DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Jan. 23rd 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-11 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on Sep. 26th 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinji et al. (JP 2012037689) in view of Sakamoto et al. (US 20190098752) and Yukihiko et al. (JP 2002280737).
Regarding claim 1, Shinji teaches a multilayer substrate (fig. 13, mounting substrate 15; para. 0084) on which an image sensor (fig. 11, image sensor 1b mounted on 15; para. 0084) is mounted and which includes a plurality of conductive layers (conductive layers 155; para. 0084), the multilayer substrate (15) comprises:
a light-shielding portion (light shielding member 8 and 155; para. 0084) configured to shield light (block light; para. 0084) transmitted through a non-wired region (through hole 159; para. 0084) and traveling to the image sensor (1b).
Shinji fails to explicitly teach a plurality of vias piled and connected in a straight line; and
the non-wired region, which insulates the vias and other wirings,
wherein the light-shielding portion is a land of the via formed in a range broader than the non-wired region of another conductive layer in at least one conductive layer.
However, Sakamoto teaches a plurality of vias (Sakamoto: fig. 1, first via conductors 156F, through-hole conductors 36, third via conductors 376F; para. 0013, 0014, 0018) piled and connected (electronically) in a straight line (vertical line); and
the non-wired region (Sakamoto: first resin insulating layers 150F, third resin insulating layers 170F with opening for through light; para. 0014, 0018, similar to 159 of Shinji), which insulates the vias (Sakamoto: 156F, 376F) and other wirings (Sakamoto: first conductor layers 158F, third conductor layers 178F for wiring connection; para. 0014, 0018),
wherein the light-shielding portion (Sakamoto: fig. 1, 158F, 178F, first via lands 156FL on fifth conductor layer 34F; para. 0015, similar to 155 of Shinji) is a land (Sakamoto: 156FL is a land; para. 0015) of the via (Sakamoto: 156F) formed in a range broader (Shinji: 155 is broader than 159, and similar to Sakamoto: bottom 156FL layer on 34F is broader than small through openings of 150F) than the non-wired region (Shinji: 159, similar to Sakamoto: small through openings of 150F) of another conductive layer (Sakamoto: another 158F layer above with small through openings) in at least one conductive layer (Sakamoto: 158F).
Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the details of vias structure as taught by Sakamoto.
Doing so would realize via structure to connect conductor layers with more connection reliability (Sakamoto: para. 0063).
Shinji in view of Sakamoto fails to explicitly teach the via is a high-speed transmission wiring.
However, Yukihiko teaches the via (Yukihiko: via hole; para. 0006, similar to 156F of Sakamoto) is a high-speed transmission wiring (Yukihiko: higher speed stacked via structure; para. 0006).
Yukihiko, Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the via as a high-speed transmission wiring.
Doing so would realize a high-speed via structure for higher speed and higher density multilayer printed wiring board (Yukihiko: para. 0006).
Regarding claim 3, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 2, wherein the land (Sakamoto: fig. 1, 156FL on 34F) is a land (Sakamoto: 156FL is a land; para. 0015) of a via (Sakamoto: through-hole conductors 36; para. 0013) of a core layer (Sakamoto: core layer 20; para. 0013).
Regarding claim 5, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 1, wherein the multilayer substrate (Sakamoto: fig. 1, printed wiring board 10; para. 0010, similar to 15 of Shinji) is a build-up substrate (Sakamoto: substrate with build-up layer Bu1, Bu2; para. 0010).
Regarding claim 7, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 1, wherein the light-shielding portion (Shinji: fig. 11, 8, 155) is provided on a surface (Shinji: top surface) of a solder resist (Sakamoto: fig. 1, first solder resist layer 90F and second solder resist layer 90S; para. 0011, similar to surfaces of 15 of Shinji).
Regarding claim 8, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 7, wherein the light-shielding portion (Shinji: fig. 11, 8) is one of a printed silk layer, a light-shielding sheet (Shinji: light shielding coating; para. 0012), and an adhesive with a light-shielding property.
Regarding claim 10, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to any one of claims 7, wherein the solder resist (Sakamoto: fig. 1, 90F, 90S) is a solder resist (Sakamoto: 90F, 90S are solder resist) on an image sensor side (Shinji: fig. 11, 90F, 90S of Sakamoto as part of 15 on top side of 1b).
Regarding claim 11, Shinji teaches an image sensor unit (optical unit 100; para. 0083) comprising:
a multilayer substrate (fig. 13, mounting substrate 15; para. 0084) including a plurality of conductive layers (conductive layers 155; para. 0084); and
an image sensor (fig. 11, image sensor 1b mounted on 15; para. 0084) mounted on the multilayer substrate (15),
wherein the multilayer substrate (15) comprises:
a light-shielding portion (light shielding member 8 and 155; para. 0084) configured to shield light (block light; para. 0084) transmitted through a non-wired region (through hole 159; para. 0084) and traveling to the image sensor (1b).
Shinji fails to explicitly teach a plurality of vias piled and connected in a straight line; and
the non-wired region insulating the vias and other wirings,
wherein the light-shielding portion is a land of the via formed in a range broader than the non-wired region of another conductive layer in at least one conductive layer.
