Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 7/1/2026. Claim 10 is canceled. Claims 1, 4-9, 11-14, 16-20 are pending. Claims 12-14, 16-18 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a non-elected invention, in accordance with 37 CFR 1.142(b). Applicant’s arguments have been considered. Claims 1, 4-9, 11, 19, 20 are finally rejected for stated herein below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 7/9/2026 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Controlling Particle Size and Phase Purity of “Single-Crystal” LiNi0.5Mn0.5O4 in Molten-Salt-Assisted Synthesis, The Journal of Physical Chemistry C, 2020, 124, 27937-27945), as evidenced by the website of Malvern Panalytical https://www.malvernpanalytical.com/en/support/product-support/mastersizer-range, in view of Choi (US 2020/0083531) and in view of Hozumi (US 2018/0069243).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material.
Regarding claim 1, wherein the volume median crystallite diameter dv50 of the crystal particles of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material ranges from 5 um to 15 um, Wang discloses dv50 is 16.8 um. See Abstract. Wang discloses the active material LNMO particle size may be tuned to better balance the need for cycle performance and power capability (page 27943). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the particle size, and hence, the crystal size of Wang for the benefit of maximizing its cycle performance and power capability.
It is noted that the particle size of Wang was measured by Mastersizer 2000, which is the same instrument the Applicant used to measure the Dv50, Mastersizer 3000, the same instrument but a different model. Both the Mastersizer 2000 and the Mastersizer 3000 use the laser diffraction method to determine the particle size. See attached. Since the Applicants used the Mastersizer 3000 to determine the volume-based particle size, it is noted that the particle size of Wang is also a volume-based particle size. Since the particle of Wang is a single-crystal particle, it is noted that the Wang’s median crystallite diameter is the same as the median particle size. Hence, Wang’s median crystallite diameter is also volume-based.
Regarding claim 4, the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material comprises lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide with a space group P4332 and lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide with a space group Fd-3m; and a percentage of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide with the space group P4332 is greater than a percentage of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide with the space group Fd-3m. See figure 4d and its corresponding text.
Regarding claim 5, a percentage by weight of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide with the space group P4332 in the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material is greater than 50%. See figure 4d and its corresponding text.
Regarding claim 6, the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material comprises Mn3+, and a percentage of Mn3+ in the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material is less than or equal to 5.5wt%, Wang discloses the LNMO can crystallize into two different phases with either cation-ordered (P4332) Ni/Mn arrangement or a disordered (Fd3m) one with oxygen deficiency (page 27938). To have maximum output energy density, the P4332 phase is preferred. Wang discloses in which LNMO samples were cooled at different rates S1 (cooling rate = 0.8 C/min), S2 (cooling rate = 2.5 C/min), S (cooling rate = ~10 C/min). Wang showed that there is more disordered phase when cooled at a fast cooling rate. When the LNMO was cooled slowly, there was more structure and less disorder, and smaller Mn3+/Mn4+, showing less amount of Mn3+ (page 27943). However, a small degree of Ni/Mn disordering (Fd3m phase) has been shown to enhance cycle performance and rate capability induing solid-solution behaviors during (de)lithiation (page 27943). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to minimize the amount of disorder phase, and hence minimize Mn3+, for the benefit of maximizing output energy.
Regarding claim 7, a specific surface area of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material is less than 1 m2/g, Wang discloses a small surface area is preferred for LNMO because small surface area LNMO particles and fracture-resistant (i.e., no surface area increase) single-crystal LMO particles can enable stable cycle performance (page 27938). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to minimize the surface area of Wang for the benefit of being less susceptible to fracture during cycle performance.
Regarding claim 8, a tap density of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material is greater than or equal to 1.9 g/cm3 (page 27940).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses a general formula of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material is Formula I:
LiaNio.s-xMn1s-yMx+yO4-2Xz Formula I
wherein in Formula I, an element M is selected from Ti, Zr, W, Nb, Al, Mg, P, Mo, V, Cr, Zn, or a combination thereof,
in Formula I, an element X is selected from F, Cl, I, or a combination thereof:
in Formula I, 0.9 <a<1.1, -0.2<x<0.2, -0.2<y<0.3, and 0<z<1.
