DETAILED ACTION
1. The amendment filed 09/16/2026 has been received and considered. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 1, it recites the limitation "the two sheets" in line 4-5 which would be better as “two sheets” as no sheets are recited earlier in the claim to avoid an antecedent basis issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersson ("Fatigue Life and Stiffness of the Spider Spot Weld Model") in view of Kang ("Fatigue analysis of spot welds using a mesh-insensitive structural stress approach"), further in view of Heubrandtner ("Finite Spotweld Element - Hybrid Trefftz Formulation"), further in view of Larsson ("Analysis of Holes and Spot Weld Joints Using Sub Models and Superelements" listed on IDS filed 02/04/2026).
As per Claim 1, Andersson teaches a user-element (UEL) modeling method for enabling coarse-mesh /high-fidelity Computer-Aided Engineering (CAE) durability evaluation of spot-joined structures (Title, pg. 6, §3.2.1 “The calculated radial stresses are used to assess the fatigue life of the spot welded joints.”: coarse-mesh finite-element spot-weld models evaluated in a CAE environment for fatigue-life assessment of spot-welded joints), comprising:
providing a coarse mesh joint representation of the spot-joined structure … (pg. 6-7, §3.2.1 "This method connects the shell elements by a single beam element, which represent the spot weld nugget."; pg. 6, §3.2.1 "Also, the beam element connects only to one node in each sheet."; Fig. 3(a): the P2P model is a coarse shell-element representation of the spot joint in which the four surrounding shell elements of each sheet meet at the single node connected by the beam element (Fig. 3(a)));
imposing spot joint constraints … (pg. 6-7, §3.2.2 “These interpolation constraints are expressed using the shape functions of the shell elements and the displacement of the connected nodes”; §3.2.3 “A rigid area equal to the size of the spot weld is created by rigid elements (RBE2 in Nastran) in a spoke pattern in each steel sheet.”: the kinematic coupling (RBE3) interpolation constraints and the rigid-spoke (RBE2) constraints imposed at the connection of the spot-joint model are spot joint constraints); and
outputting structural stresses around the joint for durability or fatigue life prediction purposes (pg. 6, §3.2.1 “For fatigue analyses forces and moments in the beam element are extracted. Radial stresses in the adjoining sheets are calculated according to an analytical expression… The calculated radial stresses are used to assess the fatigue life of the spot welded joints.”; §3.2.2 “The command MPCFORCE in Nastran outputs the forces and moments in a global coordinate system at the corner nodes of the CHEXA element.”: the radial stresses computed around the spot weld from the extracted forces and moments are output and used to assess the fatigue life of the spot-welded joints).
In particular, Andersson teaches finite-element spot-weld models (P2P, ACM2, spider) for car body models in which the sheets are connected at the weld by a beam or solid nugget element with kinematic coupling or rigid-spoke constraints, and the forces and moments extracted at the connection are converted into radial stresses used to assess the fatigue life of the spot-welded joints.
However, Andersson fails to teach explicitly by four user elements on each of the two sheets; at virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a spot joint with a 36 x 36 stiffness matrix of the coarse mesh joint representation; imposing membrane deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation; imposing membrane stiffness matrix expressed in closed form; imposing bending deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation; analytically reducing the 36 x 36 stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix; coding in computer programming language the analytically reduced 24 x 24 stiffness matrix into a UEL subroutine for interfacing with computer aided engineering code to calculate structural stresses around a joint.
Kang teaches imposing membrane deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation (pg. 1547, §2 "The opening stresses with respect to the crack face could be represented by equilibrium-equivalent membrane and bending stress components from finite element analyses.”; pg. 1549-1550,"The balanced nodal forces and moments in a global coordinate system at each mesh corner along the weld line (nugget periphery) with respect to the shaded elements in Fig. 3 are directly obtained from a linear elastic finite element analysis.", “
”: the in-plane (membrane) component of the equilibrium-equivalent structural stress state is imposed through the balanced nodal forces at the nugget periphery of the spot-weld finite-element model); and
imposing bending deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation (pg. 1547-1548, §2 "The opening stresses with respect to the crack face could be represented by equilibrium-equivalent membrane and bending stress components from finite element analyses.", “
”:”: the bending component of the equilibrium-equivalent structural stress is imposed on the nodal forces and moments at the nugget periphery of the spot-weld finite-element model).
