DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in line 4 of claim 1 it is thought the following change should be made: “comprising”;
in line 36 of claim 1 it is thought the following change should be made: “the at least [[one]] two air-lubricant heat exchangers”;
in lines 42-43 of claim 1 it is thought the following change should be made: “the at least [[one]] two air-lubricant heat exchangers”;
in line 5 of claim 17 it is thought the following change should be made: “comprising”
in line 20 of claim 17 it is thought the following change should be made: “the at least [[one]] two air-lubricant heat exchangers”;
in line 23 of claim 17 it is thought the following change should be made: “the at least [[one]] two air-lubricant heat exchangers”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The specification (including the abstract and claims), and any amendments for applications, except as provided for in 37 CFR 1.821 through 1.825, must have text written plainly and legibly either by a typewriter or machine printer in a nonscript type font (e.g., Arial, Times Roman, or Courier, preferably a font size of 12) lettering style having capital letters which should be at least 0.3175 cm. (0.125 inch) high, but may be no smaller than 0.21 cm. (0.08 inch) high (e.g., a font size of 6) in portrait orientation and presented in a form having sufficient clarity and contrast between the paper and the writing thereon to permit the direct reproduction of readily legible copies in any number by use of photographic, electrostatic, photo-offset, and microfilming processes and electronic capture by use of digital imaging and optical character recognition; and only a single column of text. See 37 CFR 1.52(a) and (b).
The application papers are objected to for example because the equations at lines 30 and 34 of claim 1 and at lines 31 and 35 of claim 17 are not fully legible and do not appear to be reproducible. An example of the text that does not appear to be fully legible is shown here:
. This is an example of 6 pt font (Arial) and thus the text size of the instant equation appears to be sufficient.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
modulation device adapted to adjust a lubricant flow distribution between the gearbox and the turbomachinery bearing in claim 14.
in this case, pumps, or metering orifices as discussed on applicant p. 51, top and middle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pub. No.: US 2021/0190008 A1 (Gaskell) in view of Pub. No. US 2007/0289306 A1 (Suria), Pub. No.: US 2015/0361811 A1 (Schwarz), NPL Aeroengine Safety (ITTMD), Pub. No.: US 2022/0403779 A1 (Walz) and Pub. No.: US 2021/0172375 A1 (Bosak).
Regarding claim 1, Gaskell discloses (see fig. 1) a gas turbine engine 10 for an aircraft (see abstract) comprising:
- an engine core 11 comprising a compressor 14, a combustor 16, a turbine 19, and a core shaft 26 connecting the turbine to the compressor;
- a fan 23 comprising a plurality of fan blades (at 23) and arranged upstream (see fig. 1) of the engine core;
- turbomachinery bearings (see annotated figure below);
- a power gearbox 30 adapted to drive the fan 23 at a lower rotation speed (see par. 10) than the turbine; and
- a heat management system configured to provide lubrication and cooling to the gearbox and turbomachinery bearings (see pars. 360 and 367 stating that oil is used for lubricating bearings and thus a lubrication system is provided; one of ordinary skill understands that heat will be transferred to the oil when the oil is at a lower temperature than the bearing for example, and thus the limitation regarding cooling the bearings is met), 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118; par. 118 discusses the operating range of the core shaft from 1500 rpm to 6200 rpm, the upper bound 6200 rpm being that speed reached at maximum take-off ; therefore the speed of 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed would be reached at least during the increase from the lower bound of 1500 rpm to the maximum speed at take-off) and 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118; par. 118 discusses the operating range of the core shaft from 1500 rpm to 6200 rpm, the upper bound 6200 rpm being that speed reached at maximum take-off; therefore the speed of 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed would be reached at least during the increase from the lower bound of 1500 rpm to the maximum speed at take-off).
