DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed October 24, 2025. Claims 1, and 12-13 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-13 are pending.
Applicant’s Amendments to claims 12 and 13 overcome the 112(d) rejection outlined in the previous Office Action. The 112(d) rejection has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deguchi (US 20190252293 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses a vapor chamber comprising:
a chamber body (Fig. 9, cooler 3, ¶ [0049]) that has a hermetic space (Fig. 9, flow passage Pa, ¶ [0050]) therein which is configured to contain a liquid material (“The coolers 3 configure a simple flow passage inside of which a coolant flows”, ¶ [0023]) therein; and
a thermal diffusion member (Fig. 9, heat conductive body 21, ¶ [0050]),
the chamber body (3) having a first outer surface, a first inner surface which is a back side of the first outer surface, a second outer surface, and a second inner surface which is a back side of the second outer surface (shown in Fig. 9),
the hermetic space (Pa) being between the first inner surface and the second inner surface,
the thermal diffusion member (21) positioned at a spaced distance from the hermetic space (Pa) (shown in Fig. 9),
the thermal diffusion member (21) being on the first outer surface and/or the second outer surface of the chamber body (3),
the thermal diffusion member (21) having thermal conductivity of not less than 500 W/mK in a planar direction perpendicular to the first outer surface or the second outer surface of the chamber body (3) (“the heat conductivity of the high heat-transfer surface of the graphite is approximately 800 to 1900 W/mK”, ¶ [0031]), and
the thermal diffusion member (21) containing anisotropic graphite (“The heat conductive body 21 (graphite) is a material having such an anisotropy”, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 8 of Deguchi further discloses wherein:
a crystal orientation plane of the anisotropic graphite forms an angle within ±10 degrees with respect to a plane perpendicular to the first outer surface or the second outer surface (Fig. 8 shows that the high heat-transfer surface (arrow line Ht) is aligned with the XZ plane, which is the plane perpendicular to the first outer surface).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, and further discloses wherein the chamber body (3) is made of metal (“The cooler 3 is made of metal”, ¶ [0028]).
Regarding claim 5, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, and further discloses comprising:
a coating layer (Fig. 9, copper plate 22, ¶ [0050]) that is on at least a part of a surface of the thermal diffusion member (21), the coating layer (22) containing metal or ceramics (“covering the heat conductive body 21 made from graphite with a copper plate 22”, ¶ [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 8 of Deguchi further discloses wherein:
an area of the thermal diffusion member (21) in the planar direction is 4% to 100% of an area of the first outer surface or the second outer surface of the chamber body (3) (Fig. 8, “A width W3 of the flow passage of the coolant is wider than the width W2 of the heat conductive body 21”, ¶ [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, and further discloses a semiconductor package (Fig. 9, semiconductor device 2c, ¶ [0049]), comprising:
a semiconductor element (12); and
a vapor chamber recited in claim 1, the thermal diffusion member (21) being joined to the semiconductor element (12) (“The one heat sink 20a faces the wide-width surface 121 of the semiconductor element 12a. The heat sink 20a is joined and electrically connected to the collector electrode exposed on the wide-width surface 121”, ¶ [0029]).
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 8 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 2 as applied above, and Fig. 9 of Deguchi further discloses wherein the chamber body (3) is made of metal (“The cooler 3 is made of metal”, ¶ [0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi (US 20190252293 A1) in view of Siu (US 20100018678 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, but Deguchi fails to disclose wherein:
the thermal diffusion member is joined to the chamber body via a joining layer; and
the joining layer contains at least one type selected from the group consisting of solder, a brazing material, diffused junction, and heat conductive grease.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transfer devices, Fig. 8 of Siu discloses wherein:
the thermal diffusion member (Fig. 8, boiling enhancement structure 430, ¶ [0059]) is joined to the chamber body (Fig. 8, base chamber 410, ¶ [0059]) via a joining layer (“The method of joining the fin structure with the vapor chamber could be any method with or without bonding materials”, ¶ [0012]); and
the joining layer contains at least one type selected from the group consisting of solder, a brazing material, diffused junction, and heat conductive grease (“The method of bonding with bonding material can be adhesive bonding, soldering, brazing, welding, or any bonding method known in the art”, ¶ [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the structure of Deguchi with the joining layer as disclosed by Siu, to improve bond quality and contact surfaces (see Siu, ¶ [0012]).
