DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zou et al (WO 2022/104916 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zou et al teaches: A wireless charging module (100, Fig. 1), comprising: a magnetic alignment apparatus (112) comprising a first permanent magnet (1121, Fig. 3) and a second permanent magnet (1122, Fig. 3), wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are disposed adjacently on a surface (for example, surface of support member 12, Fig. 1, or surface of magnetic isolation layer 115, Figs. 2 & 3) of the magnetic alignment apparatus, wherein magnetization manners for the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are different (see the polarities and magnetization directions shown in Fig. 6), and wherein a magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side of the magnetic alignment apparatus is different (the structure shown in Fig. 6 will result in the magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side being different due to the polarities & direction of magnetization, as well as the presence of magnetic isolation layer 115); and a charging coil (111) coupled to the magnetic alignment apparatus and configured to receive or transmit electricity, wherein the charging coil is disposed on an inner side or an outer side of the magnetic alignment apparatus (Fig. 1 shows coil 111 disposed on an inner side of 112).
Regarding claim 2, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 1, wherein the magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet (1121) comprises axial magnetization (see Fig. 6 and the fifth full paragraph on page 3 of the attached translation) and the magnetization manner for the second permanent magnet (1122) comprises radial magnetization (see Fig. 6 and the fifth full paragraph on page 3 of the attached translation), or wherein the magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet comprises radial magnetization and the magnetization manner for the second permanent magnet comprises axial magnetization. Since Zou et al teaches the first of the alternate limitations recited, Zou et al meets the required limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 1, wherein a first magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet (1121) is perpendicular to the surface (see Fig. 6) and a second magnetic field direction in the second permanent magnet (1122) is parallel to the surface (see Fig. 6), or wherein the first magnetic field direction is parallel to the surface and the second magnetic field direction is perpendicular to the surface. Since Zou et al teaches the first of the alternate limitations recited, Zou et al meets the required limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 1, wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the first permanent magnet is one of a circular shape, a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape, and wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the second permanent magnet is one of a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape (see the shape of 112, which includes 1121 & 1122, shown in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 1, wherein the magnetic alignment apparatus comprises a third permanent magnet (1123, Fig. 3), wherein a magnetization manner for the third permanent magnet is the same as a magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet (1123 & 1121 are both magnetized axially, see Fig. 6 and the fifth full paragraph on page 3 of the attached translation), wherein a magnetic field direction in the third permanent magnet (1123) is opposite (see the polarities shown in Fig. 6) to a magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet (1121), wherein the third permanent magnet (1123) and the second permanent magnet (1122) are disposed adjacently on the surface (see Fig. 6), and wherein the charging coil (111) is disposed on an inner side of the first permanent magnet (1121) or an outer side of the third permanent magnet (1123)(see Figs. 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 6, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 5, wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the third permanent magnet is one of a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape (see the shape of 112, which includes 1123, shown in Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 7, Zou et al teaches: The wireless charging module of claim 5, wherein the first permanent magnet (1121), the second permanent magnet (1122), or the third permanent magnet (1123) comprises one or more permanent magnet modules (see Figs. 1 & 2, where multiple of modules 112 are shown), and wherein magnetization manners for permanent magnet modules of a same permanent magnet are the same (as 112 is duplicated, the magnetization manners for the modules are the same).
