DETAILED ACTION
This Office action for U.S. Patent Application is responsive to communications filed 30 July 2026, in reply to the Non-Final Rejection of 9 July 2026.
Claims 1–31 are pending.
In the previous Office action, claims 1 and 21–23 were objected to for grammar errors. Claims 1–31 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as obvious over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0131080 A1 (“Retterath”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0284244 A1 (“Russell”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. It is respectfully submitted that US 2024/0094337 A1 explicitly corrects for blooming artifacts from highly-reflective objects.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1–31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0131080 A1 (“Retterath”)1 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0284244 A1 (“Russell”)2 and in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0094337 A1 (“Fernandez”).
Retterath, directed to Lidar, teaches with respect to claim 1 a method of Light Detection and Ranging (LIDAR) (passim, LiDAR), the method comprising:
a) configuring a laser array such that each laser in the laser array generates an optical beam having a laser field-of-view and an intensity that illuminates a region of interest when energized (¶¶ 0046, Fig. 3, emitter/detector array 10 having array of laser diodes that project beams of light at known angles);
b) configuring a detector array such that each detector in the detector array receives light from a detector field-of-view (id., detector elements 200 in emitter/detector array 10);
c) energizing at least one laser in the laser array (¶ 0048, pulse generation circuit activates emitter);
d) receiving light from the illuminated region of interest of the energized at least one laser in the laser array at the detector array, wherein at least one detector in the array of detectors has a detector field-of-view located within the laser field-of-view of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (¶¶ 0046, 49; detector element configured to be on same axis with emitter element receives light;
e) processing the received light for select ones of the detectors in the detector array with standard parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array (¶ 0053, computing distance to reflected object using time of flight calculation)
to generate a three-dimensional point cloud representation of a highly-reflective object positioned in the illuminated region of interest of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (¶ 0007, point cloud described as known in the art; ¶¶ 0069–70, distance (z-axis) plus spot (x- and y- axes) for each emitter-detector pair is a point cloud for the reflected object).
The claimed invention differs from Retterath in that the claimed invention specifies limitations for bloom correction. Retterath does not disclose this material. However, Russell, directed to control for a Lidar system, teaches with respect to claim 1:
f) analyzing the determined time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets a blooming criterion indicating that the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the object is larger than a true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the . . . object (¶¶ 0027, 0030; detecting an atmospheric effect such as rain or fog that distorts the perceived distance of the object by using various means such as detecting a tailing effect);
g) re-energizing the at least one laser in the laser array if the processed received light meets the blooming criterion (¶¶ 0027–29, adjusting power of light pulse);
h) receiving light at the detector array from the illuminated region of interest of the re-energized at least one laser in the laser array, wherein at least one detector in the array of detectors has a detector field-of-view located within the laser field-of-view of the re-energized at least one laser in the laser array (id., discrete or continuous adjustment as needed); and
i) processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the object, thereby generating a more accurate image of the object (¶ 0027–30, compensating for the distortion or attenuation of previous light pulses).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to improve the Retterath Lidar system by incorporating the Russell power adjustment, in order to compensate for weather conditions that cause error. Russell ¶ 0027.
The claimed invention differs further from Retterath in that the claimed invention specifies limitations for bloom correction specifically caused by a highly reflective object. Russell teaches correcting for bloom from scattering phenomena, not high reflection. However, Fernandez, directed to a vehicle sensor system including a Lidar system (¶ 0002), teaches with respect to claim 1:
f) analyzing the determined time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets a blooming criterion indicating that the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the object is larger than a true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the object, wherein the blooming criterion is based on stray and diffracted light from the highly reflective object causing a larger area of detectors within the detector array to generate time-of-flight detections corresponding to the object (¶ 0081, determine which subsets of the point cloud are blooming artifacts from a highly-reflective object).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to further use the Russell process to correct for bloom from high reflection as well as high scattering, as taught by Fernandez, in order to improve reliability further. Frendandez ¶ 0084–85.
Regarding claim 2, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the processing the received light for select one of the detectors in the detector array with standard parameters additionally determines intensity data for the select ones of the detectors in the detector array to generate the three-dimensional intensity image of the highly reflective object positioned in the illuminated region of interest of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (Retterath ¶ 0043, signal intensity known in LiDAR as encoding information about the object that produced the return signal; ¶ 0105, measuring intensity value for each data point).
Regarding claim 3, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 2 further comprising analyzing the determined intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria (Russell ¶ 0030, identify suspect returned light profiles consistent with attenuation or distortion).
Regarding claim 53, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array further comprises processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with parameters to determine time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200; Russell ¶¶ 0143–46, processing returned light pulse for parameters including rise time, fall time, or pulse duration).
Regarding claim 10, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the energizing the at least one laser in the laser array comprises energizing a first and second laser in the laser array (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200).
Regarding claim 11, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 10 wherein the first and second lasers are adjacent to each other in the laser array (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200).
Regarding claim 12, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises comparing intensity data associated with the energized first and second lasers (Russell ¶ 0146, comparing pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity)
Regarding claim 13, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein energizing the at least one laser in the laser array comprises energizing the at least one laser in the laser array to generate two different optical transmit powers at two different times (Russell ¶ 0146, adjusting light source parameters, including pulse energy of light pulses).
Regarding claim 14, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 13 wherein analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises comparing the processed and received light at the generated two different optical transmit powers at the two different times (Russell ¶ 0146, continued pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity over time).
Regarding claim 18, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises determining a pulse characteristic of the processed received light (Russell ¶ 0030, returned light pulse anomalies indicate distorting atmospheric conditions).
Regarding claim 19, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 18 wherein the pulse characteristic comprises a pulse width (Russell ¶ 0030, pulse duration).
