DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A (claims 1-11) of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on January 9, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US 20220231108).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a method of forming a display panel (100, Figs. 1-2, [0034]) with a first subset of conductive components (41, Fig. 3, [0038]) and a second subset of conductive components (9, [0039]) (Figs. 1-2), the method comprising:
forming a partial display panel (100 with grooves 8 without 9, Fig. 1, [0039])), wherein the partial display panel includes the first subset of conductive components (41, Fig. 3, [0038]) but not the second subset of conductive components (9, [0039]) (Fig. 1);
bending the partial display panel (Fig. 1) to have at least one curved portion (101, [0039]); and
after bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion (101), adding the second subset of conductive components (9, [0039], there are a plurality of conductive components 9 because they fill in a plurality of grooves 8) to the partial display panel to complete the display panel (100, [0039], Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou further teaches that the second subset of conductive components (9) comprises conductive traces on an upper surface of the display panel (100) (see Fig. 1, [0039], 9 comprises a plurality of conductive traces because they fill in a plurality of grooves 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220231108) in view of Northcott et al. (US 10860142).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou teaches, in Fig. 2, that the partial display panel includes a pixel definition layer (6, [0037]) defining an unlabeled element between supporting posts (7, [0037]).
Zhou does not explicitly teach that the partial display panel includes a plurality of light-emitting diodes.
In a similar field of endeavor, Northcott teaches, in Fig. 9, that the partial display panel (20; col. 3, lines 60-67) includes a plurality of light-emitting diodes (within each pixel 38; col. 5, lines 25-30), in order to provide a display with a curved shape that a light guide structure can magnify (col. 6, lines 5-15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the partial display panel of Zhou with the light-emitting diodes of Northcott, in order to provide a display with a curved shape that a light guide structure can magnify.
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Northcott teaches the limitations of claim 2. Northcott further teaches that each light-emitting diode of the plurality of light-emitting diodes (within each pixel 38) is formed from a crystalline semiconductor die (col. 5, lines 25-30).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220231108) in view of Huitema et al. (US 20160081180).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou does not teach that bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises pressing the partial display panel over a mold with a curved surface.
In a similar field of endeavor, Huitema teaches that bending the partial display panel (400, Fig. 4B, [0057]) to have the at least one curved portion comprises pressing the partial display panel over a mold with a curved surface ([0057]), so that “the flexible display component 400 experiences smaller (in magnitude) strains in the bent state as compared with the flexible display component 300 adhered to the support structure component 302 in a flat state.” ([0058]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Zhou with the pressing the partial display panel over a curved mold of Huitema, so that the partial display panel experiences less strain in the bent strain ([0058]).
Claims 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220231108) in view of Guillou et al. (US 10937987).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou does not teach after adding the second subset of conductive components to the partial display panel to complete the display panel, attaching a display cover layer to the display panel with a layer of optically clear adhesive.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches after adding the second subset of conductive components (50) to the partial display panel to complete the display panel (14) (Fig. 3; col. 6, lines 5-15), attaching a display cover layer (40) to the display panel (14) with a layer of optically clear adhesive (see Figs. 3-5; col. 5, lines 40-50), in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Zhou with the attaching a display cover layer of Guillou, in order to provide a transparent protective layer for the display panel (col. 5, lines 40-50).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou does not teach that the at least one curved portion includes compound curvature.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches, in Fig. 5, that the at least one curved portion (col. 2, lines 1-10) includes compound curvature (col. 8, lines 20-30), because “[e]lectronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration” (col. 2, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Zhou with the compound curvature of Guillou, because electronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration (col. 2, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou does not teach that the partial display panel has four corners and wherein bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises bending the partial display panel to have compound curvature in each one of the four corners.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the partial display panel (14, Fig. 2) has four corners and wherein bending the partial display panel to have the at least one curved portion comprises bending the partial display panel to have compound curvature in each one of the four corners (col. 8, lines 20-30), because “[e]lectronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration” (col. 2, lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Zhou with the compound curvature of Guillou, because electronic devices having displays with curved surfaces may have an attractive appearance, may allow the displays to be viewed from a variety of different angles, and may include displays with a borderless or nearly borderless configuration (col. 2, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 10. Zhou does not teach that the conductive traces are formed from indium tin oxide.
In a similar field of endeavor, Guillou teaches that the conductive traces are formed from indium tin oxide (col. 3, lines 40-65), in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel (col. 3, lines 55-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display panel of Zhou with the conductive traces of Guillou, in order to form two-dimensional transparent touch sensor electrodes for the display panel.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US 20220231108) in view of Jang et al. (US 20180123060).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the display panel (100) is configured to emit light in a first direction (upwards direction, see Fig. 2), wherein the at least one curved portion (101) includes a bend (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the bend is characterized by a first displacement in the first direction (vertical direction) between a start of the bend and an end of the bend (vertical radius, which here is equivalent to the total width of layers 1 through 6), wherein the bend is characterized by a second displacement in a second direction (horizontal direction) between the start of the bend and the end of the bend (horizontal radius of 101), wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
Zhou does not explicitly teach that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.02.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.02 ([0043], [0054]-[0055]); see Fig. 4 how the left bend portion 102 of display 100 has a 180 degree bend angle and a constant radius, which makes the ratio of the vertical and horizonal radius equal to 1), in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Zhou with the bend displacement ratio of Jang, in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhou further teaches that the display panel (100) is configured to emit light in a first direction (upwards direction, see Fig. 2), wherein the at least one curved portion (101) includes a bend (see Figs. 1-2), wherein the bend is characterized by a first displacement in the first direction (vertical direction) between a start of the bend and an end of the bend (vertical radius, which here is equivalent to the total width of layers 1 through 6), wherein the bend is characterized by a second displacement in a second direction (horizontal direction) between the start of the bend and the end of the bend (horizontal radius of 101), wherein the second direction is orthogonal to the first direction.
Zhou does not explicitly teach that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.1.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jang teaches that a ratio of the first displacement to the second displacement is greater than 0.1 ([0043], [0054]-[0055]); see Fig. 4 how the left bend portion 102 of display 100 has a 180 degree bend angle and a constant radius, which makes the ratio of the vertical and horizonal radius equal to 1), in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of forming a display panel of Zhou with the bend displacement ratio of Jang, in order to provide a foldable display or a double-sided display ([0042]).
Conclusion
/ERIKA H SON/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893