Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim #1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in view of Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson".
Cromwell shows, with respect to claim #1, method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: detecting a crack generated on a main surface of a substrate; and performing laser annealing treatment on the substrate, the laser annealing treatment comprising scanning the main surface of the substrate with the laser light in order that a time integral of a light amount of laser light for annealing with which a unit area in a crack region including the detected crack is irradiated is smaller than a time integral of a light amount of the laser light with which a unit area in a region different from the crack region is irradiated (column #2, line 26-43; column #3, line 37-42, 53-63).
Cromwell substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Cromwell fails to explicitly state, with respect to claim #1, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment on the substrate after detecting the crack.
Watson teaches, with respect to claim #1, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment (fig. #1, item 106) (paragraph 0021, 0029) on the substrate after detecting the crack (fig. #1, item 106) (paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #1, to modified the invention of Cromwell , with the modifications of the invention of Watson, which teaches, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment on the substrate after detecting the crack, to incorporate a structural condition that would provide a corrected reticle that can be used along with various lithography tools to pattern another wafer in operation, as taught by Watson.
//
Claim #2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in view of Roy et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0247804), hereinafter referred to as "Roy".
Cromwell as modified by Watson, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson, fails to show, with respect to claim #2 a method wherein when the laser annealing treatment is performed, a cooling stage made of metal cools a first main surface on an opposite side from the main surface of the substrate while supporting the first main surface.
Roy teaches, with respect to claim #2, a method wherein when the laser annealing treatment is performed (paragraph 0002), a cooling stage made of metal cools a first main surface on an opposite side from the main surface of the substrate while supporting the first main surface (paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #2, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson, with the modifications of the invention of Roy, which teaches, a method wherein when the laser annealing treatment is performed, a cooling stage made of metal cools a first main surface on an opposite side from the main surface of the substrate while supporting the first main surface, to incorporate a structural condition that would reduce the stress and therefore reduce the warpage to the surrounding layers, as taught by Roy.
//
Claim #3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above, and in further view of LIAO et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0298949), hereinafter referred to as "Liao".
Cromwell as modified by Watson, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson, fails to show, with respect to claim #3 a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment.
Liao teaches, with respect to claim #3, a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0099).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #3, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson, with the modifications of the invention of Liao, which teaches, a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would make it is possible to clearly recognize a position, at which contrast between light and shade emerges in the scan magnetic field image, as taught by Liao.
///
Claim #4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" and Roy et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0247804), hereinafter referred to as "Roy" as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above, and in further view of LIAO et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0298949), hereinafter referred to as "Liao".
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, fail to show, with respect to claim #4 a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment.
Liao teaches, with respect to claim #4, a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0099).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #4, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, with the modifications of the invention of Liao, which teaches, a method wherein a switching operation of a laser opening and closing apparatus that switches passage and blocking of the laser light synchronizes with scanning of the laser light by a scanning section in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding irradiation of the crack region with the laser light to perform the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would make it is possible to clearly recognize a position, at which contrast between light and shade emerges in the scan magnetic field image, as taught by Liao.
////
Claim #5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above and in view of Ding (U.S. Pub. No, 2020/0041432), hereinafter referred to as "Ding".
Cromwell as modified by Watson, substantially shows the claimed in invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson, fails to show, with respect to claim #5, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment.
Ding teaches, with respect to claim #5, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #5, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson, with the modification of the invention of Ding, which teaches, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would reduce the stress and therefore reduce the warpage to the surrounding layers, as taught by Ding.
/////
Claim #6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" and Roy et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0247804), hereinafter referred to as "Roy" as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above and in view of Ding (U.S. Pub. No, 2020/0041432), hereinafter referred to as "Ding".
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, substantially shows the claimed in invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, fails to show, with respect to claim #6, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment.
