DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to an amendment received on 11/25/2025.
Interview on 12/17/2025
During the interview on 12/17/2025, attorney of record Daniel Jackstadt and the examiner discussed the proposed cancellation of currently withdrawn claims 21-23 as being drawn to a non-elected invention and not eligible for rejoinder. This proposed cancellation of claims followed from the examiner’s belief at the time that claims 1 and 9 potentially contained allowable subject matter and claims 21-23 were not eligible for rejoinder as currently written. Regrettably, upon completing the final search and consideration for the case, the examiner identified art which reads on the currently amended claims. For this reason, claims 21-23 have not been cancelled herein as claims 1 and 9, along with their dependent claims, stand rejected as described below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, Species A, and Species C in the reply filed on 07/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim(s) 8, 14-16, 19, and 21-28 is/are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13, 17-18, 20, 29-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0197754 A1; Jeon, Jongmim; 06/2023; (“Jeon”) in view of US 2024/0186357 A1; Takahashi et al.; 06/2024; (“Takahashi”).
Regarding Claim 1. Jeon discloses A pixel cell (Figure 4, image sensor), comprising:
a front deep trench isolation (FDTI) structure (#150, Figure 4, first isolation region) disposed in a semiconductor material (#110, Figure 4, substrate which may be made of semiconductor material according to [0042] and #150 is disposed within) and extending a first depth from a frontside of the semiconductor material into the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #150 extends a first depth from front side #110F1 of #110 into #110), wherein the FDTI structure isolates a first region of the semiconductor material on a first side of the FDTI structure from a second region of the semiconductor material on a second side of the FDTI structure ([0050], “first isolation region 150 may physically and electrically isolate one photoelectric conversion device PD from an adjacent photoelectric conversion device PD”), wherein the FDTI structure includes a first conductive material (#154, Figure 4, conductive filling film) coupled to receive a first bias voltage ([0060], “the contact region 170 may provide a path for supplying a voltage to the first isolation region 150 by the power supply voltage”);
a back deep trench isolation (BDTI) structure (#160, Figure 4, second isolation region) disposed in the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #160 is disposed within #110) and extending a second depth from a backside of the semiconductor material into the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #160 extends a second depth, #160H, from back side #110F2 of #110 into #110), wherein the BDTI structure isolates the first region of the semiconductor material on a first side of the BDTI structure from the second region of the semiconductor material on a second side of the BDTI structure ([0053], “second isolation region 160 . . . may physically and electrically isolate one photoelectric conversion device PD from an adjacent photoelectric conversion device PD”), wherein the BDTI structure includes a second conductive material (#164, Figure 4, trap conductive film) coupled to receive a second bias voltage ([0055], “trap conductive film 164 including at least one electrically conductive material may be arranged to be electrically connected to the contact region 170”, i.e. #164 may receive a second bias voltage from the identified electrical connection), and
wherein the FDTI structure and BDTI structure are at least partially aligned in a depthwise direction of the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #150 and #160 are at least partially aligned in a z-direction of #110); and
a photodiode (#PD, Figure 4, photoelectric conversion device) disposed in the first region of the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #PDs are disposed in each region adjacent to a #150/#160) to accumulate image charge ([0026], “photoelectric conversion device PD may generate and accumulate photo-charge”), wherein the photodiode extends along the depthwise direction (Figure 4, #PDs extend along the z-direction) and is disposed proximate to at least a portion of the FDTI structure and a portion of the BDTI structure (Figure 4, #PDs are disposed proximate to a portion of both #150 and #160).
Jeon does not disclose that the second conductive material is coupled to receive a second bias voltage different from the first bias voltage. As shown in Figure 4, and described in [0060] of Jeon, the second conductive material (#164) is coupled to the first conductive material (#154) through the contact region (#170) such that any applied voltage to one of the conductive materials will necessarily be the same as the applied voltage to the other conductive material.
However, Takahashi teaches a an imaging element pixel (#100, Figure 12) comprising a front deep trench isolation structure (#160, Figure 12, pixel isolation unit) extending into a semiconductor material (#125, Figure 12) and including a first conductive material (#109b, pixel isolation electrode), and a back deep trench isolation structure (#164, Figure 12, pixel isolation unit) extending into the semiconductor material (#125) and including a second conductive material (#109a, pixel isolation electrode), wherein the FDTI (#160) and the BDTI (#164) are aligned in a depthwise direction of the semiconductor material (#125) and isolate adjacent regions of the semiconductor material from one another as pixel isolation units, and wherein the second conductive material is coupled to receive a second bias voltage different from the first bias voltage to the first conductive material ([0213], “a different first bias voltage from that to the pixel isolation electrode 109a can be applied to the pixel isolation electrode 109b”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the appropriate electrical connections to allow different bias voltages to the first and second conductive materials, as was done by Takahashi, in the device of Jeon in order to allow for saturation charge amounts and dark currents of adjacent photodiodes to be adjusted/controlled on their respective opposing surfaces separately from one another (see [0214] of Takahashi).
