DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 8 have been presented for examination.
This office action is in response to submission of the amendments on 08/18/2026.
Response to Claims 1 – 6 comply with the enablement requirements
Applicant has amended claim 7 to modify the “unit” to recite a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for the structure that performs the recited functional language. Therefore, the 112(f) invocation is withdrawn, and the related 112(a) written description rejection is also withdrawn. Specifically, persons having ordinary in the art would interpret the recited “processing unit” as encompassing well-known generic computer hardware processing structures (see MPEP 2181(I)(A)).
Response to the claims are definite
Applicant has amended claim 1 to modify the “unit” to recite a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for the structure that performs the “corrects” in claims 1 and 2. The structure for “determination is made” in claim 4 is explicitly recited as the “processing unit” in claim 1. Therefore, the 112(b) and 112(a) rejections regarding pure functional claiming without boundaries and lack of written description are withdrawn for claims 1 – 2 and 4. Further, new 112(b) issues are introduced which are necessitated by the amendments (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112).
Response to the claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
Applicant has amended claim 1 to modify the “unit” to recite a sufficiently definite meaning as the name for the structure that performs the recited functional language. Therefore, the 112(f) invocation is withdrawn with regard to claim 1. The 112(f) invocation is maintained for claim 6 (see Claim Interpretation).
Response to The claims recite patentable subject matter
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. However, the Office does not consider them to be persuasive.
Applicant argues: “In the Examiner's Office Action, there is no identification of the specific limitation(s) in the claim under examination (individually or in combination) that the examiner believes recites an abstract idea. Rather, the Examiner simply repeated all of the claim elements of the independent claims on p. _ of the Office Action, then generically summarized all of the content of the independent claims as being "directed to __ ," without identifying the specific limitations that recite an abstract idea. Office Action, p. _.”
Examiner notes that the Office Action explicitly maps each and every limitation comprising the abstract idea and the additional limitations.
Applicant argues: “This is not an abstract idea. It is not by itself a building block of human ingenuity, a fundamental economic practice, a method of organizing human activity, an idea of itself, or a mathematical relationship/formula. At most, Claims 1 and 8 merely involve, and only in part, what could be argued to be an abstract concept, which is insufficient to render an invention patent ineligible. At some level, all inventions, including those that are patent eligible, embody, use, reflect, rest on, or apply abstract ideas. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 23 54 ( citing Mayo v. Prometheus, 566 U.S._,_ (2012)).” (emphasis added)
Examiner notes that a mental process merely requires that a limitation is reasonably performed in the mind in combination with a piece of a paper. A non-limiting example of limitations that can be reasonably be performed in the mind are those that require no more than evaluations and judgements based on observations (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101). Applicant refers to other types of abstract ideas beyond mental processes (see emphasis in Applicant’s remarks), however, this does not take away from a limitation that recites a mental process (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Applicant argues: “Furthermore, Claims 1 and 8 are eligible for patent protection because they integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application and conveys a technical improvement …Accordingly, by providing an underground structure detection apparatus and an underground structure detection method capable of accurately detecting an underground buried object detected by a radar, the present embodiments achieve the technical improvement of radar”
Applicant argues at a high-level of generality benefits conferred by the claimed device and method. Examiner notes that the additional elements of the instant claim 1 are the “processing unit”, and claim 7 (which appears to be the claim argued by Applicant for the method) does not recite any additional elements. Further, benefits deriving wholly from the abstract idea do not amount to a practical application, and implementing the abstract idea in combination with generic computer hardware does not transform the claimed invention in eligible subject matter. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Response to Independent Claim 1 is allowable over the proposed Terrasse-Hayakawa-Kim combination
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, however, the Office does not consider them to be persuasive. Specifically, Applicant presents a conclusory arguments that the amended claims are not taught by the prior art of record. However, Hayakawa explicitly teaches determining interconnectivity between two-dimensional data representative of buried pipes after a binarizing step having amplitudes greater than a threshold (first determination condition included in consecutive images exceeding a threshold) and after a line extraction step with deficient voxels having distances shorter than a threshold (second determination condition included in consecutive images below a predetermined threshold) (see Col. 5, Lines 2 – 6 “a binarizing step of extracting a candidate voxel group consisting of a plurality of voxels having amplitude values of positive or negative polarity and having magnitudes greater than a predetermined threshold and interconnected with each other”, and Col. 23, Lines 8 – 18 “only when a distance along which the deficient voxels are present consecutively in the y axis direction is shorter than the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave in the ground … this one Dimensional linear interpolating operation is effected on such deficient voxels”, and Col. 2, Lines 45 – 51 the interconnecting and interpolating voxels is analogous to performing interpolation of 2D data (consecutive images) “This interpolation can be done three-dimensionally. However, since the data are present densely in the direction of the reflection time (t), this interpolation is rather considered as interpolation of two-dimensional data within the x-y plane.”). Therefore, the amended limitations are taught bv the prior art of record.