DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motta (US 20140184894 A1) in view of Yang (US 5574511 A).
As of Claim 1: Motta teaches in FIGS. 1-3 a method comprising: receiving, from an image capture device, an image (¶¶0019,0020 and note a pre-processing engine receives image sensor data from an interleaved image sensor. The image sensor data includes a first portion of pixels exposed for a first exposure time and a second portion of pixels exposed for a second exposure time. The first exposure time is greater than the second exposure time. At step 104, the pre-processing engine identifies a first subset of pixels in the second portion having an intensity value above a first threshold value. The first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels ); determining, based on an analysis of the image, a first intensity associated with a first area of the image and a second intensity associated with a second area of the image (¶0030); determining, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, an intensity ratio (¶0019); and based on the intensity ratio satisfying a threshold, causing the image capture device to use an image capture mode (¶¶0019, 0029-0030 and note that the first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels in the first portion. Note also the pre-processing engine generates a value (e.g., 0 or 1) that identifies whether the corresponding pixel is included in the first subset. At step 106, the pre-processing engine identifies a second subset of pixels in the first portion having an intensity value below a second threshold value. The second subset of pixels represents pixels in the first portion that have neighboring pixels in the second portion that may be invalid. Also, FIG. 5A illustrates pre-processing engine 410 determines that a corresponding pixel 501 in the image sensor data 290 is included in the first portion 231, the pre-processing engine 410 checks a neighboring pixel 503 to determine whether the neighboring pixel 503 is included in the first subset (i.e., has an intensity value above a threshold value)).
Yang is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yang teaches two images with different intensities in the foreground and background regions of the scene, respectively, are compared for light intensity differences between corresponding pixels of the two images to form a mask differentiating between the foreground and background regions of the image that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Yang’s known principal of first intensity associated with the near-field region of the image and the second intensity associated with the far-field region of the image ( Col. 5, lines 3-44 and note that a scene can be dissected into three regions; a foreground region, a near background region and a far background region. The foreground region includes objects near the imaging device which are the subject of the image, often a person. The near background region is the part of the background which can be affected by an active light source. The far background region is the part of the background which can not be affected by an active light source. For two IR images with different illumination patterns, a comparison of light intensity of pixels at each of the above three regions under varied lighting conditions will provide information necessary for creating a mask for separating the foreground and background regions of an image of the scene. In other words, the contrast ratios of intensity values of pixels at corresponding locations of the two IR images will vary between the foreground and background).
In view of the motivations such as eliminate any influence a background may have on the subject when not needed thereby further improving image quality one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 2- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motta (US 20140184894 A1) in view of Yang (US 5574511 A), and further in view of Duran et al. (US 20180343390 A1).
As of Claim 2: Duran is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Duran teaches two images with different intensities in the foreground and background regions of the scene, respectively, are compared for light intensity differences between corresponding pixels of the two images to form a mask differentiating between the foreground and background regions of the image that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Duran’s known principal of determining, based on the analysis of the image, the first intensity associated with the near-field region of the image and the second intensity associated with the far-field region of the image comprises: determining, based on the analysis of the image, a depth distribution of one or more pixels of the image; and determining, based on the depth distribution of the one or more pixels, the first intensity associated with the near-field region of the image and the second intensity associated with the far-field region of the image (Duran¶0136 and note in FIG. 5A, image data is captured via the lens 502 at the image sensor 504. In an HDR mode, the image data is captured at differing exposure times. In some implementations, the image data is stored in memory 508 (e.g., a memory buffer, cache, or other device). In some implementations, exposure statistics are obtained for each frame and/or exposure time. Also, ¶0142 FIGS. 8A-8B are example light intensity histograms for the images of FIGS. 7A-7B in accordance with some implementations. The histograms are graphs showing a number of pixels in respective images at each different intensity value found in that image. The light intensity histogram 802 in FIG. 8A shows that the pixels in long exposure image 702 are binned in the medium-to-high light intensity bins (also sometimes called sigma bins). The light intensity histogram 804 in FIG. 8B shows that the pixels in the short exposure image 704 are binned in the medium-to-low light intensity bins.).
In view of the motivations such as eliminate any influence a background may have on the subject when not needed thereby further improving image quality one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 3: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches the first parameter comprises an average intensity associated with the near-field region of the image, and wherein the second intensity comprises an average intensity associated with the far-field region of the image (Duran¶0150 and note that the camera device obtains (1006) short exposure light intensity data. In some implementations, the short exposure light intensity data includes average light intensity data and/or light intensity data per pixel for the short exposure).
