DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/174,480 on July 6, 2026. Please note Claims 1-18 are pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 18 allowed. Claim 18 recites a plurality of details, such as a base layer, sensor layer and resin layer, with aspects describing the portion of surfaces for each and relative to each other. This level of detail is not taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim
( US 2019/0129554 A1 ) in view of Jin ( US 2020/0136066 A1 ) and Aoki et al.
( US 2015/0097810 A1 ).
Kim teaches in Claim 1:
A display apparatus ( Figure 1, [0030] discloses a display apparatus with an integrated touch screen ) comprising:
a display panel comprising a substrate ( Figure 1, substrate 100 with layers 100, 110, 120 comprising the display panel portion of the display apparatus integrated with a touch screen as described in [0030] ), a display layer on the substrate ( Figure 1, pixel array layer 110 on substrate 100 ), and a thin-film encapsulation layer covering the display layer ( Figure 1, encapsulation layer 120 that covered the thin film TFT layer of the pixel array layer 110 as in [0035] );
an input sensing member comprising a base layer facing the substrate of the display panel, and sensing electrodes above the base layer ( Figure 3, [0062] discloses a touch electrode layer 130 and Figure 4 details some of the layering, including a touch insulation layer 131 (read as a base layer), a plurality of touch electrodes TE1/TE2, etc, arranged on layer 131 );
a resin layer ( Figure 3, [0070] discloses a planarization layer 140 which may be made of various types of resin. As for layering, please note the combination below ); but
Kim does not explicitly teach of “a resin layer between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer, wherein an end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes from an end of the resin layer toward an end of the substrate, wherein a side surface of the resin layer is curved so as to protrude farther from the display layer than outer and inner surfaces of the resin layer, wherein the inner surface faces the substrate of the display panel, the outer surface is opposite the inner surface, the side surface extends from an end of the inner surface to an end of the outer surface and connects the end of the inner surface to the end of the outer surface along a thickness direction intersecting an upper surface of the base layer, and, along the thickness direction, the end of the inner surface is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer, and wherein, along a lateral direction intersecting the thickness direction, the end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes farther in the lateral direction than an outermost portion of the curved side surface that is an outermost portion of the resin layer in the lateral direction”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panel layering, Jin teaches of an akin layout with display aspects, encapsulation aspects, touch aspects, etc, ( Jin, Figure 3, [0077]+ ). In particular, Jin, and in general, the combination teaches:
a [resin] layer between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer ( Jin, Figure 3, [0071] discloses a micro coating layer 133 can be disposed on top of encapsulation layer 113 and please note the combination below as well. Furthermore, for the resin aspects, also please note the combination below ),
wherein an end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes from an end of the resin layer toward an end of the substrate ( Jin, Figure 3 shows the end of encapsulation layer 113 protruding from an end of 133 (where it meets 141, for example) and it protrudes towards and end of substrate 110. Furthermore, on the right side, 113 extends past 141 as well, if interpreting 141 and 133 together. Kim also teaches in Figure 3 of akin encapsulation layer 120 protruding past the elements above ),
wherein a side surface of the resin layer is curved so as to protrude farther from the display layer than outer and inner surfaces of the resin layer ( Figure 3 shows the side surface of micro coating layer 133 to be curved as protruding away from 111/112, more so than the upper and lower surfaces of the micro coating layer 133. To clarify, the side surface is interpreted as the curved outer layer for 133, the inner surface is interpreted as the border between 133 and 110 and the outer surface is interpreted as the outer/top portion of 133. Please note the annotated Figure 3 below for more details ),