Regarding Claim 2. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1, further comprising a first electrically isolating material (Jeon, #152, Figure 4, insulating barrier) disposed between the first conductive material and the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, #152 is disposed between #154 and #110), and a second electrically isolating material (Jeon, #162, Figure 4, insulating liner) disposed between the second conductive material and the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, #162 is disposed between #164 and #110) (Takahashi, [0209]-[0210] describes that the pixel isolation structures are formed by first filling their corresponding grooves with insulating materials prior to the formation of their respective electrodes within those insulating materials).
Regarding Claim 3. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1, wherein the FDTI structure is vertically aligned with the BDTI structure (Jeon, Figure 4, #150 and #160 are vertically aligned in a z-direction of #110; Takahashi, Figure 12, #160 is vertically aligned with #164).
Regarding Claim 4. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1, wherein the first bias voltage operates to modulate a first electric potential of a first photodiode region proximate to the frontside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, [0050] and [0060], #150 including the potential applied to #154 functions to electrically isolate adjacent photodiodes such that it will necessarily modulate voltage potential of adjacent regions near #110F1), and the second bias voltage operates to modulate a second electric potential of a second photodiode region proximate to the backside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, [0053] and [0060], #160 including the potential applied to #164 functions to electrically isolate adjacent photodiodes such that it will necessarily modulate voltage potential of adjacent regions near #110F2) (Takahashi, [0214], the biases applied to the opposing isolation electrodes modifies the potential, saturation charge amounts, and dark currents of their respective sides of the semiconductor material).
Regarding Claim 5. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1.
Jeon in view of Takahashi do not explicitly disclose that the first conductive material and the second conductive material are of different material.
However, Jeon does teach that the first conductive material and the second conductive material may be made from a list of generic known conductive materials and that the two structures are made during different fabrication steps (Figures 9 through 14, #154 and #164 are made at different points during fabrication such that they may be made of different material which may include doped polysilicon, titanium (Ti), tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), and indium tin oxide (ITO) for #164 and generically doped polysilicon or metal for #154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider making the separate conductive structures of the front and back deep trench isolation structures in Jeon in view of Takahashi of different materials as a mere substitution of equivalents known for the same purpose to achieve the predictable result of allowing an electrical bias to be applied to both structures (see MPEP 2144.06.II).
Regarding Claim 6. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1 wherein the FDTI structure is in direct contact with the BDTI structure (Jeon, [0058], “the first isolation region 150 and the second isolation region 160 are in direct contact with each other”).
Regarding Claim 7. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 6, wherein the first conductive material and the second conductive material are electrically isolated (Jeon, [0058], “the first isolation region 150 and the second isolation region 160 . . . may not be electrically connected”, i.e. are electrically isolated by intervening insulating elements in Figure 4) (Takahashi, [0213], “a different first bias voltage from that to the pixel isolation electrode 109a can be applied to the pixel isolation electrode 109b”, i.e. the conductive electrodes are necessarily insulated from one another to allow the application of different bias voltages).
