Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai1 (US Patent No. 11145566) in further view of Zhou (PGPub No. 20040244950) and Leobandung (PGPub No. 20190385928).
Regarding claim 1, Refai1 teaches an electronic device, comprising: a substrate (Fig. 1 points to a chip package assembly 100 comprising a package substrate 108.); and a stack of dies stacked on the substrate, the stack comprising: multiple dies stacked on one another, the multiple dies comprising electronic components and interconnections (Fig. 1 and Col. 4, lines 6-10 point to one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies 106 positioned atop one another.); and one or more heat pipes (HPs), the one or more HPs traversing at least a subset of the dies at a right angle relative to the substrate, at least one of the HPs being configured to dissipate heat generated by operation of the electronic components away from at least the subset of the dies (Fig. 7 and Col. 11, lines 54-57 point to an alternative embodiment of a chip package assembly 700 comprising one or more heat transfer structures 110A-B configured as a high heat transfer rate object in the form of heat pipes 720.).
Refai1 fails to teach one or more heat pipes (HPs) each comprising an inner wall defining a first channel and an outer wall surrounding the inner wall and defining a second channel between the inner wall and the outer wall, wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to flow a fluid in first and second opposite directions through the first channel and the second channel, respectively, to create continuous circulation of the fluid, wherein the first channel and the second channel are concentric with one another, and wherein each of the one or more HPs further comprises one or more openings in the inner wall for transferring the fluid between the first channel and the second channel, and wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change.
Zhou teaches one or more heat pipes (HPs) each comprising an inner wall defining a first channel and an outer wall surrounding the inner wall and defining a second channel between the inner wall and the outer wall, wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to flow a fluid in first and second opposite directions through the first channel and the second channel, respectively, to create continuous circulation of the fluid, wherein the first channel and the second channel are concentric with one another, and wherein each of the one or more HPs further comprises one or more openings in the inner wall for transferring the fluid between the first channel and the second channel (Fig. 1 and [0003] point to a heat pipe 110 comprising a working fluid which moves between a central channel (first channel) and an outer channel (second channel) as defined by wicks 140 (inner wall).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 and Zhou, such that the heat pipe(s) comprise a concentric structure in which a fluid can move between channels in order to create a structure that can continuously remove heat from a heat source to a heat sink where the heat is dissipated.
Refai1 et al. still fails to teach wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change.
Leobandung teaches wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change (Fig. 8 and [0070] point to a semiconductor package 10 comprising a coolant 312 that circulates within a housing due to convective action 500.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Leobandung, such that the overall structure is configured to use a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change in order to create a self-contained and self-regulating passive cooling system that is more effective at transporting heat from a high temperature area to a low temperature area than one that uses air or other gasses.
Regarding claim 10, Refai1 teaches wherein at least one of the HPs is disposed at a region identified as a hot spot in at least one of the dies (Fig. 7 points to heat pipes 720, also shown as heat transfer structures 110A-B, disposed through the IC dies 106. It is considered obvious that any region of a die could be considered a “hot spot” due to the inherent nature of such components.).
Regarding claim 11, Refai1 teaches a method for producing an electronic device, the method comprising: disposing on a substrate a stack of dies, the stack comprising multiple dies stacked on one another, the multiple dies comprising electronic components and interconnections ((Fig. 1 and Col. 4, lines 6-10 point to a chip package assembly 100 comprising a stack of one or more integrated circuit (IC) dies 106 positioned on a package substrate 108.); and fabricating in the stack one or more heat pipes (HPs), the one or more HPs traversing at least a subset of the dies at a right angle relative to the substrate, at least one of the HPs used for dissipating heat, which is generated by operation of the electronic components, away from at least the subset of the dies (Fig. 7 and Col. 11, lines 54-57 point to an alternative embodiment of a chip package assembly 700 comprising one or more heat transfer structures 110A-B configured as a high heat transfer rate object in the form of heat pipes 720.).
Refai1 fails to teach one or more heat pipes (HPs) each comprising an inner wall defining a first channel and an outer wall surrounding the inner wall and defining a second channel between the inner wall and the outer wall, wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to flow a fluid in first and second opposite directions through the first channel and the second channel, respectively, to create continuous circulation of the fluid, wherein the first channel and the second channel are concentric with one another, and wherein each of the one or more HPs further comprises one or more openings in the inner wall for transferring the fluid between the first channel and the second channel, and wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change.
Zhou teaches one or more heat pipes (HPs) each comprising an inner wall defining a first channel and an outer wall surrounding the inner wall and defining a second channel between the inner wall and the outer wall, wherein the first channel and the second channel are configured to flow a fluid in first and second opposite directions through the first channel and the second channel, respectively, to create continuous circulation of the fluid, wherein the first channel and the second channel are concentric with one another, and wherein each of the one or more HPs further comprises one or more openings in the inner wall for transferring the fluid between the first channel and the second channel (Fig. 1 and [0003] point to a heat pipe 110 comprising a working fluid which moves between a central channel (first channel) and an outer channel (second channel) as defined by wicks 140 (inner wall).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 and Zhou, such that the heat pipe(s) comprise a concentric structure in which a fluid can move between channels in order to create a structure that can continuously remove heat from a heat source to a heat sink where the heat is dissipated.
