DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morel (US 20140132088 A1) in view of Shinohira (US 20130257182) and further in view of Dams et al (US 20050008978 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Morel teaches “An armature comprising (Morel, Paragraph [0008]):
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside, and insulates the plurality of coils from each other (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin) . . .
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]),
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1),
the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1),
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together . . . (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.),” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the covering member helps to “prevent outgas from releasing” or that the covering member is “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Dams et al. teaches wherein the covering member helps to “prevent outgas from releasing . . . (Dams, Figs. at 100, Paragraphs [0059]-[0064])” and wherein the covering member helps “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit. (Dams et al.; Figs. 2-13; Paragraphs [0013]-[0014]: Dams does not explicitly call out the cooling system of the actuator, but does recognize that “each of the components are connected to one another and the external world by a large number of connecting cables and pipes which transport electrical power, electrical signals and cooling water through the system.” Dams further recognizes that the entire surface area of the various components may be covered with a coating in order to help maintain vacuum in the system, see e.g. Figs. 3, 5, 8, 10, 11, 13 at 100, showing the entire interior of the vacuum chamber coated with a coating to help prevent outgas to the chamber. )”
It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the covering of Dams to the armature of Morel in order to reduce outgas to the outside and make the armature of Morel appropriate for use in a vacuum chamber (Dams et al. at Paragraph [0055]). Morel already has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, and also contemplates use of the primary part in a device for semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]), which in some cases must be carried out in a vacuum (Dams et al. at Paragraph [0013]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the coating of Dams to the coils of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for semiconductor manufacturing.
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Dams teaches the armature according to claim 1, as described above.
Dams et al. further teaches “wherein the covering member (Figs. at 100) is a coating film (Paragraph [0018]; “the method includes coating a surface of the components with a non-metallic material”) containing an inorganic material (Paragraph [0020]: “Preferably, the material is glass or glass-like since such materials are electrical insulators and have been found to be effective in preventing the escape of contaminants from the surface of components”) with which surfaces of the plurality of coils are coated (Fig. 4 at 30, 100; Paragraph [0058]: “The invention is particularly applicable to coat the coils of a linear actuator used for moving the tables of the lithographic apparatus”).”
It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the covering member taught in Dams et al. on the plurality of coils taught in Morel in order to properly use the armature of morel in a semiconductor manufacturing process (Morel, Paragraph [0004]), preventing outgassing from the primary part to the vacuum chamber needed for said manufacturing.
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Dams et al. teaches the armature according to claim 2 as discussed above. Dams et al. further teaches “wherein the inorganic material includes at least one of glass and ceramics (Paragraph [0020]: “Preferably, the material is glass or glass-like since such materials are electrical insulators and have been found to be effective in preventing the escape of contaminants from the surface of components”).”
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Dams et al. teaches the armature according to claim 1 as discussed above. Dams et al. further teaches “wherein the covering member is a coating film containing an organic material (Paragraph [0019]; Teflon) with which surfaces of the plurality of coils are coated (Fig. 4 at 30, 100; Paragraph [0058]: “The invention is particularly applicable to coat the coils of a linear actuator used for moving the tables of the lithographic apparatus”).”
It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the covering member taught in Dams et al. on the plurality of coils taught in Morel in order to properly use the armature of morel in a semiconductor manufacturing process (Morel, Paragraph [0004]), preventing outgassing from the primary part to the vacuum chamber needed for said manufacturing.
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Dams et al. teaches the armature according to claim 4 as discussed above. Dams et al. further teaches “wherein the organic material contains at least one of a fluororesin and a polyimide. (Paragraph [0019], Teflon: Examiner notes that Teflon is a brand name for polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), a fluororesin (See Applicant’s Detailed Description at Paragraph [0036])).”
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Dams et al. teaches the armature according to claim 1, as described above. Morel also teaches an armature “wherein the cooling unit is provided on end surfaces on one side of the plurality of coils and cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]), and the covering member covers end surfaces on the other side of the plurality of coils (Morel, Paragraph [0010]: “An especially good contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the other side of the plurality of coils while the one side is in contact with the cooling plate.).”
