DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirochi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0295873).
Regarding claim 1.
Hirochi discloses:
A substrate processing apparatus, comprising:
a process chamber (201)in which a substrate(200) is processed;
a microwave oscillator(655) configured to supply microwaves to the process chamber; and a controller ([0038])configured to be capable of controlling the microwave oscillator to perform([0051]-[0066]):
a heating process in which the substrate is heated with a first microwave, among the supplied microwaves, supplied to the substrate at a first microwave power so that a process of supplying the first microwave during a supply time and a process of stopping the supply of the first microwave during a stop time, which is shorter than the supply time, are performed a predetermined number of times or for a first predetermined time; and ([0063])
a modifying process([0065]) in which the substrate is supplied with a second microwave, among the supplied microwaves, at a second microwave power, which is higher than the first microwave power, for a second predetermined time while maintaining the second microwave power. ([0065])
Hirochi does not disclose the recited features of that the stop time is shorter than the supply time. However, Hirochi does disclose that the microwaves are supplied based on the sensed temperatures for the benefit of heating the substrate to desired temperatures to obtain desired properties. [0038]. As such, it would have been obvious to control the microwave oscillator as recited for the obvious benefits of obtaining a desired wafer property based on the sensed temperatures. Thus, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 9.
Hirochi discloses:
A method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising:
loading a substrate into a process chamber(201) of a substrate(200) processing apparatus;
heating the substrate with a first microwave(655), among microwaves supplied to the process chamber, supplied at a first microwave power by performing a process of supplying the first microwave during a supply time and a process of stopping the supply of the first microwave during a stop time, which is shorter than the supply time, a predetermined number of times or for a first predetermined time; and[0038] ([0051]-[0066]):)
modifying ([0063]-[0065])the substrate by supplying a second microwave, among the supplied microwaves, at a second microwave power, which is higher than the first microwave power, to the substrate for a second predetermined time while maintaining the second microwave power.
Hirochi does not disclose the recited features of that the stop time is shorter than the supply time. However, Hirochi does disclose that the microwaves are supplied based on the sensed temperatures for the benefit of heating the substrate to desired temperatures to obtain desired properties. [0038]. As such, it would have been obvious to control the microwave oscillator as recited for the obvious benefits of obtaining a desired wafer property based on the sensed temperatures. Thus, the features of claim 9 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 15.
Hirochi discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes, by a computer, a substrate processing apparatus to perform a process ([0052]) comprising:
loading a substrate (200)into a process chamber (201)of the substrate processing apparatus(100);
heating the substrate with a first microwave, among microwaves supplied to the process chamber, supplied at a first microwave power by performing a process of supplying the first microwave during a supply time and a process of stopping the supply of the first microwave during a stop time, which is shorter than the supply time, a predetermined number of times or for a first predetermined time; and [0038] ([0051]-[0066]):)
modifying the substrate by supplying a second microwave, among the supplied microwaves, at a second microwave power, which is higher than the first microwave power, to the substrate for a second predetermined time while maintaining the second microwave power([0063]-[0065]).
Hirochi does not disclose the recited features of that the stop time is shorter than the supply time. However, Hirochi does disclose that the microwaves are supplied based on the sensed temperatures for the benefit of heating the substrate to desired temperatures to obtain desired properties. [0038]. As such, it would have been obvious to control the microwave oscillator as recited for the obvious benefits of obtaining a desired wafer property based on the sensed temperatures. Thus, the features of claim 15 would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Claims 2-8, 10-14 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirochi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0295873) in view of Sasaki (U.S. Patent Application Publication NO. 2020/0013646).
Regarding claim 2.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 1
Hirochi does not disclose:
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first microwave power is between 2000 W and 4000 W.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 3.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 1
Hirochi does not disclose:
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second microwave power is between 4000 W and 12000 W.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 4.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 1
Hirochi does not disclose:
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the supply time is 5 to 20 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 5.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 1
Hirochi does not disclose:
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stop time is 1 to 5 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 6.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 1
Hirochi does not disclose:
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second predetermined time for which the modifying process is performed is 60 seconds to 1800 seconds. However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and time frame and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], [0107]-[0109] for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 7.
Hirochi discloses
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein an amorphous silicon film is formed on the substrate. ([0056])
Regarding claim 8.
Hirochi discloses
The substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the microwave oscillator(655) is installed at a side surface of the process chamber. (201)
Regarding claim 10
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 9
Hirochi does not disclose:
. The method of claim 9, wherein the first microwave power is between 2000 W and 4000 W.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 11.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 10
Hirochi does not disclose:
The method of claim 10, wherein the second microwave power is between 4000W and 12000 W.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 12.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 9
Hirochi does not disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein the supply time is 5 to 20 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 13.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 9
Hirochi does not disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein the stop time is 1 to 5 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 14.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 9
Hirochi does not disclose:
The method of claim 9, wherein the second predetermined time for which the modifying is performed is 60 seconds to 1800 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and time frame and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], [0107]-[0109] for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 16.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 15
Hirochi does not disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15, wherein the first microwave power is between 2000 W and 4000 W.However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 17.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 15
Hirochi does not disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 16, wherein the second microwave power is between 4000 W and 12000 W.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0098]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 18.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 15
Hirochi does not disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15, wherein the supply time is 5 to 20 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range at [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 19.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 15
Hirochi does not disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15, wherein the stop time is 1 to 5 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Regarding claim 20.
Hirochi discloses all of the features of claim 15
Hirochi does not disclose:
The non-transitory computer-readable recording medium of claim 15, wherein the second predetermined time for which the modifying is performed is 60 seconds to 1800 seconds.
However, Hirochi discloses that the power supplied and duration of supply to the electromagnetic wave supply may be adjusted to heat the device to a desired temperature with desired electrical properties. See [0063], [0082] [0096]. It would have been obvious to select the broadly recited range for the first microwave power, and stop times for the obvious benefit of heating the substrate to a desired temperature within a desired time frame, and to reduce the influence of hot spots. [0063].
Furthermore, in related art, Sasaki discloses powering the microwaves within the recited range and time frame and stopping for the recited time at [0082], [0086], [0088], [0096]-[0099], [0107]-[0109] for the obvious benefit of obtaining a wafer having a desired property and obtaining a material having a desired property. As such, the features recited would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of this application.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898