DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2013/0048498 A1 to Dasgupta et al. (Dasgupta).
As to claims 1, 6, 8 and 10, Dasgupta teaches an electrolytic eluent generator system (10) comprising a flow through eluent generating zone (12) with an inlet (12a) in fluid communication with a source of deionized water, an outlet (12b) and a first platinum electrode (28), a first reservoir (22) comprising a second electrode (30) in fluid communication with a source of cation electrolyte as a first ion source (cation source), a second reservoir (26) comprising a third electrode (32) in fluid commination with a source of anion electrolyte as a second ion source (anion source), a first ion exchange connector (cation exchange membrane) (14) disposed between the first reservoir (22) and the eluent zone (12), the first connector substantially preventing liquid flow through the first connector and transporting the first ions (cations), a second ion exchange connector (anion exchange membrane) (16) disposed between the second reservoir (26) and the eluent zone (12), the second connector substantially preventing liquid flow through the second connector and transporting the second ions (anions), the first and second connectors in communication with the eluent generator channel allowing ions to pass through to mix and form a salt containing solution for use as an eluent for liquid chromatography, a first current source connected to the first and second electrodes and a second current source connected to the first and third electrode (Paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0030, 0031, 0032, 0038; Figure 1).
As to claim 2, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the first electrode (28) is grounded (Paragraph 0038).
As to claim 3, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the first reservoir (22) and the second reservoir (26) are formed in a stack forming a single cartridge (Figure 1).
As to claim 4, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the apparatus comprises a degasser (Paragraph 0010).
As to claim 17, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Dasgupta fails to specifically teach the anion electrolyte and cation electrolyte as claimed; however, these limitations are merely narrowing optional limitations of the claim as presented in claim 6, as Dasgupta teaches the option of deionized water, Dasgupta teaches all required limitations of claim 17.
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dasgupta under a second interpretation.
As to claims 1, 6, 7 and 10, Dasgupta teaches an electrolytic eluent generator system (10) comprising a flow through eluent generating zone (12) with an inlet (12a) in fluid communication with a source of deionized water, an outlet (12b) and a first platinum electrode (28), a first reservoir (26) comprising a second electrode (32) in fluid communication with a source of anion electrolyte as a first ion source (anion source), a second reservoir (22) comprising a third electrode (30) in fluid commination with a source of cation electrolyte as a second ion source (cation source), a first ion exchange connector (anion exchange membrane) (16) disposed between the first reservoir (26) and the eluent zone (12), the first connector substantially preventing liquid flow through the first connector and transporting the first ions (anion), a second ion exchange connector (cation exchange membrane) (14) disposed between the second reservoir (22) and the eluent zone (12), the second connector substantially preventing liquid flow through the second connector and transporting the second ions (cation), the first and second connectors in communication with the eluent generator channel allowing ions to pass through to mix and form a salt containing solution for use as an eluent for liquid chromatography, a first current source connected to the first and second electrodes and a second current source connected to the first and third electrode (Paragraphs 0008, 0009, 0030, 0031, 0032, 0038; Figure 1).
As to claim 2, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the first electrode (28) is grounded (Paragraph 0038).
As to claim 3, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the first reservoir (26) and the second reservoir (22) are formed in a stack forming a single cartridge (Figure 1).
As to claim 4, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Dasgupta further teaches that the apparatus comprises a degasser (Paragraph 0010).
As to claim 9, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 8. Dasgupta fails to specifically teach the anion electrolyte and cation electrolyte as claimed; however, these limitations are merely narrowing optional limitations of the claim as presented in claim 6, as Dasgupta teaches the option of deionized water, Dasgupta teaches all required limitations of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dasgupta as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2010/0307919 A1 to Liu et al. (Liu).
As to claim 5, Dasgupta teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Dasgupta fails to further teach that the apparatus comprises an electrolytic pH modifier. However, Liu also discusses electrolytic eluent generators and teaches that the apparatus should further comprise a pH modifier in fluid communication with the outlet of the eluent in order to allow for the modification of the eluent pH (Paragraph 0069). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the apparatus of Dasgupta with a pH modifier in fluid communication with the output of the eluent generation zone in order to allow for modification of the eluent pH as taught by Liu. Liu further teaches that the pH modifier comprises a pH modifier flow channel (340), a pH modifier barrier (344/362) adjacent to said pH modifier flow channel (340) substantially preventing liquid flow and transporting ions of one charge only, and first (348) and second (364) spaced electrodes disposed on opposite sides of the pH modifier barrier (344/362) (Paragraphs 0074-0076; Figure 22).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794