As of Claim 4: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches the near-field region of the image comprises a foreground area scene of an environment captured by the image capture device, and wherein the far-field region of the image comprises a background area of the environment captured by the image capture device (Yang Col. 5, lines 3-44).
As of Claim 5: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches the image capture mode comprises one or more of a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode or a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶0048 and note the cameras 118 are each configured to operate in a day mode and in a low-light mode (e.g., a night mode). In some implementations, the cameras 118 each include one or more IR illuminators for providing illumination while the camera is operating in the low-light mode. In some implementations, the cameras 118 include one or more outdoor cameras. In some implementations, the outdoor cameras include additional features and/or components such as weatherproofing and/or solar ray compensation.).
As of Claim 6: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, causing the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, adjusting an exposure time associated with capturing the image; and causing, based on the adjusted exposure time, the use of the image capture mode (Duran ¶0153-0154 and note in accordance with a determination that the long exposure light intensity data does not meet the one or more first criteria, the camera device determines (1010) whether the short exposure light intensity data meets one or more second criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether an average light intensity for the short exposure meets one or more criteria (e.g., whether the average light intensity is less than a threshold value). In some implementations, the average light intensity is adjusted based on exposure target and the camera device determines whether the adjusted average light intensity meets the one or more criteria. In some implementations, the camera device determines whether the second subset of the video data meets one or more second predefined criteria. In some implementations, determining whether the second subset of the video data meets the one or more second predefined criteria includes determining whether a light intensity of the second subset of the video data meets a light intensity criterion. In some implementations, the order of operations 1008 and 1010 is reversed).
As of Claim 7: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, causing the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio not satisfying a first threshold, determining the intensity ratio satisfies a second threshold; and based on the intensity ratio satisfying the second threshold, causing the use of the image capture mode (Duran¶0158 and note that while operating in the non-HDR mode, the camera device: (1) captures second video data of the scene with the image sensor; (2) determines whether the second video data meets one or more third predefined criteria; and (3) in accordance with a determination that the second video data meets the one or more third predefined criteria, switches operation from the non-HDR mode to the HDR mode. The key is changing the criteria before switching).
As of Claim 8: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, causing the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, causing the use of a night-time image capture mode and a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode (Duran ¶0158 and note that while operating in the non-HDR mode, the camera device: (1) captures second video data of the scene with the image sensor; (2) determines whether the second video data meets one or more third predefined criteria; and (3) in accordance with a determination that the second video data meets the one or more third predefined criteria, switches operation from the non-HDR mode to the HDR mode. The key is changing the criteria before switching).
As of Claim 9: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, causing the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, determining the first intensity comprises a low average intensity and the second parameter comprises a low average intensity; and causing, based on the first parameter comprising a low average intensity and the second parameter comprising a low average intensity, the use of a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶0153 and note that the camera device determines (1008) whether the long exposure light intensity data meets one or more first criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether the long exposure light intensity data meets the one or more first criteria using a camera module 444. In some implementations, determining whether the long exposure light intensity data meets the one or more first criteria includes determining whether a threshold number of pixels have respective light intensities above a particular light intensity threshold. Also, ¶0154 in accordance with a determination that the long exposure light intensity data does not meet the one or more first criteria, the camera device determines (1010) whether the short exposure light intensity data meets one or more second criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether an average light intensity for the short exposure meets one or more criteria (e.g., whether the average light intensity is less than a threshold value). In some implementations, the average light intensity is adjusted based on exposure target and the camera device determines whether the adjusted average light intensity meets the one or more criteria. In some implementations, the camera device determines whether the second subset of the video data meets one or more second predefined criteria. In some implementations, determining whether the second subset of the video data meets the one or more second predefined criteria includes determining whether a light intensity of the second subset of the video data meets a light intensity criterion. In some implementations, the order of operations 1008 and 1010 is reversed).