wherein the inner surface faces the substrate of the display panel, the outer surface is opposite the inner surface, the side surface extends from an end of the inner surface to an end of the outer surface and connects the end of the inner surface to the end of the outer surface along a thickness direction intersecting an upper surface of the base layer ( As noted with the interpretations above, the inner surface faces/is closest to the display aspects 111/112, the outer surface is opposite to this and the side surface is at the left most point of 133, to the extreme/extending from the inner and through the outer. The side surface connects between the interpreted outer and inner surfaces along the thickness direction intersecting the base layer (as detailed below). To further clarify, please note the side surface extends from the end of the inner surface (note at the bottom) to an end of the outer surface (note at the top) along the thickness/height direction ),
along the thickness direction, the end of the inner surface is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer ( The encapsulation layer is 113 and the base layer (as emphasized by the combination below) is 142. As shown, the highlighted inner surface is between these two elements ), and
wherein, along a lateral direction intersecting the thickness direction, the end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes farther in the lateral direction than an outermost portion of the curved side surface that is an outermost portion of the resin layer in the lateral direction ( Kim, Figure 3 shows, in a lateral direction intersecting the vertical thickness direction, the end of encapsulation layer 120 protrudes further the planarization layer 140, disposed above it. Kim in particular teaches the encapsulation layer 120 extends further than the other aspects above it, including the combined resin layer above it )”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the micro coating layer 133 as aspects of the [resin] layer, replacing the planarization layer 140 of Kim, with the motivation that this layer 133 can suppress cutting and damage to the various lens on or in the bending area 133, providing protection to a flexible display device, ( Jin, Figure 3, [0071] ).
Kim and Jin may also not explicitly teach of a resin composition for the claimed resin layer (interpreted in Jin as 133).
However, in the analogous art of touch-integrated display devices, Aoki teaches touch panel 3 with touch panel electrodes 3a and 3b placed above a touch panel substrate 3c (read as similar to the base layer of Kim and note Jin also teaches of a display substrate as well, element 110), wherein the touch panel substrate is located above display device layers, ( Aoki, Figure 1, [0028], [0033]-[0034]. The display device layers include the array substrate 4 similar to Jin’s substrate, a sealing layer 6 covering a display layer 5 similar to Jin’s encapsulation layer, and an optical substrate 9. As for the resin aspect, Aoki teaches in Figure 1, [0033] of a seal material 7 and filler 8 and this is made of a thermosetting resin that prevents moisture from infiltrating (akin to the functionality of Jin’s micro coating layer). Respectfully, resin is a well known material used for this purpose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement Furthermore, resin is a well known material used in these situations, ( Aoki, [0033] ). Jin’s micro coating layer 133 is also used to suppress cutting and damage to various lines, ( Jin, [0071] ) and resin is a popular material to provide this protection.
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 2:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the thin-film encapsulation layer comprises at least one inorganic encapsulation layer and at least one organic encapsulation layer. ( Kim, [0058], The encapsulation layer 120 according to an embodiment can include a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer. Jin, Figure 3, [0073] discloses the encapsulation layer 113 can have a three layered structure with an inorganic and organic film )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 3:
The display apparatus of claim 2, wherein an end of the at least one inorganic encapsulation layer protrudes from the resin layer toward the end of the substrate. ( Kim, [0058], The encapsulation layer 120 according to an embodiment can include a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer and protruded past other layers in the display as in Figure 1. Jin, Figure 3 shows the end of encapsulation layer (comprising the inorganic layer) protrudes from the start of 133 towards the substrate 110 )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 4:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the end of the thin-film encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the substrate. ( Kim, Figure 1; [0057], encapsulation layer 120 surrounded the pixel array layer 110 and contacted substrate, such that the pixel array layer 110 is completely surrounded, as shown in Figure 1 for example, by having one surface of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the substrate 100 and all other surfaces of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the encapsulation layer 120. Jin, Figure 3 shows encapsulation layer 113 to be in contact with substrate 110 )
