DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, 10, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ookuma et al (U.S. 2021/0134828), Boyle et al (U.S. 3,858,232), and Fukuzumi et al (U.S. 2013/0075918).
Regarding claim 1. Ookuma et al discloses a three-dimensional integrated charge-coupled device (CCD) memory (FIG. 1 and 3, [0037]) comprising:
a gate stack (FIG. 3, item 44) comprising
a plurality of gate layers (FIG. 3, item 62) and spacer layers (FIG. 3, item 46) alternatingly arranged one on the other ([0050]) along a first direction (FIG. 3, item V),
a plurality of semiconductor-based channels (FIG. 1, item 54) extending in the gate stack (FIG. 3, item 44), and a plurality of dielectric layers (FIG. 1, item 50), each dielectric layer (FIG. 1, item 50) being arranged between ([0066]) one of the semiconductor-based channels (FIG. 1, item 54) and at least one of the gate layers (FIG. 3, item 62); and
a readout layer (FIG. 3, item 90), wherein the gate stack (FIG. 3, item 44) is arranged ([0059]) on the readout layer (FIG. 3, item 90),
wherein each ([0066]) semiconductor-based channel (FIG. 1, item 54) forms ([0066]), in combination ([0066]) with the gate layers (FIG. 1, item 62) and at least one ([0066]) of the dielectric layers (FIG. 1, item 50), a string of charge storage capacitors ([0037]-[0038]; , the memory film layer 50 can be a stack, in the order of formation, of a blocking dielectric, a charge storage region (e.g., a charge storage layer)) arranged along the first direction (FIG. 3, item V)
wherein each string of charge storage capacitors (FIG. 3, item 42; [0037]-[0038], i.e. The channel and memory structure (e.g., pillar structure) 42 can be formed within each memory opening through the alternating stack 46, 48) is a CCD register ([0037]-[0038]),
wherein the readout layer (FIG. 3, item 90) comprises a plurality of readout stages (FIG. 3, item 58)
readout stage (FIG. 3, item 58) , a first and second respective CCD register (Annotated FIG. 3; [0037]-[0038]), a first and second respective string of charge storage capacitors (Annotated FIG. 3; [0037]-[0038])
Ookuma et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein each string of charge storage capacitors is operable as a CCD register, and
wherein the readout layer comprises a plurality of readout stages configured to individually readout stored charge from each of the CCD registers,
a first and second readout stage.
wherein readout stage of respective CCD register is disposed under respective string of charge storage capacitors arranged along the first direction.
However, Boyle et al teaches wherein each string of charge storage capacitors (Col 1, lines 46-55) is operable as a CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13; i.e. shift register), and
wherein the readout layer comprises a plurality of readout stages (FIG. 10, item 85) configured to individually readout stored charge (Col 12, lines 43-59) from each of the CCD registers (FIG. 2),
a first (FIG. 10, item channel 1, item 85) and second (FIG. 10, item channel 2, item 85) readout stage.
a first (FIG. 10, item channel 1) and second (FIG. 10, item channel 2) respective CCD register (FIG. 2),
Since Ookuma et al, and Boyle et al teach memory devices, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the three-dimensional integrated charge-coupled device (CCD) memory as disclosed to modify Ookuma et al and Boyle et al with the teachings of wherein each string of charge storage capacitors is operable as a CCD register as disclosed by Boyle et al. The use of shift registers in Boyle et al provides for a storage medium with sufficient carrier mobility for charge carrier transfer especially important for high speed operation (Boyle et al, [Col 2, lines 15-17]).
Ookuma et al and Boyle et al fails to explicitly disclose wherein the readout stage of the respective CCD register is disposed under the respective string of charge storage capacitors arranged along the first direction.
However, Fukuzumi et al teaches
wherein the readout stage (FIG. 8, items 202; [0074]) of the respective CCD register (FIG. 8, item 111) is disposed under ([0072]-[0075]) the respective string of charge storage capacitors ([0080]) arranged along the first direction (FIG. 8, item Z).
Since Ookuma et al, Boyle et al and Fukuzumi et al teach memory devices, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the three-dimensional integrated charge-coupled device (CCD) memory as disclosed to modify Ookuma et al and Boyle et al with the teachings of wherein the readout layer comprises a plurality of readout stages configured to individually readout stored charge from each of the CCD registers wherein the readout stage of the respective CCD register is disposed under the respective string of charge storage capacitors arranged along the first direction as disclosed by Fukuzumi et al. The use data is read, the electrons in the channel layer are transferred downward by the shift operation described in the first embodiment, and the electrons are transferred to the diffusion layer and read as data (Fukuzumi et al, [0074]).