Refai1 et al. still fails to teach wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change.
Leobandung teaches wherein the fluid comprises a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change (Fig. 8 and [0070] point to a semiconductor package 10 comprising a coolant 312 that circulates within a housing due to convective action 500.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Leobandung, such that the overall structure is configured to use a cooling fluid that flows through the first channel and the second channel without undergoing a phase change in order to create a self-contained and self-regulating passive cooling system that is more effective at transporting heat from a high temperature area to a low temperature area than one that uses air or other gasses.
Regarding claim 20, Refai1 teaches wherein fabricating the one or more HPs comprises disposing at least one of the HPs at a region identified as a hot spot in at least one of the dies (Fig. 7 points to heat pipes 720, also shown as heat transfer structures 110A-B, disposed through the IC dies 106. It is considered obvious that any region of a die could be considered a “hot spot” due to the inherent nature of such components.).
Claim(s) 4-9 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Refai1 et al. in further view of Refai2 (PGPub No. 20210193620).
Regarding claim 4, Refai1 teaches wherein the multiple dies comprise (ii) a second die disposed on the substrate, wherein at least one of the HPs traverses at least the first die (Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.).
Refai1 fails to teach (i) a first die being an outer die of the stack.
Refai2 teaches (i) a first die being an outer die of the stack (Fig. 1 and [0019-20] point to a chip package assembly 100 comprising one or more IC dies 106, with the underlying die 106 (first die) having a larger projected area (outer die) than the one(s) above.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the stack of dies is arranged with the first die underneath is an outer die with an area extending past the die(s) above in order to allow for more heat pipes to reach the bottommost layer of the die stack, which is commonly known to be most at risk of overheating.
Regarding claim 5, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein the stack comprises a third die disposed between the first die and the second die (Fig. 1 of Refai2 points to a stack of three IC dies 106.), wherein the one or more HPs comprise: (i) a first HP traversing the first die and the third die but not traversing the second die, and (ii) a second HP traversing the first die, the third die and the second die (Fig. 1 of Refai2 points to a stack of three IC dies 106 arranged such that the projected area of each die is smaller than the die below it, and heat transfer posts 110 extending towards said dies 106 such that their vertical position overlaps with that of any underlying die(s). Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the heat pipes of Refai1 are applied to the structure of Refai2 to create a first HP that traverses through the first/bottom die and the third/middle die, and a second HP that travers through all three dies in order to maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 6, Refai2 teaches wherein the first die has a first surface being an outer surface of the stack of dies, and comprising a heat dissipation element disposed over the first surface and having a second surface opposite the first surface of the first die, the heat dissipation element being configured to dissipate the heat from at least one of the dies (Fig. 1 points to a stack of IC dies 106, where the bottom die (first die) has a larger projected area (outer surface) than the die(s) above it.), and comprising disposing over the first surface, a heat dissipation element having a second surface opposite the first surface of the first die, the heat dissipation element being disposed for dissipating the heat from at least one of the dies (Fig. 3 and [0040] point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed on the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the first die includes an outer surface extending away from the other die(s) that is in direct contact with a heat dissipation element in order to maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 7, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein the heat dissipation element has a given opening, wherein at least one of the HPs is configured to traverse at least part of the given opening along the heat dissipation element (Fig. 3 and [0040] of Refai2 point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed between the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106 and the heat transfer post 110. Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the heat dissipation element/seed layer includes an opening which would allow the heat pipe to traverse the underlying die in order to maximize the heat dissipation of both the top surface of the die as well the underlying region(s).
Regarding claim 8, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein an outer wall surface of the outer wall of at least one of the HPs, is flush with the second surface of the heat dissipation element (Fig. 3 and [0040] of Refai2 point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed between the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106 and the heat transfer post 110. Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that at least of the HPs extends through the heat dissipation element and into the die so as to be flush with the second surface of said element in order to increase the transfer of heat and by extension maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 9, Refai1 teaches the electronic device according to claim 1, comprising (i) a hole traversing at least the subset of the dies, the hole being configured to contain a given HP of the one or more HPs (Figs. 1-3 point to the heat transfer structures 110A which are disposed in holes 210 formed through the IC die(s) 106. Fig. 7 points to an embodiment wherein said structures 110A are configured as heat pipes 720.).
Refai1 fails to teach (ii) a layer formed between the given HP and a wall of the hole, the layer comprises thermally conductive material (TCM) configured to transfer the heat between the subset of the dies and the given HP.
