from 5:30 am to 9:30 am . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patricia Engle can be reached at 571-272-6660 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. Signed: /ALAN D DIAMOND/ P rimary Examiner Art Unit 3991