DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
No limitations were interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “the control unit is configured to simulate an optical effect of the external pressure by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body, by the changing of the transmissivity, without application of pressure by a person” in lines 9-11, which is new matter. At most, the specification of the published application indicates “the pulse wave generation apparatus 2 may simulate the pulse wave signal PPG of the human body” in ¶¶ [0117], [0128]; “The memory 253 may store data for generating the pulse wave light of the pulse wave generation apparatus 2” in ¶ [0078]; “The memory 253 may output the stored data to the calculation unit 252” in ¶ [0078]; and “The calculation unit 252 may output the generated optical adjustment signal LCS (see FIG. 10) to the optical adjustment unit 22” in ¶ [0078]. However, there is no indication that the control unit is configured to perform the simulation without application of pressure by a person, and the specification does not depict a simulation mode.
Claims 1-9, 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “simulate an optical effect of the external pressure by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body, by the changing of the transmissivity, without application of pressure by a person” in lines 9-11. First, it is unclear what “an optical effect of the external pressure” means. One of ordinary skill in the art would not understand how an optical effect is a property of the external pressure, and the specification does not provide clarification. Page 8 of the Amendment filed 12/03/2025 indicates that “it was not the quantity of pressure that gave rise to the optical effect, but the fact that an actual human finger pressing down upon the surface of the sensor is the pressure that exerts the optical effect of incident light”. However, this statement describes “the optical effect of incident light”, and it does not clarify what “an optical effect of the external” means. Additionally, this recitation appears to contradict the recitation of “without application of pressure by a person” of line 11 of claim 1. Second, “simulate an optical effect of the external pressure by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body” suggests that the simulation of the optical effect is achieved by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body, which is unclear. One of ordinary skill would not understand how simulating any pulse wave signal amounts to simulating an optical effect of an external pressure sensed by a pressure sensor.
Claims 2-9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the pressure measurement value includes a plurality of values” in line 2. It is unclear how a single pressure measurement value includes a plurality of values. Claim 8, 11, and 17 recite similar features, so they are rejected on similar grounds. For the purposes of examination, (A) the recitations “a pressure measurement value” claims 1 and 10 will be interpreted to recite “at least one pressure measurement value”, and (B) recitations of “the pressure measurement value” in claims 2, 8, 11, and 17 will be interpreted to be “the at least one pressure measurement value”.
Claims 12-16 and 18-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claims 11 and 17, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0356345 A1 (Li) (previously cited) in view of US 2006/0104824 A1 (Schnall), US 2017/0031491 A1 (Bao) (previously cited), and US 2002/0159491 A1 (Jiang) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 1, Li teaches a pulse wave generation apparatus (¶ [0057] and Fig. 1 depict a pressure visualization device for use in the field of blood pressure monitoring, wherein the device is capable of visualizing pressure changes (i.e., pulses)), comprising: a pressure sensor configured to sense an external pressure (¶¶ [0057]-[0058], [0060] and Fig. 1 depict a piezoelectric module 20 configured to sense a pressure signal); an optical adjustor configured to change an emittance of light in a simulation mode (¶ [0061] disclose an electrochromic module 30 configured to emit light and displaying detected pressure, which provides a visual simulation of the pressure); and a control unit outputting an optical adjustment signal for changing the emission of light based on a pressure measurement value received from the pressure sensor to the optical adjustment unit (¶¶ [0073], [0075] discloses a current amplifying circuit configured to amplify a minute current to drive the electrochromic layer 30 to emit light efficiently, wherein the piezoelectric module 20 generates the current based on the applied pressure), wherein the control unit is configured to simulate an optical effect of the external pressure by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body, by the changing of the emittance (¶ [0061] discloses visualization of the pressure signal; ¶ [0057] discloses sensing a pressure change on the surface of the test subject. The above disclosures indicate that the control unit is configured to simulate a pulse wave signal when the surface of the test subject conveys a pressure signal reflective of the pulse wave signal).
Li is silent regarding whether the control unit is configured to simulate the optical effect without application of pressure by a person.
In the same field of endeavor of generating a pulse wave, Schnall teaches simulating an optical effect of a pulse wave without application of pressure by a person (¶ [0106] and Fig. 16 depict a model 150 comprising a light source 153 driven by a function generator 154 which is capable of generating waveforms 155 simulating the optical density changes accompanying the pulse wave in the given body part). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of Li to incorporate that it simulates the optical effect without application of pressure by a person as taught by Schnall. The motivation would have been to provide the device with calibration functionalities, which substantially improves the diagnostic performance and/or the reproducibility of the measurements when using probes for the non-invasive detection of various medical conditions (see ¶¶ [0034]-[0035] of Schnall).