In particular, Kang teaches the application of a nodal-force-based, mesh-insensitive structural stress parameter to spot welds, in which equilibrium-equivalent membrane and bending components are computed from the balanced nodal forces and moments at the nodal points along the periphery of the circular weld mark of a coarse finite-element model.
Andersson and Kang are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, finite-element fatigue evaluation of spot-welded structures (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kang into Andersson's invention for the purpose of fatigue life assessment of spot weld models in finite-element car body models to provide a mesh-insensitive structural stress at the nodal points along the spot-weld periphery that can be readily applied in the analysis of spot-welded structures (Kang: pg. 1553, §4). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Andersson as modified by Kang fails to teach explicitly by four user elements on each of the two sheets; at virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a spot joint with a 36 x 36 stiffness matrix of the coarse mesh joint representation; imposing membrane stiffness matrix expressed in closed form; analytically reducing the 36 x 36 stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix; coding in computer programming language the analytically reduced 24 x 24 stiffness matrix into a UEL subroutine for interfacing with computer aided engineering code to calculate structural stresses around a joint.
Heubrandtner teaches by four user elements on each of the two sheets (pg. 2, §1 "suggests the introduction of special finite elements, which are adapted to the local conditions via special shape functions …In addition to the special spotweld elements, bilinear standard shells are arranged on uncritical sub-domains of the structure.": the standard shells meeting at the nugget, four per sheet in the P2P arrangement mapped above, are replaced by special finite elements (i.e., the "user elements" as claimed) adapted to the local conditions by special shape functions);
at virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a spot joint with a 36 x 36 stiffness matrix of the coarse mesh joint representation (pg. 2, §1 "
."; pg. 2, §1.1.1 "Minimization of the potential leads to a stiffness matrix which can be coupled with any other finite element with similar displacement assumptions.": the spot-weld region is represented by nodes that follow the actual nugget geometry: the rigid cylinder of nugget radius with its pair of auxiliary nodes (i.e., the "virtual nodes" as claimed), to which the joint constraints are coupled, and the element stiffness matrix of the surrounding representation is obtained by minimising the potential; the 36 x 36 order is the two-shell, six-node, six-DOF assembly of the joint representation);
imposing membrane stiffness matrix expressed in closed form (pg. 2, §1.1.1 "Minimization of the potential leads to a stiffness matrix which can be coupled with any other finite element with similar displacement assumptions."; pg. 3, §1.1.2 "
": the membrane-type stiffness of the spot-weld element follows from analytic (Airy stress function) solutions by minimising the potential, i.e. an element stiffness matrix in closed analytical form); and
coding in computer programming language the analytically reduced 24 x 24 stiffness matrix into a UEL subroutine for interfacing with computer aided engineering code to calculate structural stresses around a joint (pg. 5, §3 "
"; pg. 6, §6 "
": the analytically formulated spot-weld element is programmed and implemented as a User Element, UPF (i.e., the "UEL subroutine" as claimed), of ANSYS and in explicit codes, and the element delivers the high-resolution stress/strain field around the nugget used for the failure criteria).
In particular, Heubrandtner teaches a special finite spot-weld element, adapted to the local conditions by analytic (Trefftz) shape functions, whose membrane and bending stiffness follows from closed-form solutions by minimising the potential, whose comparatively rigid nugget is a rigid cylinder of the actual nugget radius coupled through a pair of auxiliary nodes, and which is implemented in ANSYS as a User Element (UPF) in place of the standard shells around the nugget.