Gaskell does not disclose wherein the combustor is a lean burn combustor comprising a plurality of lean burn fuel spray nozzles each comprising a pilot fuel injector and a main fuel injector; and comprising a pipe assembly configured to provide a lubricant flow to the gearbox and turbomachinery bearings, at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers configured to together dissipate a first amount of heat to a first heat sink, and at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger configured to dissipate a second amount of heat to a second heat sink;
[AltContent: textbox (bearings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (bearings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (bearings)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
wherein the pipe assembly comprises a first lubricant circuit adapted to provide a first lubricant flow and a second lubricant circuit adapted to provide a second lubricant flow;
a first one of the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers is arranged in the first lubricant circuit;
a second one of the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are arranged in the second lubricant circuit;
the first lubricant circuit provides lubrication and cooling to the turbomachinery bearings; the second lubricant circuit provides lubrication and cooling to the gearbox;
the second lubricant circuit is separate from the first lubricant circuit;
the first lubricant circuit and the second lubricant circuit are connected to a lubricant tank;
the first heat sink is air and the second heat sink is fuel;
a first proportion of heat generated by the gearbox and the turbomachinery is
85%MTO at 85% of a core shaft maximum take-off speed; a second proportion of heat generated by the gearbox and the turbomachinery is
65%MTO at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed;
the at least one air-lubricant heat exchanger and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are configured to operate at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C at 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed and to operate at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C at 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed such that a first ratio of the first proportion at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the first proportion at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 1.5 to 4.5; and
the at least one air-lubricant heat exchanger and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are configured to operate at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed and to operate at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed such that a second ratio of the second proportion at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the second proportion at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 1.1 to 2.1.
Suria teaches a gas turbine 10 (see fig. 1) and further teaches (see fig. 2) a combustor 30 is a lean burn combustor (see par. 1) comprising a plurality (see par. 5) of lean burn (see par. 7, top; lean burn fuel nozzles are those with pilot and main injectors; see pertinent prior art section infra) fuel spray (see par. 26) nozzles 32 each comprising a pilot fuel injector 36 and a main fuel injector 40.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gaskell with the combustor is a lean burn combustor comprising a plurality of lean burn fuel spray nozzles each comprising a pilot fuel injector and a main fuel injector as taught by Suria in order to facilitate reducing harmful NOx emissions (see abstract). This results in substituting the combustor type of Suria (including the lean burn fuel spray nozzles thereof) for the combustor type of Gaskell.
Schwarz teaches (see figs. 1 and 9) a gas turbine 20 and comprising a pipe assembly 95,109 configured to provide a lubricant flow (via pumps 182,184) to a gearbox 32 and turbomachinery bearings 64, at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers 106,92 configured to together dissipate a first amount of heat to a first heat sink (air from valves 80,82; see e.g. par. 47); wherein the pipe assembly comprises a first lubricant circuit 78’’’ adapted to provide a first lubricant flow (in pipe 109) and a second lubricant circuit 76’’’ adapted to provide a second lubricant flow (in pipe 95); a first one of 106 the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers 106,92 is arranged in the first lubricant circuit 78’’’; a second one 92 of the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers 106,92 is arranged in the second lubrication circuit 76’’’; the first lubricant circuit 78’’’ provides lubrication (via pipe 109 and lubrication pump 184) and cooling (see par. 5, bottom) to the turbomachinery bearings 64; the second lubricant circuit 76’’’ provides lubrication (via pipe 95 and lubrication pump 182) and cooling to the gearbox 32; the second lubricant circuit 76’’’ is separate (see fig. 9) from the first lubricant circuit 78’’’; the first lubricant circuit 78’’’ and the second lubricant circuit 76’’’ are connected to a lubricant tank 72; the first heat sink is air (air from valves 82 and 80; see e.g., par. 47);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gaskell in view of Suria with a pipe assembly configured to provide a lubricant flow to the gearbox and turbomachinery bearings, at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers configured to together dissipate a first amount of heat to a first heat sink; wherein the pipe assembly comprises a first lubricant circuit adapted to provide a first lubricant flow and a second lubricant circuit adapted to provide a second lubricant flow; a first one of the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers is arranged in the first lubricant circuit; a second one of the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers is arranged in the second lubricant circuit; the first lubricant circuit provides lubrication and cooling to the turbomachinery bearings; the second lubricant circuit provides lubrication and cooling to the gearbox; the second lubricant circuit is separate from the first lubricant circuit; the first lubricant circuit and the second lubricant circuit are connected to a lubricant tank; the first heat sink is air as taught by Schwarz in order to facilitate improved lubrication and cooling (see Schwarz pars. 5-6).