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “unit” in claim 6.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Looking to the disclosure with regard to the claim 6 “unit that captures an image”, there is explicitly disclosed in Figure 1 a “camera” and “camera data processing unit” usable for capturing an image of a road surface when operated in a normal and customary manner by one of ordinary skill in the art (see the instant application Paragraph 25 “The road surface data component detection unit 13 is a functional unit that detects a component on the road surface based on road surface data 131 (to be described later with reference to Figs. 3A to 3E) acquired from the camera data processing unit 21 by photographing the road surface 41.”) (see MPEP 2164.01 “A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. In re Buchner, 929 F.2d 660, 661, 18 USPQ2d 1331, 1332 (Fed. Cir. 1991)”, and MPEP 2164.02”). With regard to the claim 6 “unit that obtains blueprint data”, there is explicitly disclosed in Figure 2 a “blueprint data component detection program” on a device comprising general purpose computer components usable for obtaining blueprint data, in combination with one or more algorithms for obtain the blueprint data (see the instant application Paragraph 28 “For example, the user may digitize the blueprint of the paper medium by a scanner or the like, and input the digitized blueprint data 141 to the blueprint data component detection unit 14.” and Paragraph 30 “Note that the blueprint data component detection unit 14 may have an optical character recognition/reader (OCR) function to detect the blueprint detection data 203 from character information illustrated in the blueprint.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 - 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regard to claim 1, it recites “the components” in “with respect to composite data synthesized from the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, the processing unit is further configured to set as a first determination condition that image features indicating the components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there is only previously recited “a component”. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as reciting “components in the two-dimensional data” which covers any components as in claim 7.
Further, it recites “correct the position” in “wherein, when the first determination condition is satisfied, the processing unit is further configured to correct the position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there is merely previously recited “position or posture information”. Therefore, it is unclear which position is being corrected as contrasted with the later recited “to correct the position and orientation information of the structure element”. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as correcting the position information of the component represented by the composite data, similar to the later recited “structural element”.
Further, it recites “the position and orientation information” in “processing unit is further configure to correct the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there is no previously recited “position and orientation information” related to the structural element. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as any position and orientation information related to a structural element.
With regard to claim 2, it recites “the first determination condition” and “the second determination condition” and “the first direction” and “the second direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since claim 1 and 2 both recite “a first determination condition” and “a second determination condition” and “a first direction” and “a second direction”. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as claim 2 referring backs its own first/second determination condition and first/second direction due to the proximity.
With regard to claim 5, it recites functional language "information indicating ... is included and output". However, there is no recited structure for perform the recited function(s) since the limitation does not invoke 112(f), and the amended “processing unit” is not recited as covering this functionality (i.e., the “is …. output” would require an output device). Specifically, the functional language does not recite "means" and is not coupled with a generic placeholder. Therefore, it amounts to pure functional claiming without boundaries. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as the structure indicated in the specification for the claim 1 "unit" since it covers functionality substantially related to the claim 1 "corrects" through the claim 2 "first [second] determination condition" (see Claim Interpretation).
With regard to claim 6, it recites functional language “wherein a type and a position of the component are obtained”. However, there is no recited structure for perform the recited function(s) since the limitations does not invoke 112(f). Specifically, the functional language does not recite “means” and is not coupled with a generic placeholder. Therefore, it amounts to pure functional claiming without boundaries. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as the structure indicated in the specification and their equivalents for the claim 6 “unit” (see Claim Interpretation).
With regard to claim 7, it recites “correcting … the position” in “wherein, when the first determination condition is satisfied, correcting, by the processing unit, the position”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there is merely previously recited “position or posture information”. Therefore, it is unclear which position is being corrected as contrasted with the later recited “correcting … the position and orientation information of the structure element”. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as correcting the position information of the component represented by the composite data, similar to the later recited “structural element”.