Andersson, Kang, and Heubrandtner are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, finite-element modelling of spot welds in car-body structures (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Heubrandtner into Andersson as modified by Kang's invention for the purpose of fatigue life assessment of spot weld models in finite-element car body models to provide a mesh-insensitive structural stress at the nodal points along the spot-weld periphery that can be readily applied in the analysis of spot-welded structures (Kang: pg. 1553, §4) and to provide failure predictability that is independent of mesh coarseness, without the expensive local mesh refinement the standard shell formulation requires (Heubrandtner: pg. 6, §5).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Andersson as modified by Kang and Heubrandtner fails to teach explicitly analytically reducing the 36 x 36 stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix.
Larsson teaches analytically reducing the 36 x 36 stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix of 24x24 (pg. 11, §2.4 "
": the internal degrees of freedom of the joint sub-model are eliminated by static condensation so that the reduced stiffness matrix refers only to the retained master nodes; for a two-element, six-node patch with six DOF per node retaining the four corner nodes, that is the 36 x 36 to 24 x 24 reduction).
In particular, Larsson teaches the static condensation of a spot-weld joint sub-model, eliminating its internal degrees of freedom so that its reduced stiffness matrix refers only to the master nodes it shares with the coarse global model, returned to the global model as a superelement.
Andersson, Kang, Heubrandtner, and Larsson are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, representing a spot-weld joint in a coarse global finite-element model without modelling it in full detail (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Larsson into Andersson as modified by Kang and Heubrandtner's invention for the purpose of fatigue life assessment of spot weld models in finite-element car body models to provide a mesh-insensitive structural stress at the nodal points along the spot-weld periphery that can be readily applied in the analysis of spot-welded structures (Kang: pg. 1553, §4) and to provide failure predictability that is independent of mesh coarseness, without the expensive local mesh refinement the standard shell formulation requires (Heubrandtner: pg. 6, §5) and to provide a reduced stiffness matrix of the local model that is returned to the global model through a superelement, instead of the long and expensive simulations of a fully detailed system (Larsson: pg. 2, Abstract).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 2, Andersson fails to teach explicitly determining whether the spot-joined structure meets required durability or fatigue life criteria and manufacturing the spot-joined structure.
Kang teaches determining whether the spot-joined structure meets required durability or fatigue life criteria and manufacturing the spot-joined structure (pg. 1546, §1 "Spot welding is a widely employed technique to join sheet steels for body and cap structure in the automotive industry."; pg. 1553, §4 "a relatively good correlation of the fatigue data collected from various advanced high strength sheet steel tested under tensile-shear and coach-peel loadings has been established for fatigue life prediction purposes": the established fatigue-life correlation is applied to determine whether spot-welded vehicle structures meet fatigue-life requirements, and the spot-welded sheet-steel body structures so evaluated are manufactured in the automotive industry).
As per Claim 3, Andersson fails to teach explicitly wherein the spot joint constraints include the relationships Node 1: (x1,y1)=(0,a); Node 2: (x2,y2)=(√2a/2, √2a/2); Node 3: (x3,y3)=(b,b); Node 4: (x4,y4)=(0,b), where a=the joint weld nugget radius and b=element size.
Heubrandtner teaches wherein the spot joint constraints include the relationships Node 1: (x1,y1)=(0,a) (pg. 4, §2.1 "
"; pg. 5, §3 "There are altogether 5 user elements with 4 up to 8 polygon nodes, each with one mid-node";: the spot-weld element is parameterised by the nugget (spotweld) radius and its polygon nodes lie on the shared edges of the adjacent shells, i.e. at the element size; the recited coordinates are the geometric placement of those nodes for a square quarter-patch);
Node 2: (x2,y2)=(√2a/2, √2a/2) (pg. 4, §2.1 "
"; pg. 5, §3 "There are altogether 5 user elements with 4 up to 8 polygon nodes, each with one mid-node"; pg. 2, §1 "
": the spot-weld element is parameterised by the nugget (spotweld) radius and its polygon nodes lie on the shared edges of the adjacent shells, i.e. at the element size; the recited coordinates are the geometric placement of those nodes for a square quarter-patch);
Node 3: (x3,y3)=(b,b) (pg. 4, §2.1 "with spotweld radius R, yield a quantity η, which is a measure of the current spotweld-weakening."; pg. 5, §3 "There are altogether 5 user elements with 4 up to 8 polygon nodes, each with one mid-node"; pg. 2, §1 "
"": the spot-weld element is parameterised by the nugget (spotweld) radius and its polygon nodes lie on the shared edges of the adjacent shells, i.e. at the element size; the recited coordinates are the geometric placement of those nodes for a square quarter-patch); and
Node 4: (x4,y4)=(0,b), where a=the joint weld nugget radius and b=element size (pg. 4, §2.1 "with spotweld radius R, yield a quantity η, which is a measure of the current spotweld-weakening."; pg. 5, §3 "There are altogether 5 user elements with 4 up to 8 polygon nodes, each with one mid-node"; pg. 2, §1 "
.": the spot-weld element is parameterised by the nugget (spotweld) radius and its polygon nodes lie on the shared edges of the adjacent shells, i.e. at the element size; the recited coordinates are the geometric placement of those nodes for a square quarter-patch).
