DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2022/0081518).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Tanaka is directed to a method for producing a radiation-sensitive resin composition. Tanaka discloses in step 1 a step of putting at least a resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, a photoacid generator, and a solvent into the stirring tank 10 is carried out. (Para, 0047; Fig. 1). Tanaka discloses other components other than the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, the photoacid generator, and the solvent may also be put into the stirring tank. (Para, 0049). Tanaka discloses, exampled of other components include an acid diffusion control agent, a hydrophobic resin, a surfactant, an alkali-soluble resin having a phenolic hydroxyl group, an onium carboxylate salt, and a dissolution inhibiting compound. (Para, 0049). Tanaka discloses the procedure for putting the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, the photoacid generator, and the solvent into the stirring tank 10 is not particularly limited. (Para, 0065). Tanaka discloses examples thereof include a method of that the above-mentioned components from a material charging port (not shown) of the stirring tank 10. (Para, 0066). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figure 1 teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition having a viscosity of 10 mPa- s or more, the method comprising: a step 1 of charging at least a resin of which polarity increases by an action of an acid, a photoacid generator, and a solvent as raw materials into a stirring tank…’
Tanaka discloses it is preferable that a drive source (for example, a motor) (not shown) is attached to the stirring shaft 12 so that when the stirring shaft 12 is rotated by the drive source, the stirring blade 14 is rotated and each component put into the stirring tank 10 is stirred. (Para, 0060; Fig.1). Tanaka discloses step 2 of producing a radiation-sensitive resin composition includes stirring and mixing the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, the photoacid generator, and the solvent in the stirring tank under a specific gas. (Para, 0086). Tanaka explains in step 2, the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, the photoacid generator, and the solvent are stirred and mixed in the state where the space S shown in FIG. 1 is filled with the specific gas (charged state). (Para, 0086). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition having a viscosity of 10 mPa- s or more, the method comprising: …and a step 2 of stirring the raw materials in the stirring tank…’
Tanaka discloses in the specific gas, the inert gas concentration is 90% by volume or more in a total volume of the specific gas and among those, the inert gas concentration is preferably 95% by volume or more from at least one of the viewpoints that the occurrence of defects in a pattern formed is further suppressed or the fluctuation in a sensitivity after long-term storage is further suppressed (hereinafter simply also described as follows: “the effect of the present invention is more excellent”. (Para, 0087). Tanaka discloses, an upper limit thereof is not particularly limited, but may be 100% by mass. (Para, 0087). Tanaka discloses examples of the inert gas include nitrogen and noble gases such as helium and argon and examples of a gas other than the inert gas in the specific gas include oxygen and water vapor. (Para, 0088). Tanaka further discloses a temperature of the mixture containing the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid, the photoacid generator, and the solvent during stirring and mixing is not particularly limited, but is preferably 15° C. to 32° C., and more preferably 20° C. to 24° C. (Para, 0101). Tanaka further discloses in a case of performing the stirring and mixing, the temperature of the mixture is preferably kept constant, and is preferably within ±10° C., more preferably within ±5° C., and still more preferably within ±1° C. from a set temperature. (Para, 0102). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition having a viscosity of 10 mPa- s or more, the method comprising: … wherein a liquid temperature in the stirring tank is controlled to be equal to or lower than a 3. 00C higher temperature than a liquid temperature at a start of the step 2 throughout the entire step 2, and the control of the liquid temperature in the stirring tank in the step 2 is performed by passing an inert gas through the stirring tank.’ Moreover, these disclosures also teach the limitation of claims 5 and 7.
Tanaka discloses a rotation speed of the stirring blade during the stirring and mixing is not particularly limited, but is preferably 20 to 500 rpm, more preferably 40 to 350 rpm, and still more preferably 50 to 300 rpm from the viewpoint that the effect of the present invention is more excellent. (Para, 0104). Tanaka also discloses during the stirring and mixing, ultrasonic waves may be applied to the mixture. (Para, 0106). These disclosures and the disclosures of Tanaka in Para, 0060 as discussed above teach the limitation of claim 3.
Tanaka also discloses that the resin having a polarity that increases by the action of an acid (hereinafter also simply described as a “resin (A)”) preferably has a repeating unit (A-a) having an acid-decomposable group (hereinafter simply a “repeating unit (A-a)”). (Para, 0191). Tanaka discloses the acid-decomposable group is a group that decomposes by the action of an acid to produce a polar group and preferably has a structure in which the polar group is protected by an eliminable group that is eliminated by the action of an acid. (Para, 0193). Tanaka explains the resin (A) has a repeating unit (A-a) having a group that decomposes by the action of an acid to produce a polar group and a resin having this repeating unit (A-a) has an increased polarity by the action of an acid, and thus has an increased solubility in an alkaline developer, and a decreased solubility in an organic solvent. (Para, 0193). Tanaka also discloses examples of the repeating unit (A-a). (Para, 0214, 0235, 0253). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 13.
