DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Objection to Drawings:
The amendment to the drawings is not supported by the originally filed specification. Therefore the specification is objected to for adding new matter. Additionally, the amendment to the drawings only show boxes for light source and focusing elements and add text and do not show the actual depiction of the elements within the apparatus as a whole and are insufficient to show every feature of the claimed invention. For instance, figure 3 does not show an anode sheath, instead the text anode sheath appears and it points to the same element as the ion source region. The figure further includes the text “magnetic field” however there is no component to actually generate the magnetic field. Moreover, the focusing elements/light source do not show any component to direct the light towards the anode/anode sheath along a different path than that taken by the ions emitted. Lastly, repression grid and target surface point to the same element. With respect to cancelled subject matter, those objections have been overcome, however new drawing objections and objections to the specification are presented herein below.
Claim objections:
The claim objections have been overcome by cancellation of claim 2.
Claim interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f)
By cancellation of “gas source” and “control system”, the claim interpretation is moot. However, with respect to optical system, the remarks take the position that a nonce word is not recited. This has not been found persuasive. System is enumerated as one of the generic placeholders in MPEP 2181 (I) (A) which recites:
“the following is a list of non-structural generic placeholders that may invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f): … "system for."
Therefore, prong a) of the three prong analysis is met. Optical system is followed by functional language “configured to direct light to the anode or the anode sheath along a different path than that taken by ions emitted”, thus meeting prong b of the three prong analysis. Lastly, the system is not modified by sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the claimed function of directing light, that is optical does not suggest a lens or mirror or combination to direct light to the anode or anode sheath along a different path than that taken by the ions emitted. Therefore, the functionally defined optical system invokes 35 USC § 112(f).
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112(a):
The remarks take the position that by canceling the term “gas source” the rejection is moot. This has not been found persuasive. Specifically, the claim has been amended to recite the functional term gas puff. However, there is no claimed requirement for any structure to generate the gas puff. Therefore, the claim is indefinite as discussed in the rejection herein below. The remarks continue that gas puff is generally known and d certainly known within the field of plasma physics. This has not been found persuasive. Initially, the remarks present no evidence that “gas puff having a scalable area was generally known to the art. Moreover, the issue is not with respect to whether gas puff was or was not known to the art, the issue raised is that the specification fails to disclose how the result of generating the gas puff is achieved. Specifically, the remarks point to paragraph [0059] for discussion of fast gas puffs. However, this is a desired result with no suggestion of what structure is used to generate the gas puff in the claimed apparatus. Moreover, neither paragraph [0058] nor paragraph [0009] disclose any structure to achieve the claimed gas puff having a scalable area as claimed. MPEP 2173.05 (g) recites:
“Unlimited functional claim limitations that extend to all means or methods of resolving a problem may not be adequately supported by the written description or may not be commensurate in scope with the enabling disclosure, both of which are required by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) ”
Here, the functionally claimed gas puff is an unlimited functional claim limitation extending to all means or methods of generating a gas puff, when the disclosure provides no mechanism to generate the gas puff and therefore lacks adequate written description to demonstrate possession of the claimed invention as required under 35 USC §112(a).
Therefore, the rejection stands as reiterated herein below.
Claim rejections under 35 USC § 112(b):
The claims have been amended to overcome the previous indefinite rejections, however by amendment new rejections are necessitated as discussed herein below.
Prior art rejections:
The remarks take the general position that the applied art fails to disclose the amended subject matter. This has been found unpersuasive. Specifically, the claims are written as an apparatus. The amended subject matter is functional, therefore the manner in which the claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2114 (II)). Here, the prior art teaches all structural limitations of the claim as discussed herein below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show focusing elements, anode sheath, directing light via an optical light source to the anode as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "”target surface" and "electron repression grid" have both been used to designate:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "anode sheath" and "ion source region" and primary anode have all been used to designate:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a gas puff having a scalable-area”, “an anode sheath”, “the magnetic field and accelerating voltage” in claim 1 and “the sensor” in claim 3, the light source and the focusing elements in in claims 4-5, one or more sensors in claim 6, an electron repression grid in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 20 January 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Figure 3 shows positional locations of the light source, focusing elements, anode sheath and electron repression grid. The specification is devoid of the locations of such claimed elements.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an optical system configured to direct light to the anode along a different path than that taken by ions emitted” in claim 4. (lenses and/or fiber optic see paragraph [0057] of the published application)
“one or more focusing element configured to focus light from the light source onto the anode along a path distinct from that taken by emitted ions” in claim 5. ([0057])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 lacks written description for reciting “an anode of an ion source having an anode sheath configured to not generate ions during a first time period and configured to generate ions during a second time period”. The remarks point to paragraphs [0041] and [0042]. However, neither paragraph suggests not generating ions during a time period and generating ions during a time period. Instead both paragraphs teach generating ions. Moreover, there is no disclosure as to an ion source having a sheath gas. That is, a sheath in the anode of the ion source is a desired result, however the specification is silent as to how the result is achieved. MPEP 2163.03 (I) recites:
“An amendment to the claims or the addition of a new claim must be supported by the description of the invention in the application as filed. In re Wright, 866 F.2d 422, 9 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 1989).”