Regarding claim 4. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel is made of a silicon-based semiconductor material ([0042]-[0043]) or III-V semiconductor material.
Regarding claim 5. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Boyle et al further discloses wherein each CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13; i.e. shift register) is connected to one of the readout stages (FIG. 2, items 28-32; Col 5 lines 11-39), which is configured to readout stored charge (Col 7, lines 33-37) from the connected CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4).
Regarding claim 6. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Boyle et al further discloses wherein each CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13) is connected to a write stage (FIG. 2; item 25) configured to push charge (Col 6, lines 53-61) into the CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13).
Regarding claim 7. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 6 above.
Boyle et al further discloses wherein the readout stage (FIG. 2, items 28-32; Col 5 lines 11-39) and the write stage (FIG. 2; item 25) of the CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13) are connected to different ends (Col 16, lines 1-23) of the semiconductor-based channel (FIG.2, item 20) that is associated with the CCD register (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13).
Regarding claim 9. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein at least a part of each semiconductor-based channel (FIG. 1, item 54) extends along the first direction (FIG. 1, item V) and/or extends perpendicular to parallel surfaces of the gate layers (FIG. 1, item 62).
Regarding claim 10. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel (FIG. 3, item 54) is straight in the stack (FIG. 3, item 62).
Regarding claim 14. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein each gate layer (FIG. 1, item 62) surrounds ([0066]) one or more of the semiconductor-based channels (FIG. 1, item 54).
Regarding claim 15. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein the gate stack further comprises an input transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 36) and an output transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 38), which sandwich the gate layers (FIG. 1, item 62) and the spacer layers (FIG. 1, item 46) of the gate stack (FIG. 1, item 36) in the first direction (FIG. 1, item V);
wherein the input transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 36) and the output transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 38) respectively comprise a plurality of transfer-gates ([0024])
wherein the output transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 38) of the gate stack (FIG. 1, item 44) is formed ([0045]) on the readout layer (FIG. 1, item 90); and
wherein the transfer-gates ([0024]) of the output transfer-gate layer (FIG. 1, item 38) are connected to the readout stages (FIG. 3, item 58) of the readout layer (FIG. 3, item 90).
Boyle et al discloses wherein the input transfer-gate layer (Col 6, line 62 through Col 7, line 12) and the output transfer-gate layer (Col 8, lines 5-42) respectively comprise a plurality of transfer-gates (Col 6, line 62 through Col 7, line 12; Col 8, lines 5-42) configured to access the CCD registers (FIG. 2; Col 3, lines 59 to Col 4 lines 13; i.e. shift register);
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ookuma et al (U.S. 2021/0134828), Boyle et al (U.S. 3,858,232), and Fukuzumi et al (U.S. 2013/0075918) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sharma et al (U.S. 2019/0198675)
Regarding claim 2. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 1 above.
Ookuma et al further discloses wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel is made of a semiconductor material ([0042]-[0043]).
Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al fail to explicitly disclose wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel is made of a semiconductor oxide material
However, Sharma et al teaches wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel is made of a semiconductor oxide material ([0040]).
Since Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, Fukuzumi et al, and Sharma et al teach transistors, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the three-dimensional integrated charge-coupled device (CCD) memory as disclosed to modify Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, and Fukuzumi et al with the teachings of wherein at least one semiconductor-based channel is made of a semiconductor oxide material as disclosed by Sharma et al. The use of thin channel transistor materials such as IGZO, ITO, IZO in Sharma et al provides for improved lateral area to performance ratio as compared to an integrated circuit based on a planar gate thin film transistor (Sharma et al, [0036]).
Regarding claim 3. Ookuma et al, Boyle et al, Fukuzumi et al, and Sharma et al discloses all the limitations of the CCD memory according to claim 2 above.
Sharma et al further discloses wherein the semiconductor oxide material ([0040]) comprises at least one of: indium gallium zinc oxide (IGZO), indium tin oxide (ITO), and indium zinc oxide (IZO) ([0040]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 27, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 5 of applicants remarks, applicant appears to argue that Fukuzumi et al Fig. 10 does not teach applicant’s amended claim 1 limitations. Examiner respectfully points out that Fukuzumi et al Figure 10 was not used in the office action, and that Fukuzumi et al Figure 8 was used in the office action.
Conclusion
/S.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815