DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 23, 2023, and November 5, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “more flexible and long than said first electrical connecting element” is indefinite because “long than” is grammatically incomplete and it is unclear whether the second electrical connecting element is required to be longer than the first electrical connecting element
Claims 2-12 depend from claim 1, and therefore include the same indefinite definition.
Regarding claim 9, the limitation “at least one holding means for a wire” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The corresponding structure disclosed in the specification is holding means 24, including tuning fork contact or clamping fork, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1)
Regarding Claim 1 – Andrea teaches an electronic component for a cell-contacting system, the cell-contacting system having a plurality of cell connectors which serve for a power contacting of battery cells of a battery, the electronic component comprising (Fig 2; battery 200, cells 202-208, terminal connectors 224/236/244, cell modules 210-216; Andrea [0031] states “Terminal connector 224 connects the positive terminal 226 of cell 204 to negative terminal 222 of cell 202”): a printed circuit board of a measuring and/or management configuration for the battery (Fig 1; PCB, module body 102; Andrea [0023, 0032] teaches electronic components are “mounted on a printed circuit board” and “monitor and control the cells”), said printed circuit board being connected electrically to precisely two of the cell connectors (Fig 2; cell module 212, terminal connectors 224/236; Andrea [0031, 0035] teaches “cell module 212, which measures the difference” between the electrical potentials associated with terminals 222 and 228); a plurality of electrical connecting elements (Fig 2; connector tabs 220/232/240/250); at least a first one of said electrical connecting elements provided for connecting to a first one of the cell connectors for a mechanical fastening and/or thermal transmission between the first cell connector and said printed circuit board is configured so that said first electrical connecting element is relatively mechanically rigid (Figs 1-2; connector tabs 104/220, terminal connector 224; Andrea [0023, 0033] teaches the connector tab provide “high thermal conductivity” and “solid support”); and said printed circuit board has at least one communications interface for a data exchange of information with a remote station (Fig 2; link 268, main controller 272; Andrea [0034] teaches transmission to main controller 272).
Andrea does not explicitly disclose at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors; at least one of said electrical connecting elements being soldered to said at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors for a respective electrical connection of said at least one soldering surface to a cell connector of the cell connectors, at least one of said electrical connecting elements configured as a flat strip; said first electrical connecting element is relatively short; at least a second one of said electrical connecting elements provided for connecting to a second one of the cell connectors for thermal and/or mechanical length compensation between the cell connectors and/or between the second cell connector and said printed circuit board is configured so that said second electrical connecting element is relatively mechanically flexible or more flexible and long than said first electrical connecting element.
Fischer teaches at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors (Figs 1-2; PCB 10, contacts 5, conductor track ends; Fischer [0018] teaches “a flat extended conductor track section for the flat connection (e.g. soldering)” of an electrical contact); a plurality of electrical connecting elements, at least one of said electrical connecting elements being soldered to said at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors for a respective electrical connection of said at least one soldering surface to a cell connector of the cell connectors, at least one of said electrical connecting elements configured as a flat strip (Fig 1; contacts 5, PCB 10; Fischer [0029, 0031] teaches “25 such contacts 5 are connected to the printed circuit board 10” and “Each of the contacts 5 is formed as a strip-shaped contact lug” that is “connected, for example soldered, to a conductor track end”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea with at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors; a plurality of electrical connecting elements, at least one of said electrical connecting elements being soldered to said at least one soldering surface for each of the cell connectors for a respective electrical connection of said at least one soldering surface to a cell connector of the cell connectors, at least one of said electrical connecting elements configured as a flat strip as taught by Fischer because Fischer [0010] states that the arrangement provides “a high integration” and “a saving in additional contact points and mechanical components”.