Regarding claim 1, Wang does not disclose wherein Dv50 > dv50. Wang discloses that the volume median crystallite diameter is the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material because the entire lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material comprises the entire crystal particle, and hence K = 1. Choi teaches a positive active material comprising lithium transition metal oxide that reduces the possibility of a side reaction occurring between an electrolyte solution and the interface and surface of a positive electrode active material, thereby improving the high-temperature stability of the positive electrode active material and reduce gas generation caused by a positive electrode active material by reducing the specific surface area and grain boundary of the secondary particle [0041]. Choi teaches primary particles having a single crystal structure forming a secondary particle to reduce the specific surface area and grain boundary of the secondary particle [0042]. Secondary particles having different grain boundary densities may have different physical and chemical characteristics. The physical characteristics which may be dependent on a grain boundary density include a difference in specific surface area of the secondary particle before/after pressing, and the chemical characteristic may be, for example, a difference in proportion of side reactions between the surface and/or interface of secondary particles and an electrolyte solution [0052]. The average particle diameter of the lithium-based composite oxide primary particle having a single crystal structure may be 0.01 to 20 μm. Since the average particle diameter of the lithium-based composite oxide primary particle having a single crystal structure ranges from 0.01 to 20 μm, the optimal density of a positive electrode prepared using the positive electrode active material may be realized [0056]. In addition, the average particle diameter of the secondary particle may vary according to the number of aggregated primary particles, and may be 0.01 to 50 μm [0057]. It is noted that Choi’s K value is greater than 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to form the particles of Wang as secondary particles, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of protecting the particle boundaries from exposure to electrolyte solution, as well as to reduce the specific surface area.
Regarding claim 1, wherein the volume media particle diameter Dv50 of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material ranges from 9 um to 20 um, Choi teaches the average particle diameter of the secondary particle may vary according to the number of aggregated primary particles, and may be 0.01 to 50 μm [0057]. Secondary particles having different grain boundary densities may have different physical and chemical characteristics. The physical characteristics which may be dependent on a grain boundary density include a difference in specific surface area of the secondary particle before/after pressing, and the chemical characteristic may be, for example, a difference in proportion of side reactions between the surface and/or interface of secondary particles and an electrolyte solution [0052].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the secondary particle size by adjusting the number of primary particles of Wang, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of stabilizing the secondary particles against thermal instability and degradation from electrolyte solution.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 1, Wang does not disclose wherein a K value of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material ranges from 1 to 2, and the K value is calculated through the following formula:
K = Dv50/dv50
wherein dv50 is a volume median crystallite diameter of crystal particles of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material; and Dv50 is a volume median particle diameter of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material;
Choi teaches that the assembly of secondary particles includes a first aggregate including 1 or 2 primary particles, a second aggregate including 3 to 6 primary particles, and a third aggregate including 7 to 10 primary particles, and the proportions of the first aggregate, the second aggregate and the third aggregate are adjusted in consideration of the average specific surface area, grain boundary and lithium ion diffusion pathways of the positive electrode active material, thereby improving the stability and electrical characteristics of the positive electrode active material [0077]. For example, in the positive electrode active materials according to various exemplary embodiments of the present invention, a lattice structure may be stabilized by balancing grain boundary densities according to the proportions of the first aggregate, the second aggregate and the third aggregate. Particularly, the thermal stability of a positive electrode active material may be improved by preventing the collapse of the lattice structure of a positive electrode active material under a relatively high temperature condition [0078].
It is noted that a secondary particle comprising a plurality of single crystal particles yields a K value of greater than 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the K value, by adjusting the primary particle size, as well as the secondary particle size by adjusting the number of primary particles of Wang, as taught by Choi, for the benefit of stabilizing the secondary particles against thermal instability and degradation from electrolyte solution.