Kim teaches in Claim 5:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the display layer comprises a buffer layer between the substrate and the thin-film encapsulation layer. ( [0034], buffer layer was optionally provided on the surface of the substrate )
Kim teaches in Claim 6:
The display apparatus of claim 5, wherein the buffer layer comprises at least one of silicon oxide and silicon nitride, and the end of the thin-film encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the at least one of silicon oxide and silicon nitride. ( [0034, buffer layer was optionally provided on the surface of the substrate and the buffer layer was made of silicon oxide and silicon nitride. Furthermore, when included, it would clearly contact the encapsulation layer 120 )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 7:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the end of the thin-film encapsulation layer is closer to the resin layer than the end of the substrate. ( Figure 1, encapsulation layer 120 did not reach the end of the substrate 100 so it was closer aligned to the film adhesive member layer 160. Jin, Figure 3 shows the end of encapsulation layer 113 is closer to 133 than to the end of substrate 110 )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 8:
The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the substrate and the base layer comprise glass. ( [0032] and [0078], substrate and window cover could have been made of glass. Jin, [0104] discloses the substrate 110 is a glass substrate )
Kim teaches in Claim 9:
A display apparatus ( Figure 1, [0030] discloses a display apparatus with an integrated touch screen ) comprising:
a display panel comprising a substrate ( Figure 1, substrate 100 with layers 100, 110, 120 comprising the display panel portion of the display apparatus integrated with a touch screen as described in [0030] ), a display layer on the substrate ( Figure 1, pixel array layer 110 on substrate 100 ), and a thin-film encapsulation layer covering the display layer ( Figure 1, encapsulation layer 120 that covered the thin film TFT layer of the pixel array layer 110 as in [0035] );
an input sensing member comprising a base layer facing the substrate of the display panel, and sensing electrodes above the base layer ( Figure 3, [0062] discloses a touch electrode layer 130 and Figure 4 details some of the layering, including a touch insulation layer 131 (read as a base layer), a plurality of touch electrodes TE1/TE2, etc, arranged on layer 131 ); but
a resin layer ( Figure 3, [0070] discloses a planarization layer 140 which may be made of various types of resin. As for layering, please note the combination below )
Kim does not explicitly teach of the resin layer “between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer, wherein the resin layer is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer and exposes a portion of a surface of the thin-film encapsulation layer facing the base layer, wherein a portion of a side surface of the resin layer between the substrate and the base layer protrudes away from the display layer so as to protrude farther from the display layer than outer and inner surfaces of the resin layer, wherein the inner surface faces the substrate of the display panel, the outer surface is opposite the inner surface, the side surface extends from an end of the inner surface to an end of the outer surface and connects the end of the inner surface to the end of the outer surface along a thickness direction intersecting an upper surface of the base layer, and, along the thickness direction, the end of the inner surface is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer, and wherein, along a lateral direction intersecting the thickness direction, an end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes farther in the lateral direction than an outermost portion of the curved side surface that is an outermost portion of the resin layer in the lateral direction.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch panel layering, Jin teaches of an akin layout with display aspects, encapsulation aspects, touch aspects, etc, ( Jin, Figure 3, [0077]+ ). In particular, Jin, and in general, the combination teaches:
