DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendment to the claims, filed on December 22nd, 2025, is acknowledged. Entry of amendment is accepted and made of record.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I and Species A directed to Fig. 1A-1D (Claims 1-15 and 23-27) in the reply filed on October 28th, 2025 and December 22nd 2025 and is acknowledged.
Claim 10 recites “etching at least one guide cavity directly in the silicon” which described as guide cavities 114 in non-elected species of Fig. 2A. Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10, 13-15, and 25-26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 9 and 10 recites the limitation “the photodetectors” in line 1 refers back to “an array of photodetectors” in line 3 of claim 1 and the limitation should be amended to “the array of photodetectors” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the first openings” in line 2 refers back to “a first plurality of first openings” in line 7 of claim 11 and the limitation should be amended to “the plurality of first openings” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the at least one second opening” in line 2 refers back to “at least one second opening of the plurality of second openings” and the limitation should be amended to “at least one second opening” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the first openings” in line 2 refers back to “a first plurality of first openings” in line 7 of claim 11 and the limitation should be amended to “the plurality of first openings” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the first and second phases” in line 2 refers back to “a plurality of first phases” and “a plurality of second phases” in lines 5-6 of claim 23 and the limitation should be amended to “each of the plurality of first phases and the plurality of second phases” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “the first phases and the second phases” in line 1 refers back to “a plurality of first phases” and “a plurality of second phases” in lines 5-6 of claim 23 and the limitation should be amended to “the plurality of first phases and the plurality of second phases” for avoiding confusion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama.
Regarding claim 1, Oshiyama discloses a method in Figs. 6A-6E, comprising: forming, by a first etch step (dry etching hard mask 60 and semiconductor substrate 12) (see Figs. 6C-6D and [0130-0131]), at least one first structure (each protrusion of hard mask 60 at each aperture 60A) on a first surface of a photodetector of an array of photodetectors of a light sensor (a top surface of photodiode PD of an array of plurality of photodiodes PD) (see Fig. 6D-6E and [0123-0124], [0131]), the forming including using a mask (resist layer 63 as self-assembled block copolymer) that is a directed self-assembly of a block copolymer (see Figs. 6A-6B and [0126-0129]).
Regarding claim 2, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first structure is facing the photodetector (protrusions of hard mask 60 at aperture 60A facing the photodiode PD) (see Fig. 6D).
Regarding claim 9, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the photodetectors are in a silicon layer (photodiode PD in silicon substrate 12) and the first structures are in an insulating layer (protrusions are in hard mask layer 60) on the silicon layer (see Fig. 6D and [0082], [0125]).
Regarding claim 11, Oshiyama discloses a method in Figs. 6A-6E comprising forming a first layer (hardmask 60) on a first surface of a semiconductor layer (top surface of semiconductor substrate 12) (see Fig. 6A and [0125]); forming a second layer (intermediate layer 61) on the first layer (see Fig. 6B and [0126]); forming a block copolymer (resist layer 63) including a plurality of first phases (second phases 63B) and a plurality of second phases (first phases 63A) (see Fig. 6B and [00127-0129]); removing the plurality of first phases (remove second phase 63B) (see Fig. 6C and [0130]); and forming a plurality of first openings (openings or apertures in top surface of semiconductor substrate 12) in the semiconductor layer through spaces between the plurality of second phases (spaces between first phases 63A) (see Figs. 6C-6D and [0131-0132]).
Regarding claim 12, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the first opening has a first dimension in a first direction (openings/apertures in the top surface of semiconductor substrate 12 having a width in a lateral direction), the first dimension corresponds to the spaces between the plurality of second phases (corresponding to spaces between first phases 63A) (see Figs. 6C-6D).
Claims 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guillorn et al. (Pub. No.: US 2014/0148012 A1), hereinafter as Guillorn.
Regarding claim 23, Guillorn discloses a method in Figs. 1-13B, comprising: forming a first layer (template layer 37) on a substrate (substrate 10), the first layer having a first surface (top surface) opposite a second surface (bottom surface) along a first direction (lateral direction) (see Figs. 1A-1B and [0040-0041]); forming a cavity (a trench) in the first layer extending from the first surface to the second surface (see Figs. 1B-1C and [0048-0052]); forming a block copolymer in the cavity, the block copolymer (copolymer layer 45L) including a plurality of first phases (polymer blocks 50A) and a plurality of second phases (first polymer blocks 40A and 40B) (see Figs. 3A-3B and [0058-0067]); removing the plurality of first phases (remove polymer blocks 50A) (see Figs. 4A-4B and [0070-0072]); and forming a plurality of surface structures (protruding structures of the top surface of substrate 10) in the substrate by etching through openings (openings between first polymer blocks 40A and 40B) between respective second phases of the plurality of second phases (see Figs. 4B-11B and [0073-0104]).
Regarding claim 24, Guillorn discloses the method of claim 23, comprising forming a hard mask layer (combination of layers 32L, 31L, 30L, 22L, 20L, and 12L) on the substrate, the hard mask layer being between the substrate and the first layer (see Fig. 2B and [0040]).
Regarding claim 25, Guillorn discloses the method of claim 23, wherein each of the first and second phases extends entirely through the first layer along the first direction from the first surface to the second surface (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 26, Guillorn discloses the method of claim 23, wherein the first phases and the second phases of the block copolymer are alternating (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 27, Guillorn discloses the method of claim 24, wherein the removing the plurality of first phases includes exposing the substrate by removing portions of the hard mask layer aligned with each of the plurality of first phases along the first direction (removing portions of layers 32L, 31L, 30L, 22L, 20L, and 12L through openings created by removing polymer blocks 50A) (see Figs. 4B-11B and [0073-0104]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama as applied to claims 1 and 11 above.