The above combination is silent regarding changing the transmissivity of light.
In the same field of endeavor of electrochromic devices, Bao teaches electrochromic device circuitry for controlling optical properties, such as optical transmission, absorption, reflectance, and/or emittance, in a continual and reversible manner based on application of a voltage (¶ [0073]), wherein the optical properties are responsive to an electronic force sensors (¶ [0074]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical adjustment unit of Li to incorporate changing the transmissivity of light based on a force/pressure value as taught by Bao. The motivation would have been to improve the visualization of the pressure.
Although Li teaches a resin layer 60 underneath the electrochromic module 30 (Fig. 1 of Li), wherein the resin layer 60 is a SU-8 negative photoresist (¶ [0091] of Li), the above combination is silent regarding a reflection unit reflecting the light.
In a system relevant to the problem of guiding light, Jiang teaches depositing a reflective material on a photoresist SU-8 (¶ [0029]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the resin layer 60 of Li of the above combination to incorporate that a reflective material is deposited on top of the resin layer as taught by Jiang. The motivation would have been to improve visualization of the changes in the optical properties of the electrochromic module by reflecting more light.
With regards to claim 5, the above combination teaches or suggests the optical adjustor includes a lower electrode, an upper electrode, and an electrochromic layer interposed between the lower electrode and the upper electrode (Fig. 1 and ¶ [0059] of Li depicts the electrochromic module 30 comprising a lower electrode (third electrode 301), and upper electrode (fourth electrode 302) and an electrochromic layer 303 between 301 and 302).
With regards to claim 6, the above combination teaches or suggests the upper electrode or the lower electrode receives a voltage according to the optical adjustment signal and adjusts a transmissivity of the electrochromic layer (¶ [0075] of Li discloses a current is applied to the electrochromic module to emit the light; ¶ [0073] of Bao teaches optical transmission of the ECD being modulated based on application of a voltage; see the above combination of Li in view of Bao regarding the optical adjustment unit being configured to adjust a transmissivity of light).
Claims 2-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Schnall, Bao, and Jiang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2012/0302902 A1 (Shin) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 2, the above combination teaches or suggests that the pressure measurement value includes a plurality of values (¶ [0075] of Li indicates that the current changes as the surface pressure of the detection subject changes, which indicates that the pressure sensor is configured for generating a plurality of pressure values), the control unit is configured to determine the optical adjustment signal based on each pressure change section (¶¶ [0073], [0075] of Li discloses a current amplifying circuit configured to amplify a minute current to drive the electrochromic layer 30 to emit light efficiently, wherein the piezoelectric module 20 generates the current based on the applied pressure. The Examiner asserts that the current amplifying circuit will necessarily determine a current signal corresponding to changes in pressure).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the control unit is configured to detect the plurality of values sensed by the pressure sensor as first to N-th pressure sections, wherein N is a positive integer.
In the same field of endeavor of determining pulse waves, Shin teaches a control unit (¶ [0048] discloses a computer/monitor comprising a pulse wave amplitude detection unit) configured to detect the plurality of values sensed by the pressure sensor as first to N-th pressure sections, wherein N is a positive integer (¶ [0016] discloses a pressure sensor for determining a pulse wave, and dividing the pulse wave signals into a plurality of window sections; ¶ [0061] teaches the pulse wave amplitude detection unit divides pulse wave signal into a plurality of window sections based on the number of waveforms, which is a positive integer). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of the above combination to incorporate that it is configured to detect the plurality of values sensed by the pressure sensor as first to N-th pressure sections, wherein N is a positive integer, as taught by Shin. The motivation would have been to identify individual pulsations, thereby allowing for a more detailed determination of features of the pulse wave.
Because the above combination of Li in view of Shin teaches or suggests the current amplifying circuit of Li generating a current signal that reflects the pulse wave of Shin, the above combination results in the current amplifying circuit of Li calculating the optical adjustment signal corresponding to each of the first to N-th pressure sections of Shin.
With regards to claim 3, the above combination teaches or suggests that the optical adjustment signal has a waveform including a peak in each of the first to N-th pressure sections (¶ [0065] of Shin teaches each window having a minimum amplitude value of the pulse wave; ¶¶ [0073], [0075] of Li teaches the current corresponding to the pressure sensor being amplified and driving; The above combination of Li in view of Shin teaches or suggests the current amplifying circuit of LI generating a current signal that reflects the pulse wave of Shin).