a [resin] layer “between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer ( Figure 3, [0071] discloses a micro coating layer 133 cane be disposed on top of encapsulation layer 113 and please note the combination below as well. Furthermore, for the resin aspects, also please note the combination below ), wherein the resin layer is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer and exposes a portion of a surface of the thin-film encapsulation layer facing the base layer ( Please note the combination below. However, micro coating layer 133 exposes a portion of encapsulation layer 113 as shown, namely the protruding portion ), wherein a portion of a side surface of the resin layer between the substrate and the base layer protrudes away from the display layer so as to protrude farther from the display layer than outer and inner surfaces of the resin layer ( Figure 3 shows the side surface of micro coating layer 133 to be curved as protruding away from 111/112, more so than the upper and lower surfaces of the micro coating layer 133. To clarify, the side surface is interpreted as the curved outer layer for 133, the inner surface is interpreted as the border between 133 and 110 and the outer surface is interpreted as the outer/top portion of 133. Please note the annotated Figure 3 below for more details ),
wherein the inner surface faces the substrate of the display panel, the outer surface is opposite the inner surface, the side surface extends from an end of the inner surface to an end of the outer surface and connects the end of the inner surface to the end of the outer surface along a thickness direction intersecting an upper surface of the base layer ( As noted with the interpretations above, the inner surface faces/is closest to the display aspects 111/112, the outer surface is opposite to this and the side surface is at the left most point of 133, to the extreme/extending from the inner and through the outer. The side surface connects between the interpreted outer and inner surfaces along the thickness direction intersecting the base layer (as detailed below). To further clarify, please note the side surface extends from the end of the inner surface (note at the bottom) to an end of the outer surface (note at the top) along the thickness/height direction ), and, along the thickness direction, the end of the inner surface is between the thin-film encapsulation layer and the base layer ( The encapsulation layer is 113 and the base layer (as emphasized by the combination below) is 142. As shown, the highlighted inner surface is between these two elements ), and wherein, along a lateral direction intersecting the thickness direction, ab end of the thin-film encapsulation layer protrudes farther in the lateral direction than an outermost portion of the curved side surface that is an outermost portion of the resin layer in the lateral direction ( Kim, Figure 3 shows, in a lateral direction intersecting the vertical thickness direction, the end of encapsulation layer 120 protrudes further the planarization layer 140, disposed above it. Kim in particular teaches the encapsulation layer 120 extends further than the other aspects above it, including the combined resin layer above it )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the micro coating layer 133 as aspects of the [resin] layer, replacing the planarization layer 140 of Kim, with the motivation that this layer 133 can suppress cutting and damage to the various lens on or in the bending area 133, providing protection to a flexible display device, ( Jin, Figure 3, [0071] ).
Kim and Jin may also not explicitly teach of a resin composition for the claimed resin layer (interpreted in Jin as 133).
However, in the analogous art of touch-integrated display devices, Aoki teaches touch panel 3 with touch panel electrodes 3a and 3b placed above a touch panel substrate 3c (read as similar to the base layer of Kim and note Jin also teaches of a display substrate as well, element 110), wherein the touch panel substrate is located above display device layers, ( Aoki, Figure 1, [0028], [0033]-[0034]. The display device layers include the array substrate 4 similar to Jin’s substrate, a sealing layer 6 covering a display layer 5 similar to Jin’s encapsulation layer, and an optical substrate 9. As for the resin aspect, Aoki teaches in Figure 1, [0033] of a seal material 7 and filler 8 and this is made of a thermosetting resin that prevents moisture from infiltrating (akin to the functionality of Jin’s micro coating layer). Respectfully, resin is a well known material used for this purpose.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement Furthermore, resin is a well known material used in these situations, ( Aoki, [0033] ). Jin’s micro coating layer 133 is also used to suppress cutting and damage to various lines, ( Jin, [0071] ) and resin is a popular material to provide this protection.