With regard to claim 11, Morel teaches “A driving device comprising:
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside and insulates the plurality of coils from each other. . . (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin);
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]); and
. . .,
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1), and
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.). . .” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils, the covering member, and the cooling unit inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state,” nor does it teach the covering is “to prevent outgas from releasing to the outside” nor that the covering member covers what it does in order “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Dams et al. teaches “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils, the covering member, and the cooling unit inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state,”(Dams et al., Fig. 1 at 2 Vacuum chamber; Paragraph [0074]: “FIGS. 2 and 3 show an enclosed actuator system 3 in which the central component comprising the coil 30 moves with respect to the yoke 20 in a direction perpendicular to the plane of the drawing. The inner chamber is held in a vacuum and, to reduce outgassing, the coil 30 can be coated with a coating 100 as described above.”). While Dams et al. does not explicitly teach a cooling unit, it does teach that components include pipes to transport cooling water through the system, and that those components must be protected to maintain a vacuum (See Dams et al. at Paragraphs [0013]-[0014]). Furthermore, Morel contemplates use of the primary part in a device for semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]), which in some cases must be carried out in a vacuum (Dams et al. at Paragraph [0013]). As such, a person of skill in the art would find it obvious to use the armature of Morel in a vacuum, as taught by Dams et al. , for use in semiconductor manufacturing. A person would be motivated to include the vacuum chamber in order to properly manufacture semiconductors while at least reducing light absorption, as taught by Dams et al. at Paragraph [0013].
Dams further teaches a covering which helps “prevent outgas from releasing . . . (Dams et al., Figs. at 100, Paragraphs [0059]-[0064])” and wherein the covering member helps “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit. (Dams et al.; Figs. 2-13; Paragraphs [0013]-[0014]: Dams does not explicitly call out the cooling system of the actuator, but does recognize that “each of the components are connected to one another and the external world by a large number of connecting cables and pipes which transport electrical power, electrical signals and cooling water through the system.” Dams further recognizes that the entire surface area of the various components may be covered with a coating in order to help maintain vacuum in the system, see e.g. Figs. 3, 5, 8, 10, 11, 13 at 100, showing the entire interior of the vacuum chamber coated with a coating to help prevent outgas to the chamber. )”
It would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the covering of Dams to the armature of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the outside and make the armature of Morel appropriate for use in a vacuum chamber (Dams et al. at Paragraph [0055]). Morel already has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, and also contemplates use of the primary part in a device for semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]), which in some cases must be carried out in a vacuum (Dams et al. at Paragraph [0013]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the coating of Dams to the coils and cooling plate of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for semiconductor manufacturing.
Claims 1, 6-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Morel in view of Shinohira (US 20130257182) and further in view of Kollen et al. (US 20150280539 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Morel teaches “An armature comprising (Morel, Paragraph [0008]):
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside, and insulates the plurality of coils from each other (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin) . . .
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]),
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1),
the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1), and
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together . . . (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.).” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the covering member helps to “prevent outgas from releasing” or that the covering member is “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Kollen et al. teaches that the covering member may include a housing in addition to the resin covering of the coils. Kollen et al. teaches that this covering member helps “prevent outgas from releasing” and is used “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit (Kollen et al., Paragraph [0022]).” While Kollen et al. does not explicitly teach a cooling unit, it does teach creating a metal case around a pre-casted unit for a linear motor.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the primary unit of Morel, including the cooling unit, with the teachings of Kollen et al. in order to help provide a rigid case (Kollen, Paragraph [0034]) around the armature coils and to prevent outgassing of elements into a vacuum (Kollen, Paragraph [0022]). Morel teaches an armature for an electric motor and contemplates its use in semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]), which requires use in a vacuum. Morel has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, but does not discuss whether that coating is appropriate for use in a vacuum. Kollen et al. proposes adding metal case around the coil unit covered in resin, allowing the use of the motor in high vacuum applications (Kollen et al. at Paragraph [0022]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the case of Kollen et al. to the coils (and cooling unit) of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for use in a vacuum.
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Kollen et al. teaches the armature of claim 1 as described above.
The combination of Morel and Kollen et al. further teaches: “ “wherein the covering member includes an insulating member (Kollen et al., Fig. 2 at 110, Paragraph [0045]; pre-casted unit, made up of a first casting material and second casting material surrounding the coils) provided outside the plurality of coils (Kollen et al., Fig 2 at 120, Paragraph [0045]) and insulating the plurality of coils from each other, and a metal member that covers the insulating member from the outside (Kollen et al., Fig. 2, 4 at 140).”
