DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 – 5 and 10 - 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “A difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold” is a vague idea which lacks particularity and distinctness in which to interpret the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20130181360 A1, “Kim”) in view of CHANG et al. (US 20120241795 A1, “CHANG”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (Figs. 3, 6, 9) an optoelectronic apparatus (100), comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (120); a first substrate (110) and a second substrate (310) separately disposed on the PCB (120); an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (105) disposed on the first substrate (para [0022] – [0024]); an optoelectronic component (305) disposed on the second substrate (310); and a flexible printed circuit (FPC) (140), wherein a first end of the FPC is disposed on an upper surface of the first substrate (110) and is electrically connected to the ASIC (para [0027]), and a second end of the FPC is disposed on the second substrate (310) and is electrically connected to the optoelectronic component (See Fig. 3).
Kim is silent on an optoelectronic apparatus and an optoelectronic component.
However, CHANG discloses (Fig. 8) an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106)
Kim and CHANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCN. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of CHANG and provide an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106). Doing so would provide high energy efficiency, design flexibility and low operating costs and long lifespan.
Regarding claim 6, Kim in view of CHANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the optoelectronic apparatus further comprises a first conducting wire, and the first conducting wire is configured to electrically connect the second end of the FPC to the second substrate (See annotated Figure below).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of CHANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the optoelectronic apparatus further comprises a second conducting wire, and the second conducting wire is configured to electrically connect the first end of the FPC to the first substrate (See annotated Figure above).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the first end of the FPC is soldered to the upper surface of the first substrate (para [0027]).
Claim(s) 2 – 5 and 10 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20130181360 A1, “Kim”) in view of CHANG et al. (US 20120241795 A1, “CHANG”) and HUANG (US 20170141469 A1, “HUANG”)
Regarding claim 2, Kim in view of CHANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 1, wherein Kim further discloses the optoelectronic apparatus further comprises a third substrate (615) disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate, the second end of the FPC is disposed on an upper surface of the third substrate, the third substrate is configured to electrically connect the FPC to the optoelectronic component (See Fig. 6, para [0073]), and
Kim in view of CHANG is silent a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold.
However, HUANG discloses a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold (para [0039], [0051], [0063] and [0077]).
Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCB. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of CHANG to incorporate the teachings of HUANG and provide a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold (para [0039], [0051], [0063] and [0077]).Doing so would provide impedance matching, structural flexibility and integration (para [0040] – [0043]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 2, wherein Kim further discloses the upper surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the second end of the FPC, a lower surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the upper surface of the second substrate, (See para [0063]), and
Kim in the embodiment of (Fig. 6) is silent on the upper surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole.
However Kim discloses in the embodiment of (Fig. 5) the upper surface of the third substrate (415) is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole (See para [0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified embodiment of (Fig. 6) to incorporate the teachings of embodiment of (Fig. 5) and provide the upper surface of the third substrate (415) is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole to provide vertical interconnect with the substrate (See para [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein Kim further discloses the upper surface of the third substrate is soldered to the second end of the FPC (See para [0063]).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 3, wherein Kim further discloses the lower surface of the third substrate and the upper surface of the second substrate are soldered using a first ball grid array (BGA) (See Fig. 6). .
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses (Figs. 3, 6, 9) an optoelectronic apparatus, comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (455), a first substrate (445) and a second substrate (645) separately disposed on the PCB; an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (405, 410) disposed on the first substrate (445); an optoelectronic component (605) disposed on the second substrate (645); a flexible printed circuit (FPC) (140), and a third substrate (615) disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate (645), wherein a first end of the FPC is disposed on an upper surface of the PCB and is electrically connected to the ASIC disposed on the first substrate (para [0059]), a second end of the FPC is disposed on an upper surface of the third substrate, and the third substrate is configured to electrically connect the FPC to the optoelectronic component (See Fig. 6, para [0073]), and a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold.
Kim is silent on an optoelectronic apparatus and an optoelectronic component.
However, CHANG discloses (Fig. 8) an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106)
Kim and CHANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCN. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of CHANG and provide an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106). Doing so would provide high energy efficiency, design flexibility and low operating costs and long lifespan.
Kim in view of CHANG is silent a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold.
However, HUANG discloses a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold (para [0039], [0051], [0063] and [0077]).
Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCB. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of CHANG to incorporate the teachings of HUANG and provide a difference between a dielectric constant of a material of the third substrate and a dielectric constant of a material of the FPC is less than a preset dielectric constant threshold (para [0039], [0051], [0063] and [0077]).Doing so would provide impedance matching, structural flexibility and integration (para [0040] – [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 10, wherein Kim further discloses the upper surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the second end of the FPC, a lower surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the upper surface of the second substrate (See para [0063]), and
Kim in the embodiment of (Fig. 6) is silent on the upper surface of the third substrate is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole.
However Kim discloses in the embodiment of (Fig. 5) the upper surface of the third substrate (415) is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole (See para [0055]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified embodiment of (Fig. 6) to incorporate the teachings of embodiment of (Fig. 5) and provide the upper surface of the third substrate (415) is electrically connected to the lower surface of the third substrate using at least one through-hole to provide vertical interconnect with the substrate (See para [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein Kim further discloses the upper surface of the third substrate is soldered to the second end of the FPC (See para [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 11, wherein Kim further discloses the lower surface of the third substrate and the upper surface of the second substrate are soldered using a first ball grid array (BGA) (See Fig. 6).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20130181360 A1, “Kim”) in view of CHANG et al. (US 20120241795 A1, “CHANG”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHIRAO et al. (US 20220057256 A1, “SHIRAO”).
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of CHANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 1,
Kim in view of CHANG is silent on wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material, and a material of the second substrate is ceramic.
However, SHIRAO discloses (Fig. 7) wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material (See para [0057]), and a material of the second substrate is ceramic (See para [0039]).
Kim in view of CHANG and SHIRAO are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCB. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of CHANG to incorporate the teachings of SHIRAO and provide wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material (See para [0057]), and a material of the second substrate is ceramic (See para [0039]). Doing so would enable efficient heat dissipation and provide a material having a small loss of a high frequency signal (para [0039] and [0057])
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses (Figs. 3, 6, 9) an optoelectronic apparatus, comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) (120); a first substrate (110) and a second substrate (310) separately disposed on the PCB; an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) (105) disposed on the first substrate; an optoelectronic component (305) disposed on the second substrate; and a flexible printed circuit (FPC) (140) and a conducting wire, wherein a first end of the FPC is disposed on an upper surface of the PCB and is electrically connected to the ASIC disposed on the first substrate (para [0059]), a first end of the conducting wire is disposed on a second end of the FPC, a second end of the conducting wire is disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate, and Kim further discloses the conducting wire is configured to electrically connect the FPC to the optoelectronic component (See Fig. 6).
Kim is silent on an optoelectronic apparatus and an optoelectronic component.
However, CHANG discloses (Fig. 8) an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106)
Kim and CHANG are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCN. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim to incorporate the teachings of CHANG and provide an optoelectronic apparatus (10) and an optoelectronic component (106). Doing so would provide high energy efficiency, design flexibility and low operating costs and long lifespan.
Kim in view of CHANG is silent a first end of the conducting wire is disposed on a second end of the FPC, a second end of the conducting wire is disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate.
However, SHIRAO discloses (Fig. 1) a first end of the conducting wire is disposed on a second end of the FPC, a second end of the conducting wire is disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate (See annotated figure below).
Kim in view of CHANG and SHIRAO are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCB. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of CHANG to incorporate the teachings of SHIRAO and provide a first end of the conducting wire is disposed on a second end of the FPC, a second end of the conducting wire is disposed on an upper surface of the second substrate (See annotated figure above). Doing so can prevent deterioration of high frequency characteristics (para [0112]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20130181360 A1, “Kim”) in view of CHANG et al. (US 20120241795 A1, “CHANG”) and HUANG (US 20170141469 A1, “HUANG”) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of SHIRAO et al. (US 20220057256 A1, “SHIRAO”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG discloses the optoelectronic apparatus according to claim 11,
Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG is silent on wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material, and a material of the second substrate is ceramic.
However, SHIRAO discloses (Fig. 7) wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material (See para [0057]), and a material of the second substrate is ceramic (See para [0039]).
Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG and SHIRAO are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of PCB. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kim in view of CHANG and HUANG to incorporate the teachings of SHIRAO and provide wherein a material of the FPC is an organic material (See para [0057]), and a material of the second substrate is ceramic (See para [0039]). Doing so would enable efficient heat dissipation and provide a material having a small loss of a high frequency signal (para [0039] and [0057])
Conclusion
/SIDI M MAIGA/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847