Regarding Claim 9. Jeon discloses An imaging system (#1000, Figure 19, electronic device including image sensor #1142 within camera modules, image sensor further detailed in Figure 21), comprising:
a pixel array (#1510, Figure 21, pixel array which may be #100, Figure 2-4, according to [0157]) having a plurality of pixel cells (#PX, Figure 2, unit pixel), wherein each of the plurality of pixel cells comprises:
a photodiode (#PD, Figures 3-4, photoelectric conversion device) disposed in an epitaxial layer (#110, Figure 4, substrate which may be epitaxially grown according to [0043]) in a first region of a semiconductor material (Figure 4, #PD are disposed in #110 which may be a semiconductor according to [0042]) to accumulate image charge ([0026], “photoelectric conversion device PD may generate and accumulate photo-charge”);
a front deep trench isolation (FDTI) structure (#150, Figure 4, first isolation region) disposed in [[a]] the semiconductor material (#110, Figure 4, substrate which may be made of semiconductor material according to [0042] and #150 is disposed within) and extending a first depth from a frontside of the semiconductor material into the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #150 extends a first depth from front side #110F1 of #110 into #110), wherein the FDTI structure isolates the first region of the semiconductor material on a first side of the FDTI structure from a second region of the semiconductor material on a second side of the FDTI structure ([0050], “first isolation region 150 may physically and electrically isolate one photoelectric conversion device PD from an adjacent photoelectric conversion device PD”), wherein the FDTI structure includes a first conductive material (#154, Figure 4, conductive filling film) coupled to receive a first bias voltage ([0060], “the contact region 170 may provide a path for supplying a voltage to the first isolation region 150 by the power supply voltage”); and
a back deep trench isolation (BDTI) structure (#160, Figure 4, second isolation region) disposed in the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #160 is disposed within #110) and extending a second depth from a backside of the semiconductor material into the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #160 extends a second depth, #160H, from back side #110F2 of #110 into #110), wherein the BDTI structure isolates the first region of the semiconductor material on a first side of the BDTI structure from the second region of the semiconductor material on a second side of the BDTI structure ([0053], “second isolation region 160 . . . may physically and electrically isolate one photoelectric conversion device PD from an adjacent photoelectric conversion device PD”), wherein the BDTI structure includes a second conductive material (#164, Figure 4, trap conductive film) coupled to receive a second bias voltage ([0055], “trap conductive film 164 including at least one electrically conductive material may be arranged to be electrically connected to the contact region 170”, i.e. #164 may receive a second bias voltage from the identified electrical connection),
wherein the FDTI and BDTI structures are at least partially aligned in a direction from the frontside to the backside of the semiconductor material (Figure 4, #150 and #160 are at least partially aligned in a z-direction of #110), and
wherein each photodiode lies along the direction (Figure 4, #PDs extend along the z-direction) and proximate to at least a portion of the FDTI structure and a portion of the BDTI structure (Figure 4, #PDs are disposed proximate to a portion of both #150 and #160);
control circuitry (#1530, Figure 21, controller) coupled to the pixel array to control operation of the pixel array ([0159], “controller 1530 may control the row driver 1520 to allow the pixel array 1510 to absorb light to accumulate photo-charge . . .”); and
readout circuitry (#1212, Figure 19, sub-image processors) coupled to the pixel array to readout image data from the plurality of pixel cells (Figure 19, [0151], “corresponding sub-processor among the sub-image processors 1212a, 1212b, and 1212c of the image processing device 1210 may perform decoding, and may also perform image processing on the decoded image signal”, i.e. the sub-image processors read the image data from the camera modules containing the pixel arrays).
Jeon does not disclose that the second conductive material is coupled to receive a second bias voltage different from the first bias voltage. As shown in Figure 4, and described in [0060] of Jeon, the second conductive material (#164) is coupled to the first conductive material (#154) through the contact region (#170) such that any applied voltage to one of the conductive materials will necessarily be the same as the applied voltage to the other conductive material.
However, Takahashi teaches a an imaging element pixel (#100, Figure 12) comprising a front deep trench isolation structure (#160, Figure 12, pixel isolation unit) extending into a semiconductor material (#125, Figure 12) and including a first conductive material (#109b, pixel isolation electrode), and a back deep trench isolation structure (#164, Figure 12, pixel isolation unit) extending into the semiconductor material (#125) and including a second conductive material (#109a, pixel isolation electrode), wherein the FDTI (#160) and the BDTI (#164) are aligned in a depthwise direction of the semiconductor material (#125) and isolate adjacent regions of the semiconductor material from one another as pixel isolation units, and wherein the second conductive material is coupled to receive a second bias voltage different from the first bias voltage to the first conductive material ([0213], “a different first bias voltage from that to the pixel isolation electrode 109a can be applied to the pixel isolation electrode 109b”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider forming the appropriate electrical connections to allow different bias voltages to the first and second conductive materials, as was done by Takahashi, in the device of Jeon in order to allow for saturation charge amounts and dark currents of adjacent photodiodes to be adjusted/controlled on their respective opposing surfaces separately from one another (see [0214] of Takahashi).