As of Claim 10: Motta teaches in FIGS. 1-3 a method comprising: receiving, from an image capture device, an image (¶¶0019,0020 and note a pre-processing engine receives image sensor data from an interleaved image sensor. The image sensor data includes a first portion of pixels exposed for a first exposure time and a second portion of pixels exposed for a second exposure time. The first exposure time is greater than the second exposure time. At step 104, the pre-processing engine identifies a first subset of pixels in the second portion having an intensity value above a first threshold value. The first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels ); determining, based on an analysis of the image, a first intensity associated with a first area of the image and a second intensity associated with a second area of the image (¶0030); determining, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, an intensity ratio (¶0019); and based on the intensity ratio satisfying a threshold, causing the image capture device to use an image capture mode (¶¶0019, 0029-0030 and note that the first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels in the first portion. Note also the pre-processing engine generates a value (e.g., 0 or 1) that identifies whether the corresponding pixel is included in the first subset. At step 106, the pre-processing engine identifies a second subset of pixels in the first portion having an intensity value below a second threshold value. The second subset of pixels represents pixels in the first portion that have neighboring pixels in the second portion that may be invalid. Also, FIG. 5A illustrates pre-processing engine 410 determines that a corresponding pixel 501 in the image sensor data 290 is included in the first portion 231, the pre-processing engine 410 checks a neighboring pixel 503 to determine whether the neighboring pixel 503 is included in the first subset (i.e., has an intensity value above a threshold value)).
Yang is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yang teaches two images with different intensities in the foreground and background regions of the scene, respectively, are compared for light intensity differences between corresponding pixels of the two images to form a mask differentiating between the foreground and background regions of the image that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Yang’s known principal of first intensity associated with the near-field region of the image and the second intensity associated with the far-field region of the image ( Col. 5, lines 3-44 and note that a scene can be dissected into three regions; a foreground region, a near background region and a far background region. The foreground region includes objects near the imaging device which are the subject of the image, often a person. The near background region is the part of the background which can be affected by an active light source. The far background region is the part of the background which can not be affected by an active light source. For two IR images with different illumination patterns, a comparison of light intensity of pixels at each of the above three regions under varied lighting conditions will provide information necessary for creating a mask for separating the foreground and background regions of an image of the scene. In other words, the contrast ratios of intensity values of pixels at corresponding locations of the two IR images will vary between the foreground and background).
In view of the motivations such as eliminate any influence a background may have on the subject when not needed thereby further improving image quality one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Duran is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Duran teaches two images with different intensities in the foreground and background regions of the scene, respectively, are compared for light intensity differences between corresponding pixels of the two images to form a mask differentiating between the foreground and background regions of the image that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Duran’s known principal of disabling a use of an image capture mode (Duran¶0136 and note in FIG. 5A, image data is captured via the lens 502 at the image sensor 504. In an HDR mode, the image data is captured at differing exposure times. ¶0200 in accordance with a determination that the light intensity data meets the one or more second criteria, the camera device performs (1410) automatic exposure with the HDR mode disabled).
In view of the motivations such as eliminate any influence a background may have on the subject when not needed thereby further improving image quality one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 11: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches the first intensity comprises an average intensity associated with the near-field region of the image, and wherein the second intensity comprises an average intensity associated with the far-field region of the image (Duran ¶0154 and note that the average light intensity is adjusted based on exposure target and the camera device determines whether the adjusted average light intensity meets the one or more criteria. In some implementations, the camera device determines whether the second subset of the video data meets one or more second predefined criteria. In some implementations, determining whether the second subset of the video data meets the one or more second predefined criteria includes determining whether a light intensity of the second subset of the video data meets a light intensity criterion. The examiner interprets the second subset as the second area of the image).
As of Claim 12: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches the image capture mode comprises one or more of a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode or a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶0048 and note the cameras 118 are each configured to operate in a day mode and in a low-light mode (e.g., a night mode). In some implementations, the cameras 118 each include one or more IR illuminators for providing illumination while the camera is operating in the low-light mode. In some implementations, the cameras 118 include one or more outdoor cameras. In some implementations, the outdoor cameras include additional features and/or components such as weatherproofing and/or solar ray compensation.).
As of Claim 13: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the parameter ratio not satisfying the threshold, disabling the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio not satisfying the threshold disabling the use of a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode or a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶0192 in accordance with a determination that the pixel count does not meet the one or more second criteria, the camera device disables (1318) the HDR mode. In some implementations, disabling the HDR mode includes determining an exposure time for subsequent frames. In some implementations, the exposure time for subsequent frames is selected based on the long exposure and/or short exposure statistics. Also, ¶0200 in accordance with a determination that the light intensity data meets the one or more second criteria, the camera device performs (1410) automatic exposure with the HDR mode disabled.).
