DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed May 13, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 10-12, 14, 16, and 18-21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-12, 14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et. al. (US 20230058293 A1), hereinafter Liu, in view of Chen et. al. (US 20240349534 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches a pixel structure (Fig 6, [0019]), comprising: first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]), second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), and blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), wherein the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) have a different emission color (green is different than red) different from the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]); in each of repeating units (See annotated figure), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are arranged around (See annotated figure) one of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is entirely located in both a first region (See annotated figure) surrounded by (the second sub-pixel is in a first region surrounded by first sub-pixels; See annotated figure) the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and a second region (See annotated figure) surrounded by (the second sub-pixel is in a second region is surrounded by the blue sub-pixels; See annotated figure) the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are disposed at intervals (See annotated figure), and spacing distances (See annotated figure) between one of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) adjacent to the first sub-pixel are unequal (Fig 3 connecting lines between centers of the blue sub-pixel and different green sub-pixels [first sub-pixel] in a same pixel unit are not equal in length, [0082]) ; and wherein none of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) is located in the second region (See annotated figure).
Liu fails to teach adjacent four blue sub-pixels of each of the second sub-pixels are located at four vertexes of a virtual isosceles trapezoid, respectively, and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is entirely located within the first region.
However, Chen teaches four blue sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixels 103, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) of each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixel 102, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) are located at four vertexes (Figs 1-10). Chen further teaches the center of the light-emitting pixel with one color is located outside a connecting line of the centers of the two light-emitting pixels with another color ([0048]) and the connecting lines have a configuration established such that the regularity of sub pixels is disrupted to improve image quality ([0050]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to adjust the positions of pixels 103, using routine experimentation, such that the four vertexes would form a virtual isosceles trapezoid and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is located entirely within the first region. Thus, by combining the teachings of Chen with Liu the structure of claimed invention would be realized MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 2, Liu as modified in claim 1 fails to teach the spacing distances include at least a first distance and a second distance, a ratio of a sum of the first distance and the second distance to the first distance is 1:0.618.
However, Liu teaches a ratio between the lengths of first sub-pixels and adjacent third/fourth sub-pixels to improve the quality of the display ([0082]). Further, Liu teaches sub-pixels are arranged to prevent color interference between sub-pixels ([0085]). The lengths of the first and second distances and subsequent ratios are therefore result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the lengths of the first and second distances as Liu has identified the distances as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a ratio of a sum of the first distance and the second distance to the first distance is 1:0.618, in order to achieve the desired balance between desired ratio of distances and color interference prevention, as taught by Liu. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed lengths are for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed lengths).
Regarding claim 3, Liu as modified in claim 2 fails to teach the first distance is 97.07 microns and the second distance is 60 microns.
However, Liu teaches a ratio between the lengths of first sub-pixels and adjacent third/fourth sub-pixels to improve the quality of the display ([0083]). Further, Liu teaches sub-pixels are arranged to prevent color interference between sub-pixels ([0085]). The lengths of the first and second distances are therefore result-effective variables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the lengths of the first and second distances as Liu has identified the distances as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a first distance of 97.07 microns and a second distance of 60 microns, in order to achieve the desired balance between desired ratio of distances and color interference prevention, as taught by Liu. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed lengths are for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed lengths).
Regarding claim 4, Liu as modified in claim 2 teaches the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are disposed in a non-linear random arrangement (Fig 6 lines LL3 and LL4 are parallel but not parallel to lines LL5 and LL6; lines LL3-LL6 connect the centers of the first sub-pixel and blue sub-pixel, [0059]).
Liu fails to teach a range of a randomness rate of the non-linear random arrangement is greater than 0 and less than or equal to 5%.