Further, it recites “the position and orientation information” in “correcting, by the processing unit, the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since there is no previously recited “position and orientation information” related to the structural element. The limitation is interpreted for examination purposes as any position and orientation information related to a structural element.
With regard to claims 3 – 4 and 8, they are rejected by virtue of being dependent on a rejected parent claim, and without reciting further limitations to overcome the unclarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Independent claim 1 recites at Step 1 a statutory category (i.e. a machine) underground structure apparatus that detects information including a component constituting an underground structure, a type of the component, and position or posture information based on a plurality of pieces of two-dimensional data indicating a cross section of ground and three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure, the underground structure detection apparatus comprising: with respect to synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, correct the position or posture information of a component represented by the synthetic data based on an image feature grasped from the two-dimensional data, wherein with respect to composite data synthesized from the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, set as a first determination condition that image features indicating the components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction, wherein, when the first determination condition is satisfied, correct the position and setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction, and wherein, when the second determination condition is satisfied, correct the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction. At Step 2A, Prong I the recited limitations, alone or in combination, amount to steps that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind in combination with using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). For example, the “set” and “correct” and “setting” covers judgements and evaluations that can be reasonably be performed based on interpretations from a plurality of two-dimensional data (see the instant application Paragraph 99 “Next, the three-dimensional model component detection unit 12 determines whether or not the consecutive number of sheets determined to be at the same position is equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (S803)”). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At Step 2A, Prong II this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application since the claimed invention further claims: a processing unit configured to perform the “set” and “correct” and “setting”. The “processing units” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere application of the judicial exception using generic computer components which does not amount to an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(I)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B the claim does not recite additional elements that, alone or in an ordered combination, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the recited “processing unit” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. For at least these reasons, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 - 6 recite(s) at Step 1 the same statutory category as the parent claim(s), and further recite(s):
Claim 2 a first determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined first threshold or more according to a first direction, and when the first determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two- dimensional data connected in the first direction, and a second determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined second threshold or less according to a second direction, and when the second determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction;
Claim 3 the component is a pipe, the first direction is a transverse direction with respect to a road, and the second direction is a longitudinal direction with respect to a road;
Claim 4 wherein a determination is made for both the first determination condition and the second determination condition;
Claim 5 wherein the component is a pipe, and when a determination is established for both the first determination condition and the second determination condition;
Claim 6 wherein a type and a position of the component are obtained based on three-dimensional detection data obtained by detecting the component from the synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, road surface detection data obtained by detecting the component from the road surface data, and blueprint detection data obtained by detecting the component from the blueprint data.
At Step 2A, Prong I the recited limitations, alone or in combination, amount to steps that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind in combination with using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). For example, the “is corrected” covers judgements and evaluations that can be reasonably be performed based on interpretations from a plurality of two-dimensional data (see the instant application Paragraph 99 “Next, the three-dimensional model component detection unit 12 determines whether or not the consecutive number of sheets determined to be at the same position is equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (S803)”). The “the component is” and “first direction is” and “second direction is” and “determination is made” further modify the parent claim(s) “corrects” and “is corrected”, and without precluding performance in the mind. The “determination is made” covers judgements and evaluations that can be reasonably be performed based on interpretations from a plurality of two-dimensional data (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see the instant application Paragraph 99 “Next, the three-dimensional model component detection unit 12 determines whether or not the consecutive number of sheets determined to be at the same position is equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (S803)”). The “a type and a position of the component are obtained” requires no more than judgements and evaluations comprising the correlation of data from different sources using analytical relationship, said correlations appear to be broad disclosed including no more than relatively simple mathematical formulas that could be realized in mind with a pen and paper (see the instant application Figure 10 and Paragraph 120 “For example, when the predetermined threshold is "0.7", the component type specifying unit 154 determines that the water pipe 33(1) in the two-dimensional data lll(i) and the water pipe 33(1) in the three-dimensional data 121 illustrated in Fig. 10 indicate the same component.”). Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
