Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species I (Fig. 1), Sub-species A, claims 1-4, 7 in the reply filed on 12/08/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that sub-species A and B are front and rear exploded views which are persuasive and considered during the examination.
Claims 5-6, 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/08/2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the lid-picking 19” should be “the lid-picking”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines “..the lid-picking device selectively closes the mounting opening” in not clear in view of specification what it meant by selectively or how it is selected to close. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claims 2 defines “on the panel” has antecedent issues which should be “on the door panel”.
Claim 2 defines in the last line “at least one of the inspection devices” has antecedent issues which should be “at least one of the multiple inspection devices”. Similar issues for claim 7.
Claim 2 defines “ multiple inspection devices” and claim 1 defines “an inspection device”? are these separate multiple inspection devices different from the inspection device of claim 1 or do not include that of claim 1? Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-4, 7 are also rejected being dependent on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP’2274 et al (JP 7082274 B2).
Regarding claim 1: JP’2274 teaches in Figs. 1-9 about a load port 1 comprising:
a mounting base 42 having a top surface, wherein a movable plate (5+7) is mounted on the top surface, is movable (D direction) relative to the mounting base, and is provided with a fastening element 6;
an opening portion 41 including a board 4 mounted to a side of the mounting base and having a mounting opening (corresponding to the door 8 fitting opening) and a guide opening (corresponding to door/opening closing mechanism 9 and rod 80 moves up and down slot as best shown in Fig. 3) and the mounting opening disposed beside the movable plate (As shown); and
a driving assembly 9 mounted on the board and corresponding in position to the guide opening of the board (Fig.3, 5-6); and
a movable door (8+83, Fig. 5-6) including
a door panel 83;
a lid-picking device 8 and an inspection device M mounted on a side surface of the door panel (Fig. 5-6); and
a connecting rod 80 (Fig. 3) mounted on an end of the door panel, wherein the movable door (8 +83) is connected to the driving assembly 9 via the connecting rod, such that the door panel is movable relative to the board and the lid-picking device 8 selectively closes the mounting opening (Fig. 3, 5-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over JP’2274 et al (JP 7082274 B2) in view of You et al (TW M626076 U).
Regarding claim 2: JP’2274 does not explicitly talk about wherein the inspection device. includes:
a carrying bracket securely mounted on the panel;
a sliding rail assembly slidably mounted on the carrying bracket;
two rotating pivoting arms, each of the pivoting arms having a proximal end and a distal end, and the proximal ends of the two pivoting arms pivotally connected to the sliding rail assembly and disposed apart from each other; and
multiple inspection devices, wherein the distal end of each of the pivoting arms is provided with at least one of the inspection devices.
You teaches in Fig. 1 about wherein the inspection device 10. includes:
a carrying bracket (11+12) securely mounted on the panel;
a sliding rail assembly slidably 30 mounted on the carrying bracket;
two rotating pivoting arms 20, each of the pivoting arms having a proximal end and a distal end, and the proximal ends of the two pivoting arms pivotally connected to the sliding rail assembly (As shown) and disposed apart from each other (both sides of 30); and
multiple inspection devices (40, 50), wherein the distal end of each of the pivoting arms is provided with at least one of the inspection devices (as shown).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to have the features as claimed according to the teachings of You in JP’2274’s door panel to perform detection alone, so as to reduce the process steps and improve the production efficiency, and the two rotating arms can be installed with at least two vertical detectors and at least two horizontal detectors, so each detector can be changed according to user needs The setting position and quantity of the device can achieve the effect of testing wafers of different specifications (You, page 2)
Regarding claim 3-4: JP’2274 teaches in Fig. 4, 6 wherein the lid-picking device has:
a panel 8(O) securely connected to the door panel 83 (Fig. 6) and selectively closes the mounting opening; and
multiple connecting elements 81/82 separately mounted on the panel.
Regarding claim 7: You teaches wherein each of the inspection devices is a fiber optic sensor (on page 4 teaches sensors 40, 50 are optical fiber sensors).
Conclusion
/Mohammed Shamsuzzaman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897