DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 08/14/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. (US 20200365537 A1, hereinafter Choi)
With regards to claim 1, Choi discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a plurality of bit line stack structures, (bit line BL including dielectric 120, as is consistent with the Specification) wherein the plurality of bit line stack structures are disposed on a substrate; (substrate 102)
wherein each of the plurality of bit line stack structures comprises a bit line insulating layer, (insulating layer 120, 152, and 164) a bit line (bit line 114) and a bit line contact plug (direct contact DC) which are sequentially stacked onto one another from top to bottom. (See FIG. 2)
a plurality of storage contact structures, (bit contact BC and landing pad LP) wherein each of the plurality of storage contact structures is disposed between a pair of bit line stack structures of the plurality of bit line stack structures, (See FIG. 2) each of the plurality of storage contact structures comprises a storage node plug (bit contact BC) and a contact pad (landing pad LP) disposed above the storage node plug, and a topmost surface of the contact pad is lower than a topmost surface of the bit line insulating layers; (see at least FIG. 2, where the bit contacts BC are between adjacent bit lines BL and have a top surface directly under dielectric 152 lower than a topmost surface of the dielectric 164 of the bit line stack) and
a plurality of capacitor structures, (capacitors CAP) wherein a part of a bottom surface of a lower electrode (lower electrode 30) of each of the plurality of capacitor structures is supported on the top surface of a respective one of the plurality of storage contact structures, and another part of the bottom surface of the lower electrode is supported on the top surface of a respective one of the plurality of bit line stack structures, (see FIG. 2, where a portion of the lower electrode 30 is supported by the landing pad LP and the other portion of the electrode is supported by the bit line BL/dielectric 120 via the dielectric 152) a bottommost surface of a lower electrode of each of the plurality of capacitor structures is lower than the topmost surface of the bit line insulating layer. (see FIG. 2, showing the bottommost portion of the lower electrode 30 lower than a topmost surface of dielectric 164, see also response to arguments)
With regards to claim 3, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the contact pad is connected to the storage node plug by a pad adhesion layer. (barrier layer 150)
With regards to claim 4, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein the bit line is connected to the bit line contact plug by a bit line adhesion layer. (second conductive layer 112/110)
With regards to claim 5, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a top surface of the storage node plug is higher than a bottom surface of the bit line insulating layer; (see FIG. 2, showing the landing pad LP having an upper surface being higher)
wherein a bottom surface of the storage node plug is higher than a bottom surface of the bit line contact plug. (see FIG. 2, showing the landing pad LP having a bottom surface being higher)
With regards to claim 6, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein an area of a top surface of the lower electrode is less than an area of the bottom surface of the lower electrode. (see FIG. 2, where the bottom surface of the electrode 30 has a greater area, as the bottom surface fractures into two portions which add up to a greater area)
With regards to claim 8, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a longitudinal cross section of each of the plurality of storage contact structures is T-shaped. (see FIG. 2, showing the “T” shape)
With regards to claim 9, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of capacitor structures is a columnar capacitor or a cup-shaped capacitor. (see FIG. 2, showing the columnar shape)
With regards to claim 10, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1, wherein a contact area of the lower electrode and the top surface of the respective one of the plurality of storage contact structures is greater than a contact area of the lower electrode and the top surface of the respective one of the plurality of bit line stack structures. (see FIG. 2, showing the greater contact area of the LP and lower electrode 30 than the lower electrode 30 and the bit line 114/120)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. (US 20200365537 A1, hereinafter Choi)
With regards to claim 7, Choi discloses the semiconductor structure of claim 1.
However, Choi does not explicitly teach wherein a cross section of a lower part of the lower electrode is gradually increased from top to bottom.
Choi generally teaches a change in the shape of the electrode from top to bottom, where it should be noted that the court held that the configuration of the claimed [device] was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed [device] was significant.). (See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Changes in shape) In the instant case, the current device would not perform differently with the relative dimensions than the prior art device, and thus is not patentably distinct.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Choi to have the shape as recited in the above recited claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/21/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner notes that interpreting the insulating layer 120, 152, and 164 as part of the bit line insulating structure meets all of the limitations of at least claim 1, and the claims are broad enough to support this interpretation. Therefore, Choi discloses or teaches all of the limitations of at least claims 1-10, and thus claims 1-10 are properly rejected under 35 USC 102/103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM et al (US 20220406791 A1) – landing pad LP with direct contact on bit line cap.
MOON et al. (US 20220173107 A1) – direct contact of the landing pad to the bit line cap
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN M PAGE/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812