Regarding Claim 10. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein the second conductive material of the BDTI structure (Jeon, #164, Figure 4, trap conductive film) is connected to a contact pad (Jeon, Figure 4, rightmost #154, conductive filling film, which is not between pixels) through a metal interconnect in a first metal layer (Jeon, #170, Figure 4, contact region) proximate to the frontside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, front side #110F1 of #110; #164 is electrically connected to #170 as described above such that it is further connected to the rightmost #154, #170 is more proximate to the front side of the substrate #110F1 than #164 in that it is observed to extend to a greater depth towards #110F1, #170H) (Takahashi, [0214], Figure 12, #109a is physically connected to a contact pad (#143, contact plug) through a metal interconnect (#142) which is in a metal layer near the front (bottom) side of the semiconductor material #125).
Regarding Claim 11. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 10, wherein the BDTI structure is one of a plurality of BDTI structures forming a BDTI structure grid (Jeon, Figure 3, BDTI grid structure; [0053], “the second isolation region 160 may be arranged in a lattice pattern (e.g., a mesh pattern or a grid pattern)”), and wherein at least one of the plurality of BDTI structures is connected to the contact pad (Jeon, [0055], “trap conductive film 164 including at least one electrically conductive material may be arranged to be electrically connected to the contact region 170” with #170 being electrically connected the rightmost #154 as described above) (Takahashi, Figure 12, #164 is part of a plurality of isolation, #164, electrode, #109, structures forming a grid, see Figures 11A-11D, wherein all of the #164s are physically connected to #143).
Regarding Claim 12. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 11, wherein the second conductive material of each of the plurality of BDTI structures are electrically connected together at the contact pad proximate to the backside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figures 3 and 4, #160s, being part of a continuous grid structure in the device are necessarily all electrically connected to one another and the contact pad #170 and rightmost #154, as described above, via the back side #110F2).
Regarding Claim 13. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 10, further comprising an insulation material (Jeon, #152, Figure 4, insulating barrier of the rightmost #154) disposed between the contact pad and the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, #152 of the rightmost #154 is at least partially disposed between #154 and #110) (Takahashi, [0209]-[0210] describes that the pixel isolation structures are formed by first filling their corresponding grooves with insulating materials prior to the formation of their respective electrodes within those insulating materials which are between the electrodes and the semiconductor material).
Regarding Claim 17. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein the control circuitry operatively applies the first bias voltage (Jeon, [0060], “the contact region 170 may provide a path for supplying a voltage to the first isolation region 150 by the power supply voltage V.sub.DD”; power V.sub.DD is provided by the control circuitry according to [0153]) to the first conductive material of FDTI structure to modulate a first electric potential of a first photodiode region of the photodiode proximate to the frontside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, [0050] and [0060], #150 including the potential applied to #154 functions to electrically isolate adjacent photodiodes such that it will necessarily modulate voltage potential of adjacent regions near #110F1), and the second bias voltage to the second conductive material of BDTI structure to modulate a second electric potential of a second photodiode region of the photodiode proximate to the backside of the semiconductor material (Jeon, Figure 4, [0053] and [0060], #160 including the potential applied to #164 functions to electrically isolate adjacent photodiodes such that it will necessarily modulate voltage potential of adjacent regions near #110F2) (Takahashi, [0214], the biases applied to the opposing isolation electrodes modifies the potential, saturation charge amounts, and dark currents of their respective sides of the semiconductor material).
Regarding Claim 18. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein the FDTI structure is vertically aligned (Jeon, Figure 4, #150 and #160 are vertically aligned in a z-direction of #110) and in direct contact with the BDTI structure (Jeon, [0058], “the first isolation region 150 and the second isolation region 160 are in direct contact with each other”).
Regarding Claim 20. Jeon discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein one or more of the first conductive material or the second conductive material comprises a doped polysilicon or a metal (Jeon, [0052], “conductive filling film 154 may include a conductive material, such as for example, doped polysilicon or metal”; [0055], “trap conductive film 164 may include at least one of, for example, doped polysilicon, titanium (Ti), tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), and indium tin oxide (ITO)”).
Regarding Claim 29. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein:
the FDTI structure comprises a first pillar structure extending to the first depth from the frontside of the semiconductor material, wherein the first conductive material is positioned in a first core of the first pillar (Jeon, Figure 4, #150 comprises a pillar structure extending to a first depth into the #110 with #154 inside a core of the pillar; Takahashi, Figure 12, #160 comprises a pillar structure extending a first depth into #125 with #109b located inside a core of the pillar); and
the BDTI structure comprises a second pillar structure extending to the second depth from the backside of the semiconductor material, wherein the second conductive material is positioned in a second core of the second pillar (Jeon, Figure 4, #160 comprises a pillar structure extending to a second depth into the #110 with #164 inside a core of the pillar; Takahashi, Figure 12, #164 comprises a pillar structure extending a second depth into #125 with #109a located inside a core of the pillar).