As per Claim 4, Andersson teaches the membrane deformation joint constraints include rigid kinematic relationships (pg. 7, §3.2.3 "A rigid area equal to the size of the spot weld is created by rigid elements (RBE2 in Nastran) in a spoke pattern in each steel sheet.": the rigid spoke elements impose rigid kinematic relationships among the constrained nodes of the in-plane joint connection).
As per Claim 5, Andersson fails to teach explicitly the membrane deformation joint constraints include force equilibrium equations.
Kang teaches the membrane deformation joint constraints include force equilibrium equations (pg. 1549-1550, §2.2 “The nodal forces and moments in the local coordinate system are then converted to the distributed forces in terms of line forces and moments using the assumption that the work done by the nodal forces is equal to the work done by the distributed forces.”: the membrane component is imposed through equilibrium and work-equivalence equations on the nodal forces of the joint model).
As per Claim 6, Andersson fails to teach explicitly the force equilibrium equations include FX7=Fx1 + Fx2 + Fx5; Fy7=Fy1 + Fy2+Fy5.
Kang teaches the force equilibrium equations include FX7=Fx1 + Fx2 + Fx5 (pg. 1549-1550, §2.2 "The balanced nodal forces and moments in a global coordinate system at each mesh corner along the weld line (nugget periphery) with respect to the shaded elements in Fig. 3"; pg. 1550, §2.2 "the work done by the nodal forces is equal to the work done by the distributed forces": the balanced nodal forces along the nugget periphery and the work-equivalence relations are the nodal-force equilibrium relations of the joint element, of which the recited x- and y-sums are the quarter-model instance); and
Fy7=Fy1 + Fy2+Fy5 (pg. 1549-1550, §2.2 "The balanced nodal forces and moments in a global coordinate system at each mesh corner along the weld line (nugget periphery) with respect to the shaded elements in Fig. 3"; pg. 1550, §2.2 "the work done by the nodal forces is equal to the work done by the distributed forces": the balanced nodal forces along the nugget periphery and the work-equivalence relations are the nodal-force equilibrium relations of the joint element, of which the recited x- and y-sums are the quarter-model instance).
4. Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andhale ("Mesh Insensitive Structural Stress Approach for Welded Components Modeled using Shell Mesh") in view of Heubrandtner ("Finite Spotweld Element - Hybrid Trefftz Formulation"), further in view of Larsson ("Analysis of Holes and Spot Weld Joints Using Sub Models and Superelements" listed on IDS filed 02/04/2026).