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Kollen et al. teaches the armature of claim 6 as described above. The combination of Morel and Kollen et al. further teaches: “wherein the metal member is a metal case (Fig. 2-5 at 140, Paragraph [0045]) that internally accommodates the plurality of coils (Fig. 2-5 at 120) and the insulating member (Fig. 2-5 at 110, Paragraph [0045]-[0048]).”
With regard to claim 11, Morel teaches “A driving device comprising:
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside and insulates the plurality of coils from each other. . . (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin);
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]); and
. . .,
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1), and
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.). . .” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils, the covering member, and the cooling unit inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state,” nor does it teach the covering is “to prevent outgas from releasing to the outside” nor that the covering member covers what it does in order “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Kollen et al. teaches “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils and the covering member inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state (Paragraph [0022]).” Kollen et al. further teaches that the covering member may include a housing in addition to the resin covering of the coils. Kollen et al. teaches that this covering member helps “prevent outgas from releasing” and is used “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit (Kollen et al., Paragraph [0022]).” While Kollen et al. does not explicitly teach a cooling unit, it does teach creating a metal case around a pre-casted unit for a linear motor, while Morel teaches that the cooling unit is part of the pre-casted “primary part” (Morel at Paragraph [0009]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the primary unit of Morel, including the cooling unit, with the teachings of Kollen et al. in order to help provide a rigid case (Kollen, Paragraph [0034]) around the armature coils and to prevent outgassing of elements into a vacuum (Kollen, Paragraph [0022]). Morel teaches an armature for an electric motor and contemplates its use in semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]), which requires use in a vacuum. Morel has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, but does not discuss whether that coating is appropriate for use in a vacuum. Kollen et al. proposes adding metal case around the coil unit covered in resin, allowing the use of the motor in high vacuum applications (Kollen et al. at Paragraph [0022]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the case of Kollen et al. to the coils (and cooling unit) of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for use in a vacuum.
Claims 1, 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morel et al. in view of Shinohira (US 20130257182) and further in view of Ota et al. (US 20040080217 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Morel et al. teaches “An armature comprising (Morel, Paragraph [0008]):
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside, and insulates the plurality of coils from each other (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin) . . .
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]),
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1),
the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1), and
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together . . . (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.).” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the covering member helps to “prevent outgas from releasing” or that the covering member is “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Ota et al. teaches a covering of resin covered with an inorganic film helps to prevent outgas from releasing to the vacuum chamber (Ota et al., Fig. 2 at 3, 5; Paragraphs [0013]-[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the covering member of Ota et al. with the armature of Morel in order to allow for the armature to be used in a vacuum environment while preventing outgassing. Morel teaches an armature for an electric motor and contemplates its use in semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]). Morel has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, but in a structure to be used in a vacuum environment, outgassing must be lessened. (Ota et al. at Paragraph [0002]). Ota proposes adding an inorganic coating to the portion of the molded structure exposed to vacuum, in order to reduce an outgassing rate and prevent the discharge of an organic gas, preventing contamination of the vacuum environment (Ota et al. at Paragraph [0017]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the coating of Ota et al. to the coils of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for use in a vacuum.
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Ota et al. teaches the armature of claim 1 as described above. Ota et al. further teaches: “wherein the covering member includes an insulating member provided outside the plurality of coils and insulating the plurality of coils from each other (Ota et al., Fig. 2 at 3, Paragraphs [0037]: Stator core subjected to insulation 2 as well as the resin 3) and a metal member (Ota et al., Fig. 2 at 5, Paragraph [0042]) that covers the insulating member from the outside.”
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Morel, Shinohira and Ota et al. teaches the armature of claim 6 as described above. Ota et al. further teaches: “wherein the metal member is a coating film (Ota et al., Paragraphs [0015]-[0016], [0042]) including a metal material (Ota et al., Paragraphs [0016], [0039]-[0042]) with which a surface of the insulating member is coated (Ota et al., Fig. 2).”
