DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230).
Considering Claims 1, 3, 4, and 6-8: Leech et al. teaches a film/membrane comprising a 4-vinylpyridine/styrene copolymer coordinate covalently bonded to Ru(II)(2,2’-bipyridyl)(dichloride) complex (Fig. 1, pg. 629-630).
Leech et al. teaches ratio of styrene to vinyl pyridine as being 67:33 to 0:100 (Table 2-4, Fig. 3 and 4). Leech et al. teaches a trade off between film compaction with increasing styrene content and ion-motion restriction at higher vinylpyridine content (pg. 634). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of styrene to vinylpyridine through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Leech et al. suggests, to control the charge-transfer diffusion coefficient of the polymer complex (Fig. 4).
Leech et al. teaches the film as being on a glass substrate. However, Ma et al. teaches forming free-standing films from polyvinyl pyridine polymers (Abstract). Leech et al. and Ma et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyvinyl pyridine polymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the film of Leech et al. as a free-standing film, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ma et al. suggests, to extend the field of applications for the polymer film (pg. 224).
Considering Claim 9: Leech et al. teaches the molar ratio of the polymer unit to the metal complex as being 10:1 (pg. 630).
Considering Claim 11: Leech et al. teaches the same chemical composition as the instant claims, with the preferred polymer being used in the claimed ratio with a preferred metal-ligand complex. As such, it would inherently have the claimed ion exchange capacity. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Agnew (Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer chemistry edition, Vol. 14, 2819-2830, 1976).
Considering Claim 2: Leech et al. teaches the membrane of claim 1 as taught above.
Leech et al. does not teach the metal complex as comprising nickel. However, Agnew teaches using a nickel complex with a vinyl pyridine polymer (Table III). Leech et al. and Agnew are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely vinyl pyridine/metal complexes. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a nickel complex as the metal complex of Leech et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Agnew suggests, it is a known metal for complexing with polyvinyl pyridine polymers.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ouyang et al. (WO 2015/178912).
Considering Claim 5: Leech et al. teaches the membrane of claim 1 as taught above.
Leech et al. does not teach the claimed ligands. However, Ouyang et al. teaches using 1,10-pheantroline as the ligand for coordination bonding with polyvinyl pyridine (¶00111). Leech et al. and Ouyang et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely coordination bonding with polyvinyl pyridine. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used 1,10-phenanthroline as the ligand of Leech et al., in place of bipyridine, as in Ouyang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ouyang et al. suggests, they are functional equivalents (¶00111).
Considering Claim 10: Leech et al. teaches the membrane of claim 1 as taught above.
Leech et al. is silent on the thickness of the polymer film. However, Ouyang et al. teaches that the amount of polymer (and thus the thickness) would be a result effective variable, controls the ability to accomplish the assay (¶00117), and thus would be a result effective variable. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the thickness of the film through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ouyang et al. suggests, to find the suitable amount of redox mediator to perform an assay.
Claims 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230).
Considering Claims 13, 15, and 16: Leech et al. teaches a film/membrane comprising a 4-vinylpyridine/styrene copolymer coordinate covalently bonded to Ru(II)(2,2’-bipyridyl)(dichloride) complex (Fig. 1, pg. 629-630).
Leech et al. teaches ratio of styrene to vinyl pyridine as being 67:33 to 0:100 (Table 2-4, Fig. 3 and 4). Leech et al. teaches a trade off between film compaction with increasing styrene content and ion-motion restriction at higher vinylpyridine content (pg. 634). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of styrene to vinylpyridine through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Leech et al. suggests, to control the charge-transfer diffusion coefficient of the polymer complex (Fig. 4).
Leech et al. teaches the film as being on a glass substrate. However, Ma et al. teaches forming free-standing films from polyvinyl pyridine polymers (Abstract). Leech et al. and Ma et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyvinyl pyridine polymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the film of Leech et al. as a free-standing film, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ma et al. suggests, to extend the field of applications for the polymer film (pg. 224).
Considering Claim 17: Leech et al. teaches the molar ratio of the polymer unit to the metal complex as being 10:1 (pg. 630).
Considering Claim 18: Leech et al. teaches the same chemical composition as the instant claims, with the preferred polymer being used in the claimed ratio with a preferred metal-ligand complex. As such, it would inherently have the claimed ion exchange capacity. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Agnew (Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer chemistry edition, Vol. 14, 2819-2830, 1976).
Considering Claim 14: Leech et al. teaches the membrane of claim 13 as taught above.
Leech et al. does not teach the metal complex as comprising nickel. However, Agnew teaches using a nickel complex with a vinyl pyridine polymer (Table III). Leech et al. and Agnew are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely vinyl pyridine/metal complexes. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a nickel complex as the metal complex of Leech et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Agnew suggests, it is a known metal for complexing with polyvinyl pyridine polymers.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Agnew (Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer chemistry edition, Vol. 14, 2819-2830, 1976) and Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230).
Considering Claims 19 and 20: Leech et al. teaches a film/membrane comprising a 4-vinylpyridine/styrene copolymer coordinate covalently bonded to Ru(II)(2,2’-bipyridyl)(dichloride) complex (Fig. 1, pg. 629-630).
Leech et al. teaches ratio of styrene to vinyl pyridine as being 67:33 to 0:100 (Table 2-4, Fig. 3 and 4). Leech et al. teaches a trade off between film compaction with increasing styrene content and ion-motion restriction at higher vinylpyridine content (pg. 634). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the ratio of styrene to vinylpyridine through routine experimentation, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Leech et al. suggests, to control the charge-transfer diffusion coefficient of the polymer complex (Fig. 4).
Leech et al. does not teach the metal complex as comprising nickel. However, Agnew teaches using a nickel complex with a vinyl pyridine polymer (Table III). Leech et al. and Agnew are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely vinyl pyridine/metal complexes. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a nickel complex as the metal complex of Leech et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Agnew suggests, it is a known metal for complexing with polyvinyl pyridine polymers.
Leech et al. teaches the film as being on a glass substrate. However, Ma et al. teaches forming free-standing films from polyvinyl pyridine polymers (Abstract). Leech et al. and Ma et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyvinyl pyridine polymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the film of Leech et al. as a free-standing film, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ma et al. suggests, to extend the field of applications for the polymer film (pg. 224).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-8, filed January 29, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Leech et al. (J. Mater. Chem. 1991, 1(4), 629-635) in view of Ma et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 394, 2013, 223-230).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767