DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 3/25/2026. Claims 1-23 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 9 are amended. Claims 11-23 remain withdrawn.
Claims 1-10 are presented in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (US 2016/0240561; hereinafter ‘Saito’) in view of Xu et al. (US 2019/0067525; hereinafter ‘Xu’) and Liu et al. (TW I670546B; hereinafter ‘Liu’).
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches an image display device manufacturing method (the manufacturing of LED display device, [0003]) comprising:
preparing (shown in FIG. 1, [0023]) a semiconductor layer (the stacked semiconductor structure including 11, 12, 13, [0024]; hereinafter ‘SL’) comprising a light-emitting layer (13);
bonding (shown in FIG. 12, [0109]) the semiconductor layer (SL) to a first surface (the surface facing 11, [0112]) of a light-transmitting substrate (the light-transmitting substrate including 121, 122; 131, 132; 141, 142, [0112]; hereinafter the light-transmitting substrate is referred to as ‘LTS’, and its first surface is referred to as ‘LTSF’);
UP’);
forming (shown in FIG. 13) a first insulating film (31, 32, and 33 of 30, [0037, 0047, 0115]; hereinafter ‘IF1’), covering the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate (LTSF) and the light-emitting element (10);
forming a circuit element (G1, [0050]) on the first insulating film (IF1);
forming a second insulating film (36 of 30, [0115]) covering the first insulating film (IF1) and the circuit element (G1);
forming a first via (the first via extending vertically from e2, [0028]; hereinafter ‘V1’) the via (V1) passing through the first insulating film (IF1) and the second insulating film (36); and
forming a first wiring layer (the first wiring layer is the conductive layer formed on 36, [0054]; hereinafter ‘W1’) on the second insulating film (36), wherein:
the first via (IF1) is located between the first wiring layer (W1) and the upper surface of the light-emitting element (10UP), and electrically connects (shown in FIG. 13) the first wiring layer (W1) and the upper surface of the light-emitting element (10UP).
Saito does not teach the image display device manufacturing method comprising etching the semiconductor layer on the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate and in a plan view, the circuit element does not overlap the light-emitting element.
Xu teaches an image display device manufacturing method [0006] comprising etching (etching, FIG. 2, [0022]) the semiconductor layer (120) on the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate (the surface of 102 facing 120).
As taught by Xu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Saito to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method comprising etching the semiconductor layer on the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate as claimed, because it facilitates stable handling of the epitaxial layer and enables subsequent patterning of trenches and through-hole with respect to the final device configuration [0022, 0036].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Xu in combination with Saito due to above reason.
Saito in view of Xu does not teach the image display device manufacturing method comprising in a plan view, the circuit element does not overlap the light-emitting element.
Liu teaches an image display device [0052] comprising in a plan view (FIG. 1), a circuit element does not overlap a light-emitting element (E1 including transistors does not overlap with L1, [0075]).
As taught by Liu, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Saito in view of Xu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method comprising in a plan view, the circuit element does not overlap the light-emitting element as claimed, because placing the circuit element between light-emitting elements improves space utilization within the pixel area and reduces the arrangement of lines or electrical elements outside the pixel area [0075].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Liu in combination with Saito in view of Xu due to above reason.
Regarding claim 2, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, further comprising: before the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, roughening (Saito: shown in FIG. 3, [0070]) an exposed surface (11a) of the semiconductor layer (SL) to form a roughened surface (11p forms on 11a).
Saito in view of Liu does not teach the image display device manufacturing method further comprising forming a film having light transmittance across the exposed surface.
Xu teaches the image display device manufacturing method further comprising forming a film (130, FIG. 2, [0022]) having light transmittance (130 is a transparent bonding layer) across the exposed surface (the surface of 120 facing 102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Xu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method further comprising forming a film having light transmittance across the exposed surface as claimed, because providing a bonding film serves to planarize the bonding surface and enhance bonding reliability [0015].
Regarding claim 3, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, further comprising:
forming (Saito: shown in FIG. 13) a second via (the second via extending vertically from e1, [0028]; hereinafter ‘V2’) passing through the first insulating film (IF1) and the second insulating film (36), wherein
the light-emitting element (10) comprises a connecting portion (e1), and
the second via (V2) is located between and electrically connects (shown in FIG. 13) the first wiring layer (W1) and the connecting portion (e1).
Regarding claim 6, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, further comprising forming a light-blocking layer (Saito: 23, FIG. 5, [0078-0080]) on the first insulating film (IF1).
Although, Saito’s FIG.5 does not explicitly teach the image display device manufacturing method comprising before the step of forming the circuit element, forming a light-blocking layer.
Saito’s FIG. 13, however, illustrates application of a top-gate transistor configuration. In such a configuration, the light-block layer (23) may be formed prior to formation of the circuit element (G1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Saito to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method comprising before the step of forming the circuit element, forming a light-blocking layer as claimed, because the relative position and formation sequence of the gate electrode and the light-blocking layer depend on the selected transistor configuration, which is a well-known design choice in the art [0058, 0115]. Further, it has been held that that rearranging part of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 7, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, further comprising: before the step of forming the first insulating film (Saito: IF1, FIG. 13), forming a third wiring layer (e2, [0028]) covering the light-emitting element (e2 covering 10).