At Step 2A, Prong II this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application since the claimed invention further claims: Claim 5 information indicating that a type of the pipe is a T-shaped pipe or an L-shaped pipe is included and output; Claim 6 various “unit”. For example, the “information indicating … is included and output” amounts to insignificant data outputting since it is recited at a high-level of generality with regard to how the outputting is performed, and since it amounts to conditionally outputting a detection result (see the instant application Paragraph 151 “case where the detection result of the longitudinal pipe intersects with a part of the detection result of the longitudinal pipe when it is assumed that the transverse pipe extends, information that there is a high possibility that intersection/branching occurs on the way may be included in the detection result”) (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112). The “unit” covers the related structure in the specification, which amounts to no more than mere application of the judicial exception using generic computer components and which does not amount to an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(I)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B the claim(s) do not recite additional elements that, alone or in an ordered combination, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The “output” covers well-understood, routine, conventional activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network”). As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the recited “unit” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components. The additional elements do not amount to a particular machine (see MPEP 2106.05(b)(I)). Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. For at least these reasons, the claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claim 7 recites at Step 1 a statutory category (i.e. a process) underground structure detection method of an underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a component constituting an underground structure, a type of the component, and position or posture information based on a plurality of pieces of two-dimensional data indicating a cross section of ground and three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure, the underground structure detection method comprising: creating composite synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data; setting as a first determination condition that image features indicating components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction; when the first determination condition is satisfied, correcting the position and setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction; and when the second determination condition is satisfied, correcting the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction. At Step 2A, Prong I the recited limitations, alone or in combination, amount to steps that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind in combination with using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). For example, the “synthesizing” requires no more than judgements and evaluations based on observed data. The “setting” covers judgements and evaluations that can be reasonably be performed based on interpretations from a plurality of two-dimensional data (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see the instant application Paragraph 99 “Next, the three-dimensional model component detection unit 12 determines whether or not the consecutive number of sheets determined to be at the same position is equal to or larger than a predetermined threshold value (S803)”). The “correcting” covers judgements and evaluations that can be reasonably be performed based on interpreting two-dimensional data (see the instant application Paragraph 101 “the trajectories of the X and Z coordinate values of the points having the highest luminance among the features of the transverse pipe from the two-dimensional data 111(1) to the two-dimensional data 111(4) may be linearly approximated to obtain the posture of the transverse pipe” , and Paragraph 104 “If there is a feature of the longitudinal pipe at substantially the same position (within a predetermined threshold range) as the coordinates at which the feature is detected in the two-dimensional data 111(1), the number of consecutive times is increased by 1 to confirm the next adjacent image, and the count is incremented ”, and Paragraph 107 - 108 “Next, the three-dimensional model component detection unit 12 corrects the detection result … the posture of the buried object is set by connecting end points of a region where pixels having luminance higher than a predetermined value are continuous in the extending direction”). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
At Step 2A, Prong II this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application since the claimed invention does not further claims: that the “processing unit” is for the “synthesizing” and “setting” and “correcting”. The “processing units” are recited at a high-level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere application of the judicial exception using generic computer components which does not amount to an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(I)). The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B the claim does not recite additional elements that, alone or in an ordered combination, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the recited “processing unit” amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. For at least these reasons, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 8 recite(s) at Step 1 the same statutory category as the parent claim(s), and further recite(s):
Claim 8 the component is a pipe, the first direction is a transverse direction with respect to a road, and the second direction is a longitudinal direction with respect to a road;
At Step 2A, Prong I the recited limitations, alone or in combination, amount to steps that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind in combination with using a pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)). The “the component is” and “first direction is” and “second direction is” further modify the parent claim(s) “determining” and “correcting”, and without precluding performance in the mind. Accordingly, the claim(s) recite(s) an abstract idea.
At Step 2A, Prong II this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application since the claimed invention does not further recite any limitations. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
At Step 2B the claim(s) do not recite additional elements that, alone or in an ordered combination, are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception since there are no further recited limitations. For at least these reasons, the claim is not patent eligible.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter, subject to overcoming the 112 and 101 rejections.
None of the prior art of record taken individually or in combination discloses the claim 2 (and by incorporation claim 3 – 5) underground structure detection apparatus, wherein: “a first determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined first threshold or more according to a first direction, and when the first determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two- dimensional data connected in the first direction, and a second determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined second threshold or less according to a second direction, and when the second determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction”, in combination with the remaining elements and features of the claim. It is for these reasons that the applicant’s invention defines over the prior art of record.
Kim et al. “Triplanar Imaging of 3-D GPR Data for Deep-Learning-Based Underground Object Detection” teaches using thresholding to classify GPR patterns of underground objects. However, does not appear to explicitly disclose: a first determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined first threshold or more according to a first direction, and when the first determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two- dimensional data connected in the first direction, and a second determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined second threshold or less according to a second direction, and when the second determination condition is satisfied, the position/posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction.
