Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/24/2023 was filed before the mailing date of the Non-final rejection on 9/28/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The formal drawings filed on 2/24/2023 have been approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (US 2015/0028462).
With respect to Claims 1 and 14, Hasegawa teaches an electronic component 3 attached to a package substrate 1,2 , wherein the package substrate 1, 2 having an exposed surface on the microelectronic device. A lead 9 electrically connected to the electronic component 3, wherein the lead 9 extending away from the exposed surface of the package substrate 1, 2. A shielding dielectric material 14 laterally surrounding the lead 9. A heatsink 102 attached to the exposed surface of the package substrate
(see paragraph 39-54; Figs. 1A-1C and 2).
With respect to Claims 3 and 16, Hasegawa teaches the microelectronic device includes a carrier 111 located opposite from the exposed surface of the package substrate. The lead 9 extending through the carrier 111 (see Fig. 2).
With respect to Claims 4 and 17, Hasegawa teaches a second electronic component 7 attached to the package substrate. A second lead 9 electrically connected to the second electronic component 7 and extending away from the exposed surface of the package substrate, and laterally surrounded by the shielding dielectric material (see Fig. 2).
With respect to Claims 5 and 18, Hasegawa teaches the lead has a straight configuration extending away from the exposed surface of the package substrate (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al.(US 2015/0028462) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US2023/0245942).
With respect to Claim 6, 7, 12, and 13, Hasegawa discloses the claimed invention except for the lead has a J-lead configuration or a gull wing configuration. However, it is well known in the semiconductor industry to have a lead modified in the shape of a J-lead configuration or a gull wing configuration as evident by Kim (see paragraph 19; Fig. 1C).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 8-13 are allowed.
10. Claims 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject matter: none of the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic component and the package substrate are contacted by an encapsulation material, separate from the shielding dielectric material in claim 2.
Forming a shielding dielectric material laterally surrounding a lead. The lead, the electronic component, and the package substrate are contacted by encapsulation material. An exposed surface of the package substrate extends through the encapsulation material and is exposed on the microelectronic device in claim 8.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
12. Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571) 272-1927.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto. gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/September 28, 2025 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897