Schwarz embodiment of fig. 10 teaches a heat management system 180 with a second loop 76IV (connected to turbomachinery gearbox 32 and in addition to a first loop 78IV) and further teaches at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146 configured to dissipate a second amount of heat to a second heat sink (the heat exchanger removes heat from lubricant that is heated by the engine, see par. 49, bottom; such heat is removed from the lubricant by heat sink fuel by way of the passages of the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146, see pars. 54 and 57), the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146 arranged in a second lubricant circuit 76IV, and the second heat sink is fuel (the heat exchanger remove heat from lubricant that is heated by the engine, see par. 49, bottom; such heat is removed from the lubricant by heat sink fuel by way of the passages of the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146, see pars. 54 and 57).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gaskell in view of Suria and Schwarz with at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger configured to dissipate a second amount of heat to a second heat sink; the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger arranged in the second lubrication circuit; and the second heat sink is fuel as further taught by Schwarz in order to facilitate further improved lubrication and cooling (see Schwarz pars. 5-6). Including the instant fuel-lubricant heat exchanger permits the heat management system of the combination to keep the energy dissipated by the fuel in the gas turbine system and thus represents an improvement in efficiency compared to waste heat dissipated to air in the bypass duct and then to the environment.
The combination of Gaskell in view of Suria and Schwarz teach a first proportion of heat (heat generated by the gearbox 32 component 94 and the bearings 64 component 108 are dissipated by way of the instant heat exchangers for example; see pars. 50 and 52 of Schwarz and fig. 9) generated by the gearbox (gearbox 32 in Schwarz fig. 9) and the turbomachinery (bearings 64 in Schwarz fig. 9) is
85%MTO at 85% of a core shaft maximum take-off speed (see Gaskell par. 118 as discussed above); a second proportion of heat generated by the gearbox and the turbomachinery is
65%MTO at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see Gaskell par. 118 as discussed above).
ITTMD teaches a gas turbine (see figure in the middle of page 4) and further teaches operating at an environment temperature range of around (see additional discussion below) ISA -69°C (i.e., -50°C) to ISA + 40°C (+55°C) (see figure “Thrust" on page 9; wherein surrounding temperature refers to “atmospheric temperature” in the figure explanation on the same page; see also page 2, top, page 12, top and middle, and the plots on pages 5 and 9). It is further noted that "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (MPEP 2144.05 I). Thus, ITTMD teaches an operating range consistent with a range of the endpoint temperatures of -54°C and +55°C (i.e., ISA -69°C to ISA + 40°C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide Gaskell in view of Suria and Schwarz with operating at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (i.e., -54°C) to ISA + 40°C (i.e. +55°C) as taught by ITTMD in order to facilitate air transportation in across climates and to ensure the engine can withstand a range of operating conditions.
The combination of Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz and ITTMD teach the at least one air-lubricant heat exchanger 106,92 (see Schwarz fig. 9 as discussed above; this is interpreted as the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers as discussed in the Claim Objection section above) and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146 (see Schwarz fig. 10 as discussed above) are configured to operate at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (taught by ITTMD above) at 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118 of Gaskell as discussed above) and to operate at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (taught by ITTMD above) at 85% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118 of Gaskell as discussed above) such that a first ratio of the first proportion at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the first proportion at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C (the instant ratio of first proportions exists because the first proportions represent the heat dissipated by the instant heat exchangers as discussed above; for example heat generated by the gearbox 32 component 94 and the bearings 64 component 108 are dissipated by way of the instant heat exchangers, see pars. 50 and 52 of Schwarz and fig. 9); and
The combination of Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz and ITTMD teach the at least one air-lubricant heat exchanger 106,92 (see Schwarz fig. 9 as discussed above; this is interpreted as the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers as discussed in the Claim Objection section above) and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 146 (see Schwarz fig. 10 as discussed above) are configured to operate at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (taught by ITTMD above) at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118 of Gaskell as discussed above) and to operate at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C (taught by ITTMD above) at 65% of the core shaft maximum take-off speed (see par. 118 of Gaskell as discussed above) such that a second ratio of the second proportion at the environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the second proportion at the environment temperature of ISA -69°C (the instant ratio of second proportions exists because the second proportions represent the heat dissipated by the instant heat exchangers as discussed above; for example heat generated by the gearbox 32 component 94 and the bearings 64 component 108 are dissipated by way of the instant heat exchangers, see pars. 50 and 52 of Schwarz and fig. 9).
Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz and ITTMD do not explicitly teach the first ratio is from 1.5 to 4.5 and the second ratio is from 1.1 to 2.1.