As per Claim 7, Andhale teaches a user-element (UEL) modeling method for enabling coarse-mesh /high-fidelity Computer-Aided Engineering (CAE) durability evaluation of seam-joined structures (Title, Abstract, pg. 1434, §V.B), comprising:
providing a coarse mesh joint representation of the seam-joined structure (pg. 1432, §V.A "QUAD4 elements are to be used in case of shell mesh and hence shape function of these QUAD4 elements is used to calculate line forces.": the welded component, including the weld toe region, is represented by a shell mesh of QUAD4 elements);
imposing seam joint membrane constraints … (pg. 1429, §III.B "the balanced nodal forces and moments within each element automatically satisfy the equilibrium conditions at every nodal position. Therefore, the equilibrium-equivalent structural stress state in the form of membrane and bending can be calculated by using the nodal forces/moments at a location of concern.": the membrane component of the equilibrium-equivalent structural stress state is imposed through the balanced nodal forces and moments at the nodal positions along the weld line of the shell mesh);
imposing seam weld joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation (pg. 1429, §III.C "In order to calculate the structural stresses in terms of membrane and bending components, line forces and moments must be properly formulated by introducing work-equivalent arguments"; "for a closed weld line, the nodal forces can be related to line forces along an arbitrarily curved weld": the work-equivalent line-force and line-moment relations imposed along the closed weld line are seam-weld joint constraints imposed on the coarse-mesh representation); and
outputting structural stresses around the seam joint for durability or fatigue life prediction purposes (pg. 1430, §III.C
”; pg. 1434, fig. 20-21, Table X, §V.B "we can conclude that the structural stress is mesh insensitive and it can be used for fatigue life calculations of welded components.": the membrane-plus-bending structural stress along the weld is output and used for fatigue-life calculation of the welded component).
In particular, Andhale teaches the mesh-insensitive structural stress method applied on shell meshes of welded components, in which balanced nodal forces and moments along the weld line are converted by work-equivalent equations into line forces and moments and into membrane and bending structural stress components used for fatigue life calculations.
However, Andhale fails to teach explicitly at virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a seam joint with a 36 x 36 stiffness matrix of the coarse mesh joint representation; imposing shell element stiffness matrix expressed in closed form; analytically reducing the 36 x 36 a combined stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix; coding in computer programming language the analytically reduced 24 x 24 stiffness matrix into a user element subroutine for interfacing with computer aided engineering code to calculate structural stresses around a seam joint.
Heubrandtner teaches at virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a seam joint with a 36 x 36 stiffness matrix of the coarse mesh joint representation (pg. 2, §1 "
."; pg. 2, §1.1.1 "Minimization of the potential leads to a stiffness matrix which can be coupled with any other finite element with similar displacement assumptions.": the spot-weld region is represented by nodes that follow the actual nugget geometry: the rigid cylinder of nugget radius with its pair of auxiliary nodes (i.e., the "virtual nodes" as claimed), to which the joint constraints are coupled, and the element stiffness matrix of the surrounding representation is obtained by minimising the potential; the 36 x 36 order is the two-shell, six-node, six-DOF assembly of the joint representation);
imposing shell element stiffness matrix expressed in closed form (pg. 2, §1.1.1 "Minimization of the potential leads to a stiffness matrix which can be coupled with any other finite element with similar displacement assumptions."; pg. 3, §1.1.2 "
"; pg. 3, §1.1.2 "Bending is considered within the framework of Kirchhoff’s theory of thin plates.": the membrane and Kirchhoff-plate bending stiffness of the special element are obtained from analytic solutions by minimising the potential, i.e. a shell-element stiffness matrix in closed form); and
coding in computer programming language the analytically reduced 24 x 24 stiffness matrix into a user element subroutine for interfacing with computer aided engineering code to calculate structural stresses around a seam joint (pg. 5, §3 "
"; pg. 6, §6 "
": the analytically formulated spot-weld element is programmed and implemented as a User Element, UPF (i.e., the "UEL subroutine" as claimed), of ANSYS and in explicit codes, and the element delivers the high-resolution stress/strain field around the nugget used for the failure criteria).
In particular, Heubrandtner teaches a special finite weld element adapted to the local conditions by analytic (Trefftz) shape functions, whose membrane and plate-bending stiffness follows from closed-form solutions, whose rigid weld is coupled through auxiliary nodes, and which is implemented in ANSYS as a User Element (UPF).
Andhale and Heubrandtner are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, finite-element modelling of welded joints in car-body structures (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Heubrandtner into Andhale's invention for the purpose of mesh-insensitive fatigue evaluation of seam-welded components modelled with shell meshes to provide failure predictability that is independent of mesh coarseness, without the expensive local mesh refinement the standard shell formulation requires (Heubrandtner: pg. 6, §5).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, Andhale as modified by Heubrandtner fails to teach explicitly analytically reducing the 36 x 36 a combined stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix.
