DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention I in the reply filed on 10/23/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are not patentably distinct, since they both depend upon the same structure. This is not found persuasive because it entirely ignores the fact that the restriction is between a process and an apparatus for its process. As explained in the restriction requirement, such inventions are distinct is, as here, the product can be used for a materially different process then that claimed.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,617,905. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as is demonstrated by comparison below.
Instant
11,617,905
1. A light disinfection system, comprising:
a lighting system comprising an illumination source and a diffusion hood suitable for the lamination source; and
a disinfection system comprising a disinfection light source and a cover adapted to transmit light from the disinfection light source,
wherein the disinfection light source comprises a disinfection light source chip and
an illumination area of the disinfection light source chip is adjustable by rotating the cover to drive the disinfection light source chip.
1. A lighting disinfection system, comprising:
a system housing comprising two cavities or depressions on a front part of the system house, each cavities or depressions forming one of a light system housing and a disinfection system housing;
a lighting system comprising an illumination source placed inside the light system housing, and a diffusion hood covering the illumination source;
a disinfection system comprising a disinfection light source placed inside the disinfection system housing and a cover covering the disinfection light source, wherein the cover is capable of transmitting 80% or more disinfection light generated by the disinfection light source,
wherein the cover of the disinfection light source and the diffusion hood of the illumination source are both situated by the front part of the system housing to allow a illumination light and a disinfection light to irradiate from the front part of the system housing,
wherein an orientation of the disinfection light source is adjustable relative to an orientation of the illumination source and an illumination area of the disinfection light source is adjusted by rotating the disinfection light source,
wherein the system housing comprises a bottom part, the front part and two ends in a longitudinal direction of the bottom part and the front part, connecting the bottom part and front part, forming an internal space, wherein the two cavities or depressions on the front part of the system housing extend between the two ends in the longitudinal direction of the internal space, forming the light system housing and the disinfection system housing to house the lighting system and the disinfection system between the two ends in the longitudinal direction of the internal space respectively,
wherein the front part of the system housing forms an inward depression near the lighting system, creating a slot between the two ends to form the disinfection system housing,
wherein the disinfection light source comprises a disinfection light source chip that is mounted inside the disinfection system housing, and
wherein the cover comprises a hollow cylinder rotatably disposed within the slot, and
an illumination area of the disinfection light source is adjusted by rotating the cover to drive the disinfection light source chip to rotate for an angle.
888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888888
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a diffusion hood suitable for the lamination source.” There are two problems with this limitation. First, there is no antecedent basis for “the lamination source.” Second, it is unclear how one is to determine whether a particular diffusion hood is suitable for any particular purpose. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite. The limitation will be interpreted as best understood in light of the specification.
Claim 8 recites, “the angle being formed between the disinfection light source and the illumination source.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the angle” in the claims. Accordingly, the claim is indefinite.
Claim 6 recites, “the slot.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the slot” in the claims. The claim will be examined as though it depended upon claim 5.
It has been found that UV, violet or blue light can have disinfection and sterilization functions, such as inactivating pathogens on surfaces, air or water. A pathogen refers to any microscopic organism, including bacteria, viruses, spores, and fungi, capable of causing disease or infection in humans. Inactivation includes killing the pathogen, rendering it unable or unable to replicate, or rendering it unable to infect humans. Ultraviolet light (UV) refers to light with wavelengths in the range of 100 nanometers (nm) to 400 nm; the four sub-ranges of the UV range include vacuum UV from 100 to 200 nm; UVC from 200 to 280 nanometers; UVB from 280 to 315 nanometers; and UVA from 315 to 400 nm. The wavelength of violet light is about 400 to about 450 nm; the wavelength of blue light is about 450 to about 490 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US
Regarding Claim 1:
Park teaches a lighting disinfection system (para 1), comprising:
a lighting system comprising an illumination source (Fig. 2 (11)) and a diffusion hood suitable for the illumination source (Fig. 2 (143)); and
a disinfection system comprising a disinfection light source (Fig. 2 (12)) and a cover adapted to transmit light from the disinfection light source (Fig. 2 (14), paras 56-58),
wherein the disinfection light source comprises a disinfection light source chip (para 52, a UV LED is considered a light source chip).
However, Park fails to teach that an illumination area of the disinfection light source chip is adjustable by rotating the cover to drive the disinfection light source chip.
Poulsen is directed to a UV disinfection system (abstract) wherein an illumination area of the disinfection light source is adjustable by rotating the cover to drive the disinfection light source to a new position (Fig. 3, paras 17, 18, 30, 35, 46, et al.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Park in view of Poulsen such that the body and cover of Poulsen were rotatable. One would have been motivated to do so in order to extend the area irradiated by disinfecting radiation.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 1, further comprising:
a housing for accommodating the lighting system and the disinfection system (Park Fig. 12) and comprising a bottom part, a front part and two ends in a longitudinal direction, forming an internal space (as shown in Park Fig. 12), wherein the lighting system and the disinfection system extend between the two ends respectively (as shown in Fig. 1, both the lighting system and the disinfection system extend along the longitudinal direction, and any number of other directions), and are mounted within the internal space in parallel (the lights of the lighting system and the disinfection system are shown in Park Fig. 1 to be arranged in parallel by any number of arbitrary direction based on various dimensions of the lighting system and the disinfection system).
Claims 3, 4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 2, wherein the diffusion hood is mounted on an opening in front of the illumination source chip of the front part of the housing. Park Fig. 2 (143).
However, the modified invention fails to teach that the illumination source comprises a metal core printed circuit board mounted inside the housing; and an illumination source chip mounted on the metal core printed circuit board.
Hayashi teaches a UV radiation device comprising LEDs (abstract), wherein the LEDs are mounted on a metal core printed circuit board in order to effectively transfer heat away from the light source (para 194). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to implement the teaching of Hayashi in the above modified invention, and mount all of the LEDs on metal core printed circuit boards. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the heat of the LEDs and thus keep them at their ideal operating temperatures. Hayashi para 194.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 3, wherein the illumination source chip comprises a plurality of illumination source chips (Park Fig. 2 (11)) disposed on the metal core printed circuit board in intervals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to implement the teaching of Hayashi in the above modified invention, and mount all of the LEDs on metal core printed circuit boards. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the heat of the LEDs and thus keep them at their ideal operating temperatures. Hayashi para 194.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 3, wherein an angle being formed between the disinfection light source and the illumination source (such an angle is evident in Park Fig. 1), wherein the disinfection light and the illumination source are mounted adjacently (as shown in Park Fig. 1) have a substantially coincident illumination range on an illumination face (at a sufficiently distant point, the illumination range of the disinfection light and the illumination source will by substantially the same because the relative distance between the sources will be insignificant.).
Regarding Claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 8, wherein the disinfection light source comprises a UV light source (Park para 50)and the illumination light source comprises a white light source (Park para 49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 10-11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,007,292 B1
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881