DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hill (US 2005/0087881).
Regarding claim 1, Hill discloses a chip packaging module (Figures 3, 4), comprising: a bearing plate (4b), a die (chip 1 and conductive layer 3b), conductive adhesive (9), a connection reinforcing part (10), and a packaging layer (5), wherein the die (1/3b) is electrically connected to the bearing plate (4b) through the conductive adhesive (9, para. [0011] discloses that the connection reinforcing part 10 electrically connects the bearing plate 4b with the die 1/3b, and since the conductive adhesive is solder and electrically conductive, the conductive adhesive 9 also electrically connects the bearing plate 4b to the die 1/3b), the connection reinforcing part (10) is connected to the bearing plate (4b, see Figure 3), at least part of the connection reinforcing part (10) is disposed in the conductive adhesive (9, see Figure 4 where the conductive adhesive 9 embeds the connection reinforcing part 10), and the packaging layer (5) is disposed on the bearing plate (4b), and covers the die (1/3b, the packaging layer 5 covers at least lateral side surfaces of the die 1/3b), the conductive adhesive (9), and the connection reinforcing part (10, see Figure 4);
an orthogonal projection of the die (1/3b) onto the bearing plate (4b) at least partially vertically overlaps with an orthogonal projection of the connection reinforcing part (10) onto the bearing plate (4b, see Figure 4 which shows vertical overlap in the vertical direction);
and the connection reinforcing part (10) is in direct physical contact with the die (1/3b, see Figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 2, Hill discloses wherein the connection reinforcing part (10) is buried in the conductive adhesive (9, see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 3, Hill discloses wherein the connection reinforcing part (10) is welded to the bearing plate (through solder 9), and the connection reinforcing part (10) is electrically connected to the bearing plate (4b) and the die (1/3b, see para. [0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Dando, III et al. (“Dando” US 2007/0159799).
Regarding claim 4, Hill discloses wherein the connection reinforcing part (10) comprises a strip-shaped conductive elastic member (“flexible metal-element segments” 10, see para. [0037]), the strip-shaped conductive elastic member (10) is bent in a first preset direction (vertical direction in Figures 3 and 4, see para. [0018] which discloses bending), and the first preset direction is a direction from the bearing plate (4b) to the die (1/3b); the first preset direction (vertical direction in Figures 3 and 4) is perpendicular to the plane where the bearing plate (4b) is located (the bearing plate 4b is located in a horizontal plane, and the first present direction which is the vertical direction is perpendicular to the horizontal direction in Figures 3 and 4).
Hill does not explicitly disclose the bearing plate is provided with first pads, two ends of the strip-shaped conductive elastic member are correspondingly welded to the first pads, and the first pads are all located on a same plane where the bearing plate is located.
Dando discloses in Figure 6, however, a bearing plate (12) provided with first pads (80b), two ends of the strip-shaped conductive elastic member (76, ends around component 68 connected to the bearing plate 12) are correspondingly welded to the first pads (80b), and the first pads (80b) are all located on a same plane where the bearing plate (12) is located (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Dando into the teachings of Hill to include the pads as claimed for the purpose of enhancing the interface between the bearing plate and the electrical components/dies (Dando, para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, Hill discloses wherein the strip-shaped conductive elastic member (10) is in a pre-pressed state, and comprises a first section, a second section, and a third section that are formed via bending, a first end of the first section (Figure 3, the first section is a portion of one horse shoe-shaped portion of the conductive elastic member the extends vertically between the bearing plate 4 and the die 1/3b, see also annotated Figure 3 below) is connected to the bearing plate (4b), a second end of the first section (lower end at dotted line in annotated Figure 3) is connected to a first end of the second section (left end of the second section labeled in annotated Figure 3, which is the section of the horse shoe shape that extends horizontally and is directly contacting the die 1/3b), a second end of the second section (right end of the second section in annotated Figure 3) is connected to a first end of the third section (third section is the opposite side of the horse shoe shape to the first section, also extending vertically), a second end of the third section (upper end) is connected to the bearing plate (4b), and the die (1/3b) is in direct physical contact with and electrically connected to (para. [0011]) the second section (see annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Hill discloses wherein there are a plurality of strip-shaped conductive elastic members (10, see Figure 5), and the plurality of strip-shaped conductive elastic members (10) are disposed in a second preset direction (horizontal direction of Figure 5, which is the in/out of page direction in Figures 3 and 4) side by side (see Figure 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899