Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Applicant’s amendment filed on June 08, 2026 is acknowledged. Currently claims 1, 3-6, and 8-21 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 8, 16, and 19 have been amended. Claims 2 and 7 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed June 08, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 3-6, and 8-15, and 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Kamon in view of Matsumoto. Furthermore, regarding claims 16 and 17, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Kamon in view of Matsumoto and Duckett.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 8-15, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kamon et al., US 20210343011 A1, (hereinafter “Kamon”) in view of Matsumoto et al., US 20150187078 A1, (hereinafter “Matsumoto”).
Regarding claim 1, Kamon teaches a medical image processing device comprising:
a nonvolatile memory configured to store configuration data for configuring a programmable logic device as an image processor, and an image processing parameter the configuration data ([0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) ([0073] “The above-described functions of the individual units of the image processing unit 204 can be implemented by using various types of processors and a recording medium. The various types of processors include, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) which is a general-purpose processor that executes software (program) to implement various functions. Also, the various types of processors include a graphics processing unit (GPU) which is a processor dedicated to image processing, and a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).”) ([0074], [0073] “Furthermore, the various types of processors include a dedicated electric circuit which is a processor having a circuit configuration designed exclusively for executing specific processing, such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC).” wherein configuration data is the circuit configuration designed for executing the functions of the processors) ([0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above)
the image processor configured to ([0073] “The above-described functions of the individual units of the image processing unit 204 can be implemented by using various types of processors and a recording medium. The various types of processors include, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) which is a general-purpose processor that executes software (program) to implement various functions. Also, the various types of processors include a graphics processing unit (GPU) which is a processor dedicated to image processing, and a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).”):
after power is turned on,
read out the configuration data from the nonvolatile memory ([0074], [0073] “Furthermore, the various types of processors include a dedicated electric circuit which is a processor having a circuit configuration designed exclusively for executing specific processing, such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC).” wherein configuration data is the circuit configuration designed for executing the functions of the processors) ([0075] “When the above-described processor or electric circuitry executes the software (program), the code of the software to be executed that is readable by a computer (for example, the various types of processors or electric circuitry constituting the image processing unit 204, and/or a combination thereof) is stored in a non-transitory recording medium, such as the read only memory (ROM) 211, and the computer refers to the software.”) ([0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”), and
configure the programmable logic device as the image processor based on the configuration data ([0074], [0073] “The above-described functions of the individual units of the image processing unit 204 can be implemented by using various types of processors and a recording medium. The various types of processors include, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) which is a general-purpose processor that executes software (program) to implement various functions. Also, the various types of processors include a graphics processing unit (GPU) which is a processor dedicated to image processing, and a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).”) ([0074], [0073] “Furthermore, the various types of processors include a dedicated electric circuit which is a processor having a circuit configuration designed exclusively for executing specific processing, such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC).” wherein configuration data is the circuit configuration designed for executing the functions of the processors),
([0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above), and
execute image processing on a captured image obtained by capturing a subject image, using the image processing parameter and the programmable logic device configured based on the configuration data ([0007] “To achieve the above-described object, a medical image processing apparatus according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a medical image acquiring unit that acquires a medical image from a medical apparatus that sequentially captures images of a plurality of areas in a living body of a subject”) ([0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) ([0074], [0073] “The above-described functions of the individual units of the image processing unit 204 can be implemented by using various types of processors and a recording medium. The various types of processors include, for example, a central processing unit (CPU) which is a general-purpose processor that executes software (program) to implement various functions. Also, the various types of processors include a graphics processing unit (GPU) which is a processor dedicated to image processing, and a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).”) ([0074], [0073] “Furthermore, the various types of processors include a dedicated electric circuit which is a processor having a circuit configuration designed exclusively for executing specific processing, such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC).” wherein configuration data is the circuit configuration designed for executing the functions of the processors); and
a control circuit configured to control an operation of the image processor ([0068] “These processing operations are performed under control by a central processing unit (CPU) 210.” wherein a control circuit is a central processing unit) ([0073] “a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).” wherein an image processor is a programmable logic device).
Kamon does not specifically disclose an image processing parameter including a lookup table, and
read out the image processing parameter from the nonvolatile memory.
