DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YAGYU (WO 2021025063 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YAGYU discloses an ultraviolet light irradiation device (abstract) (fig. 6, 3, 5, 21) comprising:
a light source (3) that emits ultraviolet light belonging to a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and less than 240 nm (abstract) (fig. 7); and
an optical filter (21) disposed to allow the ultraviolet light to enter and including a dielectric multilayer film (pg. 6), wherein
the optical filter (21) has a transmission spectrum of zero-degree light (fig. 7) including a first transmission band (fig. 7) and a second transmission band (fig. 7) that transmit the zero-degree light and a first restriction band (fig. 7) that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light,
the zero-degree light being the ultraviolet light incident on the optical filter (21) with an incident angle of zero degrees,
the first transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree > 15%) is present within the wavelength band of 200 nm or more and less than 240 nm,
the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is present within a wavelength band of more than 300 nm and less than 400 nm, and
the first restriction band (fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%) is present over an entire wavelength range of at least 240 nm or more and 300 nm or less, and
the first restriction band has an upper limit provided within a range of more than 300 nm and 380 nm or less (fig. 7; between 300nm-320nm at least, 0 degree < 5%)
(fig. 6; UV lights 3, 5; optical filter 21)
(fig. 7; 0 degree UV light transmission and restriction band transmission % per wavelength nm).
(Note from applicant’s specification; para. [0019 Note In the present specification, specific numerical values of the transmittance are not particularly mentioned, and when simply referred to as the “first transmission band” and the “second transmission band”, the transmittance of the optical filter in the “first transmission band” and the “second transmission band” is 15% or more.])
(Note from applicant’s specification; para [0022 Note The transmittance in the second transmission band is “preferably higher” than the maximum transmittance in the first restriction band described later by 10% or more, more preferably higher by 15% or more, and still more preferably higher by 20% or more.]]
(Note from applicant’s specification; para [0023 Note In the present specification, unless a specific numerical value is specified for the transmittance of ultraviolet light transmitted through the optical filter, the transmittance of the first restriction band that restricts the transmission of the optical filter is less than 5%]).
Regarding claim 2, YAGYU discloses that the first restriction band (fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%) is further present over an entire wavelength range of more than 300 nm and less than 310 nm, and the first restriction band has the upper limit provided within a range of 310 nm or more and 360 nm or less (see fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%).
Regarding claim 3, YAGYU discloses that the first restriction band (fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%) is further present over an entire wavelength range of 310 nm or more and less than 320 nm (see fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%).
Regarding claim 13, YAGYU discloses that the optical filter (21) has a transmission spectrum of a 50-degree light being the ultraviolet light incident on the optical filter with an incident angle of 50 degrees (fig. 7; 50 degree light) , the transmission spectrum having a third restriction band (fig. 7; 50 degree < 5%) that restricts transmission of the 50-degree light over an entire wavelength range of 240 nm or more and less than 280 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAGYU (WO 2021025063 A1) in view of (JP 3970942 B2).
Regarding claim 4, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an entire wavelength range
Regarding claim 5, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an entire wavelength range
Regarding claim 6, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an
But YAGYU fails to explicitly disclose the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 380 nm or more and less than 400 nm; wherein the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 360 nm or more and less than 380 nm.; and wherein the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 340 nm or more and less than 360 nm
(JP 3970942 B2), however, discloses a bandpass filter multilayer stack that is configurable for different wavelength ranges (fig. 11, transmission of UVA and not UVB wavelengths) and that has a transmission band present over an entire wavelength range of 380 nm or more and less than 400 nm (fig. 11); 360nm-380nm (fig. 11); and/or 240nm-360nm (fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YAGYU , with the above claimed filter transmission wavelength ranges, as taught by (JP 3970942 B2), to use for enabling a UV filter configuration that can provide a particular transmission curve(s) of interest (i.e. transmission of UVA (340-380nm) and restriction band of UVB ranges (<300nm) for selected specific applications .
2. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAGYU (WO 2021025063 A1) in view of DELIWALA (US 20160035914 A1).
Regarding claim 4, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an entire wavelength range
Regarding claim 5, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an entire wavelength range
Regarding claim 6, YAGYU discloses that wherein the second transmission band (fig. 7; 0 degree at approximately > 15%; and/or is 10% greater than the first restriction band (shown as < 5%/at approximately 1-2%), see applicant’s para. [0022]) is further present over an
But YAGYU fails to explicitly disclose the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 380 nm or more and less than 400 nm;
wherein the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 360 nm or more and less than 380 nm.; and
wherein the second transmission band is further present over an entire wavelength range of 340 nm or more and less than 360 nm
DELIWALA, however, discloses a bandpass multilayer filter stack that is configurable for different wavelength ranges [0007] and that has a transmission band present over an entire wavelength range of 380 nm or more and less than 400 nm; 360nm-380nm; and/or 240nm-360nm (fig. 7; 704) [0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YAGYU , with the above claimed filter transmission wavelength ranges, as taught by DELIWALA, to use for enabling a UV filter configuration that can provide a particular transmission curve(s) of interest [0007] for selected specific applications [0007].
