DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of electing Species II (fig. 4) in the reply filed on 07/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant indicated claims 1 and 3-5 read on the elected Species II. Upon further review, it has been determined claims 6-13 also read on the elected Species. Accordingly, claims 2 and 14-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “couplable” in lines 5-6, and 10-13, respectively. It is unclear whether the limitation refers to a capability that is required to be present in the invention, whether it refers to a capability can be achieved by modifying the system, whether it refers to a system capability that is a possibility that is not required, or something else.
Similarly, each of claims 3-5 has the same “couplable” issue.
Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naaman (US 9,438,246).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Naaman discloses an electronic circuit [e.g. figs. 1-2/6], comprising: a first qubit [e.g. Qubit #1 (or #2/#3, see the corresponding elements)]; a second qubit [e.g. Qubit #2 (or #3/#4, see the corresponding elements)]; a first coupler [e.g. the corresponding 16s, 18s] including a first resonator [e.g. RES #1/coupler #1 (TL1)] and a second resonator [e.g. RES #2/coupler #2 (TL2)], the first resonator being couplable with the first qubit, the second resonator being couplable with the second qubit; a first readout conductive member [e.g. READout 26]; and a first filter [e.g. BP filter #1, #2, C2 (i.e. C28 fig. 2)/C3 (i.e. C31 fig. 2)] including a first filter portion [e.g. BP filter #1], a first other-filter portion [e.g. BP filter #2], and a first readout portion [e.g. C3 (C31 fig. 2) or the left/right terminal of C3 (C31 fig. 2)], the first filter portion being couplable with the first resonator, the first other-filter portion being couplable with the second resonator, the first readout portion being couplable with the first readout conductive member.
Regarding claim 3 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first filter includes: a first conductive member including a first conductive portion [e.g. the conductive line connected directly between L7 and L15 fig. 2] and a first other-conductive portion [e.g. the conductive line connected directly to the upper terminal of C22/L7 fig. 2]; a second conductive member [e.g. the conductive line connected directly between L11 and L18 fig. 2]; and at least one third conductive member [e.g. the conductive line connected directly to the upper terminal of C29/L11] located between the first conductive member and the second conductive member, the third conductive member is couplable with the first and second conductive members, the first conductive portion is couplable with the first resonator, the second conductive member is couplable with the second resonator, and the first other-conductive portion is couplable with the first readout conductive member.
Regarding claim 4 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first filter includes: a first conductive member [e.g. the conductive line connected directly between L7 and L15 fig. 2] couplable with the first resonator; a second conductive member [e.g. the conductive line connected directly between L11 and L18 fig. 2] couplable with the second resonator; and a third conductive member [e.g. the conductive line connected directly to the upper terminal of C29/L11] couplable with the first readout conductive member, and at least a portion of the third conductive member is located between the first conductive member and the second conductive member.
Regarding claim 5 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 4, wherein the first filter [while comprise BP filter #1 and #2 corresponding to qubit #1, the second filter comprises BP filter #3 corresponding to qubit #3] further includes: a first conductive member Josephson junction [e.g. J13 fig. 2] couplable with the first conductive member; a second conductive member Josephson junction [e.g. J17] couplable with the second conductive member; and a third conductive member Josephson junction [e.g. J21] couplable with the third conductive member [note: the recited relationship between the first qubit and the first resonator is couplable; the recited relationship between the first filter portion and the first resonator is couplable; the recited relationship between the second qubit and the first other-filter portion is couplable; and the recited relationship between the second filter portion and the second resonator is couplable;]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naaman (US 9,438,246) in view of Srinivasna et al. (US 2022/0058508).
Regarding claim 6 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, except wherein a resonant frequency of the first resonator is greater than a resonant frequency of the first qubit, a resonant frequency of the second resonator is greater than a resonant frequency of the second qubit, an absolute value of a difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the first qubit is greater than an absolute value of a difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the second resonator, and an absolute value of a difference between the resonant frequency of the second resonator and the resonant frequency of the second qubit is greater than the absolute value of the difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the second resonator. However, Srinivasna discloses a resonant frequency of the first resonator [e.g. approximate 7.5 GHz] is greater than a resonant frequency of the first qubit [e.g. 4.5 GHz], a resonant frequency of the second resonator [e.g. approximate 7.5 GHz] is greater than a resonant frequency of the second qubit [e.g. approximate 5 GHz], an absolute value [e.g. approximate 3 GHz] of a difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the first qubit is greater than an absolute value of a difference [e.g. approximate 0.5 GHz] between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the second resonator, and an absolute value of a difference [e.g. approximate 2.5 GHz] between the resonant frequency of the second resonator and the resonant frequency of the second qubit is greater than the absolute value of the difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the second resonator [see at least para. 0056].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Naaman in accordance with the teaching of Srinivasna regarding frequency in order to provide a frequency relationship between a qubit and a resonator [para. 0056].
Regarding claim 7 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 6, wherein an absolute value of a difference [e.g. 0.5 GHz; see at least para. 0056] between the resonant frequency of the first qubit and the resonant frequency of the second qubit is less than the absolute value of the difference between the resonant frequency of the first resonator and the resonant frequency of the first qubit and less than the absolute value of the difference between the resonant frequency of the second resonator and the resonant frequency of the second qubit.
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naaman (US 9,438,246) in view of Abraham et al. (US 2016/0112031).
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 1, wherein the first coupler further includes a first coupler Josephson junction [e.g. J13]. Naaman does not disclose the first/second resonator includes a first inductor/second and a first/second capacitor. However, it’s well known to utilize a resonator includes an inductor and a capacitor, the capacitor is connected in parallel with the inductor. For example, Abraham discloses a resonator includes an inductor [e.g. 30] and a capacitor [e.g. 35], the capacitor is connected in parallel with the inductor, such that the combination discloses wherein the first resonator includes a first inductor and a first capacitor [e.g. 30, 35 Abraham], the first capacitor is connected in parallel with the first inductor, the second resonator includes a second inductor and a second capacitor [e.g. 30, 35 Abraham], the second capacitor is connected in parallel with the second inductor, the first coupler further includes a first coupler Josephson junction [e.g. J13], one end of the first coupler Josephson junction is connected with one end of the first inductor and one end of the first capacitor, and another end of the first coupler Josephson junction is connected [e.g. via BP filter #1, BP filter #2, see figures of Naaman] with one end of the second inductor and one end of the second capacitor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Naaman in accordance with the teaching of Abraham regarding the resonator in order to reduce the energy relaxation time for the qubit [para. 0025].
Regarding claim 9 (as best understood), Naaman discloses the electronic circuit according to claim 8, wherein the first inductor includes at least one first resonator Josephson junction, and the second inductor includes at least one second resonator Josephson junction [see J13, J17 Naaman].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome 112(b) rejection by changing “couplable with” to “coupled to”.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836