However, Matsumoto teaches an image processing parameter including a lookup table, and
read out the image processing parameter from the nonvolatile memory ([0076], [0078] “For example, in the storage unit 52, in addition to various programs to perform the capturing control processing, image processing parameters (a look-up table defining a gradation curve used in gradation processing, enhancement degree of frequency processing, etc.) to adjust the image data of the radiation image obtained by capturing to the image quality suitable for diagnosis for each site are stored.”) ([0073] “The control unit 51 includes a CPU, a RAM, etc. The CPU of the control unit 51 reads various programs such as a system program, processing program, etc. stored in the storage unit 52 and expands the program in the RAM to perform various processing according to the expanded program.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a lookup table of Matsumoto in the image processing parameter of Kamon as well as have said image processing parameter be read out, of Matsumoto, from the nonvolatile memory of Kamon because the lookup table of Matsumoto captures image processing parameters that can be used to more efficiently adjust image data, thereby enhancing the accuracy and speed of image processing.
Regarding claim 3, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the nonvolatile memory is configured to store the image processing parameter and the configuration data for the image processor (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) (Kamon - [0074], [0073] “Furthermore, the various types of processors include a dedicated electric circuit which is a processor having a circuit configuration designed exclusively for executing specific processing, such as an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC).” wherein configuration data is the circuit configuration designed for executing the functions of the processors).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the medical image processing device includes a plurality of set, each set having a nonvolatile memory and an image processor (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Kamon - [0073] “a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).” wherein an image processor is a programmable logic device) (Kamon - [0073] “The above-described functions of the individual units of the image processing unit 204 can be implemented by using various types of processors and a recording medium.”).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein
the nonvolatile memory is configured to store a plurality of types of the image processing parameters corresponding to a plurality of types of operation modes in the medical image processing device (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) (Kamon - [0053] “The endoscope 100 includes a handheld operation section 102 and an insertion section 104 that communicates with the handheld operation section 102.” wherein the medical image processing device is the endoscope), and
the image processor is configured to read out the image processing parameter corresponding to the operation mode of the medical image processing device from the nonvolatile memory (Kamon - [0073] “a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).” wherein an image processor is a programmable logic device) (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Matsumoto - [0076], [0078] “For example, in the storage unit 52, in addition to various programs to perform the capturing control processing, image processing parameters (a look-up table defining a gradation curve used in gradation processing, enhancement degree of frequency processing, etc.) to adjust the image data of the radiation image obtained by capturing to the image quality suitable for diagnosis for each site are stored.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) (Kamon - [0053] “The endoscope 100 includes a handheld operation section 102 and an insertion section 104 that communicates with the handheld operation section 102.” wherein the medical image processing device is the endoscope), and
execute image processing on the captured image using the image processing parameter (Kamon - [0007] “To achieve the above-described object, a medical image processing apparatus according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a medical image acquiring unit that acquires a medical image from a medical apparatus that sequentially captures images of a plurality of areas in a living body of a subject”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein
the nonvolatile memory is configured to store a plurality of types of the image processing parameters corresponding to a plurality of types of medical observation devices (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) (Kamon - [0092] “As the “external device”, a device that observes an insertion area of the endoscope by using an electromagnetic wave, an ultrasonic wave, radiation, or the like can be used. In this case, the area estimating unit 232 (an area estimating unit) is capable of estimating an area by using information acquired by the external device (see the example illustrated in FIGS. 19A and 19B).” wherein medical observation devices are external devices),
each of the medical observation devices being co figured to capture a subject image and generate the captured image (Kamon - [0092] “The area information acquiring unit 222 (an area information acquiring unit) acquires area information indicating an area in the living body whose endoscopic image has been captured (step S120: an area information acquisition step). The area information acquiring unit 222 is capable of acquiring the area information by analyzing the endoscopic image, by using area information input by the user, or by using information from an external device different from the medical image acquiring unit 220.” wherein a subject image is the area information and the captured image is the endoscopic image), and