Here, the specification is devoid of any disclosure of an anode of an ion source having a sheath, nor any structure to provide a sheath to the anode. For instance sheath used in paragraph [0020] which discloses the anode produces an anode plasma sheath, however is silent as to how the sheath is produced. Moreover, the specification is completely silent with respect to the anode sheath not generating ions. Indeed, the specification teaches that the anode sheath is a plasma sheath. Since plasma is an ionized gas, it inherently produces ions, therefore it is unclear where the support for an anode plasma sheath not generating ions. Therefore claim 1 fails to meet the written description requirement. For the purposes of examination, it will be interpreted that the anode sheath is configured to not generate ions when it is not formed.
Claim 1 lacks written description for “a gas puff having a scalable-area”. The specification is devoid of how the gas source MEMS valve is configured so as to achieve the claimed result of generating a gas puff having a scalable area to produce an anode sheath for the anode. MPEP 2163.02 recites “If a claim is amended to include subject matter, limitations, or terminology not present in the application as filed, involving a departure from, addition to, or deletion from the disclosure of the application as filed, the examiner should conclude that the claimed subject matter is not described in that application. ”. Here, the specification is silent as to how to configure the gas source so that the result may be achieved, therefore the gas source configured to perform the claimed functional limitations fails to meet the written description requirement.
Claims 3-7 and 10-11 lack written description by virtue of their dependencies on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a gas puff having a scalable area” is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim i.e. the anode or ion source, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the anode or ion source in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “an applied magnetic field and an accelerating voltage within the transport region” is vague and indefinite because the claim does not provide a discernable boundary on what performs the function. The recited function does not follow from the structure recited in the claim i.e. the anode or ion source or cathode, so it is unclear whether the function requires some other structure or is simply a result of operating the anode or ion source or cathode in a certain manner. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to draw a clear boundary between what is and is not covered by the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g) for more information.
Claims 3-7 and 10-11 are indefinite by virtue of their dependencies on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Derzon et al. (USPN 8,530,854).
Regarding claim 1, Derzon teaches an apparatus (figures 1-13),
comprising:
a anode (figs. 4-8 and 13, “anode” 104) of an ion source having an anode sheath configured to not generate ions during a first time period and configured to generate ions during a second time period (col. 13, lines 54-59 teach the micro gas puff can include a micro sale meso-scale X pinch configured electron beam that is combined with a noble gas to produce ions, gas puff from 301-302 creating a sheath at 318 or by pulsing the gas source. The anode sheath is configured to not generate ions when micro gas puff does not generate a micropuff or when the device is not in operation and configured to generate ions in a second time period as disclosed in col. 13, lines 54-59. Best seen in figure 13 where anode 104 is between two gas jets forming a sheath around 104. Alternatively, anode sheath interpreted to be z-pinch which is a plasma, which is operable to generate ions when micropuff is generated or no ions during a period when micropuff is not generated. See also figure 4-7 prior to plasma generated puff is applied (thus no ions generated), then figure 8 plasma generated (i.e. ions)); based on
a gas puff having a scalable-area (gas puff from 301-302), and
a cathode (106) separated from the anode (106 separated from 104 ) configured to transport the ions from the anode sheath to a target portion of the cathode based on an applied magnetic field1 and an acceleration voltage2 within the transport region (ions produced by x pinch by micropuff and electron beam (col. 13, lines 54-57) (i.e. from tungsten tips of cathode 106 see footnote 2). Thus ions from plasma (i.e. sheath micropuff). Since voltages are applied to respective anode (col. 14, line 2) and the cathode (col. 13, lines 62-67) of opposite polarity and ions are charged particles (i.e. negative cathode, positive anode), positively charged ions will be directed towards the cathode (i.e. target region). Conversely, by switching the polarity of the anode and cathode, the apparatus is capable of directing negatively charged ions to the cathode (i.e. target region).3), without ionizing or thermal heating a solid surface of the anode while the anode sheath is generating ions during the second time period (current between anode 104 and cathode 106 initiate the forming of a magnetic field as seen in figure 6 see col. 11, lines 27-33. Compression and heating occurs at the intersectional volume 318 (col. 11, lines 34-35). Final compression and breakaway of the gas puff feature from the heated quasi-spherical plasma at the intersectional volume 318 occurs in figure 8 (col. 11, lines 39-42). Thus the heating and ionizing occurs at 318 and the anode does not ionize or heat while the anode sheath is generating ions).