Larsson teaches analytically reducing the 36 x 36 a combined stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix (pg. 11, §2.4 "
": the internal degrees of freedom of the joint sub-model are eliminated by static condensation so that the reduced stiffness matrix refers only to the retained master nodes; for a two-element, six-node patch with six DOF per node retaining the four corner nodes, that is the 36 x 36 to 24 x 24 reduction).
In particular, Larsson teaches the static condensation of a weld-joint sub-model, eliminating its internal degrees of freedom so that its reduced stiffness matrix refers only to the master nodes shared with the coarse global model.
Andhale, Heubrandtner, and Larsson are analogous art because they are all reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, representing a welded joint in a coarse global finite-element model without modelling it in full detail (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004); In re Klein, 647 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2011)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Larsson into Andhale as modified by Heubrandtner's invention for the purpose of mesh-insensitive fatigue evaluation of seam-welded components modelled with shell meshes to provide failure predictability that is independent of mesh coarseness, without the expensive local mesh refinement the standard shell formulation requires (Heubrandtner: pg. 6, §5) and to provide a reduced stiffness matrix of the local model that is returned to the global model through a superelement, instead of the long and expensive simulations of a fully detailed system (Larsson: pg. 2, Abstract).
This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 8, Andhale teaches determining whether the seam-joined structure meets required durability or fatigue life criteria and manufacturing the seam-joined structure (pg. 1434, §V.B "we can conclude that the structural stress is mesh insensitive and it can be used for fatigue life calculations of welded components."; pg. 1431, §IV "It is assumed that the pipe and plate both are manufactured from structural steel.": the structural stress is used for fatigue life calculations of the welded component, whose pipe and plate are manufactured from structural steel).
As per Claim 9, Andhale fails to teach explicitly the seam joint membrane constraints include rigid kinematic relationships.
Heubrandtner teaches the seam joint membrane constraints include rigid kinematic relationships (pg. 2, §1 "Thus the comparatively rigid spotweld nugget is represented by a rigid cylinder, which connects both inner circles of the Trefftz elements"; pg. 2, §1 "carry the spatial displacement and rotation of the spotweld nugget": the weld is represented by a rigid body whose auxiliary nodes carry its displacement and rotation, a rigid kinematic relationship among the constrained nodes).
As per Claim 10, Andhale teaches the seam joint membrane constraints include force/moment equilibrium equations (pg. 1429, §III.B “the balanced nodal forces and moments within each element automatically satisfy the equilibrium conditions at every nodal position. Therefore, the equilibrium-equivalent structural stress state in the form of membrane and bending can be calculated by using the nodal forces/moments at a location of concern.”’ §III.C: the balanced nodal force and moment equilibrium conditions and the work-equivalent line-force and line-moment equations are force/moment equilibrium equations imposed on the joint).
As per Claim 11, Andhale fails to teach explicitly where the seam weld joint constraints include rigid inclusion constraints.
Heubrandtner teaches where the seam weld joint constraints include rigid inclusion constraints (pg. 2, §1 "Thus the comparatively rigid spotweld nugget is represented by a rigid cylinder, which connects both inner circles of the Trefftz elements": the comparatively rigid weld nugget is represented by a rigid cylinder (i.e., the "rigid inclusion constraints" as claimed) connecting the inner circles of the elements).
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments filed 09/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully withdraws Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 in view of the amendment and/or applicant’s arguments.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument:
Claim 1-6: Andersson in view of Kang, further in view of Heubrandtner, further in view of Larsson
Claim 7-11: Andhale in view of Heubrandtner, further in view of Larsson.
