DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 9/24/2025. Claims 21-29 have been added. Claims 12-20 have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-11 and 21-29 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1, 23 and 28, Examiner agrees that Zhou does not teach "after bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion, adding the second subset of conductive components to the partial display panel to complete the display panel," as recited by claims 1, 23 and 28. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches, in Figs. 1-2, a method of forming a display panel (1000, Fig. 37, [n0078]; Fig. 2 shows a closeup) with a first subset of conductive components (41 in layer 4, [n0048]) and a second subset of conductive components (9, [n0049]), the method comprising:
forming, in Fig. 1, a partial display panel, wherein the partial display panel includes the first subset of conductive components (41 in layer 4) but not the second subset of conductive components (9) (see Fig. 1, [n0052]-[n0053]);
bending the partial display panel to have at least one curved portion (A2, [n0052]-[n0053]); and
after bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion (A2) ([n0052]-[n0053]), adding, in Fig. 2, the second subset of conductive components (9) to the partial display panel to complete the display panel (see Fig. 2, [n0052]-[n0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Liu further teaches that the partial display panel includes a plurality of light-emitting diodes (11, Figs. 1 and 27, [n0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Liu further teaches that the second subset of conductive components (9) comprises conductive traces ([0049]) on an upper surface of the display panel (see annotated Fig. 37 below).
Liu Fig. 37 (annotated)
Regarding claim 28, Liu teaches, in Figs. 1-2, a method of forming a display panel (1000, Fig. 37, [n0078], Fig. 2 shows a closeup) with a conductive routing layer (4, [n0048]) and conductive traces (9, [n0049]), the method comprising:
forming, in Fig. 1, a partial display panel, wherein the partial display panel includes the conductive routing layer (4) (see Fig. 1, [n0052]-[n0053]);
bending the partial display panel to have at least one curved portion (A2, [n0052]-[n0053]); and
after bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion (A2) ([n0052]-[n0053]), adding, in Fig. 2, the conductive traces (9) to the at least one curved portion (A2) of the partial display panel to complete the display panel (see Fig. 2, [n0052]-[n0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation) in view of Northcott et al. (US 10860142).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 2. Liu does not teach that each light-emitting diode of the plurality of light-emitting diodes is formed from a crystalline semiconductor die.
In a similar field of endeavor, Northcott teaches that each light-emitting diode of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (within each pixel 38) is formed from a crystalline semiconductor die (col. 5, lines 25-30), in order to provide a display with a curved shape that a light guide structure can magnify (col. 6, lines 5-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the partial display panel of Liu with the light-emitting diodes of Northcott, in order to provide a display with a curved shape that a light guide structure can magnify.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation) in view of Huitema et al. (US 20160081180).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not teach that bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises pressing the partial display panel over a mold with a curved surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Huitema teaches that bending the partial display panel (400, Fig. 4B, [0057]) to have the at least one curved portion comprises pressing the partial display panel over a mold with a curved surface ([0057]), so that “the flexible display component 400 experiences smaller (in magnitude) strains in the bent state as compared with the flexible display component 300 adhered to the support structure component 302 in a flat state.” ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the pressing the partial display panel over a curved mold of Huitema, so that the partial display panel experiences less strain in the bent strain ([0058]).
Claims 5-7, 11, 22, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation) in view of Guillou et al. (US 10937987).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not teach after adding the second subset of conductive components to the partial display panel to complete the display panel, attaching a display cover layer to the display panel with a layer of optically clear adhesive.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches after adding the second subset of conductive components (50) to the partial display panel to complete the display panel (14) (Fig. 3; col. 6, lines 5-15), attaching a display cover layer (40) to the display panel (14) with a layer of optically clear adhesive (see Figs. 3-5; col. 5, lines 40-50), in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the attaching a display cover layer of Guillou, in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not teach that the at least one curved portion includes compound curvature.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches, in Fig. 5, that the at least one curved portion (col. 2, lines 1-10) includes compound curvature (col. 8, lines 20-30), because “[e]lectronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration” (col. 2, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Liu with the compound curvature of Guillou, because electronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration (col. 2, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not teach that the partial display panel has four corners and wherein bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises bending the partial display panel to have compound curvature in each one of the four corners.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the partial display panel (14, Fig. 2) has four corners and wherein bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises bending the partial display panel to have compound curvature in each one of the four corners (col. 8, lines 20-30), because “[e]lectronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration” (col. 2, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Liu with the compound curvature of Guillou, because electronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration (col. 2, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 10. Liu does not teach that the conductive traces are formed from indium tin oxide.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the conductive traces are formed from indium tin oxide (col. 3, lines 40-65), in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel (col. 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Liu with the conductive traces of Guillou, in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel.
Regarding claim 22, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu does not teach after adding the second subset of conductive components to the partial display panel, laminating a display cover layer on the display panel, wherein the second subset of conductive components is interposed between the first subset of conductive components and the display cover layer.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches after adding the second subset of conductive components (50) to the partial display panel (14) (Fig. 3; col. 6, lines 5-15), laminating a display cover layer (40) to the display panel (14) (see Figs. 3-5; col. 5, lines 40-50), wherein the second subset of conductive components (50) is interposed between the first subset of conductive components (pixels 44 below 50; Fig. 3; col. 5, lines 45-50) and the display cover layer (40) (see Fig. 3), in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the attaching a display cover layer of Guillou, in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 29, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 28. Liu does not teach that the conductive traces comprise indium tin oxide.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the conductive traces are formed from indium tin oxide (col. 3, lines 40-65), in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel (col. 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Liu with the conductive traces of Guillou, in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel.