Chen teaches said first electrical connecting element is relatively short (Figs 3-6; terminal connecting portion 400; Chen [0058] teaches “the terminal connecting portion 400 is of a relative short length”); at least a second one of said electrical connecting elements provided for connecting to a second one of the cell connectors for thermal and/or mechanical length compensation between the cell connectors and/or between the second cell connector and said printed circuit board is configured so that said second electrical connecting element is relatively mechanically flexible or more flexible and long than said first electrical connecting element (Fig 7; battery connecting strip 40, terminal connecting portion 400, cell module controller 60; Chen [0057-0058] teaches “flexible structures” for “absorbing the stress” and a “relative long distance”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea with said first electrical connecting element is relatively short; at least a second one of said electrical connecting elements provided for connecting to a second one of the cell connectors for thermal and/or mechanical length compensation between the cell connectors and/or between the second cell connector and said printed circuit board is configured so that said second electrical connecting element is relatively mechanically flexible or more flexible and long than said first electrical connecting element as taught by Chen because Chen [0057-0058] teaches that the relatively short connection simplifies manufacturing and assembly, while the longer flexible connection facilitates connecting and absorbs stress generated during the connecting process.
Regarding Claim 6 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor being rigidly attached to said printed circuit board, said temperature sensor being coupled thermally to said at least one soldering surface for said first electrical connecting element (Fischer Figs 1-2; temperature sensor 14, PCB 10, conductor track end, contact 5; Fischer [0033-0034] teaches temperature sensor 14 is an SMD component soldered to PCB 10 and is “thermally coupled” to the conductor track end at which contact 5 is connected).
Regarding Claim 12 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen further teaches a cell-contacting system, comprising: a plurality of cell connectors which serve for power contacting battery cells; and at least one electronic component according to claim 1 (Andrea Fig 2; battery 200, cells 202-208, terminal connectors 224/236/244, cell modules 210-216; Andrea [0031] teaches terminal connectors electrically interconnect the battery cells and cell modules are associated with the cells).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Masson et al. (US 20110151315 A1)
Regarding Claim 2 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said electrical connecting elements has a selective coating in a soldering region to be soldered to said at least one soldering surface.
Masson teaches at least one of said electrical connecting elements has a selective coating in a soldering region to be soldered to said at least one soldering surface (Figs 8-11; conductive members 42, leads 52; Masson [0046, 0050-0051] teaches “the conductors 42 may include tin-plating only near the ends” and “the leads 52 may be coupled to the conductive members 42 and/or sensors with a welding or soldering operation”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with at least one of said electrical connecting elements has a selective coating in a soldering region to be soldered to said at least one soldering surface as taught by Masson because Masson [0046] teaches tin-plating the conductive members “to more efficiently” solder voltage sense leads to the conductive members.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and Masson et al. (US 20110151315 A1) and in further view of Schmidt et al. (US 20140017393 A1)
Regarding Claim 3 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose wherein: said electrical connecting elements are formed of a base material; and at least one transition region between said base material of one of said electrical connecting elements and said selective coating is sealed against corrosion.
Schmidt teaches said electrical connecting elements are formed of a base material; and at least one transition region between said base material of one of said electrical connecting elements and said selective coating is sealed against corrosion (Figs 19-20; base material 6, material coatings 4a/4b, contact surrounding region 35; Schmidt [0077, 0166-0167] teaches the contact element is formed from base material 6, coating 4b surrounds coating 4a, and the surrounding region is provided to “prevent corrosion of the base material 6 around and/or under the contact point 34”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer, Chen, and Masson with said electrical connecting elements are formed of a base material; and at least one transition region between said base material of one of said electrical connecting elements and said selective coating is sealed against corrosion as taught by Schmidt to prevent corrosion of the base material around or under the coated contact region.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Fuchs et al. (US 20210184281 A1)
Regarding Claim 4 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said electrical connecting elements: is made from aluminum; and/or has a tin coating.
Fuchs teaches at least one of said electrical connecting elements: is made from aluminum (Figs 1-3; cell connector 6, connecting element 15; Fuchs [0048] teaches “the connecting element 15 made from aluminum”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with at least one of said electrical connecting elements: is made from aluminum as taught by Fuchs to improve the electrical contacting of the cell connector with the bimetallic element.
Claims 5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Zhao (US 6851986 B2)
Regarding Claim 5 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a stamped part from a piece of sheet metal.
