DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on Dec. 23rd 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-14 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-11 are examined in this office action. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: NITRIDE SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE with metallized gallium nitride AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING NITRIDE SEMICONDUCTOR DEVICE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuyama et al. (US 20180019129), hereinafter Matsuyama.
Regarding claim 1, Matsuyama teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first gallium nitride region (fig. 1, n-type GaN layer 12; para. 0012), the first gallium nitride region (12) being an n-type semiconductor (n-type GaN); and
a second gallium nitride region (p-type GaN layer 14, p+ type region 16; para. 0044) in contact with the first gallium nitride region (12), the second gallium nitride region (16) being metallized gallium nitride (16 as an alloy layer with GaN in 14 for ohmic contact; para. 0028), the second gallium nitride region (16) containing a first element (16 has impurities Mg, Zn; para. 0045) being at least one element (Mg, Zn; para. 0045) selected from a group consisting of beryllium (Be), magnesium (Mg), calcium (Ca), strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), vanadium (V), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), and zinc (Zn).
Regarding claim 2, Matsuyama teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a metal electrode (fig. 1, electrode 60; para. 0044) in contact with the second gallium nitride region (16).
Regarding claim 3, Matsuyama teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a work function of the second gallium nitride region (fig. 1, 16 with Mg and Mg has a work function around 3.65 eV; para. 0045) is 3.7 eV or less.
Regarding claim 5, Matsuyama teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a concentration of the first element (fig. 1, Mg concentration at top of 16; para. 0066) in the second gallium nitride region (16) is 1 x1019 cm-3 or more (1E+21 cm−3; para. 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hachigo et al. (US 20140225229).
Regarding claim 4, Matsuyama teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1 including the second gallium nitride region (fig. 1, 14, 16).
Matsuyama fails to explicitly teach a sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region is 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
However, Hachigo teaches a sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region (Hachigo: fig. 1, sheet resistance of group III-nitride-film 13; para. 0091, similar to 14, 16 of Kim) is 0.3 Ω/sq or less (Hachigo: 0.3 Ω/sq or less by changing thickness, TABLE 1), which overlaps the range of 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
Hachigo and Matsuyama are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of GaN semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region from 0.3 Ω/sq or less to 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
Doing so would realize a group III nitride composite substrate with a low sheet resistance and produced with a high yield (Hachigo: para. 0007). In addition, Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Claims 6-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama in view of Sakurai et al. (JP 2020025056 from IDS).
Regarding claim 6, Matsuyama teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 1 including the first element (impurities).
Matsuyama fails to explicitly teach an amount of the first element bonded to gallium (Ga) is greater than an amount of the first element bonded to nitrogen (N).
However, Sakurai teaches an amount of the first element (Sakurai: acceptor element; para. 0003, similar to impurities of Matsuyama) bonded to gallium (Ga) (Sakurai: bond to Ga at nitrogen sites; para. 0004) is greater than (Sakurai: more easily for shortage of nitrogen due to nitrogen vacancies; para. 0004) an amount of the first element (Sakurai: acceptor element) bonded to nitrogen (N) (Sakurai: bond to N at Ga sites; para. 0004).
Sakurai and Matsuyama are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of GaN semiconductors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an amount of the first element bonded to gallium (Ga) is greater than an amount of the first element bonded to nitrogen (N).
Doing so would realize a well-known result of ion implantation with low manufacturing cost. Furthermore, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claim 7, Matsuyama teaches a semiconductor device (Abstract) comprising:
a first gallium nitride region (fig. 1, n-type GaN layer 12; para. 0012), the first gallium nitride region (12) being an n-type semiconductor (n-type GaN); and
a second gallium nitride region (p-type GaN layer 14, p+ type region 16; para. 0044) in contact with the first gallium nitride region (12), the second gallium nitride region (16) containing a first element (16 has impurities Mg, Zn; para. 0045) being at least one element (Mg, Zn; para. 0045) selected from a group consisting of beryllium (Be), magnesium (Mg), calcium (Ca), strontium (Sr), barium (Ba), scandium (Sc), yttrium (Y), lanthanum (La), cerium (Ce), praseodymium (Pr), neodymium (Nd), promethium (Pm), samarium (Sm), europium (Eu), gadolinium (Gd), terbium (Tb), dysprosium (Dy), holmium (Ho), erbium (Er), thulium (Tm), ytterbium (Yb), lutetium (Lu), vanadium (V), niobium (Nb), tantalum (Ta), and zinc (Zn).
Matsuyama fails to explicitly teach an amount of the first element bonded to gallium (Ga) is greater than an amount of the first element bonded to nitrogen (N).
However, Sakurai teaches an amount of the first element (Sakurai: acceptor element; para. 0003, similar to ions of Kim) bonded to gallium (Ga) (Sakurai: bond to Ga at nitrogen sites; para. 0004) is greater than (Sakurai: more easily for shortage of nitrogen due to nitrogen vacancies; para. 0004) an amount of the first element (Sakurai: acceptor element) bonded to nitrogen (N) (Sakurai: bond to N at Ga sites; para. 0004).
Matsuyama and Kim are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of GaN semiconductors.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an amount of the first element bonded to gallium (Ga) is greater than an amount of the first element bonded to nitrogen (N).
Doing so would realize a well-known result of ion implantation with low manufacturing cost. Furthermore, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Regarding claim 8, Matsuyama in view of Sakurai further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7, further comprising a metal electrode (Matsuyama: fig. 1, electrode 60; para. 0044) in contact with the second gallium nitride region (Matsuyama: 16).
Regarding claim 9, Matsuyama in view of Sakurai further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein a work function of the second gallium nitride region (Matsuyama: fig. 1, 16 with Mg and Mg has a work function around 3.65 eV; para. 0045) is 3.7 eV or less.
Regarding claim 11, Matsuyama in view of Sakurai further teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7, wherein a concentration of the first element (Matsuyama: fig. 1, Mg concentration at top of 16; para. 0066) in the second gallium nitride region (Matsuyama: 16) is 1 x1019 cm-3 or more (Matsuyama: 1E+21 cm−3; para. 0066).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuyama in view of Sakurai as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hachigo.
Regarding claim 10, Matsuyama in view of Sakurai teaches the semiconductor device according to claim 7 including the second gallium nitride region (Matsuyama: fig. 1, 14, 16).
Matsuyama in view of Sakurai fails to explicitly teach a sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region is 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
However, Hachigo teaches a sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region (Hachigo: fig. 1, sheet resistance of group III-nitride-film 13; para. 0091, similar to 14, 16 of Kim) is 0.3 Ω/sq or less (Hachigo: 0.3 Ω/sq or less by changing thickness, TABLE 1), which overlaps the range of 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
Hachigo, Sakurai and Matsuyama are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of GaN semiconductor devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified sheet resistance of the second gallium nitride region from 0.3 Ω/sq or less to 0.1 Ω/sq or less.
Doing so would realize a group III nitride composite substrate with a low sheet resistance and produced with a high yield (Hachigo: para. 0007). In addition, Here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP Chapter 2100-Section 2144.05-Optimization of Ranges).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHIJUN XU/Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/BRIAN TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 2818