Terrasse et al. “Automatic Localization of Gas Pipes from GPR Imagery” teaches using a threshold to detect blobs in B-scans. However, does not appear to explicitly disclose: a first determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined first threshold or more according to a first direction, and when the first determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two- dimensional data connected in the first direction, and a second determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined second threshold or less according to a second direction, and when the second determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction.
Hayakawa et al. (US 6573855) teaches thresholding an image as a binarizing step of extracting a candidate voxel group consisting of a plurality of voxels having amplitude values of positive or negative polarity and having magnitudes greater than a predetermined threshold and interconnected with each other. However, does not appear to explicitly disclose: a first determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined first threshold or more according to a first direction, and when the first determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two- dimensional data connected in the first direction, and a second determination condition is that an image feature indicated by the component in the two-dimensional data is included in continuous images by a predetermined second threshold or less according to a second direction, and when the second determination condition is satisfied, the position or posture information of the component represented by the synthetic data is corrected based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 and 7 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terrasse et al. “Automatic Localization of Gas Pipes from GPR Imagery” (henceforth “Terrasse”) in view of Hayakawa et al. (US 6573855) (henceforth “Hayakawa (855)”), and further in view of Kim et al. “Triplanar Imaging of 3-D GPR Data for Deep-Learning-Based Underground Object Detection” (henceforth “Kim”). Terrasse and Hayakawa (855) and Kim are analogous art because they solve the same problem of detecting undergrounds structures, and because they are from the same field of endeavor of underground structure detection.
With regard to claim 1, Terrasse teaches an underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a component constituting an underground structure, (Terrasse Figure 1 GPR device uses to detect a pipe
)
position or posture information based on a plurality of pieces of two-dimensional data indicating a cross section of ground indicating the underground structure, the underground structure detection apparatus comprising: (Terrasse Page 2395, Right whole pipe 3D position is obtained after hyperbola detection along 2D positions (plurality of pieces of 2D data) “After scanning the underground, a 3D position is not directly obtained but a 2D position according to the position of the GPR and a back and forth time travel of the wave. In order to get a depth scale, the wave speed must be estimated in the soil. This can be done with the shape of the hyperbola. Whole pipe 3D position : Indeed the hyperbola detection in each B-scan in a sequence of acquisitions along a pipe”)
correct the position or posture information of a component represented (Terrasse Page 2395, Right depth scale is added by analyzing shape of hyperbola (correct the position/posture) “After scanning the underground, a 3D position is not directly obtained but a 2D position according to the position of the GPR and a back and forth time travel of the wave. In order to get a depth scale, the wave speed must be estimated in the soil. This can be done with the shape of the hyperbola. Whole pipe 3D position : Indeed the hyperbola detection in each B-scan in a sequence of acquisitions along a pipe”)
based on an image feature grasped from the two-dimensional data. (Terrasse Page 2397, Left hyperbolas are detected by computing coefficients in each B-scan (based on image feature grasped from 2D data) “High value coefficients would show the position of an hyperbola. Thus a simple way to detect hyperbola would be to keep these coefficients by a thresholding step”)
Terrasse does not appear to explicitly disclose: the underground structure detection apparatus that detects position or posture information based on three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure; a processing unit configured to, with respect to synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, correct the position or posture information of a component represented by the synthetic data, wherein, with respect to composite data synthesized from the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, the processing unit is further configured to set as a first determination condition that image features indicating the components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction, wherein, when the first determination condition is satisfied, the processing unit is further configured to correct the position and setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction, and wherein, when the second determination condition is satisfied, the processing unit is further configure to correct the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction.