the image processor (Kamon - [0073] “a programmable logic device (PLD) which is a processor whose circuit configuration is changeable after manufacturing, such as a field programmable gate array (FPGA).” wherein an image processor is a programmable logic device) is configured to
read out the image processing parameter corresponding to the medical observation device connected to the medical image processing device from the nonvolatile memory (Matsumoto - [0076], [0078] “For example, in the storage unit 52, in addition to various programs to perform the capturing control processing, image processing parameters (a look-up table defining a gradation curve used in gradation processing, enhancement degree of frequency processing, etc.) to adjust the image data of the radiation image obtained by capturing to the image quality suitable for diagnosis for each site are stored.”) (Kamon - [0092] “As the “external device”, a device that observes an insertion area of the endoscope by using an electromagnetic wave, an ultrasonic wave, radiation, or the like can be used. In this case, the area estimating unit 232 (an area estimating unit) is capable of estimating an area by using information acquired by the external device (see the example illustrated in FIGS. 19A and 19B).” wherein medical observation devices are external devices) (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above), and
execute image processing on the captured image using the image processing parameter (Kamon - [0007] “To achieve the above-described object, a medical image processing apparatus according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a medical image acquiring unit that acquires a medical image from a medical apparatus that sequentially captures images of a plurality of areas in a living body of a subject”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of a system. Therefore, claim 8 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 9, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical observation system according to claim 8, further comprising an input configured to receive a user operation to select one of the plurality of types of operation modes (Kamon - [0053] “An operator (a user) operates the handheld operation section 102 while grasping it and inserts the insertion section 104 into a body of a subject (a living body) to perform observation. The handheld operation section 102 is provided with an air/water supply button 141, a suction button 142, a function button 143 to which various functions are allocated, and an imaging button 144 for receiving an imaging instruction operation (a still image, a moving image).”).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical observation system according to claim 9, wherein the control circuit is configured to output a control signal to the image processor to indicate the selected operation mode (Kamon - [0068] “These processing operations are performed under control by a central processing unit (CPU) 210.” wherein a control circuit is a central processing unit) (Kamon - [0068] “The configuration of the endoscope processor apparatus 200 will be described with reference to FIG. 2. In the endoscope processor apparatus 200, an image input controller 202 receives an image signal output from the endoscope 100, an image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing unit 234 or the like) performs necessary image processing thereon, and a video output unit 206 outputs a resulting image signal.”).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 4, wherein a first set of the plurality of sets includes a pre-processing image processor and a second set of the plurality of sets comprises a post-processing image processor (Kamon - [0078] “The intermediate layer 562B calculates a feature quantity through convolutional operation and pooling processing. The convolutional operation performed in the convolutional layer 564 is processing of acquiring a feature map through convolutional operation using a filter, and plays a role in feature extraction such as edge extraction from an image.” wherein a pre-processing image processor is executed by the intermediate layer) (Kamon - [0083] “The output layer 562C is a layer that detects the position of a region of interest depicted in an input medical image (a normal-light image, a special-light image) on the basis of the feature quantity output from the intermediate layer 562B and outputs the result thereof.” wherein a post-processing image processor is executed by the output layer).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 11, wherein the pre- processing image processor is configured to provide the captured image to the post-processing image processor after executing a first image processing (Kamon - [0078] “The intermediate layer 562B calculates a feature quantity through convolutional operation and pooling processing. The convolutional operation performed in the convolutional layer 564 is processing of acquiring a feature map through convolutional operation using a filter, and plays a role in feature extraction such as edge extraction from an image.” wherein a pre-processing image processor is executed by the intermediate layer) (Kamon - [0083] “The output layer 562C is a layer that detects the position of a region of interest depicted in an input medical image (a normal-light image, a special-light image) on the basis of the feature quantity output from the intermediate layer 562B and outputs the result thereof.” wherein a post-processing image processor is executed by the output layer).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 9 but in the form of a device. Therefore, claim 13 recites similar limitations to claim 9 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 9 above).
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 10 but in the form of a device. Therefore, claim 14 recites similar limitations to claim 10 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 10 above).