With regards to claim 8, the above combination teaches or suggests that the pressure measurement value includes a plurality of values (¶ [0075] of Li indicates that the current changes as the surface pressure of the detection subject changes, which indicates that the pressure sensor is configured for generating a plurality of pressure values), the control unit is configured to determine the optical adjustment signal corresponding to each pressure change section (¶¶ [0073], [0075] of Li discloses a current amplifying circuit configured to amplify a minute current to drive the electrochromic layer 30 to emit light efficiently, wherein the piezoelectric module 20 generates the current based on the applied pressure. The Examiner asserts that the current amplifying circuit will necessarily determine a current signal corresponding to changes in pressure).
The above combination is silent regarding whether the control unit is configured to detect the plurality of values as first to N-th pressure sections, and determine the optical adjustment signal based on the first to N-th pressure sections, the determined optical adjustment signal including a plurality of waveforms, each of the plurality of waveforms having a different amplitude.
In the same field of endeavor of determining pulse waves, Shin teaches a control unit (¶ [0048] discloses a computer/monitor comprising a pulse wave amplitude detection unit) configured to determine the pressure measurement value sensed by the pressure sensor as first to N-th pressure sections (¶ [0016] discloses a pressure sensor for determining a pulse wave, and dividing the pulse wave signals into a plurality of window sections; ¶ [0061] teaches the pulse wave amplitude detection unit divides pulse wave signal into a plurality of window sections based on the number of waveforms, which is a positive integer), and determined the pressure sections including a plurality of waveforms, each of the plurality of waveforms having a different amplitude (¶ [0016] discloses the feature window corresponding to at least one wave because each window has a minimum amplitude pulse; Fig. 7 depicts at least one minimum amplitude value of a feature window being different from that of a different feature window; ¶ [0049] discloses a minimum amplitude value and a maximum amplitude value in each window). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of the above combination to incorporate that it is configured to detect the pressure measurement value sensed by the pressure sensor as first to N-th pressure sections, and the determined the pressure sections including a plurality of waveforms, each of the plurality of waveforms having a different amplitude as taught by Shin. The motivation would have been to identify individual pulsations, thereby allowing for a more detailed determination of features of the pulse wave.
Because the above combination of Li in view of Shin teaches or suggests the current amplifying circuit of Li generating a current signal that reflects the pulse wave of Shin, the above combination results in the current amplifying circuit of Li determining the optical adjustment signal based on the first to N-th pressure sections, the determined optical adjustment signal including a plurality of waveforms, each of the plurality of waveforms having a different amplitude.
With regards to claim 9, the above combination teaches or suggests that the a first amplitude of a first waveform of the plurality of waveforms is greater than a second amplitude of a second waveform of the plurality of waveforms (Fig. 7 depicts at least one minimum amplitude value of a feature window being different from that of a different feature window; ¶¶ [0073], [0075] of Li teaches the current corresponding to the pressure sensor being amplified; The above combination of Li in view of Shin teaches or suggests the current amplifying circuit of LI generating a current signal that reflects the pulse wave of Shin).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Schnall, Bao, Jiang, and Shin, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of 2010/0324430 A1 (Inoue) (previously cited).
With regards to claim 4, the above combination is silent regarding whether the pressure sections include an M-th pressure section, wherein M is an integer greater than 1 and smaller than N, and wherein the control unit is configured to calculate amplitudes of first to M-th optical adjustment signal portions so that the optical adjustment signal sequentially increases in the first to M-th pressure sections, and is configured to calculate amplitudes of M-th to N-th optical adjustment signal portions so that the optical adjustment signal sequentially decreases in the M-th to N-th pressure sections.
In a system relevant to the problem of pulse wave analysis, Inoue teaches that a pressure sensor is configured to determine pressure sections that include an M-th pressure section, wherein M is an integer greater than 1 and smaller than N, (Fig. 2 and ¶ [0043] depicts pulse wave amplitude values spanning from a first section to a last section (i.e., N-th), wherein a maximum amplitude value corresponds to an M-th section), wherein the pulse wave amplitudes of the first to M-th sections sequentially increases and the pulse wave amplitudes of the M-th to N-th sections sequentially decreases (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the above combination to incorporate that the pressure sensor is configured to determine pressure sections that include an M-th pressure section, wherein M is an integer greater than 1 and smaller than N,, wherein the pulse wave amplitudes of the first to M-th sections sequentially increases and the pulse wave amplitudes of the M-th to N-th sections sequentially decreases as taught by Inoue. The motivation would have been to provide a more accurate representation of the pulse wave changes.