However, Hayakawa (855) teaches:
the underground structure detection apparatus that detects position or posture information based on three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62 depth scale is provided from voxel data source (based on 3D data) “With the above feature, by effecting the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation, it is possible to improve resolution within a plane (x, y) parallel to the medium surface. In the above, if the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation is effected on the source three-dimensional voxel data consisting of raw data of the reflected signals, the three-dimensional voxel data comprise data which can approximate e.g. the buried condition of the object (i.e. information converted into the depth scale).”)
a processing unit that, with respect to synthetic data (Hayakawa (855) Figure 3 a data processing unit for performing synthetic aperture operation)
obtained by synthesizing two-dimensional data and three-dimensional data, corrects a position or posture information of a component represented by the synthetic data based on an image feature grasped from the two-dimensional data (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62 synthetic aperture operation enhances resolution within a plane from source 3D voxel data (by synthesizing 2D and 3D data) to provide depth scale (corrects position or posture information of a component) “With the above feature, by effecting the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation, it is possible to improve resolution within a plane (x, y) parallel to the medium surface. In the above, if the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation is effected on the source three-dimensional voxel data consisting of raw data of the reflected signals, the three-dimensional voxel data comprise data which can approximate e.g. the buried condition of the object (i.e. information converted into the depth scale).”)
wherein, with respect to composite data synthesized from the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62 synthetic aperture operation enhances resolution within a plane from source 3D voxel data)
the processing unit is further configured to set as a first determination condition that image features indicating the components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction, wherein, when the first determination condition is satisfied, the processing unit is further configured to correct the position and (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see Col. 5, Lines 2 – 6 determining interconnectivity between two-dimensional data representative of buried pipes after a binarizing step having amplitudes (image feature) greater than a threshold (first determination condition included in consecutive images exceeding a threshold) “a binarizing step of extracting a candidate voxel group consisting of a plurality of voxels having amplitude values of positive or negative polarity and having magnitudes greater than a predetermined threshold and interconnected with each other”, and Col. 2, Lines 45 – 51 the interconnecting and interpolating voxels (correct the position) is analogous to performing interpolation of 2D data (grasped from two-dimensional data) “This interpolation can be done three-dimensionally. However, since the data are present densely in the direction of the reflection time (t), this interpolation is rather considered as interpolation of two-dimensional data within the x-y plane.”).
setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction, and wherein, when the second determination condition is satisfied, the processing unit is further configure to correct the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction. (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see Col. 23, Lines 8 – 18 determining interconnectivity between two-dimensional data representative of buried pipes after a line extraction step with deficient voxels (image feature) having distances (image feature) shorter than a threshold (second determination condition included in consecutive images below a predetermined threshold) “only when a distance along which the deficient voxels are present consecutively in the y axis direction is shorter than the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave in the ground … this one Dimensional linear interpolating operation is effected on such deficient voxels”, and Col. 2, Lines 45 – 51 the interconnecting and interpolating voxels along linear segments (correct the position and orientation) is analogous to performing interpolation of 2D data (grasped from two-dimensional data) “This interpolation can be done three-dimensionally. However, since the data are present densely in the direction of the reflection time (t), this interpolation is rather considered as interpolation of two-dimensional data within the x-y plane.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the correction of depth of a buried object disclosed by Terresa with the synthetic aperture operation disclosed by Hayakawa (855). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably refine resolution in a plane (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62).
Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855) does not appear to explicitly disclose: the underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a type of the component.
However, Kim teaches:
an underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a type of the component. (Kim Figure 2 processing software is utilized, and Figure 10 detected underground object is classified)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the correction of depth of a buried object disclosed by Terresa in view of Hayakawa (855) with the classification of a buried object disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to distinguish between different buried objects (Kim Page 4448, Left “For example, as shown in Fig. 3(a) and (b), pipes and cavities exhibit similar hyperbolic reflection patterns in B-scan images. Thus, it is difficult to classify these two using only B-scan images. However, these two can be distinguished by comparing their C- and D-scan images “)
With regard to claim 7, Terrasse teaches an underground structure detection method of an underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a component constituting an underground structure, (Terrasse Figure 1 GPR device uses to detect a pipe
)
position or posture information based on a plurality of pieces of two-dimensional data indicating a cross section of ground indicating the underground structure, the underground structure detection method comprising: (Terrasse Page 2395, Right whole pipe 3D position is obtained after hyperbola detection along 2D positions (plurality of pieces of 2D data) “After scanning the underground, a 3D position is not directly obtained but a 2D position according to the position of the GPR and a back and forth time travel of the wave. In order to get a depth scale, the wave speed must be estimated in the soil. This can be done with the shape of the hyperbola. Whole pipe 3D position : Indeed the hyperbola detection in each B-scan in a sequence of acquisitions along a pipe”)
Terrasse does not appear to explicitly disclose: the underground structure detection method that detects position or posture information based on three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure; creating by a processing unit composite synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, setting, by the processing unit, as a first determination condition that image features indicating components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction; when the first determination condition is satisfied, correcting, by the processing unit, the position and setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction; and when the second determination condition is satisfied, correcting, by the processing unit, the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction.