Refai2 teaches (ii) a layer formed between the given HP and a wall of the hole, the layer comprises thermally conductive material (TCM) configured to transfer the heat between the subset of the dies and the given HP (Fig. 3, [0031], and [0040] point to a seed layer 304 comprising copper or titanium (thermally conductive material) and which may be formed along the sidewalls of the hole 302 which are filled with the heat transfer post 110 (HP).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that a thermally conductive material is disposed between the given HP and a wall of the hole which said HP is formed in order to increase the transfer of heat and by extension maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 14, Refai1 teaches wherein disposing the stack comprises disposing: (ii) a second die on the substrate, wherein at least one of the HPs traverses at least the first die (Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.).
Refai1 fails to teach wherein disposing the stack comprises disposing: (i) a first die being an outer die of the stack.
Refai2 teaches wherein disposing the stack comprises disposing: (i) a first die being an outer die of the stack (Fig. 1 and [0019-20] point to a chip package assembly 100 comprising one or more IC dies 106, with the underlying die 106 (first die) having a larger projected area (outer die) than the one(s) above.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the stack of dies is arranged with the first die underneath is an outer die with an area extending past the die(s) above in order to allow for more heat pipes to reach the bottommost layer of the die stack, which is commonly known to be most at risk of overheating.
Regarding claim 15, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein disposing the stack comprises disposing a third die between the first die and the second die (Fig. 1 of Refai2 points to a stack of three IC dies 106.), wherein fabricating the one or more HPs comprises fabricating: (i) a first HP traversing the first die and the third die but not traversing the second die, and (ii) a second HP traversing the first die, the third die and the second die (Fig. 1 of Refai2 points to a stack of three IC dies 106 arranged such that the projected area of each die is smaller than the die below it, and heat transfer posts 110 extending towards said dies 106 such that their vertical position overlaps with that of any underlying die(s). Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the heat pipes of Refai1 are applied to the structure of Refai2 to create a first HP that traverses through the first/bottom die and the third/middle die, and a second HP that travers through all three dies in order to maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 16, Refai2 teaches wherein the first die has a first surface being an outer surface of the stack of dies (Fig. 1 points to a stack of IC dies 106, where the bottom die (first die) has a larger projected area (outer surface) than the die(s) above it.), and comprising disposing over the first surface, a heat dissipation element having a second surface opposite the first surface of the first die, the heat dissipation element being disposed for dissipating the heat from at least one of the dies (Fig. 3 and [0040] point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed on the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the first die includes an outer surface extending away from the other die(s) that is in direct contact with a heat dissipation element in order to maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 17, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein the heat dissipation element has a given opening, wherein fabricating the one or more HPs comprises forming at least one of the HPs to traverse at least part of the given opening along the heat dissipation element (Fig. 3 and [0040] of Refai2 point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed between the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106 and the heat transfer post 110. Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that the heat dissipation element/seed layer includes an opening which would allow the heat pipe to traverse the underlying die in order to maximize the heat dissipation of both the top surface of the die as well the underlying region(s).
Regarding claim 18, Refai1 in combination with Refai2 teaches wherein disposing the stack comprises disposing an outer wall surface of the outer wall of at least one of the HPs, being flush with the second surface of the heat dissipation element (Fig. 3 and [0040] of Refai2 point to a seed layer 304 (heat dissipation element) formed between the top surface 142 (first surface) of die 106 and the heat transfer post 110. Figs. 3 & 7 and Col. 7, lines 47-59 of Refai1 point to two dies 106 and a heat transfer structure 110A, alternatively known as a heat pipe 720, which extends through (traverses) said dies 106.). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that at least of the HPs extends through the heat dissipation element and into the die so as to be flush with the second surface of said element in order to increase the transfer of heat and by extension maximize heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 19, Refai1 teaches wherein fabricating the one or more HPs comprises forming: (i) a hole traversing at least the subset of the dies, the hole is formed for containing a given HP of the one or more HPs (Figs. 1-3 point to the heat transfer structures 110A which are disposed in holes 210 formed through the IC die(s) 106. Fig. 7 points to an embodiment wherein said structures 110A are configured as heat pipes 720.).
Refai1 fails to teach (ii) a layer between the given HP and a wall of the hole, the layer comprises thermally conductive material (TCM) for transferring the heat between the subset of the dies and the given HP.
Refai2 teaches (ii) a layer between the given HP and a wall of the hole, the layer comprises thermally conductive material (TCM) for transferring the heat between the subset of the dies and the given HP (Fig. 3, [0031], and [0040] point to a seed layer 304 comprising copper or titanium (thermally conductive material) and which may be formed along the sidewalls of the hole 302 which are filled with the heat transfer post 110 (HP).). Thus, it would have been obvious to a POSITA prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Refai1 et al. and Refai2, such that a thermally conductive material is disposed between the given HP and a wall of the hole which said HP is formed in order to increase the transfer of heat and by extension maximize heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of newly amended claim(s) 1 and 11 (along with any dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Refai1 in further view of Zhou (PGPub No. 20040244950) and Leobandung (PGPub No. 20190385928).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK CULLEN/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899