DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires a “winch” and a seemingly separate “first winch assembly,” which does make sense in light of the specification. Firstly, the term “winch assembly” is only used in the original disclosure in relation to the prior art (figs. 1A and 1B), not in relation to the embodiments of the other figures. What structure is referenced by the claim 1 recitation “a first winch assembly”?
Secondly, the specification uses the term “winch assembly” as including a so-called “winch,” so the wording of claim 1 appears to require two separate winches. This does not make sense, as claim 7 (which depends from claim 1) sets forth a “second winch,” and a (separate) “second winch assembly.” This does not seem in keeping with the specification because there are only two winches disclosed (i.e. “C1” and “C2”), not four.
Applicant is advised to (e.g.) modify the claims to require a spool and winch (elements 301 and C1) instead of a winch and a winch assembly, or to specify in the claims that the winch is a component of the winch assembly. Alternately, Applicant could omit the word “assembly” and stick with “a winch” and “the winch” for each reference to a winch or winch assembly.
For the purposes of this Office Action, the phrase “winch assembly” is being treated as another way of referring to the previously set forth “winch” because there are not four winches in the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/065476 A2 (hereinafter “Dalum”) in view of US 20190284029 A1 (hereinafter “Frazier”), and in further view of WO 2014154764 A1 (hereinafter “Greenwood”).
It is noted that Dalum, paragraph 45, states: “Various features of these embodiments [i.e. embodiments of figures 1-7] can be employed in other embodiments described herein”. The various embodiments are therefore treated as a singular teaching.
Regarding claim 1 Dalum teaches a vehicle comprising:
a motor generator (50; see paragraph 49 “electric motor/generator”);
a clutch (paragraph 51 “…and another clutch is between second prime mover 50 and accessory 60”);
a winch (paragraph 47) connected to the motor generator via the clutch (para. 51), the clutch (para. 51) being operative to selectively engage or disengage the winch (para. 47) from the motor generator (via 60; see para. 51).
Dalum mentions a planetary gear drive (paragraph 49), but fails to teach the specific power split device as set forth in claim 1 (i.e. Dalum’s planetary gear set is between the engine and power take off; see paragraph 49).
Frazier teaches a vehicle mounted winch (see paragraph 24) with a motor (106) and clutch (112). Frazier further teaches a power split device (118/122); and the winch is connected to the motor via the clutch (112) and the power split device (118/122), and the power split device (118/122) being operative to control speed of operation of the winch (see paragraph 28).
Dalum fails to teach the speed monitoring and controlling set forth in claim 1. Greenwood teaches a vehicle mounted winch similar to Dalum (see fig. 1). Greenwood further teaches monitoring a rotation speed of the winch and adjusting the rotation speed based on input from a user interface (see page 11 lines 21-24; i.e. the controller would have to monitor the rotational speed in order to perform the disclosed functions) of (at least indirectly connected to) a power splitting device (116G). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a speed-controlling user interface, as taught by Greenwood, with the winch and power split device of Dalum, in order to give the user more precise control of the winch.
Regarding claim 2 modified Dalum teaches the above vehicle, and further teaches wherein the power split device (Frazier 118/122) comprises a planetary gear (see Frazier paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 3 modified Dalum teaches the above vehicle, and further teaches a winch control component (Frazier 142) operative to control the selective engagement or disengagement of the clutch (Frazier 112).
Regarding claim 4 modified Dalum teaches the above vehicle, and further teaches wherein the winch control component (Frazier 142) is further operative to receive user input (i.e. pulling/twisting; see paragraph 31) directing the operation of the power split device (Frazier 118/122) to control [the] speed of operation of the winch (see Frazier, paragraph 28).
Regarding claim 5 modified Dalum teaches the above vehicle, and further teaches wherein the winch comprises a rotating member to which a cable is connected (a drum/cable set is inherent in the winch of Dalum, also one is shown in Frazier at the so-called “cable drum,” 104), the rotating member (drum) effectuating the directed operation of the power split device (Frazier 118/122).
Regarding claim 6 modified Dalum teaches the above vehicle. Dalum fails to teach the cable guide as set forth in claim 6. Frazier teaches a cable guide (102; i.e. the cable must pass between frame members to exit the drum, 104) through which the cable operatively connected to the rotating member (104) is routed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the frame member of Frazier to the generic winch of Dalum with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to give stability to the winch of Dalum.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dalum in view of Frazier and Greenwood, and in further view of US 6,981,695 (hereinafter “Hedlund”).
Regarding claims 7-12 modified Dalum teaches the vehicle as set forth above. Dalum fails to teach a second winch as set forth in claims 7-12. It is noted that claims 7-12 describe a winch nearly identical to that required by claims 1-6. Thus the difference between Dalum and claims 7-12 represents mere duplication of parts, which is considered an obvious variation in view of Hedlund. Hedlund teaches a vehicle mounted winch with a power source to power the winch (see column 3 lines 1-10). Hedlund further teaches wherein there are a plurality of winches mounted on the same vehicle (see column 3 lines 1-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the winch of Dalum, as taught by Hedlund, with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow an operator to access one of the winches when the other is obstructed (see Hedlund column 1 line 63 to column 2 line 24).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.A/ Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654