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 10 as applied above, but Deguchi fails to disclose comprising:
a heat sink that is on a surface of the chamber body opposite to a surface on which the thermal diffusion member is present.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transfer devices, Figs. 8-9 of Siu disclose comprising:
a heat sink (Fig. 9, solid fins 450, ¶ [0059]) that is on a surface of the chamber body (410) opposite to a surface on which the thermal diffusion member is present (The solid fins 450 are disposed on the same surface as the fin chambers 440. Fig. 8 shows that the fin chambers are on the surface opposite the thermal diffusion member 430).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the structure of Deguchi with the heat sink as disclosed by Siu, to maximize the heat transfer (see Siu, ¶ [0059]).
Claims 6-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deguchi (US 20190252293 A1) in view of Kato et al. (US 20180023904 A1) herein after “Kato”.
Regarding claim 6, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 5 as applied above, but Deguchi fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the coating layer is 0.005 mm to 0.5 mm.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transport structures, Fig. 27 of Kato discloses wherein a thickness of the coating layer (403) is 0.005 mm to 0.5 mm (“The protective layer and the adhesion layer each have a thickness that is not more than 40 μm”, ¶ [0474]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the vapor chamber of Deguchi with the coating layer as disclosed by Kato, to protect the thermal diffusion member (see Kato, ¶ [0474]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 5 as applied above, but Deguchi fails to disclose wherein:
the coating layer has an offset region at an edge of the thermal diffusion member in a planar direction of the thermal diffusion member, the offset region having a width of not less than 0.5 mm in the planar direction.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transport structures, Fig. 27 of Kato discloses wherein:
the coating layer (403) has an offset region (Fig. 27, “The protective layer… (is) structured to protrude past the graphite laminate”, ¶ [0459]) at an edge of the thermal diffusion member (401) in a planar direction of the thermal diffusion member (401), the offset region having a width of not less than 0.5 mm in the planar direction (“A portion of the protective layer protruding thusly has a width of not more than 2 mm”, ¶ [0459]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the vapor chamber of Deguchi with the offset region as disclosed by Kato, to optimize the heat dissipation properties (see Kato, ¶ [0459]).
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 9 of Deguchi discloses the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 1 as applied above, but Deguchi fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the thermal diffusion member is 0.5 mm to 10.0 mm.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transport structures, Fig. 27 of Kato discloses wherein a thickness of the thermal diffusion member (401) is 0.5 mm to 10.0 mm (Fig. 27, “The thickness of the graphite laminate… is preferably not less than 0.5 mm… and may be not more than 10 mm”, ¶ [0181]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the vapor chamber of Deguchi with the thickness as disclosed by Kato, to optimize the heat dissipation properties and device thickness (see Kato, ¶ [0181]).
Regarding claim 13, Deguchi and Kato together disclose the vapor chamber as set forth in claim 6, but Deguchi fails to disclose wherein:
the coating layer has an offset region at an edge of the thermal diffusion member in a planar direction of the thermal diffusion member, the offset region having a width of not less than 0.5 mm in the planar direction.
In the similar field of endeavor of heat transport structures, Fig. 27 of Kato discloses wherein:
the coating layer (403) has an offset region (Fig. 27, “The protective layer… (is) structured to protrude past the graphite laminate”, ¶ [0459]) at an edge of the thermal diffusion member (401) in a planar direction of the thermal diffusion member (401), the offset region having a width of not less than 0.5 mm in the planar direction (“A portion of the protective layer protruding thusly has a width of not more than 2 mm”, ¶ [0459]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the vapor chamber of Deguchi with the coating layer as disclosed by Kato, to optimize the heat dissipation properties (see Kato, ¶ [0459]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893