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 10:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein, in a plan view, an area of the resin layer is less than an area of the thin-film encapsulation layer. ( Kim, Figure 1; [0057], encapsulation layer 120 surrounded the pixel array layer 110 and contacted substrate, such that the pixel array layer 110 is completely surrounded, as shown in Figure 1 for example, by having one surface of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the substrate 100 and all other surfaces of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the encapsulation layer 120, therefore it had more surface area than the film member adhesive 160. Jin, Figure 3, this is evident from comparing micro coating layer 133 and encapsulation layer 113 )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 11:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein, in a plan view, the resin layer is located inside an edge of the thin-film encapsulation layer. ( Kim, Figure 1; [0057], encapsulation layer 120 surrounded the pixel array layer 110 and contacted substrate, such that the pixel array layer 110 is completely surrounded, as shown in Figure 1 for example, by having one surface of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the substrate 100 and all other surfaces of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the encapsulation layer 120, therefore the film member adhesive 160 and it was located within the edges of encapsulation layer 120. Jin, Figure 3 shows the micro coating layer 133 is located/starts from within the protruding portion of encapsulation layer 113 )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 12:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein an end of the thin-film encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the substrate. ( Figure 1; [0057], encapsulation layer 120 surrounded the pixel array layer 110 and contacted substrate, such that the pixel array layer 110 is completely surrounded, as shown in Figure 1 for example, by having one surface of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the substrate 100 and all other surfaces of the pixel array layer 110 covered by the encapsulation layer 120. Jin, Figure 3 shows the end of encapsulation layer 113 is in direct contact with substrate 110 )
Kim teaches in Claim 13:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the display layer comprises a buffer layer between the substrate and the thin-film encapsulation layer. ( [0034], buffer layer was optionally provided on the surface of the substrate )
Kim teaches in Claim 14:
The display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the buffer layer comprises at least one of silicon oxide and silicon nitride, and an end of the thin-film encapsulation layer is in direct contact with the at least one of silicon oxide and silicon nitride. ( [0034, buffer layer was optionally provided on the surface of the substrate and the buffer layer was made of silicon oxide and silicon nitride )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 15:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the substrate and the base layer comprise glass. ( [0032] and [0078], substrate and window cover could have been made of glass. Jin, [0104] discloses the substrate 110 is a glass substrate )
Kim and Jin teach in Claim 17:
The display apparatus of claim 9, wherein the thin-film encapsulation layer comprises at least one inorganic encapsulation layer and at least one organic encapsulation layer. ( [0058], The encapsulation layer 120 according to an embodiment can include a first inorganic encapsulation layer, an organic encapsulation layer. Figure 3, [0073] discloses the encapsulation layer 113 can have a three layered structure with an inorganic and organic film )
7. Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim
( US 2019/0129554 A1 ) in view of Jin ( US 2020/0136066 A1 ) and Aoki et al.
( US 2015/0097810 A1 ), as applied to Claim 9, further in view of Kang et al.
( US 2018/0190734 A1 ).
As per Claim 16:
Kim, Jin and Aoki do not explicitly teach “wherein, in a plan view, an area of the base layer is greater than an area of the thin-film encapsulation layer.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, display layering, Kang teaches of a second base/substrate 40, ( Kang, Figure 2, [0036 ), which is akin to Kim’s window 190 (also please note the touch array 45 associated with the substrate 40). Kang also teaches of an encapsulation layer 150, akin to Kim’s encapsulation layer 120. As it can be seen in the figure, when looking at the plan view of Figure 2, at a direction intersecting an upper surface substrate 40 (examiner interprets the intersecting as looking down from substrate 40, perpendicular to 40, etc) the area of the substrate 40 is greater than the area of the encapsulation layer 150. To clarify, this is because the width of 40 is larger than the width of 150, when again, looking at a direction intersecting the upper surface of 40. As combined, Kim’s window could be adjusted as desired based on the window characteristics, the touch characteristics below/above it, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the area sizing of the layers, as taught by Kang, with the motivation that the sizing of the base 40 will be advantageous for flexibility, ( Kang, [0077] ). Furthermore, the encapsulation layer 150 is made smaller in width/area to allow the adhesive layer to surround the encapsulation layer, providing flexibility and protection, ( Kang, [0046] ).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Applicant’s representative, Attorney Jason Martone, is thanked for his time to discuss the application in an interview held on June 29, 2026. In light of the interview, claim amendments were made to better define the invention.
With regards to Claim 18, the claim has been marked allowable over prior art. However, for other claims, such as Claim 1, the amendments, respectfully, do not distinguish over the teachings of the combination together. Kim teaches of an encapsulation layer which extends farther, in the lateral direction, than the other components above it. Such a feature reasonably reads, in combination, over the claim language amendments.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621