However, Sakamoto teaches a plurality of vias (Sakamoto: fig. 1, first via conductors 156F, through-hole conductors 36, third via conductors 376F; para. 0013, 0014, 0018) piled and connected (electronically) in a straight line (vertical line); and
the non-wired region (Sakamoto: first resin insulating layers 150F, third resin insulating layers 170F with through opening for light; para. 0014, 0018, similar to 159 of Shinji) insulating the vias (Sakamoto: 156F, 376F) and other wirings (Sakamoto: first conductor layers 158F, third conductor layers 178F for wiring connection; para. 0014, 0018),
wherein the light-shielding portion (Sakamoto: fig. 1, 158F, 178F, first via lands 156FL on fifth conductor layer 34F; para. 0015, similar to 155 of Shinji) is a land (Sakamoto: 156FL is a land; para. 0015) of the via (Sakamoto: 156F) formed in a range broader (Shinji: 155 is broader than 159, and similar to Sakamoto: bottom 156FL layer on 34F is broader than small through openings of 150F) than the non-wired region (Shinji: 159, similar to Sakamoto: small through openings of 150F) of another conductive layer (Sakamoto: another 158F layer above with small through openings) in at least one conductive layer (Sakamoto: 158F).
Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the details of vias structure as taught by Sakamoto.
Doing so would realize via structure to connect conductor layers with more connection reliability (Sakamoto: para. 0063).
Shinji in view of Sakamoto fails to explicitly teach the via is a high-speed transmission wiring.
However, Yukihiko teaches the via (Yukihiko: via hole; para. 0006, similar to 156F of Sakamoto) is a high-speed transmission wiring (Yukihiko: higher speed stacked via structure; para. 0006).
Yukihiko, Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the via as a high-speed transmission wiring.
Doing so would realize a high-speed via structure for higher speed and higher density multilayer printed wiring board (Yukihiko: para. 0006).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keiji et al. (JP 2016046270).
Regarding claim 4, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 1 including the multilayer substrate (Shinji: fig. 11, 15).
Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko fails to explicitly teach the multilayer substrate is an any-layer substrate.
However, Keiji teaches the multilayer substrate (Keiji: fig. 4, printed circuit board 10a; para. 0038, similar to 15 of Shinji) is an any-layer substrate (Keiji: so-called any-layer board; para. 0038).
Keiji, Yukihiko, Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the multilayer substrate is an any-layer substrate.
Doing so would realize an any-layer board are formed by laser via holes to reduce manufacturing costs (Keiji: para. 0038).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20210384368).
Regarding claim 9, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko further teaches the multilayer substrate according to claim 1 including the light-shielding portion (fig. 11, 8, 155).
Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko fails to explicitly teach the light-shielding portion is a black solder resist.
However, Wang teaches the light-shielding portion (Wang: fig. 1, first light-shielding layer 21; para. 0039, similar to 8, 155 of Shinji) is a black solder resist (Wang: black solder resist material; para. 0039).
Wang, Yukihiko, Sakamoto and Shinji are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multilayer substrates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the light-shielding portion is a black solder resist.
Doing so would realize a black solder resist light-shielding to improving the quality of the image signal (Wang: para. 0004). Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed Jan. 23rd 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to pages 5-11 of applicant’s response of claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103.
Applicant submits "Sakamoto does not describe or suggest increasing the diameter of the land so as to shield light transmitted through the non-wired regions related to the high-speed wiring via. Moreover, the step decreases in the diameter of the via conductor in Sakamoto are identified and described for the purposes of decreasing the stress gradually; not for the purposes of shielding the non-wired regions associated with the high-speed transmission areas."
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in fig. 1, Sakamoto teaches increasing the diameter of the land (156FL, 34F, 376FL has larger diameter than the vias) so as to shield light (the conductor material of land is known in the art as capable of shield light, so meets BRI of 'light-shielding portion') transmitted through the non-wired regions (150F, 170F regions near/insulating the vias) related to the via (156F, 36, 376F). Because the land is broader than the vias (and some lands are broader than other lands) and then always shield/blocking some light to the non-wired regions near the vias. And Yukihiko teaches the high-speed wiring via, which will be discussed next. In addition, for the step decreases in the diameter of the via conductor from 50 to 70, also means the diameter of the via conductor increase from 70 to 50, which near core layer, similar to the case of application. Although not the same propose, the lands here are still shielding the non-wired regions because the material.
Applicant submits "neither the cited paragraph nor other parts of Yukihiko describe or suggest that the via is a high-speed transition wiring."
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
As cited in para. 0005-0006 of Yukihiko, Yukihiko teaches the stacked via structure increase in speed and is responding to the high-speed multilayer printed wiring boards, so meets of the via is (at least a part of) a high-speed transition wiring. In addition, the via material of copper is known in the art as capable of high-speed data/signal/voltage transmission, so meets BRI of 'high-speed'.
As result, given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Shinji in view of Sakamoto and Yukihiko teaches all limitations of claims 1 and 11. Details of rejections are discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
TOMOHIRO et al. (JP 2016046267) teaches the light-shielding portion is a land of the via formed in a range broader than the non-wired region of another conductive layer in at least one conductive layer, and the via is a high-speed transition wiring.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818