However, Hayakawa (855) teaches:
the underground structure detection apparatus that detects position or posture information based on three-dimensional data indicating the underground structure (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62 depth scale is provided from voxel data source (based on 3D data) “With the above feature, by effecting the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation, it is possible to improve resolution within a plane (x, y) parallel to the medium surface. In the above, if the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation is effected on the source three-dimensional voxel data consisting of raw data of the reflected signals, the three-dimensional voxel data comprise data which can approximate e.g. the buried condition of the object (i.e. information converted into the depth scale).”)
creating by a processing unit composite synthetic data (Hayakawa (855) Figure 3 a data processing unit for performing synthetic aperture operation)
obtained by synthesizing two-dimensional data and three-dimensional data, (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62 synthetic aperture operation enhances resolution within a plane from source 3D voxel data (by synthesizing 2D and 3D data) to provide depth scale (corrects position or posture information of a component) “With the above feature, by effecting the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation, it is possible to improve resolution within a plane (x, y) parallel to the medium surface. In the above, if the synthetic aperture operation or migration operation is effected on the source three-dimensional voxel data consisting of raw data of the reflected signals, the three-dimensional voxel data comprise data which can approximate e.g. the buried condition of the object (i.e. information converted into the depth scale).”)
setting, by the processing unit, as a first determination condition that image features indicating components in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images exceeding a predetermined first threshold along a first direction; when the first determination condition is satisfied, correcting, by the processing unit, the position and (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see Col. 5, Lines 2 – 6 determining interconnectivity between two-dimensional data representative of buried pipes after a binarizing step having amplitudes (image feature) greater than a threshold (first determination condition included in consecutive images exceeding a threshold) “a binarizing step of extracting a candidate voxel group consisting of a plurality of voxels having amplitude values of positive or negative polarity and having magnitudes greater than a predetermined threshold and interconnected with each other”, and Col. 2, Lines 45 – 51 the interconnecting and interpolating voxels (correcting the position) is analogous to performing interpolation of 2D data (grasped from two-dimensional data) “This interpolation can be done three-dimensionally. However, since the data are present densely in the direction of the reflection time (t), this interpolation is rather considered as interpolation of two-dimensional data within the x-y plane.”).
setting as a second determination condition that the image features of a structural element in the two-dimensional data are included in consecutive images at or below a predetermined second threshold along a second direction; and when the second determination condition is satisfied, correcting, by the processing unit, the position and orientation information of the structural element represented by the composite data based on the two-dimensional data connected in the second direction. (see Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112) (see Col. 23, Lines 8 – 18 determining interconnectivity between two-dimensional data representative of buried pipes after a line extraction step with deficient voxels (image feature) having distances (image feature) shorter than a threshold (second determination condition included in consecutive images below a predetermined threshold) “only when a distance along which the deficient voxels are present consecutively in the y axis direction is shorter than the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave in the ground … this one Dimensional linear interpolating operation is effected on such deficient voxels”, and Col. 2, Lines 45 – 51 the interconnecting and interpolating voxels along linear segments (correcting the position and orientation) is analogous to performing interpolation of 2D data (grasped from two-dimensional data) “This interpolation can be done three-dimensionally. However, since the data are present densely in the direction of the reflection time (t), this interpolation is rather considered as interpolation of two-dimensional data within the x-y plane.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the correction of depth of a buried object disclosed by Terresa with the synthetic aperture operation disclosed by Hayakawa (855). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably refine resolution in a plane (Hayakawa (855) Col. 6, Lines 57 – 62).
Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855) does not appear to explicitly disclose: the underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a type of the component.