As of Claim 14: Motta in view of Yang in view of Duran further teaches based on the intensity ratio not satisfying the threshold, disabling the use of the image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio not satisfying the threshold, determining the first intensity comprises a high average intensity and the second parameter comprises a high average intensity (Veit ¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098); and based on the first intensity comprising a high average intensity and the second intensity comprising a high average intensity, disabling the use of the image capture mode (Duran ¶¶0192-0196 and note that the light intensity data meets the one or more second criteria, the camera device performs (1410) automatic exposure with the HDR mode disabled).
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motta (US 20140184894 A1) in view of Yang (US 5574511 A), and further in view of Veit et al. (US 20210360157 A1; hereafter Veit).
As of Claim 15: Motta teaches in FIGS. 1-3 a method comprising: receiving, from an image capture device, an image (¶¶0019,0020 and note a pre-processing engine receives image sensor data from an interleaved image sensor. The image sensor data includes a first portion of pixels exposed for a first exposure time and a second portion of pixels exposed for a second exposure time. The first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels ); determining, based on an analysis of the image, a first intensity associated with a first area of the image and a second intensity associated with a second area of the image (¶0030); determining, based on the first intensity and the second intensity, an intensity ratio (¶0019); and based on the intensity ratio satisfying a threshold, causing the image capture device to use an image capture mode (¶¶0019, 0029-0030 and note that the first subset of pixels represents pixels in the second portion that have neighboring pixels in the first portion. Note also the pre-processing engine generates a value (e.g., 0 or 1) that identifies whether the corresponding pixel is included in the first subset. At step 106, the pre-processing engine identifies a second subset of pixels in the first portion having an intensity value below a second threshold value. The second subset of pixels represents pixels in the first portion that have neighboring pixels in the second portion that may be invalid. Also, FIG. 5A illustrates pre-processing engine 410 determines that a corresponding pixel 501 in the image sensor data 290 is included in the first portion 231, the pre-processing engine 410 checks a neighboring pixel 503 to determine whether the neighboring pixel 503 is included in the first subset (i.e., has an intensity value above a threshold value)).
Yang is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Yang teaches two images with different intensities in the foreground and background regions of the scene, respectively, are compared for light intensity differences between corresponding pixels of the two images to form a mask differentiating between the foreground and background regions of the image that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Yang’s known principal of first intensity associated with the near-field region of the image and the second intensity associated with the far-field region of the image ( Col. 5, lines 3-44 and note that a scene can be dissected into three regions; a foreground region, a near background region and a far background region. The foreground region includes objects near the imaging device which are the subject of the image, often a person. The near background region is the part of the background which can be affected by an active light source. The far background region is the part of the background which can not be affected by an active light source. For two IR images with different illumination patterns, a comparison of light intensity of pixels at each of the above three regions under varied lighting conditions will provide information necessary for creating a mask for separating the foreground and background regions of an image of the scene. In other words, the contrast ratios of intensity values of pixels at corresponding locations of the two IR images will vary between the foreground and background).
In view of the motivations such as eliminate any influence a background may have on the subject when not needed thereby further improving image quality one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Veit is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Veit teaches an image capture device for automated camera mode selection. The image capture device includes a high dynamic range (HDR) estimation unit configured to detect whether HDR is present in a scene of an image to capture based on one or more dynamic range inputs, a motion estimation unit configured to determine whether motion is detected within the scene based on one or more motion inputs, a light intensity estimation unit configured to determine whether a scene luminance for the scene meets a thresholds based on one or more light intensity inputs that would have prompted a predictable variation of Motta by applying Veit’s known principal of based on the parameter intensity ratio satisfying a threshold, enabling a second image capture mode; and receiving, based on the second image capture mode, the image (¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098 and note (1) if motion is small and dynamic range is small and light intensity is small, then mode is MFNR; (2) if motion is small and dynamic range is large and light intensity is small, then mode is MFNR; (3) if motion is small and dynamic range is small and light intensity is medium, then mode is MFNR; (4) if motion is small and dynamic range is large and light intensity is medium, then mode is HDR; (5) if motion is small and dynamic range is small and light intensity is large, then mode is STILL+LTM; (6) if motion is small and dynamic range is large and light intensity is large, then mode is HDR; (7) if motion is large and dynamic range is small and light intensity is small, then mode is STILL; (8) if motion is large and dynamic range is large and light intensity is small, then mode is STILL; (9) if motion is large and dynamic range is small and light intensity is medium, then mode is STILL+LTM; (10) if motion is large and dynamic range is large and light intensity is medium, then mode is STILL+LTM; (11) if motion is large and dynamic range is small and light intensity is large, then mode is STILL+LTM; and (12) if motion is large and dynamic range is large and light intensity is large, then mode is STILL+LTM.).