Regarding claim 9, Zou et al teaches: An electronic device (10, Fig. 1), comprising: a power module (circuitry, not shown, connected to and charged by assembly 11); and a wireless charging module (assembly 11) coupled to the power module and comprising: a magnetic alignment apparatus (112) comprising a first permanent magnet (1121, Fig. 3) and a second permanent magnet (1122, Fig. 3), wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are disposed adjacently on a surface of the magnetic alignment apparatus (for example, surface of support member 12, Fig. 1, or surface of magnetic isolation layer 115, Figs. 2 & 3), wherein magnetization manners for the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are different (see the polarities and magnetization directions shown in Fig. 6), and wherein magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side of the magnetic alignment apparatus is different (the structure shown in Fig. 6 will result in the magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side being different due to the polarities & direction of magnetization, as well as the presence of magnetic isolation layer 115), wherein magnetic field strength on an upper side of the magnetic alignment apparatus is weaker than magnetic field strength on a lower side of the magnetic alignment apparatus (in the orientation shown in Fig. 1, the magnetic field strength would be weaker on the upper side of device 10, compared to the lower side of device 10, that faces the charger 20), and a charging coil (111) disposed on an inner side or an outer side of the magnetic alignment apparatus (see Figs. 1 & 2), wherein the charging coil is electrically connected to the power module (the coil 111 is necessarily connected to the circuit and components that are charged) and is configured to receive electric energy transmitted by a second charging coil (211) of a charger (20), and wherein the magnetic alignment apparatus is configured to limit a contact location between the electronic device and the charger such that the charging coil of the charger matches the charging coil of the electronic device (the magnetic alignment apparatus 112 in device 10 & 212 in charger 20 limit the contact location between 10 & 20 such that the charging coil 211 matches the charging coil 111 of device 10, see Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 10, 11, 13-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al (CN 112803602 A, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou et al teaches (Figs. 1, 4 & 5): A charger (20), comprising: a power module (for example, circuitry or power supply connected to emitting coil 310, which is not shown but is required to transmit power); and a wireless charging module (300) coupled to the power module and comprising: a magnetic alignment apparatus (320) comprising a first permanent magnet (3212) and a second permanent magnet (3211), wherein the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet are disposed adjacently on a surface of the magnetic alignment apparatus (for example, a surface of charger 20 or a surface of soft magnetic component 322), wherein magnetization manners for the first permanent magnet (3212) and the second permanent magnet (3211) are different (see Fig. 5 and the description of Figs. 4 & 5 on pages 24 & 25 of the copy supplied with the IDS), and wherein magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side of the magnetic alignment apparatus is different (the magnetic field strength on an upper side and a lower side will be different due to the polarities and magnetization manners of 3212, 3211, 3213, as well as the presence of soft magnetic component 322), and wherein magnetic field strength on an upper side of the magnetic alignment apparatus is stronger than magnetic field strength on a lower side of the magnetic alignment apparatus (the magnetic field strength on an upper side of 320, in the orientation shown in Figs. 1 & 4, will be stronger than the magnetic field strength on a lower side, based on the polarities and magnetization manners of 120 & 320 as well as the presence of soft magnetic materials 122 & 322, so that the device 10 and charger 20 are attracted to each other and stray magnetic fields extending away from charger 20 are limited); and a charging coil (310) disposed on an inner side or an outer side of the magnetic alignment apparatus (320), wherein the charging coil is electrically connected to the power module (emitting coil 310 is necessarily connected to circuitry and a power supply in order to transmit power) and configured to transmit electric energy to a second charging coil (110) of an electronic device (10), and wherein the magnetic alignment apparatus is configured to limit a contact location between the charger and the electronic device such that the charging coil of the charger matches the second charging coil of the electronic device (the magnetic alignment apparatus 120 in device 10 & 320 in charger 20 limit the contact location between 10 & 20 such that the charging coil 310 matches the charging coil 110 of device 10, see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 10, wherein the magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet comprises axial magnetization and the magnetization manner for the second permanent magnet comprises radial magnetization, or wherein the magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet (3212) comprises radial magnetization and the magnetization manner for the second permanent magnet (3211) comprises axial magnetization (see Fig. 5 and the description of Figs. 4 & 5 on pages 24 & 25 of the copy supplied with the IDS). Since Zhou et al teaches the second of the alternate limitations recited, Zhou et al meets the required limitations of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 10, wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the first permanent magnet (3212) is one of a circular shape, a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape, and wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the second permanent magnet (3211) is one of a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape (see the shape shown in Figs. 1 & 4, which shows a circular, ring, or arc shape).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 10, wherein the magnetic alignment apparatus (320) comprises a third permanent magnet (3213), wherein a magnetization manner for the third permanent magnet is the same as a magnetization manner for the first permanent magnet (magnets 3212 & 3213) are both magnetized in a radial manner, see Fig. 5), wherein a magnetic field direction in the third permanent magnet is opposite to a magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet (see the arrows showing magnetic field direction in Fig. 5), wherein the third permanent magnet (3213) and the second permanent magnet (3212) are disposed adjacently on the surface (see Fig. 4), and wherein the charging coil (310) is disposed on an inner side of the first permanent magnet (3212) or an outer side of the third permanent magnet (3213)(see the position of 310 relative to 320 in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 14, wherein a top-view cross-sectional shape of the third permanent magnet (3213) is one of a ring shape, an arc shape, or a polygonal shape (see the shape shown in Figs. 1 & 4, which shows a circular, ring, or arc shape).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 14, wherein the first permanent magnet (3212), the second permanent magnet (3211), or the third permanent magnet (3213) comprises one or more permanent magnet modules (see Fig. 4, where multiple modules 321 are shown), and wherein magnetization manners for permanent magnet modules of a same permanent magnet are the same (as 321 is duplicated, the magnetization manners for the modules are the same).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou et al teaches: The charger of claim 10, wherein a first magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet (3212) is parallel to the surface and a second magnetic field direction in the second permanent magnet (3211) is perpendicular to the surface (see the arrows showing magnetic field direction in Fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al (WO 2022/104916 A1) in view of Partovi (US 12,278,045 B2).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, the teachings of Zou et al, as applied to claim 7, have been discussed above. Zou et al also teaches (regarding claim 20) wherein a plurality of permanent magnet modules (112) in one permanent magnet comprise at least two sides (see Figs. 1-3, showing that there are a plurality of modules 112 that comprise at least two sides).