Here, Walz and Bosak teach that the first proportion and the second proportion is result effective across engine operation rpm ranges (such at 65% MTO and 85% MTO). The first proportion can be thought of as the comparison of heat transferred from the oil to the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger compared to that transferred by the oil to the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers (see plain English description of the equation of the first proportion in the Pertinent Prior Art section infra). As an overall idea, it is preferred to use the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger to dissipate heat from the oil. This preserves energy from the engine system by using waste heat from the oil (see Bosak par. 6) and makes the engine more efficient (see Walz pars. 30 and 35) including improving fuel consumption (see Bosak par. 6). However, Bosak further points out (see par. 41) that too much heating of fuel with a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger results in coking and can damage the fuel equipment. Therefore, (see Walz fig. 2) oil flow through an air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 and a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 42 can include a bypass circuit 35 that bypasses the air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 using variable bypass valve 36 (also see par. 47 pointing out that the bypass valve can be variable) to vary the respective oil flows through the respective heat exchangers (one of ordinary skill understands that the amount of oil flow corresponds to the amount of heat). However, if too much oil is directed to the at air-lubricant heat exchangers of the combination, there will not be enough heat remaining in the oil to properly heat the fuel with the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger when the gas turbine is operating in a cold operating condition as pointed out by Walz in pars. 2, 37 and 38. Finally, Walz points out that proper balance of heat dissipated to air and fuel, across engine operating conditions, is necessary to avoid overdesigned or heavy equipment (see pars. 2 and 39). Bosak adds that in some scenarios it is more efficient for the engine to dissipate more heat to air rather than to fuel because this can keep the oil from degrading at high temperatures that happens when more emphasis it put on keeping energy in the engine system using the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger (see Bosak pars. 5, 12 and 38, bottom, and 48). Bosak accomplishes this by adjusting the speed of lubricant pumps 14,16 to respective heat exchangers 22,24 as shown in in figs. 1 and 9. Thus, ratios of the first amount of heat to the second amount of heat control, or have an effect on, the efficiency of operation of a gas turbine, the durability of the fuel equipment, the quality of the lubricant and the capability of a heat management system to provide enough air and fuel to effectively cool the engine oil across engine operating conditions. A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective (MPEP 2144.05 III. C.).
Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize that a ratio of first proportions, or a ratio of the second proportions, at respective environmental temperatures is result effective. The prior art also teaches that the such proportions is important across gas turbine engine operating ranges regarding 85% MTO 65% MTO with respect to the first and second proportions. See Bosak Figure 4 explaining when it can be more efficient, regarding operational scenarios such as idle and takeoff power of the engine, to emphasize average oil temperature and thus there is minimal impact on thrust specific fuel consumption.
Thus, a ratio of the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (i.e., 55°C) to the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (i.e., -54°C) is in the range of from 1.5 to 4.5, and a ratio of the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (i.e., 55°C) to the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (i.e., -54°C) is in the range of from 1.1 to 2.1, are each found to be an obvious optimization of the prior art obtainable by an ordinary skilled worker through routine experimentation. Because the first proportion and the second proportion are each a result effective variable as discussed int the analyses above, it follows that the ratio of for example the first proportion at one operating temperature to the first proportion at another operating temperature is also a result effective variable. This is because at least for the reasons that the instant operating temperatures are standard operating temperatures for aircraft gas turbine engines as pointed out by ITTMD and also because Bosak communicates that the environmental temperature (see fig. 4) affects the oil flow rate provided by pumps 14,16 to the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 22 and the air-lubricant heat exchanger 24, such flow rates corresponding with the heat provided to the fuel heat sink and air heat sink of the respective heat exchangers (see Bosak pars. 4 and 52).
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e., the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are configured to provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat, were taught in the prior art by Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak’s inventions to include wherein the first ratio is from 1.5 to 4.5 and the second ratio is from 1.1 to 2.1 in order to provide an efficient and cost effective heat management system that adapts to engine operating conditions as suggested and taught by Walz and Bosak. It has been held “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The instant combination is also likely to be able to reach the claimed range for the reasons below:
Applicant is not using a specific precise control algorithm with a computer controller to operate applicant heat management system. For example, it is further noted that applicant air-lubricant heat exchanger (Matrix Air-Cooled Oil Cooler (MACOC)) was conventional see pertinent prior art section on page 36-37 of the office action mailed 06/03/2025); and applicant fuel-lubricant heat exchanger (shell and tube heat exchanger a plate-fin heat exchanger) was conventional as well (see pertinent prior art section on page 36-37 of the office action mailed 06/03/2025). Also applicant is not using a special fuel or lubricant that would change heat transfer properties.
