Election/Restrictions
Claims 12-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 9, 2025.
Claim Objections
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the previous objections, which are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (US 5112667) in view of Haenselmann et al (the article entitled “Optimal strategies for creating paper models from 3D objects”).
Li et al taught that it was known to form a three dimensional object (a helmet in this instance) from prepreg plies each of which are formed from unidirectional reinforcing filaments embedded in a polymer matrix material. The reference taught that at least two prepreg sheets were cut with a set of cuts therein and the sheets were stacked and consolidated to form the 3D object wherein the cuts of separate sheets were not overlapped with one another (the cuts of one prepreg sheet was offset from the cuts of the next sheet in the assembly so that the seams were staggered from one another in the finished three dimensional assembly. The reference did not express that one would have utilized a cutting graph for facilitation of the determination of the cuts in the sheet material therein when severing the sheets of material prior to the molding operation therein nor that all cuts were along polyhedral facets. The applicant is more specifically referred to column 1, lines 58-68, column 3, lines 29-47, column 3, line 62-column 4, line 25, and the examples therein.
Haenselmann taught that one skilled in the art of creating 3D object from 2D sheets that there were optimal ways for cutting (and folding the sheets) to obtain an optimal performance in the rendering of the object. The reference recognized that such objects were understood to be reinforced, see page 520, the left column, the first full paragraph of the left column therein. The reference to Haenselmann suggested that those skilled in the art would have used a minimum spanning tree of the cutting graph to cut the 2D sheets for best use in the model therein, see page 523, the first two full paragraphs of the left column. The ordinary artisan additionally would have readily understood that the cutting graph and sheets themselves would have corresponded to a polyhedral mesh of the 3D target object, see Figures 5 and 9. Haenselmann taught the use of tabs to assist in the gluing of the sheet to render the 3D object therein. It should additionally be noted that the reference additionally suggested that the minimum number of cuts would have been determined by reducing the graph to a tree by means of the Kruskal algorithm , see the paragraph bridging the left and right columns of page 523. Indeed, the reference to Haenselmann suggested the manner in which one skilled in the art would have determined where the provide cuts in the sheet material of Li et al in order to minimize wrinkling in the final 3D object and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the processing of Haenselmann et al to determine the appropriate cutting scheme for the sheets where the most efficient cutting was performed for the individual sheets in Li et al in order to form a three dimensional object therein using the operation of Li et al where sheets were offset at the cut areas so that no seams overlapped and heat and pressure applied to the sheets to render a 3D product. Regarding claim 21, Haenselmann teaches that the object may be folded for assembly (p. 527). Haenselmann recognizes the use of triangular facets (Figs. 1, 5, 8) with trapezoidal tabs (See Fig. 8.). Haenselmann teaches that a first edge may have a tab that registers with and overlaps a second edge without any tabs (Fig. 2, right).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Li and Haenselmann are discussed above. They also teach equations (1) and (2): conceptually that the union of all edges makes up the mesh and that no edges overlap. They do not fairly teach or suggest that the maximum number of 2-D sheets used (which, in context, is the actual number of sheets used) should specifically be the integer part of (the total number of edges for the polyhedral mesh)/(the number of cuts in each 2-D sheet).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Li nor Haenselmann has the newly added features of claim 21. The argument is unconvincing because Haenselmann recognizes the use of triangular facets (Figs. 1, 5, 8) with trapezoidal tabs (See Fig. 8.) and because Haenselmann teaches that a first edge may have a tab that registers with and overlaps a second edge without any tabs (Fig. 2, right) (as discussed in the non-final rejection of 2/26/25 regarding dependent claim 5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL B CLEVELAND/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1712