DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 8-10 were also withdrawn as set forth in the previous office action, therefore the status identifiers of all amendments henceforth should reflect claims 4 and 8-20 as being withdrawn. It is noted that the response filed 04/15/2026 does not correctly reflect the status of claims 4 and 8-10.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the “continuous single unit” does not appear to be present in the original specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2, “the entire length” should be changed to “an entire length” for further clarification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,030,369 to Engelson et al. (“Engelson”).
Regarding claim 1, Engelson teaches a catheter comprising an elongate tubular body (103, Fig. 2) having a proximal end portion (131) and a distal end portion (135) and extending the entire length of the catheter (Fig. 2), the elongate tubular body comprising: an inner liner (114) comprising a first surface (inner surface of 114) and a second surface (outer surface of 114), the first surface defining a lumen of the elongate tubular body (Fig. 2), and one or more outer layers (116) over the second surface of the inner liner, wherein the inner liner comprises a continuous single unit (Fig. 2) constructed from a lubricious material (claim 9, PTFE) and extending the entire length of the catheter, the inner liner comprises a first thickness (thickness of 129) at the proximal end portion of the elongate tubular body and a second thickness (thickness of 136) at the distal end portion of the elongate tubular body, the second thickness being smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 2), but does not show the continuous single unit.
Regarding claim 2, Engelson teaches the catheter of claim 1 as shown above, Engelson further teaching the second surface of the inner liner defines a first outer diameter (diameter at 129) at the proximal end portion (flat proximal portion of 129 before 126) of the elongate tubular body and a second outer diameter (diameter at 136) at the distal end portion (flat distal portion of 136 after 127) of the elongate tubular body, the second outer diameter being smaller than the first outer diameter (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Engelson teaches the catheter of claim 2 as shown above, Engelson further teaching the first outer diameter defined by the second surface of the inner liner at the proximal end portion is substantially constant (the flat portion of 129 as previously defined is substantially constant), the second outer diameter defined by the second surface of the inner liner at the distal end portion is substantially constant (the flat portion of 136 as previously defined is substantially constant), and the second surface of the inner liner further comprises a transition section (126/130/127) having a tapering function from the first outer diameter to the second outer diameter (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Engelson teaches the catheter of claim 2 as shown above, Engelson further teaching the first surface of the inner liner defines a diameter of the lumen substantially constant between the proximal end portion and the distal end portion of the elongate tubular body (Fig. 2, the diameter of the lumen is substantially constant).
Regarding claim 6, Engelson teaches the catheter of claim 2 as shown above, Engelson further teaching the inner line being constructed from a material comprising polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (claim 9).
Regarding claim 7, Engelson teaches the catheter of claim 6 as shown above, Engelson further teaching the first outer diameter defined by the second surface of the inner liner at the proximal end portion is substantially constant (the flat portion of 129 as previously defined is substantially constant), the second outer diameter defined by the second surface of the inner liner at the distal end portion is substantially constant (the flat portion of 136 as previously defined is substantially constant), and the second surface of the inner liner further comprises a transition section (126/130/127) having a tapering function from the first outer diameter to the second outer diameter (Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Engelson as shown above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783