Because the above combination of Li in view of Shin teaches or suggests the current amplifying circuit of Li generating a current signal that reflects the pulse wave of Shin, the above combination results in the control unit being configured to calculate amplitudes of first to M-th optical adjustment signal portions so that the optical adjustment signal sequentially increases in the first to M-th pressure sections and being configured to calculate amplitudes of M-th to N-th optical adjustment signal portions so that the optical adjustment signal sequentially decreases in the M-th to N-th pressure sections.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Schnall, Bao and Jiang, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 9,581,876 B1 (Cho) (previously cited)
With regards to claim 7, the above combination is silent regarding a light scatterer disposed on one surface of the optical adjustor and configured to scatter light.
In a system relevant to the problem of modulating transmissivity of light, Cho teaches a light scatterer disposed on one surface of the optical adjustor and configured to scatter light (Fig. 3 and Col. 5, lines 18-61 depict an electrolyte layer 115 comprising scattering particles DP, wherein 115 is on a surface of a electrochromic layer of an optical adjustment unit). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical adjustor of the above combination to incorporate a light scatterer disposed on one surface of the optical adjustment unit and configured to scatter light as taught by Cho. The motivation would have been to improve the viewing angle of the device without increasing blurring (Col.1, lines 33-54 of Cho)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is allowed.
With regards to claim 10, the prior art does not teach or suggest an electronic display includes a main processor configured to control a display panel to emit the first light to the optical adjustor, configured to control a photo-sensor to sense a second light transmitted through the optical adjustor and reflected by the reflector to generate light sensing data, configured to control the optical adjustor to generate a pulse wave signal based on the light sensing data and the sensed first applied pressure, and configured to analyze the pulse wave signal to calculate a blood pressure, along with the other features of claim 10.
There are no prior art rejections of claims 11-20 by virtue of their dependence from claim 10.
Claims 11-20 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
US 2021/0356345 A1 (Li) teaches a pressure visualization device that can be used for blood pressure monitoring (¶ [0057]). However, Li is completely silent regarding an electronic display includes a main processor configured to control a display panel to emit the first light to the optical adjustor, configured to control a photo-sensor to sense a second light transmitted through the optical adjustor and reflected by the reflector to generate light sensing data, configured to control the optical adjustor to generate a pulse wave signal based on the light sensing data and the sensed first applied pressure, and configured to analyze the pulse wave signal to calculate a blood pressure. The state of the art provides no teaching or suggestion that would reasonably lead one of skill to arrive at the use of the pressure visualization device of Li with the claimed display device absent improper hindsight or an otherwise inarticulate combination of inadequate teachings.
US 2019/0380624 A1 (Ota) (previously cited) teaches calculation of a blood pressure using reflected light (¶ [0087]). However, Ota and the state of the art does not teach or suggest the use of a pulse wave generation device, which comprises an optical adjustor, in conjunction with a display device configured to transmit light to the optical adjustor.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112
There are new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) necessitated by the claim amendments filed 12/03/2025.
Specifically, claim 1 was rejected for reciting “simulate an optical effect of the external pressure by simulating a pulse wave signal of a human body, by the changing of the transmissivity, without application of pressure by a person” in lines 9-11. Although page 8 of the Amendment filed 12/03/2025 indicates that “it was not the quantity of pressure that gave rise to the optical effect, but the fact that an actual human finger pressing down upon the surface of the sensor is the pressure that exerts the optical effect of incident light”, it is unclear what “an optical effect of the external pressure” means. The above arguments describe “the optical effect of incident light”, and it does not clarify what “an optical effect of the external” means. Additionally, this arguments rely upon an actual human finger pressing down upon the surface of the sensor, which appears to contradict the recitation of “without application of pressure by a person” of line 11 of claim 1.
Prior Art Rejections
Applicant's amendment and arguments filed 12/03/2025 with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 09/26/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schnall. Specifically, the previously applied prior combination does not disclose simulating the optical effect of a pulse wave signal without application of pressure by a person but Schnall discloses this feature. Therefore, the previously applied 103 rejection has been modified to incorporate the teachings of Schnall.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.C.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JACQUELINE CHENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791