Regarding claim 19, Wang teaches a secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate, wherein the positive electrode plate comprises a positive electrode active material, and the positive electrode active material comprises the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, an electric apparatus, comprising the secondary battery according to claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to use the battery of Wang in an electric apparatus for the benefit of providing power to the electric apparatus.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses the cycle performance may be further improved by coating strategies (page 27943). Wang does not disclose wherein the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material comprises lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide particles whose surfaces are at least partially provided with a coating layer; wherein the coating layer comprises a lithium fast-ion conductor; wherein the lithium fast-ion conductor has one or more of the following characteristics:
(1) the lithium fast-ion conductor is selected from oxide-based, phosphate-based, borate-based, sulfide-based, and LiPON-based inorganic materials with lithium ion conductivity;
(2) the lithium fast-ion conductor comprises one or more of the following elements: phosphorus, titanium, zirconium, boron, and lithium; and
(3) the lithium fast-ion conductor is selected from Li2BO3, Li3PO4, or a combination thereof.
Hozumi teaches a lithium transition metal oxide with a spinel structure having a coating comprising a Li ion conductive oxide [0015, 0048]. The coating inhibits the contact of the cathode active material with electrolyte and inhibit the both from reaction [0046].
Regarding claim 9, Hozumi teaches a material of the coating layer comprises at least one of aluminum oxide, titanium oxide, zirconium oxide, boron oxide, rare-earth oxide, lithium salt, phosphate, borate, and fluoride [0048].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to coat the particles of Wang, as taught by Hozumi, for the benefit of protecting the active material particle from electrolyte dissolution.
Response to Arguments
Arguments dated 7/1/2026 are addressed:
Applicants assert Hozumi teaches in paragraphs [0058] and [0059] that the Li in the crystal structure of the cathode active is desorbed.
[0058] An example of the method for forming the coated cathode active material may be a sputtering method. The sputtering method is a method to adhere the Li ion conductive oxide to the cathode active material by a relatively high energy. Thus, Li in the crystal structure of the cathode active material is desorbed by the shock due to the adhesion of the Li ion conductive oxide, and the valence of the Mn may be decreased thereby. Examples of the sputtering method may include a barrel sputtering method, a magnetron sputtering method, a reactive sputtering method, a bipolar method, and an ion beam sputtering method. Above all, a barrel sputtering method is preferable.
[0059] Also, additional example of the method for forming the coated cathode
active material may be a method of coating by mechanically mixing the cathode active material with powder Li ion conductive oxide. In this method, Li in the crystal structure of the cathode active material is desorbed by the shock due to the physical contact of the cathode active material with the Li ion conductive oxide, and the valence of the Mn may be decreased thereby. Examples of the method for mechanical mixing may include a mechanical milling method.
One of skill in the art would not consider Hozumi that teaches Li in the crystal structure is desorbed as this teaches away from a lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material having the crystallite structure as claimed in claim 1. Hozumi teaches away from using a coating where dv50 is a volume median crystallite diameter of crystal particles of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material; and Dv50 is a volume median particle diameter of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material; wherein the volume median crystallite diameter dv50 of the crystal particles of the lithium-nickel-manganese-based composite oxide material ranges from 5 µm to 15 µm.
In response, the Examiner notes that Hozumi teaches further examples that do not desorb the lithium ions. Refer to [0060] of Hozumi:
[0060] Additional example of the method for forming the coated cathode active material may be a complex method. The complex method is a method to obtain a Li ion conductive oxide by preparing a complex solution including a complex as the precursor of the Li ion conductive oxide, forming the coating layer on the cathode active material by coating thereof with the complex solution, and then removing moisture from the coating layer by drying thereof. In this method, Li is easily soluble in the complex solution, and thus the valence of the Mn may be decreased.
Hence the combination is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751