Applicants have argued (Remarks, page 7, paragraph 1-2) that:
It is noted that amended claim 1 is rejected over Andersson as modified by Kang, Heubrandtner, and Larsson as set forth above, and Andersson is not relied upon for the four user elements or for the virtual nodes. Heubrandtner is relied upon for those limitations where it replaces the standard shells around the nugget by special finite elements (Heubrandtner, pg. 2, §1) and and it represents the nugget by a rigid cylinder of the actual nugget radius coupled through a pair of auxiliary nodes that lie in the center of the inner circle and are not nodes of the shell mesh (Heubrandtner, pg. 2, §1)
Applicants have argued (Remarks, page 7, paragraph 3, through page 8, paragraph 1) that:
The argument is more specific than the claim langue. It is noted that Claim 1 recites "imposing membrane deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation" and "imposing bending deformation joint constraints on the coarse mesh joint representation"; the claim does not recite where the constraints are derived, nor that the calculations are performed at the virtual nodes. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., simple coarse mesh representation and the calculations are at the virtual nodes) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Kang's equilibrium-equivalent membrane and bending stress components, imposed on the balanced nodal forces and moments at the nodal points along the nugget periphery of the coarse spot-weld model (Kang, pg. 1547, §2, pg. 1549-1550, §2.2) are membrane and bending deformation joint constraints imposed on the coarse mesh joint representation.
As per Salvini, Applicants have argued (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 2 and page 9, paragraph 3) that:
Applicant's arguments directed to Salvini are moot, because Salvini is no longer applied; the amended limitation "analytically reducing the 36 x 36 stiffness matrix to a user element 24 x 24 stiffness matrix" is addressed by Larsson as set forth above. In particular, see pg. 11, §2.4 of Larsson.
Applicants have argued (Remarks, page 8, paragraph 4 through page 9, paragraph 2) that:
As per [1], in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "a coarse mesh joint representation by user elements on each of the two sheets", the embedded "weld representation equations") are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It is noted that claims 1 and 7 recite that: “imposing spot joint constraints at virtual nodes…” and “coding…stiffness matrix into a UEL subroutine…”; claim 7 recites "providing a coarse mesh joint representation of the seam-joined structure" without any user element in that step.
As per [2], it is noted that the amended claim 7 is rejected over Andhale as modified by Heubrandtner and Larsson as set forth above. In particular, Claim 7 recites "virtual nodes that represent the actual geometry of a seam joint"; the nodal positions along the weld line at which Andhale's balanced nodal forces and moments are evaluated (Andhale, pg. 1429, §III.B) represent the geometry of the weld line, and in the combination those internal nodes of the joint representation are the nodes whose degrees of freedom are eliminated by static condensation (Larsson, pg. 11, §2.4), as the auxiliary nodes of Heubrandtner's weld element are (Heubrandtner, pg. 2, §1). The claimed user element subroutine is met by Heubrandtner's implementation of the analytically formulated weld element as a User Element (Heubrandtner, pg. 5, §3). Furthermore, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is noted that the rejections rely on Heubrandtner for the user elements, the virtual nodes, and the user element subroutine, and on Larsson for the reduction of the stiffness matrix, as set forth above.
Therefore, 103 rejection maintains.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salvini, Vivio & Vullo, "A spot weld finite element for structural modelling," Int. J. Fatigue 22 (2000) 645-656 teaches a spot weld finite element assembly whose stiffness derives from the analytic solution of the region surrounding the spot weld.
Heubrandtner, Rangger & Scherjau, "Advanced Spotweld Failure Modelling Based on Trefftz Formulation," 4. LS-DYNA Anwenderforum, Bamberg (2005) teaches a spot weld element based on the Trefftz formulation with the nugget coupled through auxiliary nodes.
Dong (US 6,901,809 B2) teaches calculating structural stress in a fatigue-prone weld region of a finite element model from nodal displacements and nodal force and moment vectors.
Dong (US 7,089,124 B2) teaches structural stress analysis of welded structures using balanced nodal forces and moments substantially independent of mesh size.
Dong (US 7,516,673 B2) teaches structural stress determination for weld fatigue evaluation using nodal force and displacement values from finite element solutions.
Nutwell (US 7,640,146 B2) teaches modeling spot welds in a finite element analysis in which the spot welds are represented by beam elements or clusters of solid elements connected to the surrounding mesh.
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188