In view of the motivations such as accurately estimating the light intensity and minimizing human error thereby the camera mode selection and capture pipeline improving functionality of an integrated circuit, for example, including an image capture unit, a camera mode selection unit, or a combined camera mode selection and image capture unit one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Motta.
Therefore, the claimed invention would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As of Claim 16: Motta in view of Yang in view of Veit further teaches the first image capture mode comprises a day-time image capture mode, and wherein the second image capture mode comprise one or more of a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode or a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶¶0048,0049, 0091 and note that a high-light mode (e.g., a day mode) and in a low-light mode (e.g., a night mode). Also, the cameras 118 are each configured to operate in a day mode and in a low-light mode (e.g., a night mode).
As of Claim 17: Motta in view of Yang in view of Veit further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, enabling the second image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold (Veit ¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098), determining an exposure time associated with capturing the image; and enabling, based on the exposure time, the second image capture mode (¶0158 and note that while operating in the non-HDR mode, the camera device: (1) captures second video data of the scene with the image sensor; (2) determines whether the second video data meets one or more third predefined criteria; and (3) in accordance with a determination that the second video data meets the one or more third predefined criteria, switches operation from the non-HDR mode to the HDR mode. The key is changing the criteria before switching).
As of Claim 18: Motta in view of Yang in view of Veit further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, enabling the second image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio not satisfying a first threshold, determining the intensity ratio satisfies a second threshold (Veit ¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098); and based on the intensity ratio satisfying the second threshold, enabling the second image capture mode (Duran ¶0153-0154 and note in accordance with a determination that the long exposure light intensity data does not meet the one or more first criteria, the camera device determines (1010) whether the short exposure light intensity data meets one or more second criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether an average light intensity for the short exposure meets one or more criteria (e.g., whether the average light intensity is less than a threshold value).
As of Claim 19: Motta in view of Yang in view of Veit further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, enabling the second image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold (Veit ¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098), enabling a night-time image capture mode and a high dynamic range (HDR) image capture mode (¶0158 and note that while operating in the non-HDR mode, the camera device: (1) captures second video data of the scene with the image sensor; (2) determines whether the second video data meets one or more third predefined criteria; and (3) in accordance with a determination that the second video data meets the one or more third predefined criteria, switches operation from the non-HDR mode to the HDR mode. The key is changing the criteria before switching).
As of Claim 20: Motta in view of Yang in view of Veit further teaches based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, enabling the second image capture mode comprises: based on the intensity ratio satisfying the threshold, determining the first intensity comprises a low average intensity and the second parameter comprises a low average intensity (Veit ¶¶0066, 0070,0085,0091,0098); and enabling, based on the first intensity comprising a low average intensity and the second intensity comprising a low average intensity, a night-time image capture mode (Duran ¶0153 and note that the camera device determines (1008) whether the long exposure light intensity data meets one or more first criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether the long exposure light intensity data meets the one or more first criteria using a camera module 444. In some implementations, determining whether the long exposure light intensity data meets the one or more first criteria includes determining whether a threshold number of pixels have respective light intensities above a particular light intensity threshold. Also, ¶0154 in accordance with a determination that the long exposure light intensity data does not meet the one or more first criteria, the camera device determines (1010) whether the short exposure light intensity data meets one or more second criteria. For example, the camera device determines whether an average light intensity for the short exposure meets one or more criteria (e.g., whether the average light intensity is less than a threshold value). In some implementations, the average light intensity is adjusted based on exposure target and the camera device determines whether the adjusted average light intensity meets the one or more criteria. In some implementations, the camera device determines whether the second subset of the video data meets one or more second predefined criteria. In some implementations, determining whether the second subset of the video data meets the one or more second predefined criteria includes determining whether a light intensity of the second subset of the video data meets a light intensity criterion. In some implementations, the order of operations 1008 and 1010 is reversed).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contacts
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638