The core speed running shaft speeds of 65%MTO and 85%MTO are common operating scenarios of flight idle and cruise;
the flow of oil in the first circuit 78’’’ and the second circuit 76’’’ (see Schwarz fig. 9) can be varied:
pumps 182 and 184 in fig. 9 of Schwarz; the pumps can be electrical pumps (see par. 33) and thus can have different speeds and thus pump different amounts of oil into the two circuits 78’’’ and 76’’’ (see fig. 9); this is discussed regarding Bosak above.
bypass valve 136 of Walz that has intermediate positions between open and closed; see par. 47; the valve can vary the amount of oil entering the at air-lubricant heat exchanger 92 (see Schwarz fig. 9) in the second circuit 76’’’ when optimizing the first proportion or the second proportion; regarding Walz fig. 2, one of ordinary skill understands that the amount of heat transferred to the fuel F3 depends on the amount of oil flowing through the heat exchanger 42 and similarly the amount of heat transferred to the air F2 depends on the amount of oil directed to heat exchanger 41; thus controlling the ratio of oil flow with valve 36/136 controls the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. ITTMD taught in the claim 1 analysis above an environmental temperature of ISA +40°C and an environmental temperature of ISA -69°C. It has not been discussed thus far (claim 2) the ratio of the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 2.0 to 4.0; (claim 3) the ratio of the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C to the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 1.2 to 2.1.
Here, Walz and Bosak teach that the first proportion and the second proportion is result effective across engine operation rpm ranges (such at 65% MTO and 85% MTO). The first proportion can be thought of as the comparison of heat transferred from the oil to the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger compared to that transferred by the oil to the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers. As an overall idea, it is preferred to use the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger to dissipate heat from the oil. This preserves energy from the engine system by using waste heat from the oil (see Bosak par. 6) and makes the engine more efficient (see Walz pars. 30 and 35) including improving fuel consumption (see Bosak par. 6). However, Bosak further points out (see par. 41) that too much heating of fuel with a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger results in coking and can damage the fuel equipment. Therefore, (see Walz fig. 2) oil flow through an air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 and a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 42 can include a bypass circuit 35 that bypasses the air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 using variable bypass valve 36 (also see par. 47 pointing out that the bypass valve can be variable) to vary the respective oil flows through the respective heat exchangers (one of ordinary skill understands that the amount of oil flow corresponds to the amount of heat). However, if too much oil is directed to the at air-lubricant heat exchangers of the combination, there will not be enough heat remaining in the oil to properly heat the fuel with the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger when the gas turbine is operating in a cold operating condition as pointed out by Walz in pars. 2, 37 and 38. Finally, Walz points out that proper balance of heat dissipated to air and fuel, across engine operating conditions, is necessary to avoid overdesigned or heavy equipment (see pars. 2 and 39). Bosak adds that in some scenarios it is more efficient for the engine to dissipate more heat to air rather than to fuel because this can keep the oil from degrading at high temperatures that happens when more emphasis it put on keeping energy in the engine system using the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger (see Bosak pars. 5, 12 and 38, bottom, and 48). Bosak accomplishes this by adjusting the speed of lubricant pumps 14,16 to respective heat exchangers 22,24 as shown in in figs. 1 and 9. Thus, ratios of the first amount of heat to the second amount of heat control, or have an effect on, the efficiency of operation of a gas turbine, the durability of the fuel equipment, the quality of the lubricant and the capability of a heat management system to provide enough air and fuel to effectively cool the engine oil across engine operating conditions. A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective (MPEP 2144.05 III. C.).
Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize that a ratio of first proportions, or a ratio of the second proportions, at respective environmental temperatures is result effective. The prior art also teaches that the such proportions is important across gas turbine engine operating ranges regarding 85% MTO 65% MTO with respect to the first and second proportions. See Bosak Figure 4 explaining when it can be more efficient, regarding operational scenarios such as idle and takeoff power of the engine, to emphasize average oil temperature and thus there is minimal impact on thrust specific fuel consumption.