Regarding claim 20, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 18 further comprising comparing the determined pulse characteristic of the processed received light to a predetermined pulse characteristic (Russell ¶ 0030, thresholds of pulse duration or falling edge duration).
Regarding claim 25, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises reducing a laser field-of-view for at least one of the plurality of lasers in the laser array (Russell ¶¶ 0027–28, compensating for excessive scattering; ¶¶ 0100–102, maintaining relative positions of emitted and received fields of view).
Regarding claim 26, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises reducing an optical transmit power generated by at least one laser in the plurality of lasers in the laser array (Russell ¶¶ 0028–30, adjusting light pulse power including reducing power).
Regarding claim 28, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises reducing a pulse width generated by a laser in the plurality of lasers (Russell ¶¶ 0031, 0071, 0141, 0161; adjusting pulse duration).
Regarding claim 30, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 3 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array comprises comparing the processed received light for detectors corresponding to detector field-of-views located inside of the laser field-of-view of the energized at least one laser in the laser array to the processed received light for detectors corresponding to detector field-of-views located outside of the laser field-of-view of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (Retterath ¶ 0046, 0053–54; paired emitters and detectors that emit and receive light pulses with narrow fields of view; Russell ¶ 0146, comparing pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity).
Regarding claim 31, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 30 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises processing received light for detectors corresponding to a detector field-of-view located outside of the laser field-of-view of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (Retterath ¶ 0046, 0053–54; paired emitters and detectors that emit and receive light pulses with narrow fields of view; Russell ¶ 0146, comparing pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity).
Regarding claim 4, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 2 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detectors in the detector array further comprises processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200; Russell ¶¶ 0143–46, processing returned light pulse for parameters including rise time, fall time, or pulse duration).
Regarding claim 6, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises comparing time-of-flight data associated with the energized at least one laser (Retterath ¶ 0046, emitter and detector pairs; Russell ¶¶ 0044–45, time of flight analysis)
Regarding claim 7, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the energizing the at least one laser in the laser array comprises energizing a first and second laser in the laser array (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200).
Regarding claim 8, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 7 wherein the first and second lasers are adjacent to each other in the laser array (Retterath Fig. 8, array of detector elements 200).
Regarding claim 9, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the metho of claim 8 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises comparing intensity data associated with the energized first and second laser (Russell ¶ 0146, comparing pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity).
Regarding claim 15, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the analyzing the determined time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detectors in the detector array to determine if the processed received light meets the blooming criteria comprises determining a pulse characteristic of the processed received light (Russell ¶ 0030, returned light pulse anomalies indicate distorting atmospheric conditions).
Regarding claim 16, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 15 wherein the pulse characteristic comprises a pulse width (Russell ¶ 0030, pulse duration).
Regarding claim 17, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 15 further comprising comparing the determined pulse characteristic of the processed received light to a predetermined pulse characteristic (Russell ¶ 0030, thresholds of pulse duration or falling edge duration).
Regarding claim 21, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the blooming criterion changes as a function of time (Russell ¶ 0025, examples of triggering event include ambient events such as insect swarm and vehicle approach).
Regarding claim 22, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the blooming criterion changes as a function of ambient light conditions (Russell ¶ 0025, examples of triggering event include fog and smoke).
Regarding claim 23, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the blooming criterion changes as a function of weather conditions (Russell ¶ 0025, examples of triggering event include atmospheric conditions such as rain, snow, or fog).
Regarding claim 24, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises reducing a laser field-of-view for at least one of the plurality of lasers in the laser array (Russell ¶¶ 0027–28, compensating for excessive scattering; ¶¶ 0100–102, maintaining relative positions of emitted and received fields of view).
Regarding claim 27, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises reducing a pulse width generated by a laser in the plurality of lasers (Russell ¶¶ 0031, 0071, 0141, 0161; adjusting pulse duration).
Regarding claim 29, Retterath in view of Russell and Fernandez teaches the method of claim 1 wherein the processing the received light for selected ones of the detectors in the detector array with the blooming parameters to determine time-of-flight and intensity data for the select ones of detectors in the detector array that at least partially compensate for the three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object being larger than the true three-dimensional point cloud representation of the highly reflective object comprises processing received light for detectors corresponding to detector field-of-view located outside of the laser field-of-view of the energized at least one laser in the laser array (Retterath ¶ 0046, 0053–54; paired emitters and detectors that emit and receive light pulses with narrow fields of view; Russell ¶ 0146, comparing pixel-by-pixel or line-by-line adjustments of power intensity).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0408702 A1
WO 2022/076229 A1
The following prior art was found using a so-called “Super Intelligence”4 assisted search using an internal tool that uses the classification of the application under the Cooperative Patent Classification (CPC) system, as well as from the specification, including the claims and abstract, of the application as contextual information. The documents are ranked from most to least relevant. Where possible, English-language equivalents are given, and redundant results within the same patent families are eliminated. See “New Artificial Intelligence Functionality in PE2E Search”, 1504 OG 359 (15 November 2022), “Automated Search Pilot Program”, 90 Fed. Reg. 48,161 (8 October 2025).
US 2019/0146071 A1
US 2019/0302246 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See M.P.E.P. § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 C.F.R. § 1.136(a).
/David N Werner/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487
1 This reference was cited as a ‘Y’ reference in the International Search Report for corresponding application PCT/US2023/052750 and was listed in the 12 September 2023 Information Disclosure Statement.
2 This reference was cited as a ‘Y’ reference in the International Search Report for corresponding application PCT/US2023/052750 and was listed in the 12 September 2023 Information Disclosure Statement.
3 Again, in the interest of promoting government efficiency, please do not draft claim dependency trees like this. M.P.E.P. § 608.01(n).
4 Exec. Order No. 14433 (pending), 91 Fed. Reg. _____ (29 Sept. 2026).