DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 09/09/2025 amended claims 1, 7, 8, and cancelled claims 5 and 6. Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are pending and rejected.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 09/09/2025 appropriately amended the title; hence the objection/s to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cornelissen (US 20220221129 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cornelissen teaches an illuminator (Fig. 1A-3E) comprising: a light source (10) that emits first light that belongs to a first wavelength band; a wavelength converter (100, 150) that converts the first light into second light that belongs to a second wavelength band different from the first wavelength band; and an optical element (200) that transmits the second light emitted from the wavelength converter (100, 150), wherein an air layer is provided between the wavelength converter (100, 150) and the optical element (200), a length of the air layer (d2, d2a) along a direction of an optical axis of the optical element (200) is greater than or equal to 0.3 μm but smaller than or equal to 9.0 μm ([0053], [0054], [0099], [0104], [0131]), and the optical element (200) has a coefficient of linear expansion smaller than or equal to 65×10.sup.−7/° C. at temperatures ranging from 100° C to 200° C, and a thermal conductivity greater than or equal to 1.0 W/m*K ([0039], [0100]), the optical element (200) includes a planar plate part (220) and a lens part (210; Fig. 3B), and the illuminator further comprises a heat dissipating member (315; Fig. 3B) thermally coupled about side surfaces of the planar plate part (220) of the optical element (200; [0137]).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelissen.
Regarding claim 2, Cornelissen does not teach a spacer that maintains a distance between the wavelength converter (100, 150) and the optical element (200) in the embodiment of Fig. 3B.
Cornelissen further teaches a spacer (316) that maintains a distance between the wavelength converter (100, 150) and the optical element (200) in the embodiment in Fig. 3A.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Fig. 3B embodiment with Fig. 3A embodiment; because it allows maintaining secured alignment between the wavelength converter (100, 150) and the optical element (200).
Regarding claim 3, Cornelissen does not teach a surface, of the wavelength converter (100, 150), that faces the optical element (200) having irregularities in the embodiment of Fig. 3B.
Cornelissen further teaches a surface, of the wavelength converter (100, 150), that faces the optical element (200) has irregularities (Fig. 1C; [0104]) in the embodiment of Fig. 1C.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Fig. 3B embodiment with Fig. 1C embodiment; because it allows outputting a desired illumination uniformity pattern.
Regarding claim 7, Cornelissen does not explicitly teach the planar plate part and the lens part are separate parts from each other in the embodiment of Fig. 3B. Cornelissen in Fig. 2B suggest the planar plate part and the lens part are separate parts from each other. Furthermore, making parts separable is prima facie obvious. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelissen in view of Hirano (US 20220099863 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Cornelissen does not explicitly teach the surface roughness of the surface is greater than or equal to 0.05 μm but smaller than or equal to 0.2 μm.
Hirano teaches the surface roughness of the surface is greater than or equal to 0.05 μm but smaller than or equal to 0.2 μm ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Cornelissen with Hirano; because it allows controlling the direction of output light. Furthermore, controlling the light output direction by surface roughness is well known in the art. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is deemed obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cornelissen in view of Obinata (US 20220082847 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Cornelissen does not explicitly teach a reflection mirror provided at a portion of the lens part, the reflection mirror configured to reflect the second light emitted from the wavelength converter (100, 150) toward the wavelength converter (100, 150).
Obinata teaches a reflection mirror (12) provided at a portion of the lens part (10), the reflection mirror (12) configured to reflect the second light emitted from the wavelength converter (30) toward the wavelength converter (30; Fig. 1-9).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Cornelissen with Obinata; because it allows controlling the spreading of the output light.
Regarding claim 9, Cornelissen further teaches the illuminator being used in projection systems, but does not explicitly teach the component of the projection system ([0088], [0144]).
Obinata teaches the illuminator being used in a projector comprising: a light modulator (130) that modulates light emitted from the illuminator and containing the second light; and a projection optical apparatus (140) that projects the light modulated by the light modulator.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Cornelissen with Obinata; because it is suggested by Cornelissen ([0088], [0144]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are found not persuasive; hence rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claim 1, applicant/s argue,
However, as seen and explained above in relation to Comelissen FIG. 3A, there is a completely different thermal mounting and lens arrangement of Cornelissen such that there isno heat dissipating member thermally coupled about side surfaces of a planar plate part of the optical element. Therefore, amended claim 1 patentably distinguishes from Cornelissen, and no other citations cure such deficiencies of Cornelissen. (Remarks; p. 7).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cornelissen clearly teaches “the optical element (200) includes a planar plate part (220) and a lens part (210; Fig. 3B), and the illuminator further comprises a heat dissipating member (315; Fig. 3B) thermally coupled about side surfaces of the planar plate part (220) of the optical element (200; [0137]).”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882