Regarding claim 15, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the nonvolatile memory is configured to store a plurality of image processing parameter for use by the image processor for a corresponding plurality of medical observation devices used to capture the subject image (Kamon - [0069] “A read only memory (ROM) 211 is a nonvolatile storage element (a non-transitory recording medium) and stores a computer-readable code of a program that causes the CPU 210 and/or the image processing unit 204 (a medical image processing apparatus, a computer) to execute various image processing methods.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above) (Kamon - [0007] “To achieve the above-described object, a medical image processing apparatus according to a first aspect of the present invention includes a medical image acquiring unit that acquires a medical image from a medical apparatus that sequentially captures images of a plurality of areas in a living body of a subject”).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 1, wherein the image processing includes at least one of optical black subtraction processing, demosaic processing, white balance adjustment processing, noise reduction processing, color correction processing, color enhancement processing, and contour enhancement processing (Kamon - [0098] “For example, an image captured by using white light (normal light) can be provided for recognition in the case of the stomach, and an image captured by using special light (blue narrow-band light), such as BLI (Blue Laser Imaging: registered trademark), can be provided for recognition in the case of the esophagus. In accordance with an area, an image captured by using special light, such as LCI (Linked Color Imaging: registered trademark), and subjected to image processing (in the case of LCI, a difference in chroma or hue of a color close to the color of the mucous membrane is extended) may be used.”) (Kamon - [0072] “The image processing unit 204 is capable of performing, with the above-described functions, calculation of a feature quantity of a medical image, processing of emphasizing or reducing a component of a specific frequency band, and processing of emphasizing or deemphasizing a specific target (a region of interest, blood vessels at a desired depth, or the like)… The above-described processing is performed under control by the CPU 210.” wherein an image processing parameter is the image processing features disclosed above).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 1 but in the form of a method. Therefore, claim 19 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitations to claim 17 but in the form of a method. Therefore, claim 20 recites similar limitations to claim 17 and is rejected for similar rationale and reasoning (see the analysis for claim 17 above).
Regarding claim 21, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches a non-transitory computer readable device having computer readable instructions that when executed by circuitry cause the circuitry to perform the method of claim 19 (Kamon - [0030] “In addition, a program that causes the medical image processing apparatus or a computer to execute the medical image processing method according to these aspects, and a non-transitory recording medium storing computer-readable code of the program are also included in an aspect of the present invention.”).
The motivation for combining Kamon and Matsumoto is the same motivation as used for claim 1.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable of Kamon et al., US 20210343011 A1, (hereinafter “Kamon”) in view of Matsumoto et al., US 20150187078 A1, (hereinafter “Matsumoto”) in further view of Duckett et al., US 20220026725 A1, (hereinafter “Duckett”).
Regarding claim 16, Kamon in view of Matsumoto teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 8, wherein the medical observation device includes a (Kamon - [0092] “As the “external device”, a device that observes an insertion area of the endoscope by using an electromagnetic wave, an ultrasonic wave, radiation, or the like can be used. In this case, the area estimating unit 232 (an area estimating unit) is capable of estimating an area by using information acquired by the external device (see the example illustrated in FIGS. 19A and 19B).” wherein medical observation devices are external devices).
Kamon in view of Matsumoto does not specifically disclose a camera head having a memory storing a camera head identifier.
However, Duckett teaches a camera head having a memory storing a camera head identifier ([0048] “The camera head can identify the endoscope being attached and store in memory or adjust automatically based on a detection of a specific endoscope type, where the variable liquid lens 20 or the relative positions of the sensors 18 are adjusted.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a camera head with a memory of Duckett in the medical observation device of Kamon in view of Matsumoto, to identify and document the type of endoscope that is being used to adjust based on the specific endoscope type.
Regarding claim 17, Kamon in view of Matsumoto and Duckett teaches the medical image processing device according to claim 16, wherein the control circuit configured to receive the camera head identifier from the camera head and provide the camera head identifier to the image processor (Kamon - [0068] “These processing operations are performed under control by a central processing unit (CPU) 210.” wherein a control circuit is a central processing unit) (Duckett - [0048] “The camera head can identify the endoscope being attached and store in memory or adjust automatically based on a detection of a specific endoscope type, where the variable liquid lens 20 or the relative positions of the sensors 18 are adjusted.”).
The motivation for combining Kamon, Matsumoto, and Duckett is the same motivation as used for claim 16.
Conclusion
/AMANDA H PEARSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2666 /MING Y HON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666