However, Kim teaches:
an underground structure detection apparatus that detects information including a type of the component. (Kim Figure 2 processing software is utilized, and Figure 10 detected underground object is classified)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the correction of depth of a buried object disclosed by Terresa in view of Hayakawa (855) with the classification of a buried object disclosed by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to distinguish between different buried objects (Kim Page 4448, Left “For example, as shown in Fig. 3(a) and (b), pipes and cavities exhibit similar hyperbolic reflection patterns in B-scan images. Thus, it is difficult to classify these two using only B-scan images. However, these two can be distinguished by comparing their C- and D-scan images “)
With regard to claim 8, Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855), and further in view of Kim teaches all the elements of the parent claim 7, and further teaches:
the component is a pipe, (Terrasse Page 2399 “In this work, we proposed a method to automatically detect hyperbolas in B-scan and thus to localize pipes in the underground”)
the first direction is a transverse direction with respect to a road, and the second direction is a longitudinal direction with respect to a road. (Kim Figure 1 and 2 scans are along a road in y and x directions which directly relates to the images of Hayakawa (855) which are also GPR scans
)
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855), and further in view of Kim, and further in view of Mochizuki et al. (US 2022/0214437) (henceforth “Mochizuki (437)”). Terrasse and Hayakawa (855) and Kim and Mochizuki (437) are analogous art because they solve the same problem of detecting undergrounds structures, and because they are from the same field of endeavor of underground structure detection.
With regard to claim 6, Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855), and further in view of Kim teaches all the elements of the parent claim 1, and further teaches:
a unit that obtains blueprint data from a blueprint related to an underground structure (Terrasse Page 2398, Left signatures of pipes (blueprint data) are generated (related to underground structure) “For this purpose, we chose to use a dictionary of simple theoretical measures of pipes coupled with a supervised learning scheme.”)
wherein a type and a position of the component are obtained based on three-dimensional detection data obtained by detecting the component from the synthetic data obtained by synthesizing the two-dimensional data and the three-dimensional data, and (Kim Figure 5 and 10 detected underground object is classified based on 3D voxel mask, where Hayakawa (855) also operates on voxels (from the synthetic data))
blueprint detection data obtained by detecting the component from blueprint data (Terrasse Page 2398, Left components are detected based on a dictionary (blueprint data obtained from a blueprint) “For this purpose, we chose to use a dictionary of simple theoretical measures of pipes coupled with a supervised learning scheme.”)
Terrasse in view of Hayakawa (855), and further in view of Kim does not appear to explicitly disclose: a unit that captures an image of a state of a road surface of a road to obtain road surface data; and that the type and position are obtained based on road surface detection data obtained by the detecting the component from the road surface data.
However, Mochizuki (437) teaches:
a unit that captures an image of a state of a road surface of a road to obtain road surface data; and (Mochizuki (437) Paragraph 45 “The camera 26 captures a road surface image in the measurement area at predetermined intervals. FIG. 6 illustrates, as a road surface map, an exemplary display of a combination of road surface images obtained by the camera 26.”)
wherein a position of the component are obtained based on road surface detection data obtained by the detecting the component from the road surface data (Mochizuki (437) Paragraph 53 desired layers can be displayed in an overlay thereby making it easier for a worker to perform measurement work, “Causing the display unit 18 to display the measurement data superimposed on the facility map and the topographic map can visualize the measurement area in a manner that a worker can easily understand. Therefore, the efficiency in a measurement work can be improved, and the effect of preventing overlooking in abnormality detection by collating with facility information on the facility map can be obtained”, and Figure 9 road surfaces images can be part of the overlaid layers, and Paragraph 14 the measurement is related to position reliability (position are obtained) “According to the present invention, it is possible to provide a ground penetrating radar device capable of obtaining a two-dimensional measurement data set having higher position reliability.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the correction of depth of a buried object disclosed by Terresa in view of Hayakawa (855), and further in view of Kim with the road image to help measuring a component disclosed by Mochizuki (437). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve a position reliability (Mochizuki (437) Paragraph 14 “According to the present invention, it is possible to provide a ground penetrating radar device capable of obtaining a two-dimensional measurement data set having higher position reliability.”)
Examiner General Comments
With regard to the prior art rejection(s), any cited portion of the relied upon reference(s), either by pointing to specific sections or as quotations, is intended to be interpreted in the context of the reference(s) as a whole as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention since the entire reference is considered to provide disclosure relating to the cited portions. Further, the claims and only the claims form the metes and bounds of the invention. Office personnel are to give the claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. Unclaimed limitations appearing in the specification are not read into the claim. Prior art was referenced using terminology familiar to one of ordinary skill in the art. Such an approach is broad in concept and can be either explicit or implicit in meaning. Examiner’s notes are provided with the cite references to assist the applicant to better understand how the examiner interprets the applied prior art. Such comments are entirely consistent with the intent and spirit of compact prosecution.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFRED H. WECHSELBERGER/ExaminerArt Unit 2187
/EMERSON C PUENTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187