However, Liu teaches preventing the arrangement of sub-pixels of a same color into a column as a whole to alleviate the color edge problem of displays ([0059]). Further, Liu teaches virtual connecting lines between second sub-pixels and third/fourth sub-pixels are not colinear ([0061]). This also reduces the arrangement of sub-pixels of a same color into a column as a whole to alleviate the color edge problem of displays ([0061]). The randomness rate of the non-linear random arrangement is therefore a result-effective variable.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the randomness rate of the non-linear random arrangement as Liu has identified the randomness rate as a result-effective variable. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at greater than 0 and less than or equal to 5%, in order to achieve the desired balance between reduction in the color edge problem and compactness of the display, as taught by Liu. MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, the applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed randomness rate is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e., that the invention would not work without the specific claimed rate).
Regarding claim 5, Liu as modified in claim 2 teaches a number of the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) is greater than (See annotated figure of claim 1) a number of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Liu as modified in claim 5 teaches a ratio of the number of the first sub- pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]): the number of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]): the number of the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) is 1:1:2 (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 10, Liu as modified in claim 2 teaches the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) are arranged in an array (Fig 5).
Regarding claim 11, Liu as modified in claim 1 teaches the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is centered within (See annotated figure of claim 1) each of the repeating units (See annotated figure of claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Liu as modified in claim 1 teaches the spacing distances (See annotated figure) include a first distance (See annotated figure), a second distance (See annotated figure), and a third distance (See annotated figure).
Regarding claim 14, Liu as modified in claim 1 teaches each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is provided with a plurality (Fig 5) of first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Liu as modified in claim 2 teaches each of the first sub-pixels is a red sub-pixel (optional so not considered) and each of the second sub-pixels is a green sub-pixel (optional so not considered); or each of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) is a green sub-pixel (green, [0036]) and each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is a red sub-pixel (red, [0036]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu teaches a display panel (Fig 2 display panel 100, [0032]), comprising a pixel structure (Fig 6, [0019]), wherein the pixel structure (Fig 6, [0019]) comprises: first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]), second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), and blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), wherein the first sub-pixels wherein the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) have a different emission color different (green is different than red) from the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]); in each of repeating units (See annotated figure of claim 1), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are arranged around (See annotated figure) one of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is entirely located in both a first region (See annotated figure of claim 1) surrounded by (the second sub-pixel is in a first region surrounded by first sub-pixels; See annotated figure of claim 1) the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and a second region (See annotated figure of claim 1) surrounded by (the second sub-pixel is in a second region is surrounded by the blue sub-pixels; See annotated figure of claim 1) the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are disposed at intervals (See annotated figure of claim 1), and spacing distances (See annotated figure of claim 1) between one of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) adjacent to the first sub-pixel are unequal (Fig 3 connecting lines between centers of the blue sub-pixel and different green sub-pixels [first sub-pixel] in a same pixel unit are not equal in length, [0082]) ; and wherein none of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) is located in the second region (See annotated figure of claim 1).
Liu fails to teach adjacent four blue sub-pixels of each of the second sub-pixels are located at four vertexes of a virtual isosceles trapezoid, respectively, and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is entirely located within the first region.
However, Chen teaches four blue sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixels 103, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) of each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixel 102, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) are located at four vertexes (Figs 1-10). Chen further teaches the center of the light-emitting pixel with one color is located outside a connecting line of the centers of the two light-emitting pixels with another color ([0048]) and the connecting lines have a configuration established such that the regularity of sub pixels is disrupted to improve image quality ([0050]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to adjust the positions of pixels 103, using routine experimentation, such that the four vertexes would form a virtual isosceles trapezoid and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is entirely located within the first region. Thus, by combining the teachings of Chen with Liu the structure of claimed invention would be realized MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches a display apparatus (Fig 2 display panel 100, [0032]), comprising a pixel structure (Fig 6, [0019]), wherein the pixel structure (Fig 6, [0019]) comprises: first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]), second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), and blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), wherein the first sub-pixels wherein the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) have a different emission color different (green is different than red) from the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]); in each of repeating units (See annotated figure of claim 1), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are arranged around (See annotated figure) one of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]), the second sub-pixel (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) is entirely located in both a first region surrounded by (See annotated figure of claim 1) the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and a second region surrounded by the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]), the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) are disposed at intervals (See annotated figure of claim 1), and spacing distances (See annotated figure of claim 1) between one of the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) and the blue sub-pixels (Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) adjacent thereto are unequal (Fig 3 connecting lines between centers of the blue sub-pixel and different green sub-pixels [first sub-pixel] in a same pixel unit are not equal in length, [0082]) ; and wherein the first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) are not located in the second region (See annotated figure of claim 1). .