With regard to claim 11, Morel teaches “A driving device comprising:
a plurality of coils that generate power according to a flowing current (Morel, Fig. 1, Paragraph [0009]);
a covering member that covers the plurality of coils from an outside and insulates the plurality of coils from each other. . . (Morel, Paragraphs [0006], [0010], and [0031]; These paragraphs describe encapsulating the coils with an electrically insulating resin);
a cooling unit that cools the plurality of coils (Morel, Fig. 1 at 1; Paragraph [0015]); and
. . .,
wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape having a first surface and a second surface (Morel, Fig 1 at 1), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (Morel, Fig. 1), and
the covering member covers, from the outside, the coils on the first surface side and the second surface side, and a part of the cooling unit together (Morel, Fig. 2; Paragraphs [0007], [0009]-[0010]: Morel teaches that the primary part of the motor includes “a cooling plate on which flat coils are disposed” (Paragraph [0009]). Morel further teaches that the coils are pressed hard against the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the “primary part” with resin (Paragraph [0010]) in order that “An especially good [thermal] contact is produced between the flat coils of the primary part and the cooling plate prior to encapsulating the primary part with a synthetic resin.” Morel specifically contrasts this with the prior art, where the heat from the coils must pass through the insulating resin before passing into the cooling plate (Paragraph [0007]). As the primary part is secured to the cooling plate prior to being encapsulated with the covering, the covering covers the coils from the first surface side and the second surface side, and the entire primary part (including the cooling unit) is covered by the encapsulating resin.). . .” and
the cooling unit includes a flow path through which a cooling medium for cooling the coils flows (para [0024]).
Morel does not explicitly teach wherein the cooling medium is a refrigerant and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side.
Shinohira teaches an armature (200, figure 7) comprising: a plurality of coils (5) that generate power according to a flowing current (para [0027]); and a cooling unit (2) that cools the plurality of coils (paras. [0047]-[0049]), wherein the cooling unit has a plate shape (figures 3-7) having a first surface and a second surface (onto which the coils are mounted, on opposite sides of 2, in figure 7), the plurality of coils are provided on both a first surface side and a second surface side of the cooling unit (figure 7), the cooling unit includes a flow path (2f) through which a refrigerant (cooling water) for cooling the coils flows (para. [0032]), and the flow path is arranged to span adjacent coils provided on the first surface side and the second surface side (figures 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have used the cooling water of Shinohira as the “cooling medium” of Morel since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use and selection of one known cooling medium over another merely involves the desired cooling characteristics of the device. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the flow path of Morel to span multiple adjacent coils, as taught by Shinohira, in order to simplify the number and complexity of routing cooling fluid to a single inlet and a single outlet (as in Shinohira) instead of multiple outlets.
Further, Morel does not explicitly teach “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils, the covering member, and the cooling unit inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state,” nor does it teach the covering is “to prevent outgas from releasing to the outside” nor that the covering member covers what it does in order “to prevent outgas from releasing from the coils and the cooling unit.”
Ota et al. teaches “a vacuum chamber that accommodates the plurality of coils and the covering member inside the vacuum chamber in a vacuum state (Ota et al., Paragraphs [0029], Paragraph [0040]).” Ota et al. further teaches that covering a resin with an inorganic film helps to prevent outgas from releasing to the vacuum chamber (Ota et al., Fig. 2 at 3, 5; Paragraphs [0013]-[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the covering member of Ota et al. with the armature of Morel in order to allow for the armature to be used in a vacuum environment while preventing outgassing. Morel teaches an armature for an electric motor and contemplates its use in semiconductor manufacturing (Morel at Paragraph [0004]). Morel has an insulating coating covering the coils and cooling plate, but in a structure to be used in a vacuum environment, outgassing must be lessened. (Ota et al. at Paragraph [0002]). Ota proposes adding an inorganic coating to the portion of the molded structure exposed to vacuum, in order to reduce an outgassing rate and prevent the discharge of an organic gas, preventing contamination of the vacuum environment (Ota et al. at Paragraph [0017]). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add the coating of Ota et al. to the coils of Morel in order to prevent outgas to the vacuum chamber and ensure the armature was sufficient for use in a vacuum.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant alleges that the prior art of record fails to teach the newly added limitations of claims 1 and 11. The examiner has provided additional art, not previously applied or challenged in the argument, to support that teaching as laid out in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834