Ding teaches, with respect to claim #6, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0021).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #6, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, with the modification of the invention of Ding, which teaches, a method wherein a movement amount in a pitch direction orthogonal to a scanning direction along a scanning line is increased in order that the main surface of the substrate is scanned with the laser light while avoiding an avoidance line being a scanning line including the crack to perform the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would reduce the stress and therefore reduce the warpage to the surrounding layers, as taught by Ding.
/////
Claim #7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" and Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above, and in further view of Knerer et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026232), hereinafter referred to as "Knerer".
Cromwell as modified by Watson, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #1 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson, fails to show, with respect to claim #7 a method further comprising grinding and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment.
Knerer teaches, with respect to claim #7, a method further comprising grinding (paragraph 0028) and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0034-0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #7, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson, with the modifications of the invention of Knerer, which teaches, a method further comprising grinding and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would provide recrystallize polycrystalline silicon regions by local melting of said regions, as taught by Knerer.
///
Claim #8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cromwell (U.S. Pat. No, 6,624,707 B1), hereinafter referred to as "Cromwell" as modified by Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson" and Roy et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0247804), hereinafter referred to as "Roy", as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above, and in further view of Knerer et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0026232), hereinafter referred to as "Knerer".
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #2 above.
Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, fail to show, with respect to claim #8 a method further comprising grinding and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment.
Knerer teaches, with respect to claim #8, a method further comprising grinding (paragraph 0028) and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment (paragraph 0034-0035).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #8, to modified the invention of Cromwell as modified by Watson and Roy, with the modifications of the invention of Knerer, which teaches, a method further comprising grinding and thinning the substrate before performing the laser annealing treatment, to incorporate a structural condition that would provide recrystallize polycrystalline silicon regions by local melting of said regions, as taught by Knerer.
///
Claim #9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hawryluk et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0148810), hereinafter referred to as "Hawryluk" and in view of Watson et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2006/0240336), hereinafter referred to as "Watson".
Hawryluk shows, with respect to claim #9, apparatus comprising a stage (fig.6, item 110) (paragraph 0086) configured to hold the substrate (paragraph 0024, 0086); an optical unit configured to irradiate the substrate held by the stage with laser light for annealing (paragraph 0012); a scanning section configured to scan the substrate with the laser light (paragraph 0098-0096); and a control unit (fig. #6, item 170) (paragraph 0088) configured to control the optical unit (fig. #6, item 10) (paragraph 0057) and the scanning section to perform laser annealing treatment on the substrate, the laser annealing treatment comprising scanning (paragraph 0005-007, 0084-0085) the main surface of the substrate with the laser light (paragraph 0089-0090) in order that a time integral of a light amount of the laser light with which a unit area in a crack region including the crack detected by the inspection unit (paragraph 0012, 0096) is irradiated is smaller than a time integral of a light amount of the laser light with which a unit area in a region different from the crack region is irradiated, to perform laser annealing treatment on the substrate (paragraph 0012, 0096).
Hawryluk substantially shows the claimed invention as shown in the rejection of claim #9 above.
Hawryluk fails to explicitly state, with respect to claim #9, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment on the substrate after detecting the crack.
Watson teaches, with respect to claim #9, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment (fig. #1, item 106) (paragraph 0021, 0029) on the substrate after detecting the crack (fig. #1, item 106) (paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, with respect to claim #9, to modified the invention of Hawryluk, with the modifications of the invention of Watson, which teaches, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device comprising performing laser annealing treatment on the substrate after detecting the crack, to incorporate a structural condition that would provide a corrected reticle that can be used along with various lithography tools to pattern another wafer in operation, as taught by Watson.
EXAMINATION NOTE
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Andre’ Stevenson whose telephone number is (571) 272 1683 (Email Address, Andre.Stevenson@USPTO.GOV). The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 7:30 am to 4:30 pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith can be reached on 571-272 2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Andre’ Stevenson Sr./
Art Unit 2899
03/31/2026
/ZANDRA V SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899