Regarding claim 8, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein: the semiconductor layer comprises a gallium nitride compound semiconductor (Saito: SL includes a gallium nitride compound semiconductors, and [0043, 0117]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2016/0240561) in view of Xu (US 2019/0067525) and Liu (TW I670546B), and future in view of Hwang et al. (Microelectronic Engineering 77, 71-75, 2005; hereinafter ‘Hwang’).
Regarding claim 4, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, Saito in view of Liu does not teach the image display device manufacturing method further comprising: before the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, forming a conductive layer having light transmittance on the semiconductor layer; and after the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, etching the conductive layer to form a second wiring layer.
Xu teaches the image display device manufacturing method further comprising
before the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, forming a conductive layer (114 is an N-type ohmic contact layer, FIG. 1, [0021]) on the semiconductor layer (120); and
after the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, etching (114 is patterned by lithography, , FIG. 2, [0033]) the conductive layer (114) to form a second wiring layer (114 forms an ohmic contact region of 182, [0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Xu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method further comprising: before the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, forming a conductive layer on the semiconductor layer; and after the step of bonding the semiconductor layer, etching the conductive layer to form a second wiring layer as claimed, because it serves as a conductive layer forming part of a conductive path connecting the semiconductor layer and the electrode, thereby facilitating current flow through the device [0021, 0035, 0039].
Saito in view of Xu and Liu does not teach that the N-type ohmic contact layer having light transmittance.
Hwang teaches an image display device manufacturing method (1. Introduction) comprising N-type ohmic contact layer (ITO) having light transmittance (ITO is the transparent layer, abstract).
As taught by Hwang, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Saito in view of Xu and Liu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method further comprising forming a conductive layer having light transmittance as claimed, because ITO is a known material and widely used for transparent electrode in the art (1. Introduction). Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Hwang in combination with Saito in view of Xu and Liu due to above reason.
Regarding claim 5, Saito in view of Xu, Liu, and Hwang teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 4, further comprising:
forming (Saito: shown in FIG. 13) a second via (the second via extending vertically from e1, [0028]; hereinafter ‘V2’) passing through the first insulating film (IF1) and the second insulating film (36), wherein
the second via (V2) is located between and electrically connects (shown in FIG. 13) the first wiring layer (W1) and the connection portion (e1).
Although, Saito describes the second via as electrically connecting the first wiring layer and a connection portion, the connecting portion of Saito corresponds to an electrode.
Xu teaches that the second wiring layer functions as an ohmic contact region of an electrode 182 (FIG. 2, [0021-0022]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ and modify the teachings of Saito in view of Xu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method further comprising the second via is located between and electrically connects the first wiring layer and the second wiring layer as claimed, because the connection portion of Saito and the second wiring layer of Xu are functionally equivalent as electrodes.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2016/0240561) in view of Xu (US 2019/0067525) and Liu (TW I670546B), and future in view of Shin et al. (US 2018/0308420; hereinafter ‘Shin’).
Regarding claim 9, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, further comprising: forming a wavelength conversion member (Saito: 121, 122, FIG. 12, [0111]).
Saito in view of Xu and Liu does not teach the image display device manufacturing method comprising forming a wavelength conversion member on a second surface of the light-transmitting substrate located on a side opposite to the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate.
Shin teaches the image display device manufacturing method [0010] further comprising: forming (shown in FIG. 1) a wavelength conversion member (150, 160, and 170, [0049]; hereinafter ‘WCM’) on a second surface of the light-transmitting substrate (the surface of 110 on which WCM is formed, [0037, 0046]) located on a side opposite to the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate (the surface of 110 facing 120).
As taught by Shin, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Saito in view of Xu and Liu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method comprising forming a wavelength conversion member on a second surface of the light-transmitting substrate located on a side opposite to the first surface of the light-transmitting substrate as claimed, because it provides a flat and stable surface that facilitates easy application and patterning of the color conversion materials, thereby improving manufacturability [0058].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Shin in combination with Saito in view of Xu and Liu due to above reason.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (US 2016/0240561) in view of Xu (US 2019/0067525) and Liu (TW I670546B), and future in view of Choi et al. (US 2020/0168663; hereinafter ‘Choi’).
Regarding claim 10, Saito in view of Xu and Liu teaches the image display device manufacturing method according to claim 1, but does not teach the image display device manufacturing method further comprising: removing the light-transmitting substrate and forming a wavelength conversion member in place of the light-transmitting substrate.
Choi teaches the image display device manufacturing method [0002] further comprising: removing (shown in FIG. 16) the light-transmitting substrate (460 is etched to form a window region, [0144]) and forming (shown in FIG. 18) a wavelength conversion member (481, 482, 483, [0146]) in place of the light-transmitting substrate (shown in FIG. 18).
As taught by Choi, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize and modify the above teaching into Saito in view of Xu and Liu to obtain and achieve the image display device manufacturing method further comprising: removing the light-transmitting substrate and forming a wavelength conversion member in place of the light-transmitting substrate as claimed, because removing the light-transmitting substrate creates a direct light-emission window that reduces optical loss and increases light transmission efficiency [0144]. Further the wavelength conversion member is formed on the light-emission side opposite the driving layer to convert light emitted from the active layer into different colors while avoiding interference with the driving circuitry and securing a light-emitting region [0077, 0145].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Choi in combination with Saito in view of Xu and Liu due to above reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIYOUNG OH/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 4/8/26