Thus, a (claim 2) ratio of the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (i.e., 55°C) to the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (i.e., -54°C) is in the range of from 2.0 to 4.0, and a (claim 3) ratio of the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C (i.e., 55°C) to the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C (i.e., -54°C) is in the range of from 1.2 to 2.1, are each found to be an obvious optimization of the prior art obtainable by an ordinary skilled worker through routine experimentation. Because the first proportion and the second proportion are each a result effective variable as discussed int the analyses above, it follows that the ratio of for example the first proportion at one operating temperature to the first proportion at another operating temperature is also a result effective variable. This is because at least for the reasons that the instant operating temperatures are standard operating temperatures for aircraft gas turbine engines as pointed out by ITTMD and also because Bosak communicates that the environmental temperature (see fig. 4) affects the oil flow rate provided by pumps 14,16 to the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 22 and the air-lubricant heat exchanger 24, such flow rates corresponding with the heat provided to the fuel heat sink and air heat sink of the respective heat exchangers (see Bosak pars. 4 and 52).
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e., the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are configured to provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat, were taught in the prior art by Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak’s inventions to include wherein (claim 2) the ratio of first proportions is from 2.0 to 4.0 and (claim 3) the ratio of second proportions is from 1.1 to 2.1 in order to provide an efficient and cost effective heat management system that adapts to engine operating conditions as suggested and taught by Walz and Bosak. It has been held “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The instant combination is likely to be able to reach the claimed range for the reasons discussed above regarding the claim 1 analysis.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. ITTMD taught in the claim 1 analysis above an environmental temperature of ISA +40°. It has not been discussed thus far (claim 4) provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C is from 0.55 to 0.70; (claim 6) provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA +40°C is from 0.85 to 1.
Here, Walz and Bosak teach that the first proportion and the second proportion is result effective across engine operation rpm ranges (such at 65% MTO and 85% MTO). The first proportion can be thought of as the comparison of heat transferred from the oil to the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger compared to that transferred by the oil to the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers. As an overall idea, it is preferred to use the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger to dissipate heat from the oil. This preserves energy from the engine system by using waste heat from the oil (see Bosak par. 6) and makes the engine more efficient (see Walz pars. 30 and 35) including improving fuel consumption (see Bosak par. 6). However, Bosak further points out (see par. 41) that too much heating of fuel with a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger results in coking and can damage the fuel equipment. Therefore, (see Walz fig. 2) oil flow through an air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 and a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 42 can include a bypass circuit 35 that bypasses the air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 using variable bypass valve 36 (also see par. 47 pointing out that the bypass valve can be variable) to vary the respective oil flows through the respective heat exchangers (one of ordinary skill understands that the amount of oil flow corresponds to the amount of heat). However, if too much oil is directed to the at air-lubricant heat exchangers of the combination, there will not be enough heat remaining in the oil to properly heat the fuel with the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger when the gas turbine is operating in a cold operating condition as pointed out by Walz in pars. 2, 37 and 38. Finally, Walz points out that proper balance of heat dissipated to air and fuel, across engine operating conditions, is necessary to avoid overdesigned or heavy equipment (see pars. 2 and 39). Bosak adds that in some scenarios it is more efficient for the engine to dissipate more heat to air rather than to fuel because this can keep the oil from degrading at high temperatures that happens when more emphasis it put on keeping energy in the engine system using the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger (see Bosak pars. 5, 12 and 38, bottom, and 48). Bosak accomplishes this by adjusting the speed of lubricant pumps 14,16 to respective heat exchangers 22,24 as shown in in figs. 1 and 9. Thus, ratios of the first amount of heat to the second amount of heat control, or have an effect on, the efficiency of operation of a gas turbine, the durability of the fuel equipment, the quality of the lubricant and the capability of a heat management system to provide enough air and fuel to effectively cool the engine oil across engine operating conditions. A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective (MPEP 2144.05 III. C.).
Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize the first proportion at a respective environmental temperature and the second proportion at a respective environmental temperature are each result effective. The prior art also teaches that the such proportions are important across gas turbine engine operating ranges regarding 85% MTO 65% MTO with respect to the first and second proportions. See Bosak Figure 4 explaining when it can be more efficient, regarding operational scenarios such as idle and takeoff power of the engine, to emphasize average oil temperature and thus there is minimal impact on thrust specific fuel consumption.