Tanaka discloses the radiation-sensitive resin composition produced by the above-mentioned production method is used for pattern formation. (Para, 0133). Tanaka discloses step A, which is a step of forming a resist film on a substrate, using the composition of the embodiment of the present invention. (Para, 0140). Tanaka discloses examples of forming a resist film on a substrate, using the composition include a method of applying the composition onto a substrate. (Para, 0143). Tanaka discloses the composition can be applied onto a substrate (for example, silicon and silicon dioxide coating) as used in the manufacture of integrated circuit elements by a suitable application method such as ones using a spinner or a coater, with spin application using a spinner is preferable. (Para, 0144). Tanaka discloses a film thickness of the resist film is not particularly limited, but in a case of a resist film for KrF exposure, the film thickness is preferably 0.2 to 12 μm, and more preferably 0.3 to 5 μm. (Para, 0149). Tanaka also discloses in a case of a resist film for ArF exposure or EUV exposure, the film thickness is preferably 30 to 700 nm, and more preferably 40 to 400 nm. (Para, 0150). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 14, ‘A pattern forming method comprising: a step of forming a resist film having a film thickness of 3µm to 20µm on a substrate using the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition produced by the method according to claim 1…’ Tanaka discloses next step B an exposing step is carried out. Tanaka discloses the method includes irradiating a resist film thus formed with radiation through a predetermined mask. (Para, 0157). Tanaka discloses examples of the radiation include infrared light, visible light, ultraviolet light, far ultraviolet light, extreme ultraviolet light, X-rays, and electron beams (EB), preferably a far ultraviolet light having a wavelength of 250 nm or less, more preferably a far ultraviolet light having a wavelength of 220 nm or less, and particularly preferably a far ultraviolet light having a wavelength of 1 to 200 nm, specifically, KrF excimer laser (248 nm), ArF excimer laser (193 nm), F2 excimer laser (157 nm), EUV (13 nm), X-rays, and EB. (Para, 0158). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 14, ‘ A pattern forming method comprising: …a step of exposing the resist film…’ Tanaka then discloses step C is carried out which is a step of developing the exposed resist film using a developer to form a pattern. (Para, 0165-0173). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claim 14, ‘ A pattern forming method comprising: …and a step of developing the exposed resist film using a developer to form a pattern.’
Tanaka discloses other steps may be carried out using the resist pattern formed such as an etching treatment on the substrate may be carried out using a pattern thus formed as a mask. (Para, 0178). Tanaka explains, the substrate (or the underlayer film and the substrate) may be processed using the pattern thus formed in the step C as a mask to form a pattern on the substrate. (Para, 0178). Tanaka discloses a method for processing the substrate (or the underlayer film and the substrate) is not particularly limited, but a method in which a pattern is formed on a substrate by subjecting the substrate (or the underlayer film and the substrate) to dry etching using the pattern thus formed in the step C as a mask is preferable. (Para, 0179). These disclosures and the disclosures of Tanaka as discussed above teach the limitation of claim 15.
Tanaka discloses a concentration of solid contents of the radiation-sensitive resin composition is 10% by mass or more. (Para, 0027). Tanaka also discloses example compositions of the radiation sensitive resin composition and in Tables 5-7, the solid content of the composition is disclosed. (Table 5-7; Para, 0461). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 12.
It necessarily follows from the disclosures of Tanaka as discussed above, which explicitly teaches the method of claim 1 for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition having a viscosity of 10 mPa- s or more, that the disclosures of Tanaka also teach the limitation of claim 9.
Therefore, the recitations of claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9 and 12-15 are anticipated by the disclosures of Tanaka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Tanaka.
The applied reference has a common inventor and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
As discussed above the disclosures of Tanaka teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 4, 6 and 8. Still, the disclosures of Tanaka as discussed above fail to explicitly teach the limitation of claim 2, ‘The method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition according to claim 1, wherein a temperature of the inert gas for passing through the stirring tank is 15C to 20C.’ However, the recitations of claim 2 are obvious in view of the disclosures of Tanaka.
As discussed above the temperature of the resin mixture is maintained during the stirring and/or mixing at a certain temperature as the inert gas is also fed into the stirring tank. (Para, 0101-0102). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonable appreciate that in order to maintain the temperature of the liquid any other component that is added to the resin mixture or that contacts the resin mixture would ideally be similar in temperature of perhaps less so as to keep the mixture cool while being stirred/agitated which could raise the temperature of the resin mixture. Moreover, the flow of the component contacting the mixture would also be controlled so as to not disturb the temperature profile of the resin composition. Therefore, the disclosures of Tanaka contemplate the limitation of claims 2 and 11.
While the limitation of claim 2 is not exactly or identically taught by the disclosures of Tanaka one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of successfully forming a desired radiation-sensitive resin composition and maintaining the temperature of the composition even as it is mixed based so as to minimize pattern defects when used in a patterning process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The disclosures of Tanaka as discussed above fail to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10, ‘ The method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition according to The method for producing an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition according to wherein the stirring in the step 2 is performed by a stirring shaft having a stirring blade, and in a case where the viscosity of the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition is denoted as X, Y < 40 x Ln(X) +65 is satisfied (where Y represents a rotation speed of the stirring blade) in the step 2.’ The prior art fails to provide other relevant disclosures which are properly combinable with Tanaka to teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 includes allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899