Zhao teaches at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a stamped part from a piece of sheet metal (Figs 1-4; conductive terminals 84; Zhao teaches “conductive terminals… 84… are stamped and formed of conductive sheet metal material” and that the terminals establish electrical connection between circuit board 83 and battery 36).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a stamped part from a piece of sheet metal as taught by Zhao to improve contact engagement and terminal retention.
Regarding Claim 7 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least said first electrical connecting element has a rectangular shape.
Zhao teaches at least said first electrical connecting element has a rectangular shape. (Figs 8-10; terminal 44, main body 72; Zhao teaches “Main body 72 of each terminal 44 is a generally rectangular plate”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with at least said first electrical connecting element has a rectangular shape. as taught by Zhao to improve contact engagement and terminal retention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Sichmann et al. (US 20150257286 A1)
Regarding Claim 8 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, wherein said second electrical connecting element is configured S-shaped with a straight central limb, and adjoining said straight central limb on both sides in each case one sub-limb parallel thereto, and in each case one right-angled lead-in limb branching off from said sub-limb on both sides.
Sichmann teaches said second electrical connecting element is configured S-shaped with a straight central limb, and adjoining said straight central limb on both sides in each case one sub-limb parallel thereto, and in each case one right-angled lead-in limb branching off from said sub-limb on both sides (Fig 1c; leaf spring 1, central leg 13, outer legs 111/121, connections 115/125; Sichmann [0019-0023] teaches an S-shaped spring having a common central leg, parallel outer legs, and transverse bent connections).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with said second electrical connecting element is configured S-shaped with a straight central limb, and adjoining said straight central limb on both sides in each case one sub-limb parallel thereto, and in each case one right-angled lead-in limb branching off from said sub-limb on both sides as taught by Sichmann to provide a secure electrical contact while allowing simple and cost effective manufacture.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Ito (US 20210234301 A1)
Regarding Claim 9 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising a communications interface which has at least one holding means for a wire as at least part of a communications channel.
Ito teaches a communications interface which has at least one holding means for a wire as at least part of a communications channel (Figs 1-7; twisted wire pair 10, connector device 15, wire holder 26, wire holding portion 30; Ito [0028] teaches “The twisted wire pair 10 is used as a communication line in differential signal transmission”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with a communications interface which has at least one holding means for a wire as at least part of a communications channel as taught by Ito to “improve communication performance of a twisted wire pair”.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Zeng et al. (US 10826134 B2)
Regarding Claim 10 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a one-piece direct connector between said printed circuit board and the cell connectors.
Zeng teaches at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a one-piece direct connector between said printed circuit board and the cell connectors (Figs 1-4; busbar 120, conductive post 122, sampling circuit board 130, connecting plate 121; Zeng teaches “The busbar 120 is directly electrically connected to the sampling circuit board 130” and “the connecting plate 121 and the conductive post 122 are formed into an integral structure”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with at least one of said electrical connecting elements is a one-piece direct connector between said printed circuit board and the cell connectors as taught by Zeng to provide a strong connection with stronger impact resistance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrea (US 20120223582 A1) in view of Fischer (DE 102011004353 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20180269445 A1) and in further view of Seo et al. (US 20110101920 A1)
Regarding Claim 11 – Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen teaches the electronic component according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein in a mounted state in the cell-contacting system, said printed circuit board is fastened mechanically to the cell connectors and consequently in the cell-contacting system only by means of said electrical connecting elements.
Seo teaches in a mounted state in the cell-contacting system, said printed circuit board is fastened mechanically to the cell connectors and consequently in the cell-contacting system only by means of said electrical connecting elements (Fig 8; FPC board 50, conductor lines 51, bus bars 40/40a; Seo [0163-0165] teaches conductor lines 51 are soldered or welded to the busbars and “Accordingly, the FPC board 50 is fixed to each of the bus bars 40, 40a”).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the device of Andrea in view of Fischer and Chen with in a mounted state in the cell-contacting system, said printed circuit board is fastened mechanically to the cell connectors and consequently in the cell-contacting system only by means of said electrical connecting elements as taught by Seo to keep the mounting region of the board relatively flat and maintain reliable electrical connection to the busbars.
Conclusion
/ADITYA SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/TIMOTHY J THOMPSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847