DETAILED ACTION
It has been found that UV, violet or blue light can have disinfection and sterilization functions, such as inactivating pathogens on surfaces, air or water. A pathogen refers to any microscopic organism, including bacteria, viruses, spores, and fungi, capable of causing disease or infection in humans. Inactivation includes killing the pathogen, rendering it unable or unable to replicate, or rendering it unable to infect humans. Ultraviolet light (UV) refers to light with wavelengths in the range of 100 nanometers (nm) to 400 nm; the four sub-ranges of the UV range include vacuum UV from 100 to 200 nm; UVC from 200 to 280 nanometers; UVB from 280 to 315 nanometers; and UVA from 315 to 400 nm. The wavelength of violet light is about 400 to about 450 nm; the wavelength of blue light is about 450 to about 490 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US
Regarding Claim 1:
Park teaches a lighting disinfection system (para 1), comprising:
a lighting system comprising an illumination source (Fig. 2 (11)) and a diffusion hood for the illumination source (Fig. 2 (143)); and
a disinfection system comprising a disinfection light source (Fig. 2 (12)) and a cover adapted to transmit light from the disinfection light source (Fig. 2 (14), paras 56-58),
wherein the disinfection light source comprises a disinfection light source chip (para 52, a UV LED is considered a light source chip).
However, Park fails to teach that an illumination area of the disinfection light source chip is adjustable by rotating the cover relative to the illumination source to drive the disinfection light source chip.
Poulsen is directed to a UV disinfection system (abstract) wherein an illumination area of the disinfection light source is adjustable by rotating the cover relative to the illumination source to drive the disinfection light source to a new position (Fig. 6 (119), para 52). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to modify Park in view of Poulsen such that the cover of Park was modified to rotate on command like the cover of Poulsen. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide additional control of UV exposure.
Regarding Claim 2:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 1, further comprising:
a housing for accommodating the lighting system and the disinfection system (Park Fig. 12) and comprising a bottom part, a front part and two ends in a longitudinal direction, forming an internal space (as shown in Park Fig. 12), wherein the lighting system and the disinfection system extend between the two ends respectively (as shown in Fig. 1, both the lighting system and the disinfection system extend along the longitudinal direction, and any number of other directions), and are mounted within the internal space in parallel (the lights of the lighting system and the disinfection system are shown in Park Fig. 1 to be arranged in parallel by any number of arbitrary direction based on various dimensions of the lighting system and the disinfection system).
Claims 3, 4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US
Regarding Claim 3:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 2, wherein the diffusion hood is mounted on an opening in front of the illumination source chip of the front part of the housing. Park Fig. 2 (143).
However, the modified invention fails to teach that the illumination source comprises a metal core printed circuit board mounted inside the housing; and an illumination source chip mounted on the metal core printed circuit board.
Hayashi teaches a UV radiation device comprising LEDs (abstract), wherein the LEDs are mounted on a metal core printed circuit board in order to effectively transfer heat away from the light source (para 194). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to implement the teaching of Hayashi in the above modified invention, and mount all of the LEDs on metal core printed circuit boards. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the heat of the LEDs and thus keep them at their ideal operating temperatures. Hayashi para 194.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 3, wherein the illumination source chip comprises a plurality of illumination source chips (Park Fig. 2 (11)) disposed on the metal core printed circuit board in intervals. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to implement the teaching of Hayashi in the above modified invention, and mount all of the LEDs on metal core printed circuit boards. One would have been motivated to do so in order to better control the heat of the LEDs and thus keep them at their ideal operating temperatures. Hayashi para 194.
Regarding Claim 8:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 3, wherein an angle being formed between the disinfection light source and the illumination source (such an angle is evident in Park Fig. 1), wherein the disinfection light and the illumination source are mounted adjacently (as shown in Park Fig. 1) have a substantially coincident illumination range on an illumination face (at a sufficiently distant point, the illumination range of the disinfection light and the illumination source will by substantially the same because the relative distance between the sources will be insignificant.).
Regarding Claim 9:
The above modified invention teaches the light disinfection system of claim 8, wherein the disinfection light source comprises a UV light source (Park para 50)and the illumination light source comprises a white light source (Park para 49).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The non-statutory double patenting rejections of record are withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer submitted by applicant on 4/13/26 and accepted by the office on 4/21/26.
The indefiniteness rejections of record are withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments.
Applicant argues that the art of record fails to teach a cover the rotates relative to an illumination source. This is not persuasive. This newly claimed feature is demonstrated at least by cover (119) of Poulsen.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,007,292 B1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881