Liu fails to teach adjacent four blue sub-pixels of each of the second sub-pixels are located at four vertexes of a virtual isosceles trapezoid, respectively, and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is entirely located within the first region.
However, Chen teaches four blue sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixels 103, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]) of each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 1 pixel 102, [0043] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) are located at four vertexes (Figs 1-10). Chen further teaches the center of the light-emitting pixel with one color is located outside a connecting line of the centers of the two light-emitting pixels with another color ([0048]) and the connecting lines have a configuration established such that the regularity of sub pixels is disrupted to improve image quality ([0050]). One having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to adjust the positions of pixels 103, using routine experimentation, such that the four vertexes would form a virtual isosceles trapezoid and the virtual isosceles trapezoid is entirely located within the first region. Thus, by combining the teachings of Chen with Liu the structure of claimed invention would be realized MPEP 2143(I)(G)
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et. al. (US 20230058293 A1), hereinafter Liu, in view of Chen et. al. (US 20240349534 A1), hereinafter Chen, in view of Zhou et. al. (US 20210313402 A1), hereinafter Zhou.
Regarding claim 7, Liu as modified in claim 2 fails to teach an area of any of the blue sub-pixels is less than an area of any of the second sub-pixels.
However, Zhou teaches that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the blue sub-pixel area can be less than the area of a different color (Fig 1 blue sub-pixel 103 and red sub-pixel 101, [0072]-[0073]). Further, Zhou teaches the size of sub-pixels should be considered based on manufacturing contexts ([0035]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Zhou by having an area of any of the blue sub-pixels be less than an area of any of the second sub-pixels. This would allow the displayed colors to be enriched ([0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Liu fails to teach each of the first sub-pixels has the same size as each of the blue sub-pixels.
However, Zhou teaches each of the first sub-pixels (Fig 8 sub-pixel 101, [0044] corresponds to Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) has the same size (Fig 8, [0044]) as each of the blue sub-pixels (Fig 8 sub-pixel 102, [0044] corresponds to Liu: Fig 5 blue sub-pixels Bx, [0058]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Zhou by each of the first sub-pixels has the same size as each of the blue sub-pixels. This would reduce the manufacturing cost by allowing use of the same mask ([0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest art is Liu et. al. (US 20230058293 A1), hereinafter Liu, in view of Chen et. al. (US 20240349534 A1), hereinafter Chen.
Liu teaches adjacent four first sub-pixels (Fig 5 green sub-pixels Gxx, [0058]) of each of the second sub-pixels (Fig 5 red sub-pixels Rx, [0058]) are located at four vertexes (See annotated figure) of a virtual parallelogram (See annotated figure), respectively; the virtual parallelogram (See annotated figure) is entirely located in the first region (See annotated figure).
Liu and Chen fail to teach a center of the second sub-pixel is at an intersection point of diagonals of the virtual parallelogram.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 35 USC §112 section on page 1, filed May 13, 2026, with respect to the cancellation of claims 13 and 15 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC §112 rejection of claims 13 and 15 has been withdrawn. However, this withdrawal is moot as the claims have been cancelled.
Applicant's arguments, see 35 USC §103 section starting on page 2, filed May 13, 2026, with
respect to the amendments to independent claims 1, 19, and 20, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The regions in the amended claims as written can be interpreted in a way as presented in the rejection above.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
/ALVIN L LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813