Regarding Claim 30. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein a first sidewall of the FDTI structure is aligned with a second sidewall of the BDTI structure along the direction from the frontside to the backside of the semiconductor material (Takahashi, Figure 12, the sidewalls of #160 and #164 are aligned with one another along a thickness direction of the semiconductor material #125).
Regarding Claim 31. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1, wherein:
the first conductive material is positioned in a first core of the FDTI structure (Jeon, Figure 4, #150 comprises a pillar structure extending to a first depth into the #110 with #154 inside a core of the pillar; Takahashi, Figure 12, #160 comprises a pillar structure extending a first depth into #125 with #109b located inside a core of the pillar); and
the second conductive material is positioned in a second core of the BDTI structure (Jeon, Figure 4, #160 comprises a pillar structure extending to a second depth into the #110 with #164 inside a core of the pillar; Takahashi, Figure 12, #164 comprises a pillar structure extending a second depth into #125 with #109a located inside a core of the pillar).
Regarding Claim 32. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The pixel cell of claim 1, wherein a first sidewall of the FDTI structure is aligned with a second sidewall of the BDTI structure along the depthwise direction of the semiconductor material (Takahashi, Figure 12, the sidewalls of #160 and #164 are aligned with one another along a thickness direction of the semiconductor material #125).
Regarding Claim 33. Jeon in view of Takahashi discloses The imaging system of claim 9, wherein the control circuitry is operably coupled to the FDTI structure and the BDTI structure to independently control a first amplitude of the first bias voltage and a second amplitude of the second bias voltage (Jeon, [0060], “the contact region 170 may provide a path for supplying a voltage to the first isolation region 150 by the power supply voltage V.sub.DD”; power V.sub.DD is provided by the control circuitry according to [0153] and the teaching of Takahashi to have the two structures controlled independently as described in the rejection of claim 9).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 9 and corresponding remarks, see page 9 of the remarks, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the objections to claims 9-13, 17-18, and 20 have been fully considered. The objections to claims 9-13, 17-18, and 20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1 and 9 and corresponding arguments, see pages 10-13 of the remarks, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 1 and 9, and all previous 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of their dependent claims, have been fully considered and are found persuasive. The previously cited reference, US 2023/0197754 A1; Jeon, Jongmim; 06/2023; (“Jeon”) does not disclose all of the limitations of amended claims 1 and 9. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 1 and 9, and all previous 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejections of their dependent claims, have been withdrawn. However, in view of the amendments, a new reference, US 2024/0186357 A1; Takahashi et al.; 06/2024; (“Takahashi”), has been applied which teaches the amended limitation of a second conductive material (#109a, pixel isolation electrode), wherein the second conductive material is coupled to receive a second bias voltage different from the first bias voltage to the first conductive material ([0213], “a different first bias voltage from that to the pixel isolation electrode 109a can be applied to the pixel isolation electrode 109b”) and provides motivation to combine as described above. Claim(s) 1-7, 9-13, 17-18, 20 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0197754 A1; Jeon, Jongmim; 06/2023; (“Jeon”) in view of US 2024/0186357 A1; Takahashi et al.; 06/2024; (“Takahashi”).
Applicant’s arguments regarding new claims 29-33, see page 13 of the remarks, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to their allowability for their dependencies on independent claims 1 and 9 have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As described above, Claim(s) 1 and 9, and their corresponding dependent claims 29-33, stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0197754 A1; Jeon, Jongmim; 06/2023; (“Jeon”) in view of US 2024/0186357 A1; Takahashi et al.; 06/2024; (“Takahashi”).
Applicant’s arguments regarding rejoinder of withdrawn claims 8, 14-16, 19, and 21-23, see page 13 of the remarks, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to their allowability for their dependencies on independent claims 1 and 9, or similar features to claims 1 and 9 in the case of claims 21-23, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As described above, Claim(s) 1 and 9 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0197754 A1; Jeon, Jongmim; 06/2023; (“Jeon”) in view of US 2024/0186357 A1; Takahashi et al.; 06/2024; (“Takahashi”). Therefore, claims 8, 14-16, 19, and 21-23 stand withdrawn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812