Zou et al does not specifically teach: (regarding claim 8) wherein magnetic field directions in two adjacent permanent magnet modules in one permanent magnet are opposite, and (regarding claim 20) wherein a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a first side of two adjacent sides is opposite to a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a second side of the two adjacent sides.
Partovi teaches a magnetic alignment apparatus where adjacent modules or sections of a permanent magnet have opposite polarities and magnetic field directions
(see Figs. 20(g) & 21, 23; col. 20, lines 24-26, col. 23, lines 22-24, col. 24, lines 57-60).
In view of Partovi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the module of Zou et al, (regarding claim 8) wherein magnetic field directions in two adjacent permanent magnet modules in one permanent magnet are opposite, and (regarding claim 20) wherein a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a first side of two adjacent sides is opposite to a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a second side of the two adjacent sides, so that the magnetic field generated by the magnetic structure does not impair normal operation of magnetically sensitive components (see col. 4, lines 8-29, of Partovi).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 112803602 A, cited on IDS).
Regarding claim 12, the teachings of Zhou et al, as applied to claim 10, have been discussed above.
The embodiment in Fig. 5 of Zhou et al does not specifically teach: wherein a first magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet (3212) is perpendicular to the surface and a second magnetic field direction in the second permanent magnet (3211) is parallel to the surface.
However, Zhou et al states that it can be understood, in other embodiments, the polarity directions of the magnets may be in other forms (see the last paragraph on page 24 of the copy supplied with the IDS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date that the magnetic field directions in the embodiment of Fig. 5, may be reversed, resulting in a first magnetic field direction in the first permanent magnet is perpendicular to the surface and a second magnetic field direction in the second permanent magnet is parallel to the surface, since Zhou et al suggests this modification and, furthermore, this represents selecting from a limited number of known options.
Claim(s) 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (CN 112803602 A, cited on IDS) in view of Partovi (US 12,278,045 B2).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the teachings of Zhou et al, as applied to claim 16, have been discussed above. Zhou et al also teaches (regarding claim 18) wherein a plurality of permanent magnet modules (321) in one permanent magnet comprise at least two sides (see Figs. 1 & 4, showing that there are a plurality of modules 321 that comprise at least two sides).
Zhou et al does not specifically teach: (regarding claim 17) wherein magnetic field directions in two adjacent permanent magnet modules in one permanent magnet are opposite, and (regarding claim 18) wherein a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a first side of two adjacent sides is opposite to a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a second side of the two adjacent sides.
Partovi teaches a magnetic alignment apparatus where adjacent modules or sections of a permanent magnet have opposite polarities and magnetic field directions
(see Figs. 20(g) & 21, 23; col. 20, lines 24-26, col. 23, lines 22-24, col. 24, lines 57-60).
In view of Partovi’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include, with the module of Zhou et al, (regarding claim 17) wherein magnetic field directions in two adjacent permanent magnet modules in one permanent magnet are opposite, and (regarding claim 18) wherein a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a first side of two adjacent sides is opposite to a magnetic field direction in the plurality of permanent magnet modules on a second side of the two adjacent sides, so that the magnetic field generated by the magnetic structure does not impair normal operation of magnetically sensitive components (see col. 4, lines 8-29, of Partovi).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mikami (US 11,848,149 B2) teaches a magnetic sheet for a coil arrangement of a wireless power supply.
Larsson et al (US 11,710,988 B2) teaches a magnetic alignment system for electronic devices.
Rasmussen et al (US 2022/0416590 A1) teaches a bimodal magnetic alignment components for electronic devices.
Schwartz (US 2022/0311286 A1) teaches a magnetic alignment system for wireless power devices.
Ng (US 10,389,177 B2) teaches a magnetic field configuration for wireless energy transfer systems.
Please also see the additional references cited on the attached PTO-892, which are related to alignment of devices for wireless power transfer.
/JARED FUREMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859