Regarding claim 3, Derzon et al. teaches a sensor (col. 6, lines 19-25).
Regarding claim 11, Derzon teaches wherein the cathode is configured to provide uniform electron flow over the anode (as seen in figure 13, symmetric electron emitter tips of the cathode provide a uniform flow directed over the anode 104)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Вовченкo (RU187270) (copy of publication and machine translation submitted herewith) in view of Derzon.
Regarding claim 1, Вовченкo teaches an apparatus ([0006] neutron generator), comprising: a anode ([0006], note anode, figure shows 11 as a cylindrical anode) of an ion source (plasma is formed thus ion source);
a cathode ([0006], cathode, 13 is a hollow cathode) separated from the anode by a transport region (space between cylindrical anode 11 and 13 in figure),
configured to transport the ions to a target portion of the cathode (transport ions from target 12 to cathode, see page 5, lines 12-15) based on an applied magnetic field and an accelerating voltage within the transport region ([0006] magnetic field in a limited space near the cathode is formed by a spiral line and insulating effect of the magnetic field, [0007] teaches an accelerating gap), without ionizing or thermal heating a solid surface of the anode.
Вовченкo fails to disclose the remainder of claim 1.
Derzon teaches these deficiencies as discussed above.
Derzon modifies Вовченкo by suggesting a gas puff to form a sheath around the anode and generating ions from the sheath.
Since both inventions are directed towards neutron generators, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the gas puff suggested in Derzon in the device of Вовченкo because the repetitive micro plus can be robust and long-lived since plasma is not created from solid surfaces (col. 6, lines 6-9). That is, Derzon suggested the substitution of the solid target of Вовченкo with the advantage of a longer lived plasma.
Regarding claim 4, Вовченкo in view of Derzon teach an optical system configured to direct light to the anode or the anode sheath along a different path than that taken by ions emitted. ([0006] target on surface of anode the surface of which is formed under the action of a focused laser beam. That is, the beam is incident the anode via the target, wherein a laser will inherently transfer heat to the surface thereof, when substituted for the gas puff as suggested by Derzon the laser would strike the cold anode suggested in Derzon itself).
Regarding claim 5, Вовченкo in view of Derzon a light source configured to output light (Вовченкo, [0006] laser); one or more focusing elements configured to focus the light from the light source (Вовченкo, inherent optics to form focused laser) onto the anode along a path distinct from that taken by emitted ions (Вовченкo towards anode surface [0006], which is distinct from the emitted ions from plasma); and a vacuum region ([0010] teaches a vacuum chamber).
Regarding claim 6, Вовченкo teaches one or more sensors ([0020] detection of hazardous substances).
Regarding claim 7, Вовченкo in view of Derzon teaches an electron repression grid (col. 13, lines 62-64 teaches the cathode 106 in part is formed by an accelerating screen thus pushing electrons away from screen or repressing electrons from coming towards screen).
Regarding claim 10, Вовченкo teaches wherein the light source is configured to output the light in a uniform pattern ([0006] pulsed laser, thus a uniform pattern of pulses).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881
1 current between anode 104 and cathode 106 initiate the forming of a magnetic field as seen in figure 6 see col. 11, lines 27-33.
2 Col. 13, lines 62-64 teaches the cathode 106 formed of an accelerating screen and tungsten tips, thus an accelerating voltage
3 Additionally, as evidenced by Derzon et al. (USPN 9,681,846) in discussion of US8530854 accelerating the damaging particles from the nozzle towards an opposing electrode having a perforation through which the charged particles can proceed towards a stop plate (col. 3, lines 40-41 and col. 3, lines 59-67 through col. 4, lines 1-6). Note ‘854 also teaches the cathode has a screen as discussed.