Claims 8-9, 21, and 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation) in view of Jang et al. (US 20180123060).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu further teaches that the display panel (1000) is configured to emit light in a first (vertical) direction ([n0073], 11 emits light vertically), wherein the at least one curved portion (A2) includes a bend (see Fig. 2), wherein the bend is characterized by a first displacement in the first direction between a start of the bend and an end of the bend, wherein the bend is characterized by a second displacement in a second direction between the start of the bend and the end of the bend, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Liu Fig. 2 (annotated)
Liu does not explicitly teach that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.02.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.02 ([0043], [0054]-[0055]); see Fig. 4 how the left bend portion 102 of display 100 has a 180 degree bend angle and a constant radius, which makes the ratio of the vertical and horizonal radius equal to 1), in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the bend displacement ratio of Jang, in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu further teaches that that the display panel (1000) is configured to emit light in a first (vertical) direction ([n0073], 11 emits light vertically), wherein the at least one curved portion (A2) includes a bend (see Fig. 2), wherein the bend is characterized by a first displacement in the first direction between a start of the bend and an end of the bend, wherein the bend is characterized by a second displacement in a second direction between the start of the bend and the end of the bend, wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Liu Fig. 2 (annotated)
Liu does not explicitly teach that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.1.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.1 ([0043], [0054]-[0055]); see Fig. 4 how the left bend portion 102 of display 100 has a 180 degree bend angle and a constant radius, which makes the ratio of the vertical and horizonal radius equal to 1), in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the bend displacement ratio of Jang, in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
Regarding claim 21, Liu teaches the limitations of claim 1. Liu further teaches the display panel (1000) is configured to emit light in a (vertical) direction ([n0073], Fig. 37, 11 emits light vertically), and
that the second subset of conductive components (9) overlaps the at least one curved portion (A2) of the display in the (vertical) direction (see Fig. 37).
Liu does not teach that the first subset of conductive components overlaps the at least one curved portion of the display in the direction.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches, in Fig. 3A, that first subset of conductive components (in TFT/pixel layer, [0038], [0067]) overlaps the bent portion (102, [0048]) of the partial display panel in the direction ([0048]; see how since the pixels are also in bent portion 102, the display panel emits light in all directions except the downwards direction; thus, the first plurality of conductive components in the TFT layer overlaps bent portion 102 in the light-emitting direction), in order to “provide images and/or text such as a graphical user interface, icon buttons, text messages, and the like” ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the with the light-emitting direction and pixel locations of Jang such that the second subset of conductive components overlaps the at least one curved portion of the display in the direction, in order to provide an area that provides images and/or text such as a graphical user interface, icon buttons, text messages, and the like ([0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches a method of forming a display panel (1000, Fig. 37, [n0078], Fig. 2 shows a closeup) configured to emit light in a (vertical) direction ([n0073], Fig. 37, 11 emits light vertically), the method comprising:
forming, in Fig. 1, a partial display panel that comprises a first plurality of conductive components (41, [n0048]) (see Fig. 1, [n0052]-[n0053]);
bending a portion of the partial display panel (to form bent portion A2, [n0052]-[n0053]); and
after bending the portion of the partial display panel ([n0052]-[n0053]), adding a second plurality of conductive components (9) to the partial display panel to complete the display panel (see Fig. 2, [n0052]-[n0053]).
Liu does not teach that the first plurality of conductive components overlaps the bent portion of the partial display panel in the direction.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches, in Fig. 3A, that the first plurality of conductive components (in TFT/pixel layer, [0038], [0067]) overlaps the bent portion (102, [0048]) of the partial display panel in the direction ([0048]; see how since the pixels are also in bent portion 102, the display panel emits light in all directions except the downwards direction; thus, the first plurality of conductive components in the TFT layer overlaps bent portion 102 in the light-emitting direction), in order to “provide images and/or text such as a graphical user interface, icon buttons, text messages, and the like” ([0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Liu with the light-emitting direction and pixel locations of Jang the second subset of conductive components overlaps the at least one curved portion of the display in the direction, in order to provide an area that provides images and/or text such as a graphical user interface, icon buttons, text messages, and the like ([0051]).
Regarding claim 24, Liu in view of Jang teaches the limitations of claim 23. Liu in view of Jang further teaches that the second plurality of conductive components overlaps the first plurality of conductive components in the (vertical) direction (in Liu modified by Jang, Liu’s 9 would overlap Liu’s 41 in the light-emitting direction of Jang).
Regarding claim 25, Liu in view of Jang teaches the limitations of claim 24. Liu further teaches that the first plurality of conductive components (41) comprises a conductive routing layer (4, [n0048]).
Regarding claim 26, Liu in view of Jang teaches the limitations of claim 24. Liu further teaches that the second plurality of conductive components (9) comprises vias or traces ([n0049], traces).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 113380779 A, citations made hereinafter to the attached English machine translation) in view of Jang et al. (US 20180123060), and further in view of Guillou et al. (US 10937987).
Regarding claim 27, Liu in view of Jang teaches the limitations of claim 24. Jang further teaches that the first plurality of conductive components (120, Fig. 7A) comprises copper or silver ([0113], copper).
Liu in view of Jang does not explicitly teach that the second plurality of conductive components comprises indium tin oxide.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the second plurality of conductive components comprises indium tin oxide (col. 3, lines 40-65), in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel (col. 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Liu in view of Jang with the conductive traces of Guillou, in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel.
Conclusion
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893