DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Previous action: claims 1 through 10 rejected, claims 11 through 20 withdrawn
Present action: claims 1 through 10 and 21 through 30 rejected
Claim Objections
Claims 28 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 28 recites “132” in line 1, the number is extraneous.
Claim 30 recites “132” in line 1, the number is extraneous.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 6. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 6. The electronic component of claim 1, wherein the second cut portion includes multiple segments that extend at a non-zero segment angle to the second direction.
Claim 27. The electronic component of claim 1, wherein the second cut portion includes multiple segments that extend at a non-zero segment angle to the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sato (US 5198794)
Regarding claim 1.
Sato teaches:
An electronic component, comprising: first (fig 8:22b; [column 6 lines 1-5]) and second (fig 8:22a; [column 6 lines 1-5]) terminals;
and a feature (fig 8:23; [column 6 lines 1-5]) having opposite first and second sides spaced apart from one another along a first direction,
third and fourth sides spaced apart from one another along an orthogonal second direction,
and a cut (fig 8:28; [column 6 lines 1-5]) extending in the feature (fig 8:23; [column 6 lines 1-5]) and having a first cut portion,
a second cut portion and a third cut portion,
the first terminal (fig 8:22b; [column 6 lines 1-5]) connected to a portion of the first side, the second terminal (fig 8:22a; [column 6 lines 1-5]) connected to a portion of the second side,
the first cut portion extending from a first end along the third side toward the fourth side substantially along the second direction,
the second cut portion extending from the first cut portion partially toward the second side at a non-zero angle to the second direction,
and the third cut portion extending from the second cut portion toward the fourth side (annotated figure 8).
Regarding claim 2.
Sato teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the cut (fig 8:28; [column 6 lines 1-5]) has a fourth cut portion extending partially toward one of the second and third sides (annotated figure 8).
Regarding claim 3.
Sato teaches the electronic component of claim 2, wherein
the third cut portion (annotated figure 8) extends at least partially along a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature (fig 8:23; [column 6 lines 1-5]).
Regarding claim 21.
Sato teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the third cut portion extends at least partially along a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature (fig 8:23; [column 6 lines 1-5]).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 10, 22, 23, 26, 27, 28, 29, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Hoshii (US 6007755).
Regarding claim 1.
Hoshii teaches:
An electronic component, comprising: first (fig 2:12a; [column 4 lines 45-50]) and second (fig 2:12b; [column 4 lines 45-50]) terminals;
and a feature (fig 2:11; [column 4 lines 50-55]) and having opposite first and second sides spaced apart from one another along a first direction,
third and fourth sides spaced apart from one another along an orthogonal second direction,
and a cut (fig 2:14; [column 4 lines 40-45]) extending in the feature (fig 2:11; [column 4 lines 50-55]) and having a first cut portion (fig 2:141; [column 4 lines 60-65]),
a second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) and a third cut portion (fig 2:145; [column 5 lines 5-12]),
the first terminal (fig 2:12a; [column 4 lines 45-50]) connected to a portion of the first side,
the second terminal (fig 2:12b; [column 4 lines 45-50]) connected to a portion of the second side,
the first cut (fig 2:141; [column 4 lines 60-65]) portion extending from a first end along the third side toward the fourth side substantially along the second direction,
the second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) extending from the first cut portion (fig 2:141; [column 4 lines 60-65]) partially toward the second side at a non-zero angle to the second direction,
and the third cut portion (fig 2:145,146; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extending from the second cut portion toward the fourth side.
Regarding claim 2.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the cut (fig 2:14; [column 4 lines 40-45]) has a fourth cut portion (fig 2; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extending partially toward one of the second and third sides.
Regarding claim 4.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, wherein:
the third cut portion (fig 2:145,146; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extends along the second direction between the first side and a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature (fig 2:11; [column 4 lines 50-55]).
Regarding claim 5.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, wherein:
the third cut portion (fig 2:145,146; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extends along the second direction between the second side and a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature (fig 2:11; [column 4 lines 50-55]).
Regarding claim 6.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) includes multiple segments (fig 2:142,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extend at a non-zero segment angle to the second direction.
Regarding claim 7.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the first cut portion (fig 2:141; [column 4 lines 60-65]) extends along the second direction between the first side and a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature (fig 2:11; [column 4 lines 50-55]).
Regarding claim 10
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the electronic component extends on or in a circuit board (fig 2:13; [column 4 lines 35-40]).
Regarding claim 22.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the third cut portion (fig 2:145,146; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extends along the second direction between the first side and a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature.
Regarding claim 23.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the third cut portion (fig 2:145,146; [column 5 lines 5-12]) extends along the second direction between the second side and a center line that is midway between the first and second sides of the feature.
Regarding claim 26.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the electronic component extends on or in a circuit board (fig 2:13; [column 4 lines 35-40]).
Regarding claim 27.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) includes multiple segments (fig 2:142,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extend at a non-zero segment angle to the second direction.
Regarding claim 28.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, wherein:
the second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) includes multiple segments,
with a first segment (fig 2:142; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends at a non-zero first segment angle to the second direction,
a second segment (fig 2:143; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends along the second direction,
and a third segment (fig 2:144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends at a non-zero second segment angle to the second direction.
Regarding claim 29.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, wherein:
the second cut portion includes multiple segments (fig 2:142,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extend at a non-zero segment angle to the second direction.
Regarding claim 30.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, wherein:
the second cut portion (fig 2:142,143,144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) includes multiple segments,
with a first segment (fig 2:142; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends at a non-zero first segment angle to the second direction,
a second segment (fig 2:143; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends along the second direction,
and a third segment (fig 2:144; [column 4 lines 60-column 5 line 110]) that extends at a non-zero second segment angle to the second direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized and struck through claim limitations indicate limitations that are not explicitly disclosed in the primary reference, but disclosed in the secondary reference(s).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshii (US 6007755) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Yamashita (US 2007/0018781)
Regarding claim 8.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, above
Hoshii does not teach a semiconductor wafer.
Yamashita teaches:
the electronic component (fig 1,2:2; [para 0028]) extends on or in a semiconductor wafer (fig 1:1; [para 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the resistor on a wafer so that the structure can be incorporated into an integrated circuit a resistive component (paragraph 27)
Regarding claim 9.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 1, above
Hoshii does not teach a semiconductor die.
Yamashita teaches:
the electronic component (fig 1,2:2; [para 0028]) extends on or in a semiconductor die ([para 0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the resistor on a semiconductor die so that the structure can be incorporated into an integrated circuit as a resistive component (paragraph 27)
Claim(s) 24 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshii (US 6007755) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Yamashita (US 2007/0018781)
Regarding claim 24.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, above
Hoshii does not teach a semiconductor wafer.
Yamashita teaches:
the electronic component (fig 1,2:2; [para 0028]) extends on or in a semiconductor wafer (fig 1:1; [para 0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the resistor on a semiconductor wafer so that the structure can be incorporated into an integrated circuit as a resistive component (paragraph 27)
Regarding claim 25.
Hoshii teaches the electronic component of claim 2, above
Hoshii does not teach a semiconductor die.
Yamashita teaches:
the electronic component (fig 1,2:2; [para 0028]) extends on or in a semiconductor die ([para 0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the resistor on a semiconductor die so that the structure can be incorporated into an integrated circuit as a resistive component (paragraph 27)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Newly applied references Sato (US 5198794) and Hoshii (US 6007755) anticipate the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 March 30, 2026