Regarding claim 3, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a length of the block copolymer is less than 100 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method of forming a length of the block copolymer is less than 100 nm because the features are formed on photodiodes of Oshiyama having diameter of 10 nm or less (see [0136]). Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 4, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 3, but fails to disclose wherein a length of the block copolymer is less than 50 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method of forming a length of the block copolymer is less than 50 nm because the features are formed on photodiodes of Oshiyama having diameter of 10 nm or less (see [0136]). Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 13, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein forming the plurality of first openings includes performing a first etch step (etching semiconductor substrate 12 through hard mask 60 forming apertures 60A) (see Fig. 6D and [0132]). But fails to disclose a pitch of the first openings being, smaller than 100 nm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method of disclose a pitch of the first openings being, smaller than 100 nm because the features are formed on photodiodes of Oshiyama having diameter of 10 nm or less (see [0136]). Since it has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering optimum or workable ranges involve only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233
Regarding claim 14, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 13, comprises a forming, by a second etch step (etching the semiconductor substrate 12 using hardmask 62), a plurality of second openings (openings between uneven structures 45), the at least one second opening having, in a first direction (lateral direction) substantially parallel to the first surface, a first smallest dimension (openings between uneven structures 45 has diameter larger than diameter of opening between protrusions at aperture 60A dues to the shape of the uneven structures 45 became smaller on its top) that is greater than a second smallest dimension of the first openings (see Figs. 6D-6G and [0131-0135]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TIRON et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0118673 A1), hereinafter as Tiron.
Regarding claim 5, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein using the directed self- assembly of the block copolymer includes implementing by chemo-epitaxy.
Tiron discloses a method of forming a directed self-assembly of a block copolymer (block copolymer 400) includes implementing by chemo-epitaxy method (see Fig. 3F and [0092-0120]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of using chemo-epitaxy of Tiron into the method of Oshiyama for forming the directed self-assembly of the block copolymer because modified method would increase assembly kinetic and reduce the number of organization defects for forming structure on devices.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of POSSEME et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0047208 A1), hereinafter as Posseme.
Regarding claim 6, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein using the directed self- assembly of the block copolymer includes implementing by graphoepitaxy.
Posseme discloses a method of forming a directed self-assembly of a block copolymer (block copolymer layer 20) includes implementing by graphoepitaxy method (see Fig. 2 and [0039-0041], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of using graphoepitaxy of Posseme into the method of Oshiyama for forming the directed self-assembly of the block copolymer because modified method would increase greater resolution for creating etching pattern in the method of forming features on devices.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Oshiyama and Posseme discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the first etch step comprises forming through openings (openings between first phase 63A) and then etching from the openings by transferring the mask by directed self-assembly of the block copolymer into a hard mask (transfer first phase 63A into hard mask 60 at each aperture 60A) (see Oshiyama, Figs. 6C-6D and [0129-0131]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama in view of POSSEME et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0047208 A1), hereinafter as Posseme, as applied to claim 6 and further in view of Hsieh et al. (Patent No.: US 9,684, 236 B1), hereinafter as Hsieh.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Oshiyama and Posseme discloses the method according to claim 6, but fails to disclose wherein the directed self-assembly of the block copolymer comprises, for each photodetector, etching of at least one guide cavity, and a depositing the block copolymer into the at least one guide cavity.
Hsieh discloses a method of forming direct self-assembly of the block copolymer comprises forming a plurality of guide cavities (openings 316 in guider HM 310) and depositing the block copolymer (nanostructures 412 and 414 of layer 410 includes block copolymer as direct-self-assembly) into each of the plurality of guide cavities (see Fig. 3 and 4A-4C, column 2, lines 28-36, column 4, lines 25-55).
Applying the method of using a plurality of guide cavities (guider HM 310) of Hsieh for forming at least one guide cavity for each of the array of photodetectors of Oshiyama for depositing the block copolymer into and eventually forming each group of uneven structures (structure 45 from etching aperture 60A) on each of the photodetector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of using plurality of guide cavities of Hsieh into the method of Oshiyama for forming uneven structures on each of the array of photodetectors because modified method would provide a robust, flexible and pseudo-non-lithography method for patterning a material layer with small size pitch.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OSHIYAMA et al. (Pub. No.: US 2024/0128293 A1), hereinafter as Oshiyama as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0273330 A1), hereinafter as Wang.
Regarding claim 15, Oshiyama discloses the method according to claim 11, but fails to disclose wherein the first openings are in random pattern of fingerprint type.
Wang discloses a method of forming a directed self-assembly of block copolymer having random pattern of fingerprint type (see Figs. 5-8 and [0065-0069]).
Modifying the block copolymer of Oshiyama (resist layer 63) for having random pattern of fingerprint type as same as the block copolymer of Wang for transferring the random pattern of fingerprint type to form the plurality of first openings as recited in claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the method of using random pattern of fingerprint type of block of copolymer of Wang into the method of Oshiyama for having the first openings are in random pattern of fingerprint type because the modified method would provide an improved method for patterning micro structures on the substrate with lower manufacturing cost.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818