2. Claim(s) 7-9 and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAGYU (WO 2021025063 A1) in view of IMAMURA et al. (WO 2022039216 A1).
Regarding claims 7-9, YAGYU discloses that the transmission spectrum of the zero-degree light further has a second restriction band (fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%) that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of
But YAGYU fails to disclose second restriction band that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less.
IMAMURA, however, discloses a UV light optical bandpass filter for 0 degree UV light (fig. 8) that has a restriction band from 240nm-280nm and
a second restriction band (fig. 8; 0 degree < 5%) that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less (fig. 8, from 200nm-~ 205nm at least).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YAGYU, with an optical bandpass filter configuration that has a restriction band that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less, as taught by IMAMURA, to use to mitigate undesired UV light wavelengths per specific application.
Regarding claim 14, YAGYU discloses wherein the dielectric multilayer film (21) includes a laminate in which high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers are may have”
(Note claim limitations that “may” exist, also “may not” exist and are therefore not further limiting).
But YAGYU fails to disclose the dielectric multilayer film includes a laminate in which high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers are alternately laminated, and the laminate “may” have a film thickness of 1.0 µm or more and 3.0 µm or less.
IMAMURA, however, discloses an optical bandpass filer composed of a dielectric multilayer film (fig. 1; 3, composed of 5, 4) includes a laminate (pgs. 3-4) in which high refractive index layers (4) and low refractive index layers (5) are alternately laminated (pgs. 3-4), and the laminate has a film thickness of 1.0 µm or more and 3.0 µm or less (pgs. 3-4) (pg. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of YAGYU, with the above claimed dielectric multilayer film, as taught by IMAMURA, to use as a substitution of one known filter configuration (i.e. dielectric multilayer film that includes a laminate in which high refractive index layers and low refractive index layers are alternately laminated, and the laminate has a film thickness of 1.0 µm or more and 3.0 µm or less) for another to obtain predictable UV light transmission and restriction filtering results.
Moreover, regarding claim 15, IMAMURA discloses that the laminate (fig. 1; 3, composed of 5, 4) has a film thickness of 1.0 μm or more and 2.0 μm or less (pgs. 4 and 8)
(pg. 4, Note thickness of 1000nm or more) .
(fig. 1; dielectric multilayer film 3, composed of 5, 4)
(Note Hf02 Hafnium oxide, also known as hafnium dioxide. Note SiO2 Silicon dioxide, also known as silica); and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 14, see previous.
Moreover, regarding claim 16, IMAMURA discloses that the laminate (fig. 1; 3, 4, 5) has HfO2 layers (4) (pgs. 3-4) and SiO2 layers (5) (pgs. 3-4) alternately laminated (pgs. 3-4) , and the HfO2 layers that are all included in the laminate have a total thickness of 0.5 μm or more and less than 2.0 μm (pg. 4) ; and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 14, see previous.
Moreover, regarding claim 17, IMAMURA discloses that the laminate (fig. 1; 3, 4, 5) has HfO2 layers (4) (pgs. 3-4) and SiO2 layers (5) (pgs. 3-4) alternately laminated, and the HfO2 layers that are all included in the laminate have a total thickness of 0.5 μm or more and less than 2.0 μm (pg. 4) ; and is obvious for the reasons discussed supra with reference to claim(s) 14 and/or 15, see previous.
2. Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over YAGYU (WO 2021025063 A1) in view of either of (JP 3970942 B2) or DELIWALA (US 20160035914 A1), hereinafter “the combined references”, as applied respectively to claims 4-6 above;, and further in light of IMAMURA et al. (WO 2022039216 A1).
Regarding claims 10-12, YAGYU discloses that the transmission spectrum of the zero-degree light further has a second restriction band (fig. 7; 0 degree < 5%) that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of
But the combined references fail to disclose second restriction band that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less.
IMAMURA, however, discloses a UV light optical bandpass filter for 0 degree UV light (fig. 8) that has a restriction band from 240nm-280nm and
a second restriction band (fig. 8; 0 degree < 5%) that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less (fig. 8, from 200nm-~ 205nm at least).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA applications) to combine/modify the invention of the combined references, with an optical bandpass filter configuration that has a restriction band that restricts transmission of the zero-degree light in a wavelength band of 200 nm or more and 210 m or less, as taught by IMAMURA, to use to mitigate undesired UV light wavelengths per specific application.
Conclusion
/ANDREW SMYTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881