Thus, a (claim 4) providing the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA + 40°C is from 0.55 to 0.70, and a (claim 6) providing the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA +40°C is from 0.85 to 1, are each found to be an obvious optimization of the prior art obtainable by an ordinary skilled worker through routine experimentation.
Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e., the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers and the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger are configured to provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat, were taught in the prior art by Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak’s inventions to include wherein (claim 4) the first proportion is from 0.55 to 0.70 and (claim 6) the second proportion is from 0.85 to 1 in order to provide an efficient and cost effective heat management system that adapts to engine operating conditions as suggested and taught by Walz and Bosak. It has been held “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”, In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
The instant combination is likely to be able to reach the claimed range for the reasons discussed above.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Gaskell in view of Suria, Schwarz, ITTMD, Walz, and Bosak teach the current invention as claimed and discussed above. ITTMD taught in the claim 1 analysis above an environmental temperature of ISA -69°. It has not been discussed thus far (claim 5) provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 0.20 to 0.40; (claim 7) provide the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the second proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 0.50 to 0.70.
Here, Walz and Bosak teach that the first proportion and the second proportion is result effective across engine operation rpm ranges (such at 65% MTO and 85% MTO). The first proportion can be thought of as the comparison of heat transferred from the oil to the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger compared to that transferred by the oil to the at least two air-lubricant heat exchangers. As an overall idea, it is preferred to use the at least one fuel-lubricant heat exchanger to dissipate heat from the oil. This preserves energy from the engine system by using waste heat from the oil (see Bosak par. 6) and makes the engine more efficient (see Walz pars. 30 and 35) including improving fuel consumption (see Bosak par. 6). However, Bosak further points out (see par. 41) that too much heating of fuel with a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger results in coking and can damage the fuel equipment. Therefore, (see Walz fig. 2) oil flow through an air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 and a fuel-lubricant heat exchanger 42 can include a bypass circuit 35 that bypasses the air-lubricant heat exchanger 41 using variable bypass valve 36 (also see par. 47 pointing out that the bypass valve can be variable) to vary the respective oil flows through the respective heat exchangers (one of ordinary skill understands that the amount of oil flow corresponds to the amount of heat). However, if too much oil is directed to the at air-lubricant heat exchangers of the combination, there will not be enough heat remaining in the oil to properly heat the fuel with the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger when the gas turbine is operating in a cold operating condition as pointed out by Walz in pars. 2, 37 and 38. Finally, Walz points out that proper balance of heat dissipated to air and fuel, across engine operating conditions, is necessary to avoid overdesigned or heavy equipment (see pars. 2 and 39). Bosak adds that in some scenarios it is more efficient for the engine to dissipate more heat to air rather than to fuel because this can keep the oil from degrading at high temperatures that happens when more emphasis it put on keeping energy in the engine system using the fuel-lubricant heat exchanger (see Bosak pars. 5, 12 and 38, bottom, and 48). Bosak accomplishes this by adjusting the speed of lubricant pumps 14,16 to respective heat exchangers 22,24 as shown in in figs. 1 and 9. Thus, ratios of the first amount of heat to the second amount of heat control, or have an effect on, the efficiency of operation of a gas turbine, the durability of the fuel equipment, the quality of the lubricant and the capability of a heat management system to provide enough air and fuel to effectively cool the engine oil across engine operating conditions. A recognition in the prior art that a property is affected by the variable is sufficient to find the variable result-effective (MPEP 2144.05 III. C.).
Therefore, an ordinary skilled worker would recognize the first proportion at a respective environmental temperature and the second proportion at a respective environmental temperature are each result effective. The prior art also teaches that the such proportions are important across gas turbine engine operating ranges regarding 85% MTO 65% MTO with respect to the first and second proportions. See Bosak Figure 4 explaining when it can be more efficient, regarding operational scenarios such as idle and takeoff power of the engine, to emphasize average oil temperature and thus there is minimal impact on thrust specific fuel consumption.
Thus, a (claim 5) providing the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the first proportion at an environment temperature of ISA -69°C is from 0.20 to 0.40, and a (claim 